Greece, NY 
Basil Marella Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2
3 / 188ft.   3 / 116ft.   3 / 189ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Yellow Tee



Reviews: 53
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Winter Disc

2-4    1/16/2011   1/18/2011
Review By: Flippy
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great course for those who enjoy technical shots. It's also great for beginners because mid range discs (for the most part) are key to playing this course.
Cons: 100% in the woods all day. If you're playing in the winter (and if you know the Rochester area and her infamous lake effect snow) it becomes an all day event looking for discs in 2 + feet of snow. Also, the bridge is still dangerous, use extra caution when crossing.
Other Thoughts: If you do like to keep score on this course, double check the pars that are located on each hole to that of your score card; I say this because hole #8 is a par 5 @ 501 ft, where on the site it's listed as a par 4. Great course nonetheless.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Still My Home Course at Heart

5+    7/22/2010   10/28/2010
Review By: justinmd44
Played: 57  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 14.5 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is the course I learned disc golf on and it is the course I keep coming back to. This course FORCES you to throw a variety of shots, all of which must be very accurate. If you think this course is a throw and pray course then you are mistaken… it may have taken me a hundred rounds but every hole has a line to follow (with varying difficulty). This course will test your aim and your patience. Basil also takes excellent advantage if elevation change and the creek that runs through the park.
Cons: Those who are accustomed to open courses may struggle on this course. However, if you struggle on this course then this is the course you should play (if you want to improve). Also, in the spring and after a heavy rain this course can be pretty muddy; just be prepared.
Other Thoughts: Over the course of the last year the GRDGC club has put in concrete tee pads and cleared tree for more defined fairways. This course is now primed to be one of, if not the best, course for 2011 AM Worlds.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 The Predator

5+    10/4/2010   10/16/2010
Review By: Chiefstang
Played: 75  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/8/2011
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Concrete tee pads at every hole.
-A thinker's course. Every lie will leave you with a few lines to choose from.
-Very well controlled undergrowth. Makes it easier for your discs to go home with you.
-Mostly very tight wooded lines, but a few chances to use a driver.
-All accuracy based. The trees will make sure all arm strengths have a chance.
-Many benches give you a chance to take a load off.
-Navigation is pretty easy, with the exception of two holes (See cons).
-The go-to course for windy/lousy weather as the trees provide shelter.
-Never repetitive. The nature of this course guarantees that you will be throwing different lines every time you play.
-Easy to find, and ample parking.
Cons: -Can get a pretty muddy on a few of the holes.
-Needs another bridge over the stream at 17. After teeing off, follow the stream to the left and use the same bridge you crossed earlier. This means taking your eyes off of your disc, often resulting in someone searching.
-Another navigation trick: After finishing 17, climb the hill and follow the footpath to the right. Turn left at the pullup bar and follow the path to 18.
-There are restrooms, but they are rarely open.
-Not all signs are accurate, as the course has changed a few times.
Other Thoughts: -A great accuracy based course. Load your bag with mid-ranges, as they will be the order of the day.
-Awesome in the winter as it protects you from our rotten Rochester weather.
-Pair this course with Widener or Parma for a great combination. Basil will warm you up, and the others will let you rip 'em.
-All in all a beautiful, but heavily wooded course. As you approach your disc you'll be thinking there's no way through, but every lie will leave you a window or three. Great course design, IMO.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Quit Your Whines and Hit Your Lines

