Bonner Springs, KS 
Wyandotte County Park Share
Uploaded By: jeremiahd Hole #12 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 315ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great setting and great course for big arms!

1    9/22/2013   9/22/2013
Review By: jjw4ucm
Played: 23  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 1.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/8/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course seems to work in very nice harmony with the lay of the land. It's sprawled over a large park and many of the trees help to create natural fairways and incorporate some challenge.

A lot of reviewers have cautioned beginners about this course, but I'm new to the game and really enjoyed the chance to throw as hard as I could without worrying I'd lose my disc or end up waaaay in the rough somewhere. The trees/obstacles punish you somewhat on bad drives, so it maintains the same difficulty of a rough/woods without getting burrs all over your legs.

Seemed to be very nicely mowed and maintained when we were there. Very minimal trash and other debris around. The weeds were very closely cut as well.

I liked the park setting; it felt very peaceful and was a great place to spend some time on a Saturday afternoon. The shelters and playgrounds were occupied but they weren't close enough to the holes generally to cause problems (except maybe the playground near 17).

There's a lot of ripping your driver and throwing long and far on this course, but the woods and other obstacles that are there are used very well I think. The trees aren't very thick, but they're deceptively big and can eat up your drives if you're not careful with your shot.

Huge, long tee pads and benches at every hole. There were also several bathrooms at the shelters you pass by on your way through the course. Lots of creature comforts; there's also a gas station very near by for your convenience needs beforehand.

Multiple pin placements that often change the par of the hole. Signage wasn't always perfect, but it generally got us in the correct vicinity. When the holes are around 400-500 feet, sometimes you can't avoid walking up on them.

Not crowded! We played on a Saturday afternoon, and there were only a couple other groups playing close to us.

Yes, the course is long, but there was enough variety that it kept me interested until the very last hole.603

In the middle of nowhere, so the neighborhood is fine.

There's even some water near hole 15 that, if you aren't careful, could eat a disc. Given the pin position that's currently in place, you'd have to horribly overshoot the hole to do that, but just an FYI. I liked the element and how the designer used the obstacles available.

Signs and tee pads are in good condition. Also, there's flags on top of every basket (on a course with 700 foot holes, it'd be cruel not to have them). The flags and baskets look a bit worn, but it doesn't affect the gameplay.

Navigation is significantly aided by the little stones with arrows near the holes.

I also really liked having a warm-up basket right by the first hole to practice on.
Cons: There really wasn't a good sense of a "fairway" on this course. This could go either way, since I also appreciated the lack of burrs/weeds everywhere. However, it made the OB areas on a few holes harder to find and I think it would make the course flow a bit better and look even nicer than it already does.

As much as I loved this course, the shots did seem to be a bit repetitive, mostly since you were throwing so far away. Not excessively so and I wasn't bored, but it's the same basic approach in many cases.

I feel bad listing several of these as "cons", since you should know what you're getting into before you come here. If you like technical shots, tunnel shots, woodsy areas, and shorter holes, this course is just not for you, plain and simple. However, it is stuff you wouldn't think of on most of the area courses I've played.

Carve out a good chunk of time. There's just two of us and it took us over 2 hours to play! It was a gorgeous day and we wanted to go to Legends after anyway so it wasn't a big deal, but if it's extremely hot or you didn't bring water/a snack, you might be advised to play elsewhere.

It's a drive from almost anywhere besides Western Wyandotte/Shawnee/Lenexa. I recommend making a day of it.

Kansas is indeed windy, and with so many huge drives, the effect of wind is exaggerated a bit.

Even I would have appreciated a couple more technical, shorter shots. I have a fairly big arm, but players who can't throw very far could get very discouraged by the time the course is over.

Generally navigation was fairly easy, but we were left wandering a couple times when we didn't see a stone telling us where to go.

Be aware of the roads near 5 and 6; don't bean a car!

Be prepared to spend a bit of time walking up on quite a few holes. They're all pretty spread out and unless you want to shoot blind, you'd be advised to figure out where they are (especially 4!).
Other Thoughts: The course is spread out over a huge park in western Wyandotte County, on the far northwest corner of the metro somewhat close to the Kansas Speedway. There's a gas station nearby for your convenience needs.

There are several shelters, playgrounds, and roads nearby. They are generally not too much in the way of play, so I didn't include that in either pros or cons. There were actually several groups using them when we were there and we never came close to them whatsoever, but just be aware!

