Tamaqua, PA 
Villas Crossing DGC Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #13 (Taken 8/2014)
3 / 340ft.   3 / 340ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Basket



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
NEPA's Finest!

1    9/7/2014   4/28/2015
Review By: tbrust311
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: $15 for two rounds with a cart, a clubhouse with beer and snacks, golf carts, merchandise for sale, friendly staff, did I mention golf carts?

This place is massive. Huge fairways that intersect with ball golf, fun wooded holes. You feel so much cooler than the ball golfers just for the fact that you can disappear into the woods with your cart.

Great course for people with big arms. Last hole is over 800ft.

Hole 17 is absolutely breathtaking, and a blast to tee off from. Just don't land on the green (especially if there are golfers playing). The cart ride down to the basket is even entertaining down a winding hill (I'll shut up about the carts now).
Cons: The thorn bushes off the fairway on some holes are pretty thick. Hoping this was addressed since last season.

Use a brightly colored disc on the last hole, can be easy for discs to get lost in the brush if you have a huge throw that goes off course.
Other Thoughts: Easily the best in the area. Worth the money.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Elevation, Elevation, Elevation!

1    4/7/2015   4/8/2015
Review By: DiscLoser
Played: 25  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/10/2015
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are few flat shots on a beautiful course that plays up and over a classic Pennylvania hilltop moutain - we have mounds in PA, not peaks.

This is a well-thought out course that demands distance, distance with control, mid and putter work (straight shots if you got it), RHFH if you got it, and overhand if you need it.
Pay your small fee and chat with the friendly staff, rent a cart! or walk if you want the experience - I walked and I believe I'll use a cart from now on, as my legs got tired and affected my tee shots. If you want your round to be about the hike as well as the golf, then walk.

Holes 1 - 5 take you across and up, with long fairways (500', 600', 700' +).
#1 seems innocuous enough, a 289' shot into a basket under a large stand of pine trees. Until you stand on the tee and it's more uphill than it looks form the road, with a headwind as well.
#2 is a 577' rhbh hyzer from out between trees with a downhill sloping fairway that wants your disc to roll right. The pin is uphill, well-protected in trees with a horizontal downed tree in front.
#3 is a downhill shot that is trouble if you miss long or right. Calm day in the parking lot all of sudden there's all this wind up here.
#4 is 604' out into a fairway, with the pin tucked away in a stand of trees, with a line of immense trees running straight in the way from tee to pin.
#5 is downhill through another fairway ending with a sharp left into the woods with very thin lines to the basket.

Holes 6 - 15 play through a wooded section, again with elevation playing a huge part of shot selection and missed pars. I won't describe them in detail, but there are varied uphill, downhill, and along the hill shots, through tight lanes, and on some holes, unforgiving rough. These holes play very differently from each other and are not repetitive at all. There are a few that favor LHFH or excellent annhyzer work, but trees have a way of making fools of us all. There a some short shots (200', 204', 257') to break up and even out the distance of the earlier holes. Protected pins, pins on hillsides that flip up your softest putter, elevated pins on crumbling dirt piles (be careful) and on the 439' downhill #15, with a fairway that narrows as it goes down, and a headwind!? wooshing up the hill in your face, a hanging basket to welcome you back out into the open.

#16 takes you back out to the open fairways of the golf course, with a downhill 500' par 3/4 with an OB golf green and a hill behind that will rollout your rollouts.

#17 was perhaps my favorite, a 432' downhill at basket behind a green, with the green playing OB.

#18 is 802' and back home across the hillside, just in case you were a little tired from the first 17.
Cons: * Patience will be needed when the both golf courses are in use. I had the mountain to myself the day I was there, but I would certainly give the ball golfers right of way when in use.
* Tees pads are about 6', I know some folks will want longer walk-ups.
Other Thoughts: The Am/Pro Par scoring work very well - the Am pars were exceedingly fair; if you can throw consistently over 300' and have your other shots in line, you should probably use the Pro par.
Please go play this course, keep it clean, play nice with ball golfers. This is worth driving to, stay and play 2 rounds, and add it to your Eastern PA list.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Bring all your discs!

1    9/20/2014   4/3/2015
Review By: jbetz45453
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 2 Years
Pros: Alot of variety. Some very long holes. Some holes through the woods and some holes are more open. You get to take a golf cart.
Has a pro shop with food and drink and bathrooms.
Cons: Some of the holes are shared with the ball golfers. Some of the greens are close to the baskets and the greens are OB. Some of the brush/woods is pretty thick and has thorns.
Other Thoughts: Very fun place to play. The long holes will favor the folks who can chuck it far. You get to use your long range discs that you don't need on some other courses.