1    9/26/2010   10/4/2010
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Technical and demanding mature course that rewards precision and mental toughness. Every hole plays through a forest that offers a high enough canopy to work your disc but with tight lanes from tee to basket. The fun here is in hitting your line and bypassing the trees. The short length, just over 5,000 ft plays much longer than it seems as you are creatively negotiating your way through the cracks and crevices in the tree lines. You think you have played tight and unforgiving fairways before. I never played any this tight before....but somehow despite the hardwood punishment the course continued to be enjoyable.
I think the wide enough gaps off the tees to actually drive provided an intial rush and then the ongoing woods were often clusters of treelines and patches of thick trunks that provided ample opportunities to salvage your 2nd and 3rd shots with some miraculously enjoyable recovery. Imagine a fairway that has a wide enough gap to drive but then basically remains that tight for the next 300 feet to the basket. You are bound to find yourself in a mess but I never found myself in schule or had too much difficulty finding my disc.
This is a woods course that offered the fun of driving in the woods with the technical thrill of recovery without the potential of lost discs.
I found myself thinking and then thinking again on the tee and then from my lie and then on my approach..hell I was even thinking on some of my putts. I think if there was a stat for times you pondered your shot this course would be the top in the country. Rarely are you just stepping up and throwing......if you enjoy thought provoking courses this is your Nirvana.
Great tees for a woods course. Overall the footing was excellent on and off the fairways.
The stretch of holes from 12-17 is amongst the best woods golf I have played. The fact that the course seems to rev up and improve is a bonus to me......giving you that Oh boy whats next feeling.
Water in play on 3 holes is a wide shallow stream and not a deep disc eating pond. Elevation is used efficiently to create some interesting approaches and fun tee shots.
A couple of ace runs most notably #9 and #12 though with some combo of luck and skill some other holes could also be aced.
I have never seen a 500 foot straight shot as tight as hole 8 on this course.
In a nutshell theres enough room to drive and theres lines to hit that offer rewarding birdie chances...I played with a local who showed me some of the routes.
That chance at earned success thats often thwarted by thrower error is what makes this an addictive course. I found it to play extremely difficult but fair, barely! This is the Roc course I want another crack at.
Cons: Many say it's too lefty friendly
Many say it's too tight
Many long for an open hole
Many have walked away defeated
I prefer woods courses to open courses so I am a sucker for this kind of course...if your more of an open course player feel free to lower the rating some in your mind.
If you don't like a wooded challenge I'd skip this one. If you can't line shape, fear trees, and enjoy reckless bomber golf don't bother coming here.
For a first timer the baskets and lanes are not easily visible due to the thickness of the trees but they are there.(signage is adequate) I lucked out and got a tour from a friendly local...thanks Stetz1010
Other Thoughts: A few holes every shot I threw ended with treenial and I carded double or triple bogeys but some holes I hit the lines and got par or birdie. It's that kind of course....you can do it but will you?
As you play and your frustration level mounts just remember that the holes on the last 1/3 are better than the first 2/3. Also your concept of what is a fairway will have shifted by that time and your likely to play the final 6 holes better than the prior 12.
Interesting caveat someone got sooooo angry they chainsawed a tree on hole 17s fairway that used to split the fairway. I remarked "Wow an open hole" (it was more of a spot where some sunlight made it to the forest floor) to which my guide commented how some guy ruined the course by cutting down this huge tree that formed a natural bridge over the stream and how it pissed him off cause that one tree was what he used to identify where that one line was that was just to the right of the trunk and without that huge tree in the middle of the fairway he had trouble finding that line........I loved it it's so warped that if you play this course reularly I suppose the trees actually help you find those lines!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Behind Bars

1    9/27/2010   9/27/2010
Review By: Pyro419
Played: 19  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Heavily Wooded is an understatement! very tight "fairways" if you want to call them fair. lots of tricky lines that if you miss the slightest,you have a good chance of being "in Jail" this course is full of risk/reward type shots. concrete tees, signs. Nice and secluded little patch of wooded land next to a really nice park with a skate park in it as well.
Cons: could use a nice cleanup effort, maybe a little bit of a grooming would crisp it up a bit. You should bring a map if not familiar, although there are hole signs at the tees, it was sometimes difficult to find the next hole. a few directional arrows would help greatly.
Other Thoughts: Lots of potential, seems under cared for.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 very technical course!

2-4    9/19/2010   9/25/2010
Review By: leftyone
Played: 21  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I thought this course was pretty short in terms of distance, although very tight windows on most of the holes, very well marked with signs, a variety of looks off the tee and elevation changes
Cons: if i wasn't playing with a local guy i would have not known where to go from 9-10, lots of thorns in the brushy areas of the course
Other Thoughts: unless you have very good accuracy with your drivers i'd say stick to the midranges off the tee, youll be rewarded.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/19/2010   8/24/2010
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 117  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 6.5 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course is set on a nice piece of otherwise unused woodland in a mixed-use park (soccer, volleyball, tennis, skate park, and even those funny warmup equipment things that went into every park in the 80s). Every hole has a concrete trapezoidal tee pad, and the shape helps point you in the right direction. The baskets look aged but are still in perfectly workable shape. There is virtually no undergrowth here, so there is no itchiness to deal with and very little chance of losing a disk.

