Tamaqua, PA 
Villas Crossing DGC Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #6 (Taken 8/2014)
-- / --   3 / 257ft.   3 / 257ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Beautiful Course, Highly Recommend

1    9/20/2014   9/20/2014
Review By: TylerBrown2
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.3 Years
Pros: - The view from many of the holes is just insane. Very beautiful.
- Very well maintained. A few of the holes run through the golf course so of course those are well maintained but even the wooded holes had good lanes that were cleared and there were no major areas where I though needed grooming.
- Good signage (although no map)
- A lot of distance on the first few and final few holes
- Amazing elevation change on this course. Very deceptive ups and downs. Hole #16 and #17 were favorites of mine coming down the hill. Nearly aced #17.
- Very friendly people running it. I bought a disc with their logo on it and the woman also threw in a free tshirt because I was from so far away (Portland, ME)
- Only $3 bucks to play if you walk. I recommend walking. Yes it was tough but it was worth it. They do have carts and even with a cart the course is cheap.
Cons: - The thorns and bugs. I feel like this is more a PA thing than a course problem but the nats were awful in September. Distracting on many if not all the holes. Bug spray did nothing to stop them. The rough is pretty rough. If you miss you will get cut up and cut up bad. Not terribly hard to locate discs but some thicker areas that made it tough to retrieve them.
- Playing next to golfers. I actually felt unsafe on a few holes thinking I would be hit by a golf ball if they didnt see me down the hill or around a bend. Overall not a super busy place in Sept so it wasnt a big issue.
Other Thoughts: Just go play it. It is worth every penny and more. Also man up and walk it, unless you physically can't, then get a cart fill it with brown water and enjoy.

One of the Best in PA!

1    9/13/2014   9/18/2014
Review By: WeapoNEXT
Played: 52  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Ball golf converted to DG will probably be the wave of the future. This is the first of it's kind in PA. Huge, wide open fairways. Sick elevation changes for mega drives on some holes. The golf cart was a huge plus. You'll be glad you have it for Par 4s & 5s. Yes, you can even drive it through the wooded holes! Super scenic landscapes. Cart rental is included with $10 fee. Tee signs are really well done and way finding signage makes navigating the course a breeze. Well thought out course design.
Cons: Pay to play, but worth ever dollar. Course is located a bit off the beaten path. You might need to find your way off the course around 4PM on the weekend. Staff likes to close up shop around then. Get on the course early in order to play through at your own pace.
Other Thoughts: Once this course pulls together a course map, it should rise to top as one of PA's best courses. You have to try it! No need to fret if you forgot supplies or find yourself in a rush. Their club house has it all. Very friendly staff. So much fun, I couldn't stop smiling during the entire round.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Disc Golf with carts!

1    9/1/2014   9/1/2014
Review By: Baub
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. Golf carts! It's awesome to be able to drive to fetch your discs. Also a nice way to travel throughout the course's beautiful wooded areas.
2. The views are very scenic, with a nice overlook of the valley.
3. Lots of wide open spaces on the green holes to get some practice at long drives, and a few elevated baskets (one hanging).
Cons: Really thick underbrush on a couple of the holes which lead to easily lost discs and some nice scratches on the legs. Lost 2 discs due to shanking my drives too far into the weeds.
Lots of tunnel shots (could be a pro if you like tunnel shots).
Other Thoughts: My wife and I really enjoyed this course. Having golf carts really made it much easier to navigate the course. We will definitely be returning to this course. Had a lot of fun.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Golf Cart Fun

1    8/11/2014   8/15/2014
Review By: Abrigh1
Played: 26  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Driving a golf cart to play disc golf is a lot of fun
-Well designed course with varied shots and approaches
-Par 3, 4, and 5's which makes it very interesting in having to plan attack on how to get to the hole instead of just drive n' putts like most courses that only have par 3's
-Course plays along side real golf course which makes it feel like you playing a real round of golf, which is something I have not experienced before on any course
-Has some truly epic downhill shots (#17 is my favorite hole I have ever played)
-Pro shop has discs to peruse, beer, food, soda, bathrooms, and a friendly staff
-Good signage, nice baskets+tee pads, and well maintained
-Length of the course is manageable for pros and beginners alike
Cons: -I can't really think of a negative about this place. Having water on the course somewhere would be nice and I had some issues getting the golf cart around near the woods holes, but these were not big issues and did not take away from my enjoyment of the round.
Other Thoughts: This course is a lot of fun to play and it is obvious the designer and people overseeing it know what they are doing and love the game. I will be back even though it's a little over an hour from my house because it was worth the drive.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Gorgeous course, Finally a cart course

1    8/9/2014   8/9/2014
Review By: oldesch
Played: 31  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: gorgeous course with a great variety. the convenience of the cart is much more than a novelty but does also make it even more fun. the people at the check in area are great. they have very affordable drink ($3.50 for jack n coke, i think $2 pbr). if u buy beer they even supply a cooler and ice.
Cons: the membership fee. if you pay $60 for a pass til 2015 ends, you still have to pay $6 a round with carts. so you only save $4 per round so if my shitty math is right you need to play over 20 rounds to break even. you do play for free with no cart but thats half the attraction. however if you do want it make sure you buy it before the round because they will not discount you the $10 you already spent if you try to get it after (which is my only complaint personell wise)
Other Thoughts: very possiblymy favorite course, mainly because of the addition of carts, my even without carts it would still be a certain top 3, especially because there is a great atmosphere at the lodge and cheap drinks. for the second weekend we were the first there at about 11 and only 6 people checked in by the time we were done.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.