Greece, NY 
Basil Marella Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6
3 / 360ft.   3 / 210ft.   3 / 350ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Yellow Tee



Reviews: 53
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Disc seasoning time

5+    10/11/2014   10/14/2014
Review By: Timeetyo
Played: 27  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 0.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good amenities. Tons of parking. Bathrooms. Other activities on site.
- Nice concrete tee pads (longs).
- Ample signage and quality tee signs (1 is missing sadly).
- Benches throughout.
- 3 sets of tees (short & mid marked with short wood posts are relatively easy to find).
- Even though this is heavily wooded there is almost no underbrush. This means that you have little chance of a lost disc (although they do like to hide under leaves) and also when you do hit that first tree you should have a reasonable recovery shot available to save the par or bogie. This makes it great for all skill levels. Beginners love the forgiving rough and shorter holes. Better players are challenged by the lines required.
- A few shorter ace runs thrown in help just when you've had your fill of hitting trees.
- Hole 15. Love this one. 304' from an elevated tee on a pretty tight hyzer line. Takes some good accuracy & control to get it to ride that line without flipping (since its downhill). Very rewarding to hit this one for a bird.
Cons: - Garbage. Everywhere. This is by far the worst course in Rochester for folks feeling that its ok to drop your empties on pad. Or your food wrappers. Or whatever other random crap you don't want to bother carrying. A few kind folks have even put bags at some of the tees to mitigate it but the idiots can't be bothered to put their empties in the bags....they just toss em on the ground under the 1/2 full garbage bag.
- Currently no bridge on the back 9. Not sure what happened to the old one but the club does have a plan for a permanent fix.
Other Thoughts: I was recently describing this course to someone who hadn't been and I summed it up like this: Take some woods with no underbrush and cut a path 15-20' wide on some sort of golf line and put a basket at the end. Go do that another 17 times...and you have Basil.

This is a course that will make you a better player. You have a great variety of forced lines (R>L, L>R, S curves, etc.) with little room for error. You can play for pars consistently with reasonably on line drives (even if not all the way) and accurate upshots. To hit consistent birdies though - you will need excellent line shaping and control.

This is a shorter course than many other 18s, but I don't list it as a con as I never seem to notice it as the challenge is in the line not the distance.

Just a warning on plastic. You WILL hit trees. Many. And early. I've yet to see anyone (including those much better than I am) make it through a round without a few hard tree hits. DX plastic is going to get beaten quickly.

**note on my rating - I really wish there were a 3.25 for this one. I'd much rather play this than my 3.0 courses....but not as much as my 3.5s. I decided to go with 3.5 as it is fun for all skill levels and great for your game.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Thunk Thunk %&#$@ Thunk Clang!

5+    7/3/2014   9/1/2013
Review By: Schmankster
Played: 14  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/6/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Every hole is heavily wooded. You will have to think and use a variety of shots/discs.
-This course will force you to learn one of two things: (1) accuracy or (2) recovery shots
-Plenty of parking.
-Benches everywhere.
-Excellent signage. Each hole has a metal sign with tee/basket/par/next hole on it.
-Practice basket
Cons: -Litter!!! C'mon people!!! Carry in/carry out...it's not that hard!
-Lack of a bridge on 17. Bring a stick with you on 16 to help cross the stones in the creek (it has been low lately, but I have seen it higher)
Other Thoughts: -Beautiful, heavily wooded course with a lot a variety on each hole. Elevation changes, right and left turns, and water.
-DX discs will take a beating with all the trees. Keep a happy mind...you WILL hit trees...lots of them...laugh, cry, whatever, but keep playing!
1-The hole is prety much in front of you. Trees everywhere!
2-A great leftie hole. The hole curves perfectly to the right. Short par 3
3-A tough throw through the woods to an elevated basket. In the winter, the basket is further and more to the right of the elevated pin.
4-Another great leftie hole but looks like it would be ok for a rightie too. The basket is behind the trees in front of you.
5-Long curve to the right. Lots of trees!
6-Trees everywhere! Are you sick of trees yet?!? Best option is a tomahawk through this mess.
7-A righties hole. Tight fairway. Lots of trees. Curves left.
8-Looong par 4 through a lot of trees. Lots of thick scrub on the right.
9-Another good righty hole. Beware of the thick scrub.Basket is in the clearing to the left.
10-Straight on. Trees everywhere. Thick scrub on the right.
11-Straight ahead, slightly to the left. Trees everywhere...YAY!
12-Elevated teepad. Creek behind and right of basket. It can get a little deep on the right. Thick scrub on the left.
13-The bridge to the teepad is now gone. Cross about 50' before where the bridge used to be. Uphill shot. Trees on the left, drop off/water on the right.
14-Trees everywhere. Elevation changes.
15-Very narrow fairway. Slight curve to the left. Elevated tee.
16-More trees! By now you have had it with the trees! If the creek is high, bring a good stick with you to the next hole to help cross the rocks
17-Trees! Water! Scrub! O my! Start with a throw across water. Curves to the right. Elevated basket on the mulch covered hill.
18-Long and tight. Trees everywhere.
19-Across the volleyball courts to the practice basket. Beware of walkers!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


