Bonner Springs, KS 
Wyandotte County Park Share
Uploaded By: jeremiahd Hole #12 (Taken 8/2009)
4 / 564ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 

5+    11/25/2010   1/26/2011
Review By: kevinmzane
Played: 111  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is an excellent course, especially for big arms. There is a practice basket near the parking lot which is always a bonus for me. There are nice tee signs and concrete pads at every hole. Alternate pin placements provide very different lines in most cases. Not much elevation change, but the gradual slopes play well on some of the holes. You have a nice variety of shots available here including water/ tunnels/ bombs/ some shorter semi technical stuff.... Unlike a lot of the courses I play, unless you have some kind of super-cannon you are forced to put more planning into your next shot before you tee off on many holes which I really enjoy.
Not all too overwhelming, but still a nice reality check after playing other courses littered with ace runs and easy birdies.
Cons: Looking back, I used to get really frustrated with this course when I was new to the game. The holes are too long if you don't have a decent drive, and you need some balance of control/distance or you really won't enjoy it... (not really a con for me) but if you don't enjoy the exercise part of the game, this course is a pretty long walk.
Kansas can get windy and this park is no exception.
Other Thoughts: On a calm, nice day this is one of my all time favorites... I wouldn't recommend taking the family out for a round here or any first timers unless they are serious troopers, but it is great for a nice long solo round or a round with some closely matched players. I would love to play a tournament out here, the longer holes open up a different kind of play that I don't really get to see a lot of.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good Driver Workout

2-4    6/23/2010   8/13/2010
Review By: jayhawker737
Played: 52  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/10/2012
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: This is a great place to work on distance.
This is also a great place to work on wind driving.
This course is never too crowded, so your round will flow pretty well.
Cons: For me it was a bit too repetitive.
It is always good to be able to throw your driver well, but I wish there were some shorter and more technical holes to compliment the long open holes.
Other Thoughts: Has some good entertainment areas nearby and some good food (Arthur Bryant's). For someone that loves to throw long, this is a great course. For other's like me, I would prefer a more technical layout.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Wyco...

1    8/4/2010   8/5/2010
Review By: eye-ball-sac
Played: 67  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/19/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is located in a slightly hill area of a large park called Wyondotte County Park. (or Wyco as some people call it) Most holes had at least a slight hill on them. Only a few flat holes. Lots of trees, but not quite a wooded course. Most of the holes had a straight line of trees defining the fairway, but there weren't very many obstacles IN the fairway. Large concrete tees which helps with the long holes. Tee signs were pretty good, but some of the pin positions weren't listed. Benches at ever tee, but usually they weren't in the shade. Lots of fun holes (some memorable holes were 4,5,14.) If 5 is on the short pin, you have to throw onto a big mound of dirt about 250ft. ahead of you. Lots of long holes. If you don't have a big arm you're not going to enjoy this course.
Cons: The grass was really long when I was there. Lots of bugs everywhere. The holes were a little long for me, but I can't throw very far. There were about 4 holes over 600 ft. which can get very repetitive. If the pin is on the short positions, it can be a long walk to the next tee. The "O.B." (seemed more like a mando) on hole 13 wasn't marked at all and I had no idea if I was O.B. or not. It gets very hot here during the summer. Make sure to bring plenty of water.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a nice course. It seemed a little long for my weak arm, but most people would enjoy it. My favorite holes were 1, 2, and 18, which each had a line of trees on both sides of you which gave you the feel of a tunnel shot.

-------------------------
If you mark this review unhelpful or you find a mistake, please send me a personal message here on DGCR explaining what is wrong with it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Wyandotte why not?

2-4    7/28/2010   7/30/2010
Review By: c0ntagion
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.2 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Cement tee pads, pars listed on signs, variety of shots, not too many hazards.
Cons: Most shots require you to be able to throw a long distance. A lot of holes are in excess of 500-600 feet. No beginner tee pads available.
Other Thoughts: If you're like me and just learning the game, it's nearly impossible to even come near par on a lot of the long shots. It's still a fun course, just don't look at the par signs!

