Tamaqua, PA 
Villas Crossing DGC Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #9 (Taken 8/2014)
5 / 441ft.   4 / 441ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
A Hybrid Hybird

2-4    8/2/2016   8/3/2016
Review By: ncbrett92
Played: 78  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 1.6 Years
Pros: A Hybrid to a Hybrid course. A mix of both normal disc golf and hybrid disc golf in the same round. Easy flow between holes and wide enough fairways in the woods to drive the golf carts wherever you need to go. The course designer was smart and placed most of the baskets on the more open holes in tight spots so they are guarded when you get to them. Either by trees (holes 1,2,4,5) run away greens (holes 2,3,16,) or ball golf greens (holes 16 and 17) hole 13 also has an elevated basket. The tee boxes are all good in length and grip. The downhill bomber shots (holes 3, 16, 17,) are just plain fun. The views from the tee boxes on 4,16, and 17 are awesome. A great course for someone who has't tried hybrid disc golf to give it a shot. This course is the best permanent hybrid course I have ever played. I played the pro pars and felt like they were all fair for a upper 800s to low 900s player like me. The tee sighs on every hole pretty much showed you what you had to do I think the hole hole I drove up to find the basket was hole 12. Even on the open par 4s and 5s you still want to place shots to make your second and 3rd shots easier. I hope they leave the tree down by 2s baskets because I think it adds a little challenge to that upshot without making the shot unfair. The golf cart I had all be it an older gas powered one still worked just fine. The people that run the pro shop are really nice and they do sell a few discs there as well.
Cons: No practice basket. Some thorny stuff to crawl into to get a errant shot on some holes. 14's fairway could use a tree or two maybe taken out to give a little more of a lane to hit off the tee. It would't hurt to do the same with 5's 3rd shot into the woods. I love the drive on hole 17 but the OB netting is...... ugh. I get why they did it. But it's not like it's a major road. And if you going to do that then it needs to be strung the same all the way a crossed and it's not, it needs some repairs. The OB drop zone is also really dumb. Just play it like normal OB rules and take a drop from last inbound that drop zone is't even marked properly and is just unneeded either way. Either fix the netting and get rid of the DZ or get rid of the netting and just say road and beyond is OB and play for last inbound.
Other Thoughts: Get the cart. Trust me. I love a good hike as much as the next guy but this course will take forever walking it as some of the holes have long transitions by foot. Keep your eyes out for ball golfers and show respect. DON'T BE STUPID WITH THE CARTS! Represent the sport well to the ball golfers and maybe they will give it a try too!

I get to drive a cart WHERE?!?!

2-4    4/7/2016   4/7/2016
Review By: Zunz
Played: 80  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 3.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Carts!
Clubhouse!
Well designed wooded holes
The two consecutive "Top of the World" throws
Deceptive elevation
Cons: A few of the longer bolf course holes are kinda boring (4, 5, 18)
Tee pads might be a little short for you run up guys
Other Thoughts: I played here when the course first opened and played it again today. The fairways are maturing nicely. Still a lot of thorn bushes out there in the rough, but less than the first time I was here. The amenities at Villas Crossing are top notch and the young lady behind the counter is always a joy to talk to.


Hole 1 is an uphill throw across an open field to a basket hiding under some huge pine trees (the christmas tree kind). This is one of the holes where I think the elevation change is somewhat deceptive, meaning it doesn't seem like it's as much uphill as it is and you're probably going to throw short the first time or two.

Hole 2 has a couple of possible routes, straight which is pretty tight and right where you have more room to work but if you turn your disc over you can land 3 fairways away (saw it happen today, dude landed on 18's fairway!). The basket is in the woods on the left up a steep hill with a large fallen tree crossing the front of the green several feet off the ground complicating matters even more.

Hole 3 is a doorway shot to an open downhill bomb with a few trees creating another doorway right before the green. The basket is perched on the edge of a drop off that will make long throws really long.

4 is two long straight throws and then a basket under a pine tree.

5... some long straight throws and then a basket tucked in the woods off to the left.

Hole 6 is where you leave the ball golf course and head off into the woods.