We went later in the day so all the ball golfers were off the course but talking to some guys who had just finished playing disc golf they said they had to wait a few times for the ball golfers.

The hill through the woods on hole 7 was pretty steep and almost seemed a bit unsafe. Would probably not really want to walk this course.

You have to pay to play but I felt it was worth it. I will go back again.

The greens being OB on some of the holes seems a bit unfair on some of the holes like 17 where you throw down the hill and there is a very small landing area below right next to the green. You could end up like 20 feet from the basket but on the green and be OB.
Hole 17 is awesome though.

When ball golf meets disc golf

1    11/22/2014   11/22/2014
Review By: adlacro
Played: 70  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes with nice, new DIScatcher baskets. Concrete tees on every hole. Good mix of lefty/righty, open/wooden, and uphill/downhill holes. Some shorter par threes mix in with long pro par fours and even a five for good measure. Course doesn't interfere too much with the ball golf. Carts available in-season, which will shorten the walk from hole to hole, shot to shot.
Cons: Carts not available in winter. Those physically out of shape will have a grind on their hands on this course. While most of the tee boxes are long enough, some are shorter. The golf greens are OB on the last three holes, which is understandable if someone was playing the ball golf course(but why would they waste their time).
Other Thoughts: While I was exhausted by the walking and tested by my inability to consistently put good shots together, and compounded by a lost disc, I still found Villas to be an excellent disc golf course. It is well designed (Dunkle and company doing it yet again), makes good use of the land, and tries not to interfere a lot with the ball golf course on site. The end result, disc golf always wins, and you should make this course a stop. It is only an hour from Allentown and its plethora of good disc golf courses.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome course

1    11/2/2014   11/6/2014
Review By: katiegurl19512
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has alot to offer, great scenery, golf carts to use, good elevation changes, bar at the lodge, they have a hanging basket and one high up on a rock pile. The staff is very friendly and helpful, and the course is very clean and well taken care of. Nice solid concrete tees and large signs showing the course. The holes can range anywhere from 300 to 800 ft, so there is a good variety of shape and size for each hole.
Cons: The brush tends to get a little thick on the sides but seeing as this is a fairly new course im sure overtime that will be taken care of. This course is also ontop of a ball golf course so you have to watch out for other players.
Other Thoughts: Its a fun course for beginners or pros, though the drive was a little far, i would come back in a heartbeat. Great staff, great course, great times!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Best Day Ever

2-4    11/2/2014   11/5/2014
Review By: Onenationunderpar
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A wonderful course for both beginners and advance players alike. Many serious elevation changes in the course, mostly high to low drop shots. Great mix of both short and long holes ranging from the 200-300ft zone to the 700-800ft range. Golf carts are available which puts this course far far above any that I have ever played. $15 dollars for two rounds is more than fair tho for the carts. Staff at the lodge are extremely cool and knowledgeable about the course itself.
Cons: The course is always free to walk, however it is a very physically demanding course to do so on. People not used to big courses I highly recommend spending the money and getting a cart. (This isn't even really a con)
Just saying.
Other Thoughts: This is by far the coolest spot for disc golf I have ever heard of, played, and let alone found before. The first day I shot there my group and I must have said "BEST DAY EVER" at least a collective 100 times. Also I cannot leave out that you can buy beer from the lodge to take with you on the course. (NO BYOB) oh yeah.... and the lodge is a bar :). If you visit this location and you love having a good time disc golfing I can almost promise you and your friends will leaving saying "best day ever".

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Tons of fun

2-4    10/2/2014   10/2/2014
Review By: Hartley444
Played: 21  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is awesome. Great signage, teepads, well maintained. Holes were all unique. Having a golf cart made it even more enjoyable. Scenery is awesome as leave are changing colors. Good mix of short and long holes as well as wooded and non wooded. The addition of a clubhouse where drink, food and merchandise was available is an added bonus. Great elevation changes also.
Cons: Not many here. The only thing I can think of is just off the fairway the pricker bushes were thick in some spots. Though the course is brand new so I am sure this will be better over time.
Other Thoughts: Definitely worth spending the extra $5 for a 2nd round. This place is a premier course for the area ranking right up some of the best.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Promising Top 10 Course in PA

1    9/20/2014   9/22/2014
Review By: Wagatron
Played: 69  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is brilliant, and the design team behind the layout did an incredible job. This course has a certain feel to it. It makes the course feel almost "professional." The ability to play on a real ball golf course gives a feel that this is the direction disc golf is headed for the future course design.

