Greece, NY 
Basil Marella Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #8
4 / 517ft.   4 / 245ft.   4 / 501ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Yellow Tee



Reviews: 53
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

5+    1/18/2010   4/18/2010
Review By: srichar6
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.7 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The course is nice and secluded from pedestrians, which means no having to warn every time you shoot. Also, the holes are very difficult, but not hard enough to ruin a good time at the course.
Cons: It is very, VERY wooded.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Memories

5+    8/16/2005   4/16/2010
Review By: OzzyMac
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 13.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A nice wooded course with a good variety of holes. This is a great place to refine your shots as many holes require precision shots.
Cons: Lots of trees make this a unforgiving course.
Other Thoughts: I learned the game on this course. From what I see, there have been many improvements since I played here years ago(concrete pads), so I can't wait to get back and play a round.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  its ok

5+    5/17/2009   1/2/2010
Review By: katana
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 1/3/2010
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros:
baskets in good condition
public restrooms
loved playing this course and as soon as I was done I wanted to play it again.
Teaches you how to be accurate with all types of shots.
Cons: Hardly any holes that AREN'T in the woods.
no trash cans
On a day when you're not hitting the gaps all the trees can be frustrating.
Pretty muddy in spots, some holes have no apparent lane for playing the first time.
Limited signage or broken ones make it difficult for first timers to figure some holes. There can be lots of garbage at times.
Other Thoughts: Good course for those liking tight, technical woods courses

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Just too tight to be enjoyable

1    12/1/2009   12/27/2009
Review By: ARock
Played: 31  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 11.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Gorgeous course through the woods that makes you forget you are in the city. Some very long holes with water in play on several holes.
Cons: The course is just way too tight. Seems like every hole is "throw and pray". If some trees came down, this course would be fantastic but until then, I feel like it's a lot more luck and a lot less skill involved. Course passes over a large stream twice and there's no bridge to get across. Be prepared for wet feet if you play when water level is high.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I think this course has great potential but it won't be realized unless the fairways are cleared out signficantly.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Poke N Hope

5+    12/3/2009   12/25/2009
Review By: Gator
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 5.5 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Its a TIGHT course. The teepads are nice cement. The holes are in a nice double loop design and have a variety of shots.
Cons: Some hole are just way to tight to be considered anything but poke and hope. The course crosses a creek twice and there are no bridges. If you want to play in the spring as the snow is melting you should probably pass on this as the creek becomes unpassable. The vandalism at this course is the worst in Rochester but not as bad as many other courses I've seen.
Other Thoughts: Its worth playing but a few tree's coming down would make this course a 3.5 or 4.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Tight, technical woods course

2-4    7/1/2004   12/1/2009
Review By: jonnieoh
Played: 13  Reviewed: 12
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good course for those liking tight, technical woods courses, (I do not).
Cons: It is tough. Hardly any holes that AREN'T in the woods. You will hit trees... a lot.
You're going to damage some discs, especially the softer, cheaper ones. Those are going to get dinged up, scratched, dented and taco'd. You've been warned.
Other Thoughts: Not one of my personal favorites, because most of the holes are in the woods. After a while, I just got sick of trying to chop down trees with my discs. It gets frustrating, and there is little rest from the trees.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 great wooded course

5+    8/4/2009   11/12/2009
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 213  Reviewed: 164  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/6/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: fantastic course design
excellent scenery
new concrete tees (installed '08)
double loop design
baskets in good condition
easy to navigate
great variety of shots, lines, distances, elevation
public restrooms
also has football & soccer fields, sand volleyball courts and a skate park
plenty of parking
Cons: no trash cans
signs missing on the back 9 (still fairly easy to navigate though, just make sure you cross the stream after 12)
speaking of the stream, there has been a bridge but punk kids destroy it every time it gets repaired and put back up. you can still get across on a path of well placed rocks just before where the remains of the bridge are though.
can get sleazy at the beginning of the spring thaw, tends to be muddy for awhile til it eventually dries out
starts to get a little overgrown towards the fall before everything dies

that's pretty much it other than the lack of extras like alternate tees and pins.
Other Thoughts: Just a fantastic wooded course. If you're looking to play a round under a beautiful canopy of trees with a creek winding it's way through then this is the place.

First of all, the fun factor at this course is right at the top, presuming that you like playing in the woods with tight fairways. Lots of memorable holes and tons of variety. There is literally not one hole that does something that another already did. Since the fairways are essentially carved out of the woods, care was obviously taken to make each fairway a different path. Fairways frequently shift in direction through the woods, elevation is used to great effect on the back 9 and there is an even mix of lefty and righty holes.

The lanes are extremely tight here but fair. There are very doable lines on every hole, you've just got to be able to hit them. A few have multiple routes and there are even a few with some risky "shortcuts".