Hole 7 is an uphill straight/slightly annie shot. There's a leaning tree and an odd shaped tree up by the basket that like to get in the way.

Hole 8 is a big long annie through the woods. Staying in the fairway makes this shot a lot easier, but local routes can often get down to the green.

9. How long can you keep a disc flying perfectly straight through tight woods? This is one of those holes where you can find yourself crisscrossing the fairway from the rough on the right to the rough on the left and back to the right and so on until your scorecard starts to smolder.

Hole 10. Ace run!

Hole 11 is similar to hole 8 (annie) but longer (Leopard for me vs. Comet on 8).

Hole 12 begins with a tunnel and ends up in an open field.

13's elevated basket is reachable on a straight line or a hyzer bomb with a clump of trees sitting out there between both shots.

Hole 14 is wide open for probably the first 150' where you then have to pick your lane into the woods. The basket is perched upon a long snakelike mound of medium sized rocks. Trees are everywhere but there's room in-between for your disc to fly whatever type of line you choose to take to the basket.

Hole 15 is a downhill bomb along a dirt road down to a hanging basket.

Holes 16 and 17 are what the courses I played out west called a, "Top of the World" throw. You're bombing down the side of a mountain. Totally open save for the OB ball golf green (and the trees and road long on 17 playing OB). We had 22mph winds blowing in our faces on the tee box with gusts much higher than that making for some crazy shots here today!!

18 is kindof a bummer ending to an amazing course. It's 3 or 4 long straight throws with the same disc to a basket next to a ball golf green. I get that it brings you back to the clubhouse, but with a cart the course doesn't necessarily have to finish right behind the building.


Final Thoughts: I really enjoy playing Villas Crossing. After a lifetime of ball golf I absolutely love getting to take the cart off the manicured fairways and head into the woods! For the most part the course is really well designed, there are only 3 holes that simply follow the ball golf course and just seem long and boring with a disc, so much so that they are what's stopping me from giving Villas a 4.5 rating.
The wooded holes offer up quite a variety of challenges. Along with the requisite forehands and backhands I found myself using more overhand approaches than I ever need on other courses. A good long roller is probably a great shot to be able to lay down on this course, with the high winds today though, even ones that seemed like they were rolling in the right direction mostly ended up doing some crazy things. I think it says a lot about a course when it forces you to change your game or work outside of your comfort zone (I almost never throw hammers or rollers). I can't think of another course except maybe DeLa or Whistler's Bend that has as much elevation change to deal with as Villas (not sure I'd want to play here without a cart).
I would definitely put Villas Crossing on the wishlist in case you are ever in the area. It's certainly worth driving a few hours to play.

Final Final thought: If I lived closer I would absolutely buy a membership here and play this course all the time.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Very Fun and Frustrating Course

1    7/2/2015   7/4/2015
Review By: xjwigluszx
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.7 Years
Pros: Golf Carts!!!!!! Ok, Let's face it, how often as Disc Golfers do we get to drive around in a kart while playing. But in all honesty, the karts are very necessary because I could never imagine walking this course. Not having to carry a full bag on your back definitely helps with fatigue.

Ok, now to get serious. This course has a lot of variety. After playing two rounds, I don't recall once where I felt like a hole was getting redundant. Starting with a nice par 3 with the basket tucked into cove of trees, followed by a par 5 along a tree line and ball golf fairway, followed by a tee pad on top of a hill aiming through a cut out of trees throwing down hill across a ball golf fairway. And the hole course continues with this style of variety through out.

Great use of elevation on this course. There are ups and downs, but they do a pretty good job of making you not feel like you are throwing up an unacheivable hill. As gradually work your way up the hills, you get to enjoy the very fun drastic downhill. These are kind of fun as a player without a huge arm because you dread seeing a 500+' hole, but could possibly make par when you can actually throw a 400' tee shot or more. #17 is 432' and I took an extra tee shot to throw a putter and landed maybe 50' short. Fun feeling. This is the reason the carts are such a plus.

