Bonner Springs, KS 
Wyandotte County Park Share
Uploaded By: jeremiahd Hole #1 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 401ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  Distance Contest Mostly

1    7/28/2012   7/28/2012
Review By: paulbmann
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 8/2/2012
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good tee signs with distance to the basket well marked. Good concrete pads and very large. Nice benches.
Cons: Seems to be designed for 450-foot throwers.
The tree locations seemed to be random without providing real fairways. When you do find a fairway on some holes the fairway is 400 feet long and if you cannot throw that far you don't have any other route to the basket. It's hard to describe. I did not find hardly any fun holes. Most seemed similar, just random tree placements. Lots of missed opportunity to create great holes, because the land has potential. Almost every hole is a long shot 10 feet high. Not much variety of shots required.
Other Thoughts: After taking 2.5 hours to finish the round, it really was not worth it. Just not much fun or variety.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good place for a relaxed round

1    7/26/2012   7/26/2012
Review By: bazillion
Played: 55  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 15.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: DG-specific area in a large park. Grass is groomed and the course is clean. Excellent, high-quality benches at most tees, a few trash cans here and there (no trash noted), and most pin positions include a round cement marker that shows the direction of the next tee. This was a real plus in my book since I played solo and without a course map.

Most holes have multiple pin placements and the tee signs show all pins with distances and pars for each placement. The unused placements have stubby poles so you can tell in almost all cases where your target is, even if you've never played the course before. All pins have red flags on top, most of which are visible from the tee.

The main "pro", of course, applies to the big arms in the crowd. This is a course designed for throwers who are accurate in the 350-400-foot range and if you're one of these, you'll probably score under par with ease.
Cons: Even though there's some variety among the holes, the general character of the course (long & open) means that it feels a bit repetitive. It would be better if there were one or two tight, technical holes just to mix it up a bit.
Other Thoughts: If you're looking for a course that has the scenic beauty of a bolf course and you're not intimidated by long (500+) holes, Wyco is a real good bet. Play there and enjoy a relaxed round of golf - no real challenges, lots of fun. Good times.

Personally, I was a bit afraid to play here because by D ain't where it should be. But in the spirit of YOLO, I decided to do it anyway and I enjoyed my round a lot more than I thought I would. So noodle-arms, I'm tellin' ya, you can have a good time here even though the course favors the gorillas.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Give the 'dotte a shot

2-4    4/30/2012   5/2/2012
Review By: justactnormal
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Really well kept course, set in a large park with a lot of other stuff to do

Large poured concrete teepads for every hole.

Well mowed when I went with distinct fairways and rough and a few 'greens' around the pins

Clean (not like some other KC area parks), well signed with multiple pin placements for most holes and a bench by every tee. Also, there's a couple of big restroom areas, where you can get water.

Not crowded at all. Only saw a couple other groups the times that I've been, all in the late afternoon after work.

Pretty scenic... although most of the course plays pretty wide open, there was a nice use of elevation and trees that influenced shot selection on some holes.

Starts and finishes with a couple of nice tunnels. Overall, well designed and good use of the large amount of space and old trees available in the park.

Good mix of challenging and fairly straightforward holes and risk/reward factor on several.


Cons: Most holes are fairly straightforward... long drive, layup, putt. But a few require a well placed upshot or fairway drive. You need all shots, though. Hyzer and anhyzer if you want to score well. Or you can usually take a straight line if you're a newer player or don't have all the shots down yet.

Most holes are quite long, which I like, but not everybody does. Only one sub 300' hole. Most are 400-500'. Couple over 700'.

1/2 of the holes are wide open or just require you to hit a big gap off the tee before you're wide open, but the tunnels and playing along the treelines are nice and a lot of baskets have multiple pins and lines to the hole.

Bring a map. It's not obvious where the next tee is a lot of the times, or 2 tees are visible from the pin.

You have to play across the park road several times, and the course plays back on itself a couple of times, but not too bad.

Depending on where you live, it can be kinda far. It's not real close to any of the other courses in the area but the park is right off of I-70 and easy to find.

