Greece, NY 
Basil Marella Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #18
3 / 369ft.   3 / 194ft.   3 / 339ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Yellow Tee



Reviews: 53
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Trees! Trees!

1    4/9/2011   4/13/2011
Review By: sethELT
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 6/27/2013
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Wooded holes are challenging, definitely makes you focus on well placed drives and navigating trees. Good for beginners, the abundance of trees help you keep your shots level. Concrete tee pads are a plus, along with wood chipped paths. Brush is controlled, no lost discs here!
Cons: Some holes were difficult to find upon my first few visits, after the world AM a few years back, they're well marked now. The bridge over the creek could be a little safer.
Other Thoughts: A great course to play, quick and always fun.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Winter Disc

2-4    1/16/2011   1/18/2011
Review By: Flippy
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great course for those who enjoy technical shots. It's also great for beginners because mid range discs (for the most part) are key to playing this course.
Cons: 100% in the woods all day. If you're playing in the winter (and if you know the Rochester area and her infamous lake effect snow) it becomes an all day event looking for discs in 2 + feet of snow. Also, the bridge is still dangerous, use extra caution when crossing.
Other Thoughts: If you do like to keep score on this course, double check the pars that are located on each hole to that of your score card; I say this because hole #8 is a par 5 @ 501 ft, where on the site it's listed as a par 4. Great course nonetheless.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Memories

5+    8/16/2005   4/16/2010
Review By: OzzyMac
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 15.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A nice wooded course with a good variety of holes. This is a great place to refine your shots as many holes require precision shots.
Cons: Lots of trees make this a unforgiving course.
Other Thoughts: I learned the game on this course. From what I see, there have been many improvements since I played here years ago(concrete pads), so I can't wait to get back and play a round.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  its ok

5+    5/17/2009   1/2/2010
Review By: katana
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 1/3/2010
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros:
baskets in good condition
public restrooms
loved playing this course and as soon as I was done I wanted to play it again.
Teaches you how to be accurate with all types of shots.
Cons: Hardly any holes that AREN'T in the woods.
no trash cans
On a day when you're not hitting the gaps all the trees can be frustrating.
Pretty muddy in spots, some holes have no apparent lane for playing the first time.
Limited signage or broken ones make it difficult for first timers to figure some holes. There can be lots of garbage at times.
Other Thoughts: Good course for those liking tight, technical woods courses

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Tight, technical woods course

2-4    7/1/2004   12/1/2009
Review By: jonnieoh
Played: 13  Reviewed: 12
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good course for those liking tight, technical woods courses, (I do not).
Cons: It is tough. Hardly any holes that AREN'T in the woods. You will hit trees... a lot.
You're going to damage some discs, especially the softer, cheaper ones. Those are going to get dinged up, scratched, dented and taco'd. You've been warned.
Other Thoughts: Not one of my personal favorites, because most of the holes are in the woods. After a while, I just got sick of trying to chop down trees with my discs. It gets frustrating, and there is little rest from the trees.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable

1    6/1/2009   6/19/2009
Review By: ScottMunFrigginro
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
Pros: Cement tee's will keep you out of the mud (although we didn't use them with our sacred "blue tee Sundays!") Many par-able holes. Fairly decent wooded lanes reward a precision shot.
Cons: Pretty heavily populated. Some holes don't seem to have much of a lane at all and rely 100 percent on luck.
Other Thoughts: All in all a pretty good course. This course usually gets hit up when we are in the northwest Rochester area for the day indulging in JOOSE!!!! Not the best in the area, but good all the same.

 Challenging but rewarding

5+    6/17/2009   6/17/2009
Review By: Tmart
Played: 13  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.8 Years
Pros: Lots of shade, good baskets, not overcrowded. The teepads are awesome!

Great course to learn finesse shots.
Cons: The course is right in the middle of the woods and not enough trees have been removed for it. Layout is confusing due to lack of maps/signs.

 

1    4/1/2009   4/4/2009
Review By: Nerdboy
Played: 15  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.8 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Love the woods. Thanks ppl who hauled in concrete tees. You can develope a real love/hate because of the dense trees. Layout was done very nicely, with some scenic holes near a creek. cool bridges.
Cons: drainage in some spots, trees. get a map, I found myself a little confused the first time. I could see the thick leaves on the ground hiding more than a few discs.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2/20/2008   2/20/2008
Review By: bryon
Played: 63  Reviewed: 58
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A wooded course that has some very tough windows. it is the only real wooded course in the area which Rochester needed. Must be accurate off the tee or your score will be punished.

Play area can seem a bit rough at times, as many complain that luck is a big factor at this course. Because of this, at first almost everyone hates this course, but it grows on you the more you play. The course is not long but plays tough score wise.
Cons: No bridges makes crossing streams frustrating at times.

Other Thoughts: Probably the second most used course in Rochester during the Summer.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Wooded Course

8/11/2007   8/11/2007
Review By: timg
Played: 311  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 14 Years
This review was updated on 5/30/2008
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging pars without being "unfair", there is almost always a path available to make it to the basket. Rough isn't too thick so losing discs isn't a major issue. Home-made benches at a lot of tees.
Cons: Some missing signs. The walk from #9 to #10 may confuse first-timers. Print a map if you haven't played here before.
Other Thoughts: Basil is one of the more popular wooded courses in the Rochester area and also one of the most challenging. Making par here is tough but it can definitely be done with some accurate shots and a little luck!

If you're into wooded courses or you're just looking for a challenge then by all means, stop by Basil for a round or two.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.