Scenery is also great. The course has some very nice views including #16 & #17 after coming out of the woods. Beautiful to overlook the country side from the side of a mountain, Right? PLus the course, being originally for ball golf, is extremely well maintained.
Cons: As someone who hasn't developed a great long game yet, there are some real bomber holes here. Now maybe that isn't a con for everyone, but it is for me. Tee off, pick up disc and throw it again, pick it up throw it again. Ok, I'm on my 4th shot, now maybe I have to think about what I'm doing. Especially since the longest ones are usually utilizing the ball golf fairways, so its open shots and just hucking.

Also I think some of the pars are very forgiving. They do have to par layouts, one for pro and one for AM, but still forgiving. For instance #15 AM is a par 5 at only 439' with a decent downhill. There is a pretty tight lane for just over half the hole, but even I threw a 4 my first round, and I was way in the trees on my tee shot.
Other Thoughts: This is a really good course and a course I get the impression will eventually be more about disc golf than ball golf. The staff at the clubhouse are super friendly. Definitely worth the hour and 15 minute drive for me to go check it out. I heard they are considering putting in another 18 holes on another part of the property... yes, please!!! This course should definitely be on and golfers agenda in this area.

Fun Retreat to the Villas

1    5/23/2015   5/26/2015
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 166  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 10.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 concrete tees and single Discatcher basket positions. Nice tee signs and navigation is a breeze. I flew right through the course with the cart. This course has some huge elevation changes and scenic mountain views! Add in the golf cart, club house, beer, food, and you will have a blast playing here. The fairways were beautifully maintained....like a ball golf course.

This is not your typical disc golf course on a ball golf course, half the course overlays some the ball course and the other half plays through the woods on it's own separate parcel of land. This setup works very well to reduce playing conflict between disc and ball golf, as well as providing more wooded holes than your typical disc golf on ball golf course. The course transitions well with a variety of shots and distances from hole to hole. There's lots of interesting and unique holes here from a couple ace runs to a few long par 4's and a couple monster downhill bombers.
Cons: Much of these are not really cons, but perhaps beware. Only one loop back to the parking lot/club house, although this is not a big deal if you have a cart. If you hike the course without a cart, good luck. There's a decent chance to lose a disc or few if you struggle to control your plastic and there's some poison ivy in the rough. Also beware of flying golf balls. On hole 2 my approach shot to the green was on such a steep slope that when I pivoted I ended up falling onto my shoulder, this happened twice here. There were a few times I was concerned about rolling the cart. Hole 8 and 11 felt like deja vu, short hard right turning tunnel holes. I got harassed by some hornets around the basket of hole 15. I was hoping for a little wider fairway on 15 to be able to reach the basket from the tee. I noticed lots of people searching for discs behind basket 3, I believe they were playing that hole. Then on hole 16 I over flew the basket and landed behind basket 3 and was searching with the rest of the party, luckily I didn't hit anyone.

Hole 17 can be easily over shot and land on the road or onto the ball golf green of another hole which I did. The owner, George, nice guy, was driving by in his car and noticed my Comet on the green across the street, he picked it up and I yelled to him that was my disc and he tossed back and we chatted a little bit. He said I threw the second longest shot(about 750') he's seen, the furthest landed on the neighbors roof top. He said I either have a canon arm or a significant tailwind, actually I threw into a headwind.

I was charged the ball golf fee and then shown the tee 1 for the ball golf course, even after I said I was playing disc golf. I then teed off on hole 1 of the ball golf course a bit confused and searching for a basket that doesn't exist. Hole 1 of the disc golf course starts by hole 3 of the ball golf course. It looked to me like some longer or alternate tees and basket positions could be put in for more variety and challenge.
Other Thoughts: Overall Villas Crossing is one of the most fun disc golf experiences I've had. The course design is more geared to intermediate to advanced level, although most open level players will find a good enough challenge and a lot of fun. I'd highly recommend this course to any non-rank beginner looking for a fantastic day of disc golf.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 When ball golf meets disc golf