Other Thoughts: I've really enjoyed this course the few times that I've played it. It's mostly wide open, but you need a well placed shot, not just distance to score well. Decent mix of hole lengths, but all par 3 and 4's. The park is really nice and not crowded at all. It'd be a great place for a beginner even more experienced players that want to work on their game. Not too challenging or long to intimidate, but certainly enough to keep it interesting. This course is a really good complement to some of the other great courses that we have in the KC area. It's a bit out of the way, but if you're out by the Legends or Racetrack/Casino is definitely worth a look.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A long bomber's paradise

1    3/27/2012   3/31/2012
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 8 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course is set in a park near the speedway with gently rolling hills and sparsely populated with trees. The tee pads and long and wide, and the tee signs are the same type seen elsewhere on KC courses (I think this style is very good and pretty helpful). Most holes have multiple pin positions, which is always a plus with me.

Navigation here was so so. Many of the baskets have a helpful arrow inscribed in a brick in the ground pointing the way to the next tee, but not all do. I brought up the map on this site on my phone, and that got me where I needed to go. A couple times the course loops back on itself.

My favorite hole was 14, a downhill hole approaching a pond. The pin was set on the other side, so you had to decide how hard you could throw without risking going in the lake (it's about 375 or 400 feet away, so you're probably not getting wet without a big arm). And then the approach across the lake, which is not a tough shot, but the water gets in your head. Fun hole.

Hole 5 was also a nice shot onto a mound, and the various positions looked good.

The elevation changes made for some variety.

It is right off of I-70 and is easy to get to.
Cons: See the note on hole 16 above. That sort of decision making is what I love about a course...and it was really lacking on most of the holes. For the most part, you are chucking your disc as far as you can, and there aren't a lot of decisions because there aren't that many trees or other obstacles.

I'm not a huge fan of really long holes in general. This course had two 700+ foot holes. I guess if you have this kind of space, you may as well.

The grass was pretty long when I played. However, it was in late March, and spring started really early this year, so I'm guessing the course just hasn't been mowed yet because who the hell mows in March? So I won't hold that against anyone.

In general, there aren't many holes you haven't seen on other courses.

The course is very close to I-70, so you can hear traffic throughout the course.
Other Thoughts:
As a rec player who can't consistently throw over 300 feet, this just isn't my kind of course, but it might be right for you. Here's the thing about Kansas City: unless you want a mountain course or something set in a lush jungle, they have EVERY kind of course. So if one doesn't fit your needs, try the next one down the road. We'd all be so lucky to have a variety of courses like this city.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 a GOLF course

1    3/7/2012   3/8/2012
Review By: asjzn6
Played: 121  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 10.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Teepads-long and wide
Baskets-upgraded mach 3 i think catch well
TeeSigns-Good and informative
Benches-everyhole
Trashcans-A few probably a con
Location-right off I-70
This course was a lot of fun, i have some distance when i throw but with trees and some sharp elevation and wind playing on to the green was tough. I imagine be as open as this course is lots of wind so it makes for an excellent factor. yes a lot of these holes can be long and even the short placements are 350+ but there a lot of golf shots playing the fairway and figuring out the greens. Hole 1, 2 and 18 epic beautiful tree-lined fairways
Cons: Not many trashcans. Made for those with durable arms. Several holes slight elevation but wide open with trees.
Other Thoughts: It was real windy when i played and forced to make a lot of smart shots but that is golf so i loved it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/3/2012   3/3/2012
Review By: astomps
Played: 58  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 4.8 Years
This review was updated on 3/9/2013
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -huge course
-benches on every tee
-good chance to "air" it out
-some holes are very fun (4,7,9)
-Some tunnel shots through trees are fun
-not a busy course
Cons: -if it is remotely windy outside, just turn around and go play somewhere else
-some holes are just literally throwing the disc straight on flat ground 500 feet
-not too many elevation changes
Other Thoughts: Be ready to walk.. This is a long course

This would be an ideal course for a big pdga tourney because there would be a lot of space for spectators and you would get to see the pros really throw.

probably a 4.0 course an a non-windy day

another way I can describe this course is it's sort of like a cemetery minus the tombstones

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Wyco is made for disc golf

5+    10/15/2011   12/7/2011
Review By: mindoveryou
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful course! The trees seem as though they were planted for disc golf. The wide sweeping views, the natural tree tunnels, and well maintained fairways are perfect to play. Excellent signage, easy parking, and rarely any lines. Besides the distance, the hardest challenge is navigating the ever changing wind conditions that change from teepad to basket due to natural wooded bluffs.This course was designed for flying plastic.
Cons: Relatively flat with limited challenges for experienced players. Limited shade on hot summer days.
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course to teach friends and family how to play DG. Simple layout, beautiful park, and really encourages you to "just throw".