The setting for the course is gorgeous, and even through it was long and challenging, we both enjoyed it. My girlfriend, who will admit she can't throw too terribly far, even said that the park itself made up for the sometimes lack of variety and constant approach to most of the shots. Fix those two things, and it'd be an easy 4.0. Even with, I feel comfortable with that rating and absolutely LOVED this course. Happy discing!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Like playing in a wind tunnel

5+    8/9/2012   8/10/2012
Review By: bigreddog
Played: 57  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 2.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/5/2013
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Huge variety of distance in the holes, and I really liked that there were a lot of holes that weren't par 3's. There was even one par 5 with an 800 foot hole position up a mild hill for the last two thirds of the hole. At the same time, hole 8 is a very aceable 280. Distance variety is also helped by alternate hole positions mentioned below. For sure one of the best in this respect. 10/10

Concrete tees and good baskets. 10/10

Almost every hole has at least one alternate hole position, and many have 2 alternates. Unlike some courses, there are huge differences in the distance when the alternate hole positions are used, and many change the par scores of the holes. 9/10

Even though the majority of drives are fairly open (about 12 holes, 1,2, 9, 10, 12, and 18 are the tight ones I remember), many of the holes are par 4's with the second shots being tighter, so overall I'd give the variety of openness on shots an 8/10

The course requires players to make decisions on the par 4's, the par 3's are pretty straightforward but the par 4's really make you pick a spot that you want to throw your second shot from. 8/10

The elevation and obstacles are used pretty well at this course even though there isn't a ton of either of them. They do a great job of combining them to keep the holes interesting. Elevation 7/10, obstacles 9/10

Navigation on the holes themselves is pretty good with tee signs. There are still some blind shots that make it hard to tell (holes 4, 5 and 10) in some cases, and baskets 7 and 9 are kind of close together. 6/10

Navigation between holes is a little bit of a problem on some holes, it's not exactly intuitive in several cases. After 7 and 9 both it looks like the next tee is what is actually 17. The course does a neat thing that I've never seen anywhere else though and puts in stone discs on the ground next to the baskets with an arrow pointing toward the next tee on the holes where it's difficult to tell so it's not too bad. 6/10

Discs are easy to find if it's mowed. However, when it's not like it is at the time of this update they can dig down a little to where you pretty much have to be on top of the disc to see it. There are some holes that have slightly blind shots such as 10, that make it more difficult, but in general the brush of the forested areas is very thin relative to many courses and make the discs easier to find without going romping through all of it. Pretty much the only thing is that the trees tend to grab them up, so if you don't see them on the ground check there. 6/10

Course is maintained pretty well for the most part but recently (May and June) it wasn't always mowed well. It was mowed once again in July. There are benches on almost every hole. All the times I played it last year it was mowed down on the actual holes, and even in the more forested areas the brush is very thin. Hole signs are present on every hole, some look like they've been used as target practice for air rifles, but other than that great job. It's an 8/10 if it's mowed but currently 5/10


There are bathrooms on site, benches on every hole, and quite a bit of shade. A couple of sketchy water pumps if you're desperate. There is one major problem which is the longer grass is itchy (see course maintenance in next section), 4/10 on comfort during the round if not mowed, 6/10 if it is.
Cons: The course doesn't require too much of a variety of shot paths to be successful. Straight and as far as you can throw is pretty much always a good start. If you have misses off the tee you could need a certain shape to get close, but if you play a first shot to a good spot you can almost always have a straightforward second shot (hole four is an exception no matter which hole position it's in). With this said, it would be nice if the par threes could throw in some more curves. 2/10

Overall it's a pretty long course which makes it difficult and grueling for beginners or shorter throwers. It is great for intermediates and advanced players (who could just play everything as par 3 for more of a challenge), but as far as challenging all skill levels without being too hard to be fun I'd say 3/10
Other Thoughts: Hole 4 is a very unique hole in both positions. Definitely my favorite hole out there.

This course is extremely vulnerable to wind. The first time the wind was howling the entire time, the second time we got there at ten, so it wasn't too bad at first, but it picked up throughout the round and by about hole 12 it was blowing just as hard. To me this is a con, but I know many people like the additional challenge of wind, so I put it here instead. I would definitely recommend playing early in the morning or later in the afternoon to avoid this unless you like 800ft holes uphill and into the wind.

I like how if you miss with your drives you are punished by making your next shot harder.