This is not an easy course, and that is a pro. It will make it very clear to you if your accuracy is off. The trees off of the fairway tend to be pretty close together, so you won't usually get away with an errant shot.

This course does have a nice balance of doglegs right and left, which I appreciate.
Cons: Navigation is not easy. I managed to get through the first 9 holes without too much trouble, although you need to do a U-turn at one point (after hole 4, I believe). The signage was okay, showing the bare minimum: the shape of the fairway, hole location, and distances. There were no signs pointing you to the next hole, so sometimes I was guessing which path to take. Holes 10-18 were much tougher to navigate. Most of the holes had no signs at all, so I would find a tee pad after tromping through the woods and have no idea which hole it was or how far I was throwing at a basket I could not see (the trapezoidal tee pad at least told me which direction to throw). I couldn't find hole 18 without going all the way back to the map at the beginning of the course. Definitely print off a map.

A bigger issue is course design. I recognize the immense amount of work it takes to clear fairways in this sort of woods, and I commend the people who put in that time. But many of the fairways are not really "fair" at all. Hole 2 has a fairway that is just a couple feet wide, and there are a number of holes that are similarly just short of reasonable in my opinion. The fairways also have some weird shapes, including S-shaped paths to the basket. This is a fine course design if there is a landing area at the middle curve of the "S," but these fairways don't have that (just more narrow fairway). So whether or not you have a chance to throw a good second shot is sometimes more a matter of luck than skill.

One last big beef: holes 19-27…they don't exist. They are shown on the map at the course entrance, and I spent (wasted?) about a half hour walking around and trying to find them before realizing they aren't there (yet?). Frustrating when I could have been playing another round.
Other Thoughts: The course does have alternate tees, although they are just stumpy stakes in the ground (sort of like the ones you see marking the different tee areas on a ball golf course). For some reason the blue tees are shorter than the reds, which is the opposite of convention. The shorter tees put you farther along the fairways, but I still don't think this is a great course for anyone resembling a beginner. I suspect they will just be frustrated.

Wooded courses can be tricky, and they take more work to create than typical open, grip-and-rip courses. The course is certainly worth visiting. With some more trees removed, some improved signs installed, and (eventually) the last 9 holes installed, this course could really be a great one. Kudos to whoever got this course started.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/9/2010   7/10/2010
Review By: Stetz1010
Played: 21  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very technical, excellent course to learn on because it teaches new players that precision is the way to low scores. If you can get through this course at par or under then a wide open course should be cake. Also it's right down the street from me so I play there the most. Oh, and the new bridge from 12 to 13 is fantastic!
Cons: Mosquitoes, drunks, weirdos who just walk around aimlessly, other than that it's all good.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/23/2010   6/15/2010
Review By: LakeBodom397
Played: 70  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sharp shooters dream! very challenging, exclusively wooded course.

Holes are well marked, concrete pads are nice and big for lefties and righties alike.

Very scenic, fair amount of elevation change.

Maintenance much better recently.
Cons: Power player's nightmare! this is a short course with lots and lots of trees! shank drive is a guaranteed bogey on some holes.

course can be crowded, riff raff can get frustrating for players big on etiquette.

crossing the creek on the back 9 is a hassle right now. theres isn't a bridge, just a series of stepping stones. you have to cross the creek twice, expect wet feet, bridge to come soon though.
Other Thoughts: smooth is the name of the game here! you'll get to use every shot you can think of here!

Its totally worth hitting trees to have those shots that find their way perfectly down the fairways here! those are the ones you remember.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great wooded course!

2-4    6/1/2010   6/3/2010
Review By: jlandry117
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is perfect on a really hot day as it is completely wooded. The front 9 seem to be finalized and have hole info with par and map, etc... Cement pads on all 18. Holes are moderate in length and are not over-taken by weeds and such.
Cons: The back 9 are not completed yet....they do not have hole info and for a first timer take some guessing as to which trail leads to the next hole.
Other Thoughts: This is currently my favorite wooded course; as i have not been to parma yet. Although the back 9 do not have any hole info and took a little guessing as to which way to go they do add a bit more difficulty. Be prepared to cross a shotty bridge or stream so wear proper shoes.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center