Spokane, WA 
High Bridge Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #17
3 / 233ft.   3 / 233ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
My favorite course

1    8/1/2009   5/21/2009
Review By: coredog
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 7/20/2013
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Variety in holes and distances...great location. mixture of hyzers and anhyzers, but plays to righty's strengths.
Cons: sprinkler times are a tad frustrating on open grass area around hole 3
Other Thoughts: After playing the course several more times, I love it! Once you get to know the layout, it plays extremely well. Variety of holes, lengths and obstacles. Definitely my favorite course.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyed this course!

5+    8/18/2012   12/10/2008
Review By: Disc Dog
Played: 55  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/24/2013
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The variety of shots here were exceptional. With good elevation changes on several. You will throw up down and over several areas. You will need to throw anhyzers and hyzers. Tomahawks and Thumbers will be needed to get you out of some trouble.

While Latah Creek is a small factor, on 6 and 7, it can be played around without much trouble. The course was marked well enough to get around it reasonably well. The tee pads vary from rubber mats to concrete, to asphalt and a couple are painted on areas of old slabs. They have about finished putting in some real nice steps to help get up and down the steep hills. There is a nice picnic and play ground area with a place for the kids to play.
Cons: The bathrooms are closed on the weekends when its the busiest and there are no water fountains.

The tee for basket 5 is not where the the GPS photo shows it. The GPS photo shows an alt site that has never been done but is used by those that do not want to walk to the real 5 tee. The course map shows the position of 5.

There are no signs to tell you where to park when the park parking is closed. You have to park on A street and start on hole 11.
Other Thoughts: Highbridge Park was once an actual neighborhood that was torn down. You will see old sidewalks and an occasional foundation. Some of the course uses the roads that are barely passable now. It is an interesting place to be and play.

Some extra direction to the first hole and a sign to suggest where to park and start when the park is closed to traffic would be nice.

I prefer this park to the more popular and yes tougher Downriver because it is less crowded and with the steps it is easier for a guy with a bum left leg to get around.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Rugged Challenge In Spokane!

7/1/2008   7/8/2008
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 683  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great terrain for a course with elevation a factor on many holes. You will need a variety of throws and the challenge is certainly there. The course seems fair to both lefty and righties. Some teepads are concrete, some rubber mats, some wooden platform, some painted on the old street. There are benches available to escape the Spokane sun. The baskets are especially made by someone locally and extremely heavy duty.
Cons: It isn't always signed real well. I also played shortly after the 2008 Lilac Open so many of those temporary signs were still up and useful. Holes # 4 and # 14 both use the old street as the fairway. I didn't particularly grinding up my discs on a perfectly placed fairway shot. As mentioned by the previous reviewer, there is a lot of climbing involved.
Other Thoughts: This course borders on the shady, ghetto area of Spokane and has had a lot of problems with vandalism. Hopefully, they've solved the basket problem by installing the new heavy duty models. Signage seems to be an ongoing problem. This course could really benefit from the low to the ground signs that Cascades Gateway course in Salem, OR has and also at Erwin Young in Newberg, OR. They're very informative, almost vandal proof and easy to repair/replace if damaged. Hi Bridge Park might also want to incorporate the next tee signs that are used at the North Star course in Athol, ID. They are thin plastic strips which are flexible with a number and an arrow pointing to the next teebox. They too, would be a great asset to High Bridge.

Spokane players are luckier than most to have both this course and the Downriver course to call their own.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun And Challenging Course

5/23/2008   5/31/2008
Review By: LanceInTacoma
Played: 35  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 24.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of variety in hole lengths, elevation changes, styles of shots required. Even finishes with its own version of a "Top Of The World" type hole. Lots of locals around and playing (mostly helpful).
Cons: Could use some better signs to indicate the directions to go to find the next tees/holes. We did quite a lot of scouting (walking around looking for the next place to go). The course could really use some type of stairs/landscaping built in. Many times we were climbing up or down hills and wished there was an easier way to get from the tee to the pin, or the pin to the next tee. I am sure that with the number of users out here, this can be done in time.
Other Thoughts: We played this course sometime around a tournament, I guess, because there were still some temporary signs up on many of the holes. They all had distances listed, although several times the distances listed were significantly different from what we faced. I am not sure whether some of the pins had been moved since the tourney, or maybe we were supposed to be playing from different tee pads, or just what, but all in all, I really enjoyed this course, though there was a fair amount of climbing involved.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.