Bonner Springs, KS 
Wyandotte County Park Share
Uploaded By: jeremiahd Hole #12 (Taken 8/2009)
-- / --   3 / 315ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    3/3/2012   3/3/2012
Review By: astomps
Played: 50  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 3 Years
This review was updated on 3/9/2013
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -huge course
-benches on every tee
-good chance to "air" it out
-some holes are very fun (4,7,9)
-Some tunnel shots through trees are fun
-not a busy course
Cons: -if it is remotely windy outside, just turn around and go play somewhere else
-some holes are just literally throwing the disc straight on flat ground 500 feet
-not too many elevation changes
Other Thoughts: Be ready to walk.. This is a long course

This would be an ideal course for a big pdga tourney because there would be a lot of space for spectators and you would get to see the pros really throw.

probably a 4.0 course an a non-windy day

another way I can describe this course is it's sort of like a cemetery minus the tombstones

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Wyco is made for disc golf

5+    10/15/2011   12/7/2011
Review By: mindoveryou
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful course! The trees seem as though they were planted for disc golf. The wide sweeping views, the natural tree tunnels, and well maintained fairways are perfect to play. Excellent signage, easy parking, and rarely any lines. Besides the distance, the hardest challenge is navigating the ever changing wind conditions that change from teepad to basket due to natural wooded bluffs.This course was designed for flying plastic.
Cons: Relatively flat with limited challenges for experienced players. Limited shade on hot summer days.
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course to teach friends and family how to play DG. Simple layout, beautiful park, and really encourages you to "just throw".

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 WAY too Open

1    7/30/2011   7/30/2011
Review By: jace
Played: 38  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 6.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well maintained
Awesome signage at each tee
Great concrete tee pads

A great layout that mixes lengths hole to hole, however it is LONG so be prepared for the hike! As long as you know what you are in for - it's a good course.

They have some great pin locations that make the approach on most of the holes interesting which is quite frankly the best part of the course layout in my opinion. A couple of holes had the baskets tucked in a nice semi circular tree allee and others at the edge of some drop offs (14 comes to mind at the edge of the water).

Course layout takes advantage of mild elevation changes and flows VERY well!

Favorite Holes - 14 & 18
Cons: A bit too long for my liking. Holes over 600 feet only wear out the arm.....I prefer the 3-500 foot holes of which there were some great ones here!

The only other con I have is that the course is so wide open that it lacks punishment for errant shots. There are numerous angles to play it safe on every hole, so in my opinion it suffers by not making things a bit more technical, but they have used what they have and have still done a great job!

Need more trash cans on the course - they are only located at the shelters.

Least favorite holes - 12 & 13
Other Thoughts: I would have prefererred more technical shots and/or obstacles, but that being said with the course being so long it is a blessing that it is so wide open.

Bathrooms at shelter adjacent ot basket #1/3 and #12/16

With so many great courses in the KC area, I would recommend Prairie Center in Olathe or the Rosedale Upper Course in KCMO if you are coming from out of state.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Kan-U-Wyco

1    3/26/2011   3/29/2011
Review By: Iberian_55
Played: 25  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.1 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A very well maintained course. The flow of the course layout was excellent. Multiple pin locations which are frequently changed. (So I was told from local players) Elevation changes made for some challenging drives. Tee pads had signs that were well made, benches at every pad and trash cans at every few pads. Utilization of the environment in the design seemed like it was meant for a DG course. It is kind of on the long side, but I enjoy being outdoors on a course throwing plastic. Had a great time here. And there are a lot of good courses in the area.
Cons: Not any in my way of thinking. But, if you are looking for a short course. This is not it.
Other Thoughts: It could be a very challenging round if the "Winds of Kansas" are a blowin' I'm a Kansan and I don't mind it at all. But that's me.
A definite play if you're in the area.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/25/2010   1/26/2011
Review By: kevinmzane
Played: 86  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is an excellent course, especially for big arms. There is a practice basket near the parking lot which is always a bonus for me. There are nice tee signs and concrete pads at every hole. Alternate pin placements provide very different lines in most cases. Not much elevation change, but the gradual slopes play well on some of the holes. You have a nice variety of shots available here including water/ tunnels/ bombs/ some shorter semi technical stuff.... Unlike a lot of the courses I play, unless you have some kind of super-cannon you are forced to put more planning into your next shot before you tee off on many holes which I really enjoy.
Not all too overwhelming, but still a nice reality check after playing other courses littered with ace runs and easy birdies.
Cons: Looking back, I used to get really frustrated with this course when I was new to the game. The holes are too long if you don't have a decent drive, and you need some balance of control/distance or you really won't enjoy it... (not really a con for me) but if you don't enjoy the exercise part of the game, this course is a pretty long walk.
Kansas can get windy and this park is no exception.
Other Thoughts: On a calm, nice day this is one of my all time favorites... I wouldn't recommend taking the family out for a round here or any first timers unless they are serious troopers, but it is great for a nice long solo round or a round with some closely matched players. I would love to play a tournament out here, the longer holes open up a different kind of play that I don't really get to see a lot of.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good Driver Workout