2-4    3/24/2013   4/2/2013
Review By: Skiddy28
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy to navigate, Hole markers show where the next tee is, short holes make up for the thick trees, Open all year
Cons: Lots of trees to screw up your throws if you don't get a good toss
Other Thoughts: The trees keep the wind off of you in the winter and that makes it a nice course to play in the off season

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun tight woods

1    8/19/2011   1/6/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 770  Exp: 12.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a mostly flat wooded park with a couple minor elevation changes. The limited hills are used well to add some fun and interesting shots, and the creek running through part of the course adds some risk/reward on a couple holes as well. The course is pretty tight overall, you'll need to hit your lines or risk nasty kicks off into the dense trees. There is not really any underbrush here so you won't lose discs, but there are enough trees to have some punishment for errant shots.

The layout has a nice mix of hole lengths and shapes to keep things interesting. You'll need a balance of left and right turning shots (more right than left for a change), and a couple holes call for s-curves to have a shot at the pin. There are some ace runs and some longer holes that really test your control through the woods. The new signs are basic but informative enough with hole layout and distance. The concrete pads are fine, and the baskets are in pretty good shape.
Cons: There are a few holes that are a bit heavy on the luck factor, a little selective clearing would go a long way toward making those holes good competitive challenges. There are a couple awkward walks between holes where some next tee signs or info on the hole signs would go a long way, there is a map online that is accurate and helpful.

The course is a bit one dimensional. I love wooded courses so I had fun here, if that's not your thing or you need some open holes to enjoy a course this won't be at the top of your list.
Other Thoughts: This course will test your line shaping skills and your control through the woods. Beginners will find some of the holes pretty long and challenging, and the tight lines could be frustrating though the lack of nasty underbrush makes it less punishing. More experienced players will find some nice tests here, accuracy is at a premium and distance won't help a whole lot.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

basil

5+    10/8/2011   10/12/2011
Review By: jayman33
Played: 44  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/24/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - description: heavily wooded course, with every hole playing within the woods
- variety: excellent use of topography. the course is mostly flat but makes good use of hills on back 9. short, long, left, right, uphill, downhill holes. most are tight, but some open up a bit more.
- favorite holes: 4, 11, 12, and 17. hole 4 is 222 ft long with trees grouped down the middle of the hole, opening up fairways on the left and the right. hole 11 is 447 ft with a wide fairway straight, then curving left, dipping down a small hill and climbing up another, with the basket positioned on the top edge of that hill. hole 12 is a 180 foot tight shot downhill to a basket near the edge of a stream. hole 17 is a nice sidearm shot out over a stream, curving right with the basket placed in the middle of a very steep hill.
- tees and signs: excellent concrete tees and great new signs.
- difficulty: high. tight fairways can be punishing. if you get a bad kick off a tree and are in the rough, very little chance of threading a recovery shot anywhere near the basket. definitely a course to practice your control and line shaping on. time to disc down.
- flow of course: very good. hole 9 and 18 end near parking lot. only issue is hole 17. after teeing off over the creek, you can either cross over on rocks if there hasn't been much rain or have to back track along the stream to the bridge that led to hole 13.
- not too busy.
- although heavily wooded, underbrush is not bad at all. very hard to lose a disc here
- practice basket is near hole 1
- bathrooms: are usually unlocked
Cons: - a few fairways: some are very tight. precision is definitely needed, but can sometimes feel like poke and hope. what are you going to do though? stay on the fairway as best you can

Other Thoughts: - bridge: to hole 13 is much better than it's been. headed in the right direction
One of my favorite woods courses.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Trees Here. Get Your Trees Here

2-4    7/30/2011   10/4/2011
Review By: tistoude
Played: 166  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 6.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a shining example of Woods Golf. If you enjoy playing heavily wooded courses where the emphasis is accuracy over distance then this is the place to be.

The course itself is located in a nice park with a ton of amenities. Bathrooms, athletic courts and fields, a skate park, and beach volleyball.