I also really like a mix of par 3's and par 4's in a course, it helps add more variety to the strategy and I think most courses need more of them. I'd like to see more course with par in the low 60's like this one.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Give the 'dotte a shot

2-4    4/30/2012   5/2/2012
Review By: justactnormal
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Really well kept course, set in a large park with a lot of other stuff to do

Large poured concrete teepads for every hole.

Well mowed when I went with distinct fairways and rough and a few 'greens' around the pins

Clean (not like some other KC area parks), well signed with multiple pin placements for most holes and a bench by every tee. Also, there's a couple of big restroom areas, where you can get water.

Not crowded at all. Only saw a couple other groups the times that I've been, all in the late afternoon after work.

Pretty scenic... although most of the course plays pretty wide open, there was a nice use of elevation and trees that influenced shot selection on some holes.

Starts and finishes with a couple of nice tunnels. Overall, well designed and good use of the large amount of space and old trees available in the park.

Good mix of challenging and fairly straightforward holes and risk/reward factor on several.


Cons: Most holes are fairly straightforward... long drive, layup, putt. But a few require a well placed upshot or fairway drive. You need all shots, though. Hyzer and anhyzer if you want to score well. Or you can usually take a straight line if you're a newer player or don't have all the shots down yet.

Most holes are quite long, which I like, but not everybody does. Only one sub 300' hole. Most are 400-500'. Couple over 700'.

1/2 of the holes are wide open or just require you to hit a big gap off the tee before you're wide open, but the tunnels and playing along the treelines are nice and a lot of baskets have multiple pins and lines to the hole.

Bring a map. It's not obvious where the next tee is a lot of the times, or 2 tees are visible from the pin.

You have to play across the park road several times, and the course plays back on itself a couple of times, but not too bad.

Depending on where you live, it can be kinda far. It's not real close to any of the other courses in the area but the park is right off of I-70 and easy to find.

Other Thoughts: I've really enjoyed this course the few times that I've played it. It's mostly wide open, but you need a well placed shot, not just distance to score well. Decent mix of hole lengths, but all par 3 and 4's. The park is really nice and not crowded at all. It'd be a great place for a beginner even more experienced players that want to work on their game. Not too challenging or long to intimidate, but certainly enough to keep it interesting. This course is a really good complement to some of the other great courses that we have in the KC area. It's a bit out of the way, but if you're out by the Legends or Racetrack/Casino is definitely worth a look.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 a GOLF course

1    3/7/2012   3/8/2012
Review By: asjzn6
Played: 110  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 9.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Teepads-long and wide
Baskets-upgraded mach 3 i think catch well
TeeSigns-Good and informative
Benches-everyhole
Trashcans-A few probably a con
Location-right off I-70
This course was a lot of fun, i have some distance when i throw but with trees and some sharp elevation and wind playing on to the green was tough. I imagine be as open as this course is lots of wind so it makes for an excellent factor. yes a lot of these holes can be long and even the short placements are 350+ but there a lot of golf shots playing the fairway and figuring out the greens. Hole 1, 2 and 18 epic beautiful tree-lined fairways
Cons: Not many trashcans. Made for those with durable arms. Several holes slight elevation but wide open with trees.
Other Thoughts: It was real windy when i played and forced to make a lot of smart shots but that is golf so i loved it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Kan-U-Wyco

1    3/26/2011   3/29/2011
Review By: Iberian_55
Played: 25  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A very well maintained course. The flow of the course layout was excellent. Multiple pin locations which are frequently changed. (So I was told from local players) Elevation changes made for some challenging drives. Tee pads had signs that were well made, benches at every pad and trash cans at every few pads. Utilization of the environment in the design seemed like it was meant for a DG course. It is kind of on the long side, but I enjoy being outdoors on a course throwing plastic. Had a great time here. And there are a lot of good courses in the area.
Cons: Not any in my way of thinking. But, if you are looking for a short course. This is not it.
Other Thoughts: It could be a very challenging round if the "Winds of Kansas" are a blowin' I'm a Kansan and I don't mind it at all. But that's me.
A definite play if you're in the area.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Across the street from this course

5+    7/28/2010   7/30/2010
Review By: AHowe
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: well maintained course
nice tee's and course maps at the tee box
long open fairways, allow beginners like myself to figure out what a disc's normal flight path is without having to fight obstacles.
Cons: The next to be played isn't always easy to find, because it isn't well marked at the tee or at the basket. Some baskets are marked with a pavement stone that has an arrow toward the next tee pad.
Other Thoughts: I play here often because I basically live across the street and this is the course I started playing dg on.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 All day disc golf adventure