2-4    6/23/2010   8/13/2010
Review By: jayhawker737
Played: 47  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/10/2012
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: This is a great place to work on distance.
This is also a great place to work on wind driving.
This course is never too crowded, so your round will flow pretty well.
Cons: For me it was a bit too repetitive.
It is always good to be able to throw your driver well, but I wish there were some shorter and more technical holes to compliment the long open holes.
Other Thoughts: Has some good entertainment areas nearby and some good food (Arthur Bryant's). For someone that loves to throw long, this is a great course. For other's like me, I would prefer a more technical layout.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Wyco...

1    8/4/2010   8/5/2010
Review By: eye-ball-sac
Played: 67  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 2/19/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is located in a slightly hill area of a large park called Wyondotte County Park. (or Wyco as some people call it) Most holes had at least a slight hill on them. Only a few flat holes. Lots of trees, but not quite a wooded course. Most of the holes had a straight line of trees defining the fairway, but there weren't very many obstacles IN the fairway. Large concrete tees which helps with the long holes. Tee signs were pretty good, but some of the pin positions weren't listed. Benches at ever tee, but usually they weren't in the shade. Lots of fun holes (some memorable holes were 4,5,14.) If 5 is on the short pin, you have to throw onto a big mound of dirt about 250ft. ahead of you. Lots of long holes. If you don't have a big arm you're not going to enjoy this course.
Cons: The grass was really long when I was there. Lots of bugs everywhere. The holes were a little long for me, but I can't throw very far. There were about 4 holes over 600 ft. which can get very repetitive. If the pin is on the short positions, it can be a long walk to the next tee. The "O.B." (seemed more like a mando) on hole 13 wasn't marked at all and I had no idea if I was O.B. or not. It gets very hot here during the summer. Make sure to bring plenty of water.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a nice course. It seemed a little long for my weak arm, but most people would enjoy it. My favorite holes were 1, 2, and 18, which each had a line of trees on both sides of you which gave you the feel of a tunnel shot.

-------------------------
If you mark this review unhelpful or you find a mistake, please send me a personal message here on DGCR explaining what is wrong with it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Wyandotte why not?

2-4    7/28/2010   7/30/2010
Review By: c0ntagion
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.3 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Cement tee pads, pars listed on signs, variety of shots, not too many hazards.
Cons: Most shots require you to be able to throw a long distance. A lot of holes are in excess of 500-600 feet. No beginner tee pads available.
Other Thoughts: If you're like me and just learning the game, it's nearly impossible to even come near par on a lot of the long shots. It's still a fun course, just don't look at the par signs!

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Across the street from this course

5+    7/28/2010   7/30/2010
Review By: AHowe
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: well maintained course
nice tee's and course maps at the tee box
long open fairways, allow beginners like myself to figure out what a disc's normal flight path is without having to fight obstacles.
Cons: The next to be played isn't always easy to find, because it isn't well marked at the tee or at the basket. Some baskets are marked with a pavement stone that has an arrow toward the next tee pad.
Other Thoughts: I play here often because I basically live across the street and this is the course I started playing dg on.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Charlie Brown's Pitcher's Mound

1    3/24/2010   4/1/2010
Review By: Donovan
Played: 211  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 27.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/8/2010
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course. Some of these pin placements were lots of fun. The ground was still wet enough, I was fortunate enough to throw a tombstone drive on #5 next to the basket that sits on a big Charlie Brown's Pitcher's Mound. (Sorry, I put some personal round comments in here, but it was a real relief to see that thing stick.) ;) Seriously though the pin locations really made some of these holes fun to throw at. Besides that, this course has some moderate elevation, variety of hole lengths, lightly wooded, some interesting hole layouts, a few OB/Mandos areas, a few risk/reward greens, and great use of the entire park. Most of the holes are wide open. The park looked well maintained. The tee pads were excellent. There seems to be just one obstacle on most of the holes. It was a nice way to keep it interesting and yet simple. This park could be a challenge on a windy day, but it was a delight to play. There is a bathroom by first hole.
Cons: They do need tee signs with better footage on them. When I played the footage on the water hole #14 was way off, because they did not list the short pin placement, even though the long placements (over the water)were listed. There were very few trash cans on the course even though the course was quite clean. Some of the fairways were almost too wide as others have mentioned. The long number 13 can be about as long as you want it with this fact. ;)
Other Thoughts: More obstacles would have been nice, but not always necessary. The Fun Factor for me was decent. It wasn't always the drive that I was enjoying. Many times the approach to the basket was the ticket. I definitively enjoyed playing here and will do it again when I come through the KC area.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.