Basil is a mature course that winds through some heavy woods that are blessed with very little under growth. Most of the woods are fairly skinny new growth trees with just a smattering of larger old growth hardwoods. The thickness of the woods make this course a pleasure to play on those hot sunny days and provide good protection when it's windy.

The design of the course is two 9 hole loops that both meet at the parking lot. The whole course has a very nice balance between right turning, left turning and straight away. This balance makes it necessary to be able to throw all types of shots to score well. In my opinion there are some significant differences between the 9's that make the course interesting, with an arguable build up in quality as you progress through the holes. The front 9 plays pretty flat and with the exception of hole number 8 the holes are all very dueceable (that is unless you smack into one of the 6 million trees!). The back 9 has a longer feel to it (it's not really) and brings some elevation changes into play on most of the holes. The back nine also has some much more treacherous pin positions that make for some fast greens and bring water into play.

This course really emphasizes your midrange and putter accuracy. All but maybe 2-3 holes have very defined, if small, fairways as well as reasonable gaps that need to be hit to get a birdie. This is a great course for practicing your line shaping and hitting your gaps.

When I played this course is was absolutely spotless. It looked like the fairways had been vacuumed and there were 10 meter circles around each pin. The concrete tees were in perfect condition and all of the baskets were in good shape. The tee signs were in great shape. They show an accurate overview of the hole as well as the distance. At the beginning of the course there is a nice practice basket and a bathroom that is easily accessible from the parking lot, hole one and the walk from 9 to 10.

With the exception of one spot (after hole 3) navigation is not an issue. The course has a good flow to it and each tee is an appropriate distance from the previous pin.

This course has a very high fun factor. Maybe it is because I love woods golf but I think this course is a blast to play but if you are one of those people that has a freakout every time you hit a tree then it is probably not conducive to your good health to play here.
Cons: Although Navigation was not too difficult a few next tee signs would be helpful. This is most important after hole number 3. What appears to be the logical next tee is actually #6 whereas the correct next tee is off to the left. A couple other spots for concern are the transitions between 11 to 12 and 17 to 18.

Too wooded! This is not a con for me personally but I realize there are 4 or 5 people out there that do not share my joy of all things wooded. There are a few holes that I feel do not have a true fairway. People who don't like woods golf would probably say there are more than a few but Holes #6 and #18 are much more poke and hope than any of the others. #5 may be included in this as well. People who are not used to this style of golf could easily be discouraged by the small gaps and the occasional wall of trees.

A little short. Holes 8 and possibly 18 are the only shots were you get to air it out a little and you still have to avoid a lot of those pesky trees.
Other Thoughts: As I mentioned earlier I think this is a really fun course to play. Hit your lines or pay the price!

I played Basil during AM Worlds (before, during and after!) and the Rochester Disc Golf Club had it in spectacular condition. Not a loose stick or branch to be seen. I also got to meet a bunch of the locals that play this course and all of them were super cool and enthusiastic about disc golf.

This might not be the best course for competitive rounds since I will admit there is a significant luck factor in play but for casual play it is fantastic. Watching your buddy walk up to the tee and throw his Buzzz as hard as possible then walk 10 feet and throw it again has great entertainment value (then it happens to you so he thinks it's great too!). Really this course does a great job of teaching you to disc down to something you can control, Makes you work on placing your shot from the tee and hitting your putts with obstacles in the way. This is one of those places where you will likely need to do some straddle putting around trees.

If I am ever back in the Rochester area this will be the first course I stop and play.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Control a Must