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 WAY too Open

1    7/30/2011   7/30/2011
Review By: jace
Played: 42  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 8.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well maintained
Awesome signage at each tee
Great concrete tee pads

A great layout that mixes lengths hole to hole, however it is LONG so be prepared for the hike! As long as you know what you are in for - it's a good course.

They have some great pin locations that make the approach on most of the holes interesting which is quite frankly the best part of the course layout in my opinion. A couple of holes had the baskets tucked in a nice semi circular tree allee and others at the edge of some drop offs (14 comes to mind at the edge of the water).

Course layout takes advantage of mild elevation changes and flows VERY well!

Favorite Holes - 14 & 18
Cons: A bit too long for my liking. Holes over 600 feet only wear out the arm.....I prefer the 3-500 foot holes of which there were some great ones here!

The only other con I have is that the course is so wide open that it lacks punishment for errant shots. There are numerous angles to play it safe on every hole, so in my opinion it suffers by not making things a bit more technical, but they have used what they have and have still done a great job!

Need more trash cans on the course - they are only located at the shelters.

Least favorite holes - 12 & 13
Other Thoughts: I would have prefererred more technical shots and/or obstacles, but that being said with the course being so long it is a blessing that it is so wide open.

Bathrooms at shelter adjacent ot basket #1/3 and #12/16

With so many great courses in the KC area, I would recommend Prairie Center in Olathe or the Rosedale Upper Course in KCMO if you are coming from out of state.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Kan-U-Wyco

1    3/26/2011   3/29/2011
Review By: Iberian_55
Played: 25  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.9 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A very well maintained course. The flow of the course layout was excellent. Multiple pin locations which are frequently changed. (So I was told from local players) Elevation changes made for some challenging drives. Tee pads had signs that were well made, benches at every pad and trash cans at every few pads. Utilization of the environment in the design seemed like it was meant for a DG course. It is kind of on the long side, but I enjoy being outdoors on a course throwing plastic. Had a great time here. And there are a lot of good courses in the area.
Cons: Not any in my way of thinking. But, if you are looking for a short course. This is not it.
Other Thoughts: It could be a very challenging round if the "Winds of Kansas" are a blowin' I'm a Kansan and I don't mind it at all. But that's me.
A definite play if you're in the area.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/25/2010   1/26/2011
Review By: kevinmzane
Played: 111  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is an excellent course, especially for big arms. There is a practice basket near the parking lot which is always a bonus for me. There are nice tee signs and concrete pads at every hole. Alternate pin placements provide very different lines in most cases. Not much elevation change, but the gradual slopes play well on some of the holes. You have a nice variety of shots available here including water/ tunnels/ bombs/ some shorter semi technical stuff.... Unlike a lot of the courses I play, unless you have some kind of super-cannon you are forced to put more planning into your next shot before you tee off on many holes which I really enjoy.
Not all too overwhelming, but still a nice reality check after playing other courses littered with ace runs and easy birdies.
Cons: Looking back, I used to get really frustrated with this course when I was new to the game. The holes are too long if you don't have a decent drive, and you need some balance of control/distance or you really won't enjoy it... (not really a con for me) but if you don't enjoy the exercise part of the game, this course is a pretty long walk.
Kansas can get windy and this park is no exception.
Other Thoughts: On a calm, nice day this is one of my all time favorites... I wouldn't recommend taking the family out for a round here or any first timers unless they are serious troopers, but it is great for a nice long solo round or a round with some closely matched players. I would love to play a tournament out here, the longer holes open up a different kind of play that I don't really get to see a lot of.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.