Greece, NY 
Basil Marella Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6
3 / 360ft.   3 / 210ft.   3 / 350ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Yellow Tee



Reviews: 53
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 great course

2-4    4/4/2013   4/5/2013
Review By: spencer1224dg
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.8 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: a good challenge for beginner`s, a lot of trees, concrete tees, metal signs showing you where the disc catcher is as well as a arrow to where the next tee is, a lot of friendly people
Cons: garbage, missing bridge to cross after the tee on hole 17
Other Thoughts: -white discs get lost
-blue like to hit trees
-red like water
-greyish hop
green like to hop and then hit a tree
thats what i recognise from the colors i have used here

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good But dificult

5+    3/17/2013   4/8/2012
Review By: jkanick38
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/17/2013
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great mix of holes for only heavly wooded area, concrete pads make for great drive surface, very senic, new metal signs added last year for the world real nice,
Cons: TREES make it hard for new players and hard on dx plastic disc, can get muddy after a light rain, flimsy brigde that crosses the stream on the back nine, no bridge at 17 to cross back over the stream
Other Thoughts: very nice to play trought with practice and gets u to pratice your accuracy and not just chuck and pray course , i really recomend a heavy duty plastic if you play here or your disc will be gashed and scuffed up by the end of the round

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 The best course everyone loves to hate

5+    2/22/2012   3/2/2012
Review By: fictionfree
Played: 11  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Tight wooded design is very challenging and interesting to play - but manages to be friendly for newbies, too
-Concrete tees makes the course playable all year around and fair and safe.
-Varied design - not many big open driving holes, but several long holes and lots of variation between right, left and straight shots
- takes advantage of the hills, valleys and water on the back 9.
-In my opinion it is the most challenging course in the county and therefore your best bet to improve your game
-Brand new baskets in 2011
-Lots of free parking adjacent to hole 1 and 9
-Practice basket adjacent to the parking lot
Cons: -By hole 18 you're pretty sick of the trees
-Bridges are terrible and unsafe
-Can get very wet and muddy
-There have been issues in the past with vandalism of baskets and bridges
Other Thoughts: Everyone gets frustrated with this course - but it's actually one of the best in the area. Play this course a lot and your game WILL improve. Learn to control your discs, get away from throwing fast drivers, learn your overhand and forehand shots, not to mention work on smoothing out your hyzer and anhyzer shots. Gives you a lot of practice on "get out of trouble" shots and forces you to really think each shot through, and how to recover from poorly executed shots, in order to do well.

Surprisingly newbies enjoy it, too - probably because despite all the trees, the course is no more punishing to newbies than it is to seasoned players.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 learn your aim

1    2/4/2012   2/8/2012
Review By: GrEaTeRNaTeR
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: great course for those competetive players looking to better there game. heavily wooded course with skinny paths compliments each hole with its own unique challenge.
Cons: lots of trees that can frustrate a beginner. seems like this is a popular course to the locals, so traffic can get pretty heavy on the weekends. garbage such as food wrappers and drink bottles scattered everywhere
Other Thoughts: some of the smaller sappling trees could go. some signs dont give justice as to where the pin is in accordance to the trees in the fairway. im not a tree hugger or anything but c'mon people throw away your junk. other than that a great challenging course

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good Practice

2-4    12/14/2011   12/28/2011
Review By: Wolfpackdiscs
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.6 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This course will make you better! Its a really tight, really technical, and really tough course. It will make you work on your tee control big time. The elevation changes on a few holes make it really fun, and there is of course a small stream to deal with.
Cons: No solid pads, and bad bridge by 13.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 IDragon

1    7/30/2011   8/2/2011
Review By: idragon
Played: 15  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: If you are looking for a challenge Basil has it! Wooded course is really amazing! Every hole has a narrow alley, but you have to hit it or off into the brush you go!
Cons: All the trees may not be everyone's bag.
Other Thoughts: Doesn't get any better playing at this course in the summer. You get a break from the sun on this course!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 glade discing

1    7/23/2011   7/29/2011
Review By: duckychucky
Played: 19  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 12.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: TREES! I'm personally not a big fan of wide open courses (unless they have lots of elevation change).
I had to use every shot i knew to play this course and wish i knew some more.
Played this course during a record heatwave and all the shade was perfect.
The new tee signs were really nicely done.
The little creek added a nice touch.
I liked how the front 9 were flat and the back 9 were hilly, so those that my have trouble with hills (my dad) can just play the front 9.
Cons: The bridges could use some work,
Other Thoughts: All the locals said this was the worst course in the area and complained about the trees, this was my favorite in the area so far BECAUSE of the trees...

