Paso Robles, CA 
Whale Rock DGC Share
Uploaded By: kevaunne  



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Unique

1    8/19/2014   8/19/2014
Review By: nickrew1
Played: 71  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 1.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful scenery
Great Tee signs and directional arrows
Nice use of elevation
Basket placements are awesome! Multiple positions
Appropriately sized tee-pads
Designed with the sustainability of the property in mind
Cons: $5 per person (free wine tasting afterward though!)
Little shade
windy
Not a ton of distance on most holes
Other Thoughts: A great experience, Whale Rock claims to be the first official course on a operating winery. You play through the vineyard and throw over the grapes on several different occasions. Very easy to navigate once you find the course, make sure to ask when you pay at the tasting room how to find hole #1! (It's a drive down the dirt road, so don't walk!) Lots of cool wine barrels and other things throughout the course, you kind of forget you are playing disc at times! Not a overly difficult course, most experienced players should expect to shoot par or better. If you are visiting the central coast, this is a must play!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Something for everyone..

1    8/6/2014   8/6/2014
Review By: jbreeze
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Great venue
+ Tee pads are very nice (stamped/stained concrete)
+ Challenging layout if your an "aggressive" player*
+ Benches and signs at each hole
Cons: None really, I could come up with something but very minor like lack of water (BYO) and not much shade.. but again.. VERY minor and does not detract from the experience at all.
Other Thoughts: I was very impressed with this DG course. I have played a few "private" courses that leave a lot to be desired so I had my reservations. When I stepped up to the first tee pad I knew this was going to be a great experience. Most DG courses start out a little rough when they first open like maybe no benches, tee signs, etc., but not whale rock. They kicked this one off with all the amenities most seasoned courses still lack like beautiful tee pads, benches, tee signs, landscaping at each tee pad decorated with many "wine" related accent pieces. My favorite was the whale bone embedded in each tee pad, and the wine barrel trash cans.. Nice touch! Playing in a vineyard is fun, vines are OB so you really need to be careful. I played a very aggressive round, almost dismissing OB even existed, but I found myself with a lot of added strokes! Like any course if you played conservative, play for par and take the birdie ops that come your way, you can shoot low here. The course itself isn't super difficult, but it will challenge you, no matter what your level. I would say an open player in good form should shoot -6 to -9 here. Intermediate -4 to +2, etc. If your in the area definitely stop by! The winery is great as well, definitely taste while you are there if you are of age, fun tasting room and great people. If your more of a beer person firestone is only a couple miles away!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 DR. Out of Bounds

1    8/2/2014   8/6/2014
Review By: OBgyn69
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Awesome setting. A lot of fun holes with the vines being OB. Plenty of open "ripper" drives which I enjoy. Oak trees provide plenty of technical shots for approach shots.
Cons: Pay to play. Would play more often if free.
Other Thoughts: Could get interesting during wine harvest.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Whale Rock DGC..Rocks!

1    8/2/2014   8/4/2014
Review By: sastheatre
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great use of space in and around vineyards. Some tight and technical, with nice ups and downs.
Cons: Could use a few more long holes. Shade over benches would help in the hot Summer months
Other Thoughts: Great deal for Wine/Disc Golf Club!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.