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Across the street from this course

5+    7/28/2010   7/30/2010
Review By: AHowe
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: well maintained course
nice tee's and course maps at the tee box
long open fairways, allow beginners like myself to figure out what a disc's normal flight path is without having to fight obstacles.
Cons: The next to be played isn't always easy to find, because it isn't well marked at the tee or at the basket. Some baskets are marked with a pavement stone that has an arrow toward the next tee pad.
Other Thoughts: I play here often because I basically live across the street and this is the course I started playing dg on.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Charlie Brown's Pitcher's Mound

1    3/24/2010   4/1/2010
Review By: Donovan
Played: 235  Reviewed: 186  Exp: 29.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/8/2010
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course. Some of these pin placements were lots of fun. The ground was still wet enough, I was fortunate enough to throw a tombstone drive on #5 next to the basket that sits on a big Charlie Brown's Pitcher's Mound. (Sorry, I put some personal round comments in here, but it was a real relief to see that thing stick.) ;) Seriously though the pin locations really made some of these holes fun to throw at. Besides that, this course has some moderate elevation, variety of hole lengths, lightly wooded, some interesting hole layouts, a few OB/Mandos areas, a few risk/reward greens, and great use of the entire park. Most of the holes are wide open. The park looked well maintained. The tee pads were excellent. There seems to be just one obstacle on most of the holes. It was a nice way to keep it interesting and yet simple. This park could be a challenge on a windy day, but it was a delight to play. There is a bathroom by first hole.
Cons: They do need tee signs with better footage on them. When I played the footage on the water hole #14 was way off, because they did not list the short pin placement, even though the long placements (over the water)were listed. There were very few trash cans on the course even though the course was quite clean. Some of the fairways were almost too wide as others have mentioned. The long number 13 can be about as long as you want it with this fact. ;)
Other Thoughts: More obstacles would have been nice, but not always necessary. The Fun Factor for me was decent. It wasn't always the drive that I was enjoying. Many times the approach to the basket was the ticket. I definitively enjoyed playing here and will do it again when I come through the KC area.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 As Fun as it is Long

1    3/15/2009   10/9/2009
Review By: chad groen
Played: 23  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 16.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/16/2010
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a long and well-kept course that can really test your driving skills, both in distance and sometimes in accuracy. It's a large, hilly park with lots of trees scattered throughout and also a wooded creek. The course takes advantage of these things to provide a very fun course with varying degrees of difficulty. There are some great layouts, and the alternate hole locations provide different challenges for each hole, which helps maintain a fresh feel to the course. The trees provide some tricky shots, some of which favor backhand throws while others favor sidearm throws. Some holes are real narrow while others are more wide open giving you an opportunity to launch your disc as far as you can on your opening drive. Also the signs and benches at each tee pad are a nice touch.
Cons: It can sometimes be kind of hard figuring out where to go to play the next hole and also trying to figure out where the first tee pad is located in this giant park (it's next to the tennis courts, so look for that). Also there are a few holes that seem a little too open and could probably benefit from having a few more trees to help make them more challenging.
Other Thoughts: This might be a daunting course for someone with a weak arm, but overall it's a great park for disc golf that can challenge players of all skill levels in a variety of ways.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 All day disc golf adventure

5+    4/16/2009   9/16/2009
Review By: bthoma1
Played: 43  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 9.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/26/2011
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great course with tunnel shots, distance shots and elevation changes.
Rarely are there a ton of people there so you can play on through. But when there are people there, they are always friendly
Will challenge your patience on a few holes and will make you want to learn the roller.
Well maintained by the KC flying disc club
Trash cans on every 3 or so holes so it is kept pretty clean
Also a few regulars who change baskets as they play as well as pick up trash.
Baskets are moved often to keep you on your toes.
tennis courts, skate park and playground right around area so can be an all day adventure. They also have a junior golf course on site, as well as agricultural hall of fame if that floats your boat.