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  It's Home!

5+    6/14/2011   6/14/2011
Review By: phishingpier
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very challenging...
Very Peaceful...
Never the same
Cons: Muddy...Muddy...Muddy when it rains
Other Thoughts: Basil is the first and only place I played for the first 5 years I played DG. It is home for me and will have a place in my heart forever.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Basil

5+    5/1/2011   5/7/2011
Review By: keithbkessler
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.7 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: 18 holes ranging from par 3 to 5. Multiple tee's for each hole. Creek play in 2+ holes. Can easily play front 9 or back 9. Good sized course. Very nice DISCatchers. Easy to navigate even without a map.
Cons: Heavily wooded for most of the course. Lots of bee's in the back 9. Very muddy at certain points of the year. No bridge crossing the creek on hole 17. Bridge crossing the other creek is not very stable.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Quit Your Whines and Hit Your Lines

1    9/26/2010   10/4/2010
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Technical and demanding mature course that rewards precision and mental toughness. Every hole plays through a forest that offers a high enough canopy to work your disc but with tight lanes from tee to basket. The fun here is in hitting your line and bypassing the trees. The short length, just over 5,000 ft plays much longer than it seems as you are creatively negotiating your way through the cracks and crevices in the tree lines. You think you have played tight and unforgiving fairways before. I never played any this tight before....but somehow despite the hardwood punishment the course continued to be enjoyable.
I think the wide enough gaps off the tees to actually drive provided an intial rush and then the ongoing woods were often clusters of treelines and patches of thick trunks that provided ample opportunities to salvage your 2nd and 3rd shots with some miraculously enjoyable recovery. Imagine a fairway that has a wide enough gap to drive but then basically remains that tight for the next 300 feet to the basket. You are bound to find yourself in a mess but I never found myself in schule or had too much difficulty finding my disc.
This is a woods course that offered the fun of driving in the woods with the technical thrill of recovery without the potential of lost discs.
I found myself thinking and then thinking again on the tee and then from my lie and then on my approach..hell I was even thinking on some of my putts. I think if there was a stat for times you pondered your shot this course would be the top in the country. Rarely are you just stepping up and throwing......if you enjoy thought provoking courses this is your Nirvana.
Great tees for a woods course. Overall the footing was excellent on and off the fairways.
The stretch of holes from 12-17 is amongst the best woods golf I have played. The fact that the course seems to rev up and improve is a bonus to me......giving you that Oh boy whats next feeling.
Water in play on 3 holes is a wide shallow stream and not a deep disc eating pond. Elevation is used efficiently to create some interesting approaches and fun tee shots.
A couple of ace runs most notably #9 and #12 though with some combo of luck and skill some other holes could also be aced.
I have never seen a 500 foot straight shot as tight as hole 8 on this course.
In a nutshell theres enough room to drive and theres lines to hit that offer rewarding birdie chances...I played with a local who showed me some of the routes.
That chance at earned success thats often thwarted by thrower error is what makes this an addictive course. I found it to play extremely difficult but fair, barely! This is the Roc course I want another crack at.
Cons: Many say it's too lefty friendly
Many say it's too tight
Many long for an open hole
Many have walked away defeated
I prefer woods courses to open courses so I am a sucker for this kind of course...if your more of an open course player feel free to lower the rating some in your mind.
If you don't like a wooded challenge I'd skip this one. If you can't line shape, fear trees, and enjoy reckless bomber golf don't bother coming here.
For a first timer the baskets and lanes are not easily visible due to the thickness of the trees but they are there.(signage is adequate) I lucked out and got a tour from a friendly local...thanks Stetz1010
Other Thoughts: A few holes every shot I threw ended with treenial and I carded double or triple bogeys but some holes I hit the lines and got par or birdie. It's that kind of course....you can do it but will you?
As you play and your frustration level mounts just remember that the holes on the last 1/3 are better than the first 2/3. Also your concept of what is a fairway will have shifted by that time and your likely to play the final 6 holes better than the prior 12.
Interesting caveat someone got sooooo angry they chainsawed a tree on hole 17s fairway that used to split the fairway. I remarked "Wow an open hole" (it was more of a spot where some sunlight made it to the forest floor) to which my guide commented how some guy ruined the course by cutting down this huge tree that formed a natural bridge over the stream and how it pissed him off cause that one tree was what he used to identify where that one line was that was just to the right of the trunk and without that huge tree in the middle of the fairway he had trouble finding that line........I loved it it's so warped that if you play this course reularly I suppose the trees actually help you find those lines!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.