Greece, NY 
Basil Marella Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #11
4 / 435ft.   3 / 155ft.   4 / 447ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Yellow Tee



Reviews: 53
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
basil

5+    10/8/2011   10/12/2011
Review By: jayman33
Played: 44  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/24/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - description: heavily wooded course, with every hole playing within the woods
- variety: excellent use of topography. the course is mostly flat but makes good use of hills on back 9. short, long, left, right, uphill, downhill holes. most are tight, but some open up a bit more.
- favorite holes: 4, 11, 12, and 17. hole 4 is 222 ft long with trees grouped down the middle of the hole, opening up fairways on the left and the right. hole 11 is 447 ft with a wide fairway straight, then curving left, dipping down a small hill and climbing up another, with the basket positioned on the top edge of that hill. hole 12 is a 180 foot tight shot downhill to a basket near the edge of a stream. hole 17 is a nice sidearm shot out over a stream, curving right with the basket placed in the middle of a very steep hill.
- tees and signs: excellent concrete tees and great new signs.
- difficulty: high. tight fairways can be punishing. if you get a bad kick off a tree and are in the rough, very little chance of threading a recovery shot anywhere near the basket. definitely a course to practice your control and line shaping on. time to disc down.
- flow of course: very good. hole 9 and 18 end near parking lot. only issue is hole 17. after teeing off over the creek, you can either cross over on rocks if there hasn't been much rain or have to back track along the stream to the bridge that led to hole 13.
- not too busy.
- although heavily wooded, underbrush is not bad at all. very hard to lose a disc here
- practice basket is near hole 1
- bathrooms: are usually unlocked
Cons: - a few fairways: some are very tight. precision is definitely needed, but can sometimes feel like poke and hope. what are you going to do though? stay on the fairway as best you can

Other Thoughts: - bridge: to hole 13 is much better than it's been. headed in the right direction
One of my favorite woods courses.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Trees Here. Get Your Trees Here

2-4    7/30/2011   10/4/2011
Review By: tistoude
Played: 166  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 6.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a shining example of Woods Golf. If you enjoy playing heavily wooded courses where the emphasis is accuracy over distance then this is the place to be.

The course itself is located in a nice park with a ton of amenities. Bathrooms, athletic courts and fields, a skate park, and beach volleyball.

Basil is a mature course that winds through some heavy woods that are blessed with very little under growth. Most of the woods are fairly skinny new growth trees with just a smattering of larger old growth hardwoods. The thickness of the woods make this course a pleasure to play on those hot sunny days and provide good protection when it's windy.

The design of the course is two 9 hole loops that both meet at the parking lot. The whole course has a very nice balance between right turning, left turning and straight away. This balance makes it necessary to be able to throw all types of shots to score well. In my opinion there are some significant differences between the 9's that make the course interesting, with an arguable build up in quality as you progress through the holes. The front 9 plays pretty flat and with the exception of hole number 8 the holes are all very dueceable (that is unless you smack into one of the 6 million trees!). The back 9 has a longer feel to it (it's not really) and brings some elevation changes into play on most of the holes. The back nine also has some much more treacherous pin positions that make for some fast greens and bring water into play.

This course really emphasizes your midrange and putter accuracy. All but maybe 2-3 holes have very defined, if small, fairways as well as reasonable gaps that need to be hit to get a birdie. This is a great course for practicing your line shaping and hitting your gaps.

When I played this course is was absolutely spotless. It looked like the fairways had been vacuumed and there were 10 meter circles around each pin. The concrete tees were in perfect condition and all of the baskets were in good shape. The tee signs were in great shape. They show an accurate overview of the hole as well as the distance. At the beginning of the course there is a nice practice basket and a bathroom that is easily accessible from the parking lot, hole one and the walk from 9 to 10.

With the exception of one spot (after hole 3) navigation is not an issue. The course has a good flow to it and each tee is an appropriate distance from the previous pin.

This course has a very high fun factor. Maybe it is because I love woods golf but I think this course is a blast to play but if you are one of those people that has a freakout every time you hit a tree then it is probably not conducive to your good health to play here.
Cons: Although Navigation was not too difficult a few next tee signs would be helpful. This is most important after hole number 3. What appears to be the logical next tee is actually #6 whereas the correct next tee is off to the left. A couple other spots for concern are the transitions between 11 to 12 and 17 to 18.