To the course.... Elevation Change... The course thrives on several uphill/downhill shots, forcing wise placement to avoid roll-aways. The added distance on the longer holes (front 5 and last 4 holes) are not just grip it and rip holes as the pictures may lead one to believe. Hole 3 can be reached by a fairway driver thrown at 75% (175 Leopard parked 3rd attempt). Point being the elevation changes really challenge the mental game.
Holes 1-6 are tough elevation change heavy open holes, like i mentioned earlier big risk reward drives, and placement is key for the second shot. This is not a grip and rip course.
Holes 6-11 are fantastic Par 3 birdie run holes
challenging short tighter tunnel R/L and L/R and straight shots that placement and accuracy must be emphasized.
Holes 12-15 play in a beautiful open area with trees and some tougher greens. Especially the elevated basket on 13.
Holes 16-18 are the perfect dessert to the meat of the course. We had 20+ headwinds and those longer downhill shots with dangerous OB greens and the finishing putt on 16. These three holes are worth $3 themselves.
This is a must play course! It has everything you want in a great course.
Cons: There are a few drawbacks, but i rate this course a 4.5, which means they do not detract from the overall experience.
I think a better path can be cut through the woods from Hole 5 to Hole 6. It seems that course takes great strides to have disc golfers stay out of the ball golf fairways unexpectedly. I feel this could be improved.
Also i think the Pro Par could be lower maybe 1-2 strokes. For example 5 and 18 are rated Par 5. While I think hole 5 deserves the Par 5 rating i think hole 18 can be lowered to a Par 4.
The elevated basket on Hole 13 would benefit from steps being installed. I think this would preserve the hill from being ruined by foot traffic.
Lastly hole 17 could have a small line, or tee pad for the OB shot. I like the placement of the OB, but having a line (which may have worn of I am not sure) would be a simple fix.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the most promising courses in Pennsylvania. The carts, elevation, layout, and design are top notch. As long as the ball golfers and disc golfers can live in harmony I think this course will be in every players top10 for a long time.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful Course, Highly Recommend

1    9/20/2014   9/20/2014
Review By: TylerBrown2
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - The view from many of the holes is just insane. Very beautiful.
- Very well maintained. A few of the holes run through the golf course so of course those are well maintained but even the wooded holes had good lanes that were cleared and there were no major areas where I though needed grooming.
- Good signage (although no map)
- A lot of distance on the first few and final few holes
- Amazing elevation change on this course. Very deceptive ups and downs. Hole #16 and #17 were favorites of mine coming down the hill. Nearly aced #17.
- Very friendly people running it. I bought a disc with their logo on it and the woman also threw in a free tshirt because I was from so far away (Portland, ME)
- Only $3 bucks to play if you walk. I recommend walking. Yes it was tough but it was worth it. They do have carts and even with a cart the course is cheap.
Cons: - The thorns and bugs. I feel like this is more a PA thing than a course problem but the nats were awful in September. Distracting on many if not all the holes. Bug spray did nothing to stop them. The rough is pretty rough. If you miss you will get cut up and cut up bad. Not terribly hard to locate discs but some thicker areas that made it tough to retrieve them.
- Playing next to golfers. I actually felt unsafe on a few holes thinking I would be hit by a golf ball if they didnt see me down the hill or around a bend. Overall not a super busy place in Sept so it wasnt a big issue.
Other Thoughts: Just go play it. It is worth every penny and more. Also man up and walk it, unless you physically can't, then get a cart fill it with brown water and enjoy.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

One of the Best in PA!

1    9/13/2014   9/18/2014
Review By: WeapoNEXT
Played: 59  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Ball golf converted to DG will probably be the wave of the future. This is the first of it's kind in PA. Huge, wide open fairways. Sick elevation changes for mega drives on some holes. The golf cart was a huge plus. You'll be glad you have it for Par 4s & 5s. Yes, you can even drive it through the wooded holes! Super scenic landscapes. Cart rental is included with $10 fee. Tee signs are really well done and way finding signage makes navigating the course a breeze. Well thought out course design.
Cons: Pay to play, but worth ever dollar. Course is located a bit off the beaten path. You might need to find your way off the course around 4PM on the weekend. Staff likes to close up shop around then. Get on the course early in order to play through at your own pace.
Other Thoughts: Once this course pulls together a course map, it should rise to top as one of PA's best courses. You have to try it! No need to fret if you forgot supplies or find yourself in a rush. Their club house has it all. Very friendly staff. So much fun, I couldn't stop smiling during the entire round.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.