Cons: not a con for me, but length could be a con for the beginning golfer.
A little too wide open, maybe throw in a tree here and there. But having it being wide open, you still have to throw it far

Other Thoughts: Like I said nice variety
Holes 1 and 2 you have to keep your disc low and straight..or just roll it
#3 has slight elevation changes and tress that make for a tricky hole.
#4 is a tough anhyzer shot. oh just nice RHBH and then you have to shoot threw a small clearing up hill.
#5 is set on top of a hill, so it is farther than what it seems.
#6 starts the leash free dog zone and goes back down hill with only one tree and elevation in the way
#7 has tricky elevation and trees and only about two shots you can throw it,but they when you do throw it there there are low trees, so be mindful.
#8 is probably the easiest hole. You have to shoot it threw a small gap and it is less than 300 ft away.
#9 also has you shooting it through a gap like #8 but the gap is further away and once you pass it there are trees, but nothing to worry about
#10 has a line of trees on the right side, so it will have you questioning whether to shot around the trees or to shoot it sidearm as if you try and throw it RHBH it will curve down a hill..not big hill but big enough to mess up the hole.
#11..get out the big guns..There is one tree, but it is not in the way. the holeis set up quite far and off the the right..sometimes before a sprout of trees sometimes after. so either grip and rip or throw a mean sidearm..depending on placement.Because you can have a decent drive, but if it is at the far placement then you must throw it 400+ or be faced with difficult decision.
#12 is flat but many trees cause you to think before you throw, Like #10 if you try and throw it straight and you miss, you will go down a hill an OB unless you land on grass.
#13 is a beast of a hole..close to 700 or 800ft depending on placement. But they have added chalked fairway lines so you cant just throw it out there. Which makes it even harder.
#14 is downhill and has a water hazard, there are also trees placed "just" at the right spot, so chose your shot wisely
#15 shoots back up the hill that 14 shot down..so it makes the 330ft placement play farther than what it is. there are also trees and some "seemingly" low since you are playing up hill.
#16 plays down hill but then the hole is elevated and there are only a few trees about halfway through the hole. I think hole is 450+ But throw nice and straight between them and it will work out fine.
#17 can either be a fairly easy drive, or if the basket is on one of the further spots can challenge a few. A few elevation changes with trees places it great locations that will make you think..
#18 is a nice tunnel shot either straight ahead or anhyzer..good ending to the course and you are very very close to hole one again

As someone has mentioned, when it seems like it is getting too hard..they throw in an easy hole.
Love the design
2 bathrooms, one at the beginning by the tennis court and one about half way though the course.I think after hole #13

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Reat Practice

5+    9/10/2009   9/12/2009
Review By: kcplease
Played: 128  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/18/2011
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Wide open fairways half the time with some tree challenges along the way. Driving practice is nice. Variety of lenths, but most are over 400
Cons: Too long somtimes
This gets very WIIIINDY
Other Thoughts: I'd love to play this again. I am a horrible driver and need work on the form (270-300 ft), and this really helped me, especailly since I had a better player helping me out. Holes are anywhere from 250 and very wooded to 750 and wide open, so challenges are everywhere. Make sure you know where your discs go if you throw multiple, because there is so much fairway to lose track of them on.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course to Let 'Er Rip

1    7/19/2009   7/19/2009
Review By: anhyzer24
Played: 83  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 17.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I absolutely loved this course. Trees look like they were planted with a disc course in mind. Great flow of wide open shots working left and right, and a few holes that will make you think a little bit. No terrible trouble to be found, but most holes require a well-placed drive and an accurate up-shot. Several holes with tunnel shots, wide enough and tall enough to play quite fair, yet remain challenging. Beautiful park, the course was well maintained and flowed quite nicely. Finding holes is no problem, with markers at most baskets, and very detailed signs at each teepad. Multiple pin placements for nearly every hole can provide some good variety
Cons: If you can dodge trees, and have a strong arm, you'll rarely run into trouble. Not much of a punishment to miss the fairway here.
Other Thoughts: One of the best courses in the KC area, in my opinion. Slight elevation changes are used well to provide an additional challenge, and the treelines demand strong, accurate teeshots for scoring possibilities.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center