Too wooded! This is not a con for me personally but I realize there are 4 or 5 people out there that do not share my joy of all things wooded. There are a few holes that I feel do not have a true fairway. People who don't like woods golf would probably say there are more than a few but Holes #6 and #18 are much more poke and hope than any of the others. #5 may be included in this as well. People who are not used to this style of golf could easily be discouraged by the small gaps and the occasional wall of trees.

A little short. Holes 8 and possibly 18 are the only shots were you get to air it out a little and you still have to avoid a lot of those pesky trees.
Other Thoughts: As I mentioned earlier I think this is a really fun course to play. Hit your lines or pay the price!

I played Basil during AM Worlds (before, during and after!) and the Rochester Disc Golf Club had it in spectacular condition. Not a loose stick or branch to be seen. I also got to meet a bunch of the locals that play this course and all of them were super cool and enthusiastic about disc golf.

This might not be the best course for competitive rounds since I will admit there is a significant luck factor in play but for casual play it is fantastic. Watching your buddy walk up to the tee and throw his Buzzz as hard as possible then walk 10 feet and throw it again has great entertainment value (then it happens to you so he thinks it's great too!). Really this course does a great job of teaching you to disc down to something you can control, Makes you work on placing your shot from the tee and hitting your putts with obstacles in the way. This is one of those places where you will likely need to do some straddle putting around trees.

If I am ever back in the Rochester area this will be the first course I stop and play.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Control a Must

5+    9/5/2011   9/5/2011
Review By: lcra0825
Played: 90  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 8.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Cement tee pads.
- Signs in good condition with fairway, distance from cement tee pads, par and directions to next hole.
- Bathrooms located near parking lot which is accessible before you start, between holes 9 and 10, and when you finish. I am not sure if they are open all year long.
- Alternate tees are marked by colored wooden stumps in the ground which are easy to find (at least for blue tee). Basil has better markings for alternate tees than most of the other courses in the Rochester area.
- Faint orange spray paint marks greens on most holes. (33 feet from basket in all directions)
- Decent bridge for crossing stream that runs through course. An extra brige on hole 17 could save a little walk back to the bridge.
- Good course flow. The course atarts and ends at the parking lot and most holes follow each other pretty easily. There are some confusing tansitions I will discuss in the cons.
- Great course for working on control of throws. You do not need to throw far to do well on this course.
- Course requires a good mix of hyzer and anyzer drives as well as some straight, uphill and downhill throws.
- Very fun and interesting hole designs. One hole requires you to drive over a stream and then throw to a basket that is on a hill to the right. Other holes have baskets that are right at the edge of the stream so if you throw to far it is in the water. You wont lose the disc though. The basket for one hole is on a tall pile of rocks making for an interesting putt.
Cons: - Signs do not have distances for alternate tees.
- There are not many if any opportunities for those who like to launch discs.
- Some of the holes do not have clearly defined fairways and it feels as if you are just throwing and hoping for the best.
- Finally some of the transitions are confusing, particularly from gole 3 to hole 4. The tee for hole 4 and the tee for hole 6 are right by the basket. The tee for hole 6 looks like the logical place to go. Make sure to pay attention to the signs to make sure you are going to the right tee. The transition from hole 17 to hole 18 can be confusing. When you get to the top of the hill after hole 17 go to the right on the path to get to the tee for hole 18. Finally, on hole 5 the basket for hole 5 and hole 8 can be confused. The actual basket for hole 5 is quite a distance away and to the right.The basket for hole 8 is closer and to the left.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoy this course because I get satisfaction when I can control my throws and make them go where I want them too and there are plenty of opportunities to succeed or fail at this. I think with better directional signs and the distances of the alternate tees combined with beteer marking of the greens Basil Marell would be at a 4 or 4.5 rating.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 IDragon

1    7/30/2011   8/2/2011
Review By: idragon
Played: 15  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: If you are looking for a challenge Basil has it! Wooded course is really amazing! Every hole has a narrow alley, but you have to hit it or off into the brush you go!
Cons: All the trees may not be everyone's bag.
Other Thoughts: Doesn't get any better playing at this course in the summer. You get a break from the sun on this course!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 glade discing

1    7/23/2011   7/29/2011
Review By: duckychucky
Played: 19  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 12.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: TREES! I'm personally not a big fan of wide open courses (unless they have lots of elevation change).
I had to use every shot i knew to play this course and wish i knew some more.
Played this course during a record heatwave and all the shade was perfect.
The new tee signs were really nicely done.
The little creek added a nice touch.
I liked how the front 9 were flat and the back 9 were hilly, so those that my have trouble with hills (my dad) can just play the front 9.
Cons: The bridges could use some work,
Other Thoughts: All the locals said this was the worst course in the area and complained about the trees, this was my favorite in the area so far BECAUSE of the trees...