5+    4/16/2009   9/16/2009
Review By: bthoma1
Played: 36  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/26/2011
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great course with tunnel shots, distance shots and elevation changes.
Rarely are there a ton of people there so you can play on through. But when there are people there, they are always friendly
Will challenge your patience on a few holes and will make you want to learn the roller.
Well maintained by the KC flying disc club
Trash cans on every 3 or so holes so it is kept pretty clean
Also a few regulars who change baskets as they play as well as pick up trash.
Baskets are moved often to keep you on your toes.
tennis courts, skate park and playground right around area so can be an all day adventure. They also have a junior golf course on site, as well as agricultural hall of fame if that floats your boat.


Cons: not a con for me, but length could be a con for the beginning golfer.
A little too wide open, maybe throw in a tree here and there. But having it being wide open, you still have to throw it far

Other Thoughts: Like I said nice variety
Holes 1 and 2 you have to keep your disc low and straight..or just roll it
#3 has slight elevation changes and tress that make for a tricky hole.
#4 is a tough anhyzer shot. oh just nice RHBH and then you have to shoot threw a small clearing up hill.
#5 is set on top of a hill, so it is farther than what it seems.
#6 starts the leash free dog zone and goes back down hill with only one tree and elevation in the way
#7 has tricky elevation and trees and only about two shots you can throw it,but they when you do throw it there there are low trees, so be mindful.
#8 is probably the easiest hole. You have to shoot it threw a small gap and it is less than 300 ft away.
#9 also has you shooting it through a gap like #8 but the gap is further away and once you pass it there are trees, but nothing to worry about
#10 has a line of trees on the right side, so it will have you questioning whether to shot around the trees or to shoot it sidearm as if you try and throw it RHBH it will curve down a hill..not big hill but big enough to mess up the hole.
#11..get out the big guns..There is one tree, but it is not in the way. the holeis set up quite far and off the the right..sometimes before a sprout of trees sometimes after. so either grip and rip or throw a mean sidearm..depending on placement.Because you can have a decent drive, but if it is at the far placement then you must throw it 400+ or be faced with difficult decision.
#12 is flat but many trees cause you to think before you throw, Like #10 if you try and throw it straight and you miss, you will go down a hill an OB unless you land on grass.
#13 is a beast of a hole..close to 700 or 800ft depending on placement. But they have added chalked fairway lines so you cant just throw it out there. Which makes it even harder.
#14 is downhill and has a water hazard, there are also trees placed "just" at the right spot, so chose your shot wisely
#15 shoots back up the hill that 14 shot down..so it makes the 330ft placement play farther than what it is. there are also trees and some "seemingly" low since you are playing up hill.
#16 plays down hill but then the hole is elevated and there are only a few trees about halfway through the hole. I think hole is 450+ But throw nice and straight between them and it will work out fine.
#17 can either be a fairly easy drive, or if the basket is on one of the further spots can challenge a few. A few elevation changes with trees places it great locations that will make you think..
#18 is a nice tunnel shot either straight ahead or anhyzer..good ending to the course and you are very very close to hole one again

As someone has mentioned, when it seems like it is getting too hard..they throw in an easy hole.
Love the design
2 bathrooms, one at the beginning by the tennis court and one about half way though the course.I think after hole #13

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course to Let 'Er Rip

1    7/19/2009   7/19/2009
Review By: anhyzer24
Played: 70  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 15.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I absolutely loved this course. Trees look like they were planted with a disc course in mind. Great flow of wide open shots working left and right, and a few holes that will make you think a little bit. No terrible trouble to be found, but most holes require a well-placed drive and an accurate up-shot. Several holes with tunnel shots, wide enough and tall enough to play quite fair, yet remain challenging. Beautiful park, the course was well maintained and flowed quite nicely. Finding holes is no problem, with markers at most baskets, and very detailed signs at each teepad. Multiple pin placements for nearly every hole can provide some good variety
Cons: If you can dodge trees, and have a strong arm, you'll rarely run into trouble. Not much of a punishment to miss the fairway here.
Other Thoughts: One of the best courses in the KC area, in my opinion. Slight elevation changes are used well to provide an additional challenge, and the treelines demand strong, accurate teeshots for scoring possibilities.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.