5+    9/5/2011   9/5/2011
Review By: lcra0825
Played: 90  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 8.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Cement tee pads.
- Signs in good condition with fairway, distance from cement tee pads, par and directions to next hole.
- Bathrooms located near parking lot which is accessible before you start, between holes 9 and 10, and when you finish. I am not sure if they are open all year long.
- Alternate tees are marked by colored wooden stumps in the ground which are easy to find (at least for blue tee). Basil has better markings for alternate tees than most of the other courses in the Rochester area.
- Faint orange spray paint marks greens on most holes. (33 feet from basket in all directions)
- Decent bridge for crossing stream that runs through course. An extra brige on hole 17 could save a little walk back to the bridge.
- Good course flow. The course atarts and ends at the parking lot and most holes follow each other pretty easily. There are some confusing tansitions I will discuss in the cons.
- Great course for working on control of throws. You do not need to throw far to do well on this course.
- Course requires a good mix of hyzer and anyzer drives as well as some straight, uphill and downhill throws.
- Very fun and interesting hole designs. One hole requires you to drive over a stream and then throw to a basket that is on a hill to the right. Other holes have baskets that are right at the edge of the stream so if you throw to far it is in the water. You wont lose the disc though. The basket for one hole is on a tall pile of rocks making for an interesting putt.
Cons: - Signs do not have distances for alternate tees.
- There are not many if any opportunities for those who like to launch discs.
- Some of the holes do not have clearly defined fairways and it feels as if you are just throwing and hoping for the best.
- Finally some of the transitions are confusing, particularly from gole 3 to hole 4. The tee for hole 4 and the tee for hole 6 are right by the basket. The tee for hole 6 looks like the logical place to go. Make sure to pay attention to the signs to make sure you are going to the right tee. The transition from hole 17 to hole 18 can be confusing. When you get to the top of the hill after hole 17 go to the right on the path to get to the tee for hole 18. Finally, on hole 5 the basket for hole 5 and hole 8 can be confused. The actual basket for hole 5 is quite a distance away and to the right.The basket for hole 8 is closer and to the left.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoy this course because I get satisfaction when I can control my throws and make them go where I want them too and there are plenty of opportunities to succeed or fail at this. I think with better directional signs and the distances of the alternate tees combined with beteer marking of the greens Basil Marell would be at a 4 or 4.5 rating.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Anyone seen any trees on this course?

2-4    7/23/2011   7/27/2011
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 188  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.9 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
This is a nicely done, heavily wooded course. The tee signs are quality new signs showing hole diagrams and distances. The longest tee pads are concrete pads of ample size. The baskets are quality multi-chain DISCatchers and the yellow bands make them easy to see through the trees. While the lines through the trees are tight, they are all fair (with the exception of #6). There isn't much underbrush on most of the holes, so getting a kick off a tree will usually leave you with a chance at making a shot "out". The short holes are all birdie-able when you hit your line. The longer holes require you to hit a line and place an upshot. The course flows well (with the exception of #3 to #4) and conveniently loops back near the parking lot between holes #9/10. Good sized parking lot and restrooms on site.
Cons:
Hole #6 needs a few trees removed to get a realistic line to the basket; right now that hole is just a "throw and pray", "too much luck" hole. The trees here are brutal, they seem to kick discs harder than other trees, it's not uncommon to get sideways kicks of 100'+. There's virtually no grass on this course so I imagine it's a mud pit after some decent rains. The short tees are marked with stubby (~6") 4x4 posts in the ground that are pretty hard to find. There are a ton of tripping hazards on this course with rocks and exposed roots, so watch your footing.
Other Thoughts:
Basil isn't really my cup of tea when it comes to courses. But I do wish I had a course like that close to me because I think playing there makes you a better golfer. Lucky shots will sometimes sneak through, but more often then not they're punished. You have to learn to hit your lines to master this course. Look at the DGCR pictures and you'll get a good idea of what your in for playing here.

Basil is the type of course that players can easily debate whether or not it's a "good" course. But golfers who appreciate watching discs fly where they're intended will appreciate this course. Your average recreational players will hate it.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Love the Trees

5+    5/26/2007   7/18/2011
Review By: AdirondackDGA
Played: 19  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 36.8 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Makes you think... which is a good thing in disc golf. If you dont look at the entire shot, you will not be happy. Strength in the trees disappears and takes a back seat to finesse and precision.
Cons: Mud. Unless it has been 90 degrees for a month, there is no getting around the mud. I had a pair of Basil socks... white with brown spots... and some holes from snags.
Other Thoughts: Overall a great course. The last time I was there a group of local school kids were there for a Phys Ed field trip. Made for an interesting round, but great to see the kids out playing.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Still My Home Course at Heart

5+    7/22/2010   10/28/2010
Review By: justinmd44
Played: 57  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 14.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is the course I learned disc golf on and it is the course I keep coming back to. This course FORCES you to throw a variety of shots, all of which must be very accurate. If you think this course is a throw and pray course then you are mistakenů it may have taken me a hundred rounds but every hole has a line to follow (with varying difficulty). This course will test your aim and your patience. Basil also takes excellent advantage if elevation change and the creek that runs through the park.
Cons: Those who are accustomed to open courses may struggle on this course. However, if you struggle on this course then this is the course you should play (if you want to improve). Also, in the spring and after a heavy rain this course can be pretty muddy; just be prepared.
Other Thoughts: Over the course of the last year the GRDGC club has put in concrete tee pads and cleared tree for more defined fairways. This course is now primed to be one of, if not the best, course for 2011 AM Worlds.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.