The course definitely would benefit from new signs and some trash cans. New bridges would be sweet too.

Play by play:
1. Plays to the right then back slightly left with basket straight ahead
2. Short, tight left to right shot
3. Very, very (VERY!!!) tight corridor, opens up to a clearing with the basket on the right
4. Left or right paths with trees in the middle, basket right in the middle
5. Long left to right corridor eventually opens up to a clearing where the basket is hidden around a left dogleg
6. crazy little beast that goes straight forward then sharp left back to a sharp right then continues down a wide corridor. room to find some interesting routes here. the elbow makes a great landing zone for a hyzer too, then it's straight the rest of the way to the basket
7. tight right to left opens to something of a clearing, a nice hyzer will birdie
8. long shifting fairway, not too tight but slight changes in direction two or three times
9. short blind hyzer shot looks like you're just throwing into the trees but you're really throwing out of the woods. basket right at the edge of the woods.
**exit woods, turn right, second path back into the woods on the right to next tee**
10. straight shot finishes slightly to the left
11. long right to left, then goes straight for a bit. a small ravine drops down then back up to the basket (so the basket is slightly elevate and on a slope). a few small trees in the ravine guard the hole.
12. ace run, straight shot downhill with a creek on the right that wraps behind the basket too
**follow the path away from the basket, cross stream to get to 13**
13. steep uphill grade about 50' in front of the tee with something of a split fairway. then moves into into a well guarded green to the right.
14. long, gentle left to right to a well guarded basket with a drop off just behind it.
15. nice downhill hyzer shot to a partially protected clearing
16. tight split fairway that's tough either way. fairway goes to the right and the baskets backs up to the creek.
**follow the path to the right away from the basket to the tee for 17**
17. tee off directly over the creek to a fairway that curves to the right. (several ways across the creek but there are a couple good stepping platforms near the tee). basket is up on the right on a big slope.
**climb the slope past the basket to the road, go right then make a left at the pull up bars to get to 18**
18. long right to left, slight clearing to the basket


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Bribe the Troll and you're all set...

2-4    9/25/2009   9/27/2009
Review By: WillACarpenter
Played: 24  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety of wooded shots with different elevation changes and direction changes. Some more open shots and some more cluttered, some bending and some straight. The back 9 has a LOT more variety with some steep hills both up and down and a really nice shot over a creek. You're never really in danger of losing a disc, even in the water.

This place also has a lot of other stuff going on, so you can find something to do even if you don't want to play disc golf anymore...or if you need to bring a SO that doesn't like disc golf as much as you do.

Also all cement Tees.
Cons: There is a broken to heck bridge crossing the creek at hole 13, but there is a footer for a new bridge so hopefully that will be fixed soon.

Also somebody needs to make some new signs for some of the back nine.
Other Thoughts: I loved playing this course and as soon as I was done I wanted to play it again. My father felt the same way. This is simply a really nice place to be, it's fun to walk around, it's fun to play, and I really want to adopt this course and take care of it.

I found a lot of litter on the course, but nowhere near as much as Ellison, and maybe less than Baker.

They just need to replace some of the signs and it'll be very new player friendly.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Trees, trees, trees

5+    3/19/2009   7/19/2009
Review By: RocCityDiscer
Played: 21  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 12.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Quick and easy to find from RTE. 390. Lots of parking and friendly locals. Lots of shade in the summer time as this course has all 18 holes in the woods.

Teaches you how to be accurate with all types of shots. Also forces you to be creative at times. The undergrowth is pretty low unless you go way off the beaten path so finding discs isn't too bad. Unless creek is flooded and muddy you will get your disc back.

New concrete tees as of summer '08 make this course much more playable when wet.
Cons: Bugs. This course tends to hold water for a while and we all know how much it rains in Rochester so the mosquitoes can get quite nasty.

Vandals have torn this course up over the years. Signs are missing/graffiti and benches/bridges get ruined. Lots of trash on the course, wish the town would provide some garbage cans.

On a day when you're not hitting the gaps all the trees can be frustrating.
Other Thoughts: I love this course. Its what got me started on Disc Golf since I live down the road from the park.
You gotta give it a try and see what you think for yourself. Intimidating at first but play it often and you learn to embrace the trees.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Accuracy Rules Here

1    6/23/2009   6/25/2009
Review By: TheRicker
Played: 20  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.1 Years
Pros: Concrete tee pads, good mix of shots required. Helpful locals, plenty of parking. Not too much brush for the most part makes finding errant shots easy. Good mix of distances on a totally wooded course. Fun place for a round in the summer. Short walks between holes makes for a pretty quick round.
Cons: Pretty muddy in spots, some holes have no apparent lane for playing the first time.
Other Thoughts: I would probably place this course as 4th best in Roch. area, behind Parma, Baker Farm, and Ellison. Close to Parma so you can get try and play both in an evening.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.