Saint Charles, IL 
Campton Hills Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4
3 / 191ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Picturesque course that will challenge your line-shaping.

1    7/29/2012   6/28/2013
Review By: rikomenzies
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: While the holes are pretty short, this course will really challenge you on your ability to shape a good line around obstacles. Taking risks can really pay off, but punish you harshly as well.
The course is all wooded areas and elevation changes, with no holes ever stretching beyond 225'.

The course is very picturesque to say the least. I stopped often to take pictures. It's a great-looking course. Really felt like an adventure. You're in the shade pretty much the whole time, too, so it felt really cool.
Cons: If you rely on your cannon of an arm, you won't find any use for it here. There aren't any points in the course where you can just crush a disc. You *will* over-throw the basket a lot if you're used to powering up your drives.
I brought my Crunch Box here with fifteen discs in it and after seeing the first hole, I should have gone back and put the bag back in my car. The only discs I used were a DX Roc, DX Stingray, and Soft X-Putt'r. Seriously, leave your drivers at home. You won't need them.

Like I said, there are plenty of risks to take with great payoff, but you'll be punished harshly if you miscalculate. There are a lot of drop-offs and ugly uphill shots here.
SCOUT Hole 8 before you throw. There's a swap between you and the disc and if you're not careful, you'll wind up in it. Get a good idea of where it is.

The nature of the terrain makes it hard for any real effort to clean the place up, so as pretty as it is there is plenty of litter around from inconsiderate players.
You will find crowds here from the nearby high schools that will likely be irritating to play around, so just keep that in mind. When my girlfriend and I went up there it was a real test of patience waiting for a group that was jacking around or having a group at the tee hucking discs while we weren't yet done with the hole.
Other Thoughts: Get one of these if you can: http://nutsacbags.com /
NutSac disc golf bags are great for really short courses like this that don't demand more than a couple of discs from you. Since the entire course is a hike, you'll want something to keep your discs in.

I'm serious about leaving your drivers at home. Even beginners should stick to midranges and putters here. Even the 225' stretches aren't going to give much room for a driver here with all the trees you'll have to throw around.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Nice Short Hit or Miss Course

2-4    8/7/2012   9/18/2012
Review By: 4_Of_Spades
Played: 34  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice, isolated course

Nice baskets, lots of graffiti from all the aces however.

Very wooded on all holes and some different shot variety with major elevation change.

Short, quick round with some technical shots but nothing long.

Signs are okay and navigation is fairly straightforward.
Cons: Very short course.

Erosion of hills, cliffs, tee pads, and slopes makes getting around a bit dangerous in some spots.

Some technical shots, but its either you make it to the hole or you take an extra throw to get to the hole. After a few rounds it gets a bit boring.

Space not able to fit a legitimate 9 hole disc golf course. Holes are very close together.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed some of the elevation and technical shots and would say that this course is worth a play at least a few times in the area but should not be something you should make a day trip for. It is a fun, very quick 9 hole round but not something I am dying to go back to after playing it for a day.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Spot

1    8/18/2011   8/18/2011
Review By: cpoquette
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Thickly wooded, good atmosphere, never very windy so its easy to like a cig. Its close to my house. Good elevation changes on almost every hole. You can play it when it is kinda raining because of the tree canopy over your head. Cant get sunburnt there, so that cool! Once I found 10 cold unopened beers in a garbage there, guess security made some little idiot highschool kids throw them out. Got my first ace there.
Cons: Lots of idiot kids all summer and after 3pm during the school year. Hole eight reminds me of the Degobah system where yoda lives, swampy and buggy for the rest of the season after a big rain. You never really get to open up and let it rip.
Other Thoughts: Overall a pretty fun little 9 hole course. Its basically like a putt putt course for disc golf. Its also fun cause you can play 54 holes and not have a sore arm and it only takes 20 minutes per 9 if its not crowded.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Campton boggles my emotions

2-4    8/7/2010   8/13/2010
Review By: #19325
Played: 315  Reviewed: 168  Exp: 13.2 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is like the ultimate miniature version of disc golf. In a weird way it's kind of fun. It would get old if you played it every day.