1    11/22/2014   11/22/2014
Review By: adlacro
Played: 94  Reviewed: 87  Exp: 10.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes with nice, new DIScatcher baskets. Concrete tees on every hole. Good mix of lefty/righty, open/wooden, and uphill/downhill holes. Some shorter par threes mix in with long pro par fours and even a five for good measure. Course doesn't interfere too much with the ball golf. Carts available in-season, which will shorten the walk from hole to hole, shot to shot.
Cons: Carts not available in winter. Those physically out of shape will have a grind on their hands on this course. While most of the tee boxes are long enough, some are shorter. The golf greens are OB on the last three holes, which is understandable if someone was playing the ball golf course(but why would they waste their time).
Other Thoughts: While I was exhausted by the walking and tested by my inability to consistently put good shots together, and compounded by a lost disc, I still found Villas to be an excellent disc golf course. It is well designed (Dunkle and company doing it yet again), makes good use of the land, and tries not to interfere a lot with the ball golf course on site. The end result, disc golf always wins, and you should make this course a stop. It is only an hour from Allentown and its plethora of good disc golf courses.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Awesome course

1    11/2/2014   11/6/2014
Review By: katiegurl19512
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has alot to offer, great scenery, golf carts to use, good elevation changes, bar at the lodge, they have a hanging basket and one high up on a rock pile. The staff is very friendly and helpful, and the course is very clean and well taken care of. Nice solid concrete tees and large signs showing the course. The holes can range anywhere from 300 to 800 ft, so there is a good variety of shape and size for each hole.
Cons: The brush tends to get a little thick on the sides but seeing as this is a fairly new course im sure overtime that will be taken care of. This course is also ontop of a ball golf course so you have to watch out for other players.
Other Thoughts: Its a fun course for beginners or pros, though the drive was a little far, i would come back in a heartbeat. Great staff, great course, great times!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Worth every penny

1    8/21/2014   8/22/2014
Review By: Grip N Rip
Played: 14  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has fun written all over it. Besides the obvious fun of having a cart and adult beverages this course offers a challenge to all skill levels. Some holes you feel as if you're on The Slyline at Blue mountain. Other holes you feel like you're in your local wooded course. And then some holes you feel like you should have a ball and club in hand. I'd say the average hole length is around 350-400ft. Elavation makes holes play much shorter or longer so always keep that in mind. The rough isn't too bad for a new course. If you go make sure you have time for two rounds. After 18 we all felt great and barely hungry. The carts do most of the traveling so you stay fresh for more fun. I didn't check out the clubhouse but the girl (didn't get your name sorry) who was runnin it was kind enough to let us squeeze in another round just before sunset.
Cons: Not enough risk-reward holes. No water. Criss crossing between ball golfers and disc golfers seems like it could happen a lot so stay attentive.
Other Thoughts: Villas Crossing has a good thing going for them. Please don't ruin it for them or us disc golfers by being an idiot with the carts or other golfers (ball or disc).

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Golf cart increases fun factor

1    8/9/2014   8/10/2014
Review By: blazerico
Played: 234  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 11.5 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course shares a lot of ground with the ball course on the same property, so you get to use golf carts! Not only do you get to drive around on the golf/dg fairways, but you get to take them into the woods too. The course is good on its own, but the cart experience increases the fun factor and gets an extra 0.5 disc because of it.
The course has a lot of variation: wide open shots, tunnel shots, r to l, l to r, short with canopy, loooong, serious elevation change...
Then there's the clubhouse with a good selection of beer, other drinks, food and bathrooms.
Cons: Being a new course and being in PA, the rough is really dense pricker bushes for the most part. Generally each hole has at least one area that you want to avoid or you pay the price...in blood!
No map. Even though the signage is very good and you are never left wondering where to go, I like to have a map of the courses I play.
Other Thoughts: I started the day thinking I would play here once and never go back because it is about 1.5 hours from my house and it is not on the way to anywhere I usually go. Figured I would enjoy the novelty of the golf carts, have a good time, then be done with it. Well, I had a great time, the drive wasn't too bad and the course is fun enough to make me want to go back. I'll probably go again in the fall to see how everything looks in fall colors.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.