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Anyone seen any trees on this course?

2-4    7/23/2011   7/27/2011
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 188  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.9 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
This is a nicely done, heavily wooded course. The tee signs are quality new signs showing hole diagrams and distances. The longest tee pads are concrete pads of ample size. The baskets are quality multi-chain DISCatchers and the yellow bands make them easy to see through the trees. While the lines through the trees are tight, they are all fair (with the exception of #6). There isn't much underbrush on most of the holes, so getting a kick off a tree will usually leave you with a chance at making a shot "out". The short holes are all birdie-able when you hit your line. The longer holes require you to hit a line and place an upshot. The course flows well (with the exception of #3 to #4) and conveniently loops back near the parking lot between holes #9/10. Good sized parking lot and restrooms on site.
Cons:
Hole #6 needs a few trees removed to get a realistic line to the basket; right now that hole is just a "throw and pray", "too much luck" hole. The trees here are brutal, they seem to kick discs harder than other trees, it's not uncommon to get sideways kicks of 100'+. There's virtually no grass on this course so I imagine it's a mud pit after some decent rains. The short tees are marked with stubby (~6") 4x4 posts in the ground that are pretty hard to find. There are a ton of tripping hazards on this course with rocks and exposed roots, so watch your footing.
Other Thoughts:
Basil isn't really my cup of tea when it comes to courses. But I do wish I had a course like that close to me because I think playing there makes you a better golfer. Lucky shots will sometimes sneak through, but more often then not they're punished. You have to learn to hit your lines to master this course. Look at the DGCR pictures and you'll get a good idea of what your in for playing here.

Basil is the type of course that players can easily debate whether or not it's a "good" course. But golfers who appreciate watching discs fly where they're intended will appreciate this course. Your average recreational players will hate it.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Love the Trees

5+    5/26/2007   7/18/2011
Review By: AdirondackDGA
Played: 19  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 36.8 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Makes you think... which is a good thing in disc golf. If you dont look at the entire shot, you will not be happy. Strength in the trees disappears and takes a back seat to finesse and precision.
Cons: Mud. Unless it has been 90 degrees for a month, there is no getting around the mud. I had a pair of Basil socks... white with brown spots... and some holes from snags.
Other Thoughts: Overall a great course. The last time I was there a group of local school kids were there for a Phys Ed field trip. Made for an interesting round, but great to see the kids out playing.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  It's Home!

5+    6/14/2011   6/14/2011
Review By: phishingpier
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very challenging...
Very Peaceful...
Never the same
Cons: Muddy...Muddy...Muddy when it rains
Other Thoughts: Basil is the first and only place I played for the first 5 years I played DG. It is home for me and will have a place in my heart forever.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Basil

5+    5/1/2011   5/7/2011
Review By: keithbkessler
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.6 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: 18 holes ranging from par 3 to 5. Multiple tee's for each hole. Creek play in 2+ holes. Can easily play front 9 or back 9. Good sized course. Very nice DISCatchers. Easy to navigate even without a map.
Cons: Heavily wooded for most of the course. Lots of bee's in the back 9. Very muddy at certain points of the year. No bridge crossing the creek on hole 17. Bridge crossing the other creek is not very stable.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Trees! Trees!

1    4/9/2011   4/13/2011
Review By: sethELT
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/27/2013
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Wooded holes are challenging, definitely makes you focus on well placed drives and navigating trees. Good for beginners, the abundance of trees help you keep your shots level. Concrete tee pads are a plus, along with wood chipped paths. Brush is controlled, no lost discs here!
Cons: Some holes were difficult to find upon my first few visits, after the world AM a few years back, they're well marked now. The bridge over the creek could be a little safer.
Other Thoughts: A great course to play, quick and always fun.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.