This is an excellent beginner course.

The holes require decent variety of shots. It's a great place to work on your upshot game.

Each hole has a tee sign, tee pad, and nice basket.

The elevation is pretty cool in this park. Every hole plays up and down a hill.

If you get off the fairway you can be punished on a bad shot even though all holes are under 225ft.

Several sets of stairways have been installed to help get up and down hills.
Cons: The tee pads are framed in by wood and filled with limestone. They are very short and not level.

This course has been trashed. There is garbage all over the place. There is a ton of erosion and this place gets muddy after rain.

It's too easy for more skilled players. My intermediate rated friend 2'd 8 of the 9 holes and had another putt rattle out for the perfect 9.
Other Thoughts: The frustrating part about this course is that the St. Charles Park District is loaded with money. They could have a top notch facility. The lack of cement tee pads is frustrating.

Bring bug spray during the warm wet monthes.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Surprisingly fun

1    5/30/2010   6/1/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays on a very small property dedicated to disc golf, so you won't run into any other park users. The terrain is hilly, with a few good steep climbs and drop offs, and some gradual elevation. Nearly every hole uses the elevation in some way, making a great variety of up and down hill shots, with some risky pin placements that have good roll away potential. The course is heavily wooded, but with relatively clear fairways, so there is a line to the hole but punishment for errant drives that go into the woods and brush.

Though all the holes are very short, there is still a good variety of hole shapes here. It's a good balance of right and left turning holes, and with the elevation thrown in, none of the holes feel the same. It's a great place to play a putter only or super class round, and just work on shaping lines with one disc.

The signs are basic but functional, with hole layout and distance to the pin. There is a good course map by the parking lot, but I found the flow to be fairly intuitive my first time through with no real issues finding my way around. The baskets are in good shape and catch fine. There are really nice stairs built into a couple hill sides to make it easier to get up and down the steepest spots on the course. The course is surrounded by neighborhoods, and many holes play close to one another, but the heavy woods and hills make it feel very secluded and serene.
Cons: The tees are terrible. They are small framed out sand boxes, many of which are wider than they are long. If you needed any kind of run up on any of the holes here, this would be an even bigger issue, but they were rutted out and made for poor footing even on standstill drives.

The course can get very crowded with newer players, meaning lots of waiting, lots of litter, and lots of ace signatures on 120' holes. This is especially true when the weather is nice, so be prepared if you go on a warm sunny day.

The course is extremely short. Every hole is an ace run with a putter if you hit your line, so it won't work on any of your longer shots to play here. This also means it's not terribly challenging, every hole is easily deuceable and you have to really screw up to get more than a 3.
Other Thoughts: This course was really difficult for me to rate. The fun factor here is extremely high, but the lack of challenge and the terrible tees take away quite a bit for me. Despite an average rating, I would still definitely recommend a stop here if you're anywhere in the area, it's a fun and quick course to play and a really nice place to throw your putter in the woods. It's mostly beginner friendly despite some brushy areas to lose discs, and it offers enough variety that a more experienced player can have a lot of fun here.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/9/2010   2/9/2010
Review By: Countchunkula
Played: 119  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 8.1 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Unique course for the area
-Lots of elevation change
-A couple of the holes require odd flight patterns that you don't normally use
-Densely wooded, but with relatively little underbrush
-There is often a disc merchant in the parking lot
-No other activities in the park to interfere with DG
Cons: -Very, very short
-Rutted dirt tees framed with landscaping timbers
-Crowded, especially with the short holes playing so quickly. If you have to wait for 5 min, 2 groups will be waiting behind you.
Other Thoughts: This course has some odd holes that you just don't see in this part of IL, and for that reason is worth the trip. Don't go out of your way though.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.