Saint Charles, IL
Campton Hills Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1
3 / 186ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Short and sweet

1    9/29/2012   10/11/2012
Review By: LeddZepp8687
Played: 79  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Serious elevation change
-Lots of ace potential here
-TONS of wood
-Very secluded
-Unlike any other course in the area
Cons: -Some shots are just too short... Hole two is likely the shortest hole I've ever seen
-Littering is apparently acceptable here?
-A few holes with very good potential of getting hit or hitting someone else
Other Thoughts: This is a cool course and I would like to go back and play it again, It is unlike any other course in the area really.

I like all the possibility of aces here, all of which can be done with putters or mids and I love throwing mids.

I made the mistake of carrying my entire bag here and a competition bag full of discs gets old carrying up and down all the hills at this place. Next time I am bringing a roc, a buzzz and a putter or two and maybe one good flick disc for hole nine..

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

campton hills

2-4    9/22/2012   9/27/2012
Review By: booradly
Played: 75  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 2 Years
Pros: -located in heavy woods that make for lots of hard shots for such a short course
-secluded
-lots of chances to ace
-can go there with a mid and still shoot to the basket
-decent tee pads
-great use of the land so much elevation change
- has good paths and stairs that make the elevation change safer
Cons: -the tee pads are small but you do not really need a run up on your shot
-the course is very short i have only made one trip out there but will most likely only go again when i am already out that way
-if you have bad knees / legs for any reason you might have a hard time getting around
- i like some nice technical short shots but some of these shots are only 100 feet or so.
-with all of the elevation change i can see how it would be easy to lose a disc
Other Thoughts: - i think that this is one of the best 9 holes around and if it was an 18 i would be there almost every day
- if you are like most disc golf players and are poor as hell this place is awesome. there are so many squirrels running around it is easy to take two or three of them out with a disc for the stew pot and if any one asks you can just say it was an accident

So much fun

2-4    7/29/2012   8/2/2012
Review By: DocHaole
Played: 71  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 6.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a pleasant change of pace for the area. The biggest surprise is the amount of elevation that comes into play. The hills come into play on basically every hole. The course winds through some moderately thick woods, however there are clearly cut fairways that reward accurate throws. Missing the fairway can be punishing however the brush is cleared enough that the risk of losing a disc is pretty low.

I appreciate that the course design forces you to throw a variety of lines to stay on the fairways. I really enjoyed throwing hole #9: a blind downhill dogleg to the right with a steep drop off. This is a great course for new players to come out and learn to throw accurate shots and leave the drivers at home.

The stairs are definitely necessary with the steep slopes however it is nice to see that the designers put in so much effort to make the course.
Cons: The course is ridiculously short, especially Hole 2. And unfortunately the design makes it hard to move the baskets futher back or add long tees.

Safety could definitely be a concern on this course. Personally I almost killed someone walking off of 7s tee box as my drive on 6 made it clean through the trees and over the basket. Also the blind shot on 9 is asking for trouble. How's about yelling clear when you're done? None of this merits changing the design, but worth noting to be careful.

I am told that this course can be very buggy, thankfully it is a dry summer. Also I can't imagine playing this course when it is wet and muddy.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed playing this course. It is easy to write this course off as being too short and easy, however once you approach the course with the mindset that it's not trying to host the Pro Worlds I think it is a lot of fun. I played all three rounds using just my Ion putter and would recommend experienced players approaching this course as putter only. Hat's off to the designers of this course because it clearly took a lot of work, I will definitely go out of my way to play here again when I am in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun for all ages

2-4    10/9/2010   10/9/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 386  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 10.7 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Park is devoted completely to disc golf, to the point where it isn't really a park... just a course. The land is perfect for it, with large hills and cliffs and a good amount of trees.
- Almost every hole has some kind of elevation change, and can be pretty extreme. A few uphill and downhill cliff shots, hills off the tee and by the basket, and some nasty ravines as hazards. The shorter length on some holes make it even more pronounced, shots have to get up or down quickly.
- Great mix of different lines to hit, which are pretty much forced due to plenty of trees in the fairway (and off it). Almost a perfect mix with 3 left, 3 right, and 3 straight holes. Being able to throw BH, FH, and OH accurately can lead to some great shots.
- There is only rough in a few places, the majority of the course just has dense clusters of trees that force the way. This means there are tons of opportunities to get creative with shot selection, to find that perfect hidden line, if you don't like the obvious one.
- When I was there, a puddle of water in #8's fairway, before the hill, was a huge hazard. It really added a challenge to avoid it, and is in a good spot to punish short or redirected shots.
- A few well protected baskets thanks to ravines, some trees, hills, and slopes.
- Good baskets, good signs. Navigation pretty easy. Great staircases and paths to get around as well. Nice, short teepads for a short course.
Cons: - Although it is a newer course, it has a very old school feel. This includes the very, very short hole lengths. It is tough to list that as a con; as it is not trying to be a long course, but the average length is 176'.
Other Thoughts: - This course doesn't care if you can throw over 250', it just wants you to hit a bunch of different lines and show some good control. There are some punishing areas, like left of #1 and right of #7, and plenty of trees to avoid all over the place. It might be a bit frustrating for a beginner, but everyone should enjoy this course.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Play 3 rounds unless you live close

5+    8/16/2009   8/18/2009
Review By: schroeder5520
Played: 47  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 20 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Unique, borderline weird elevation changes; especially for a really short course.

Ability to very easily play with 1 or 2 discs. (though I don't, I do like the putter challenge that one guy mentioned).

Scenic deep woods, but without major danger of losing a disc.

Shady, almost all parts of every hole. This makes it great to play if it is really hot and sunny out.

Windy? It really can't be windy here. If you don't feel like playing Jericho or Eagle Ridge because of 30 mph+ gusts, play here.

Just rained? You can probably still play here if the gates are open. Because of the thick canopy everything stays pretty dry except for a couple of low spots on 2 holes. And the tee boxes have been filled in with more gravel.

Because people play it more casually, like after work or just to get some quick holes in; I almost always run into another solo player to throw with. Compared to every other course I have playes solo, I cannot stress how nice that is.
Cons: Tee pads are ridiculous. As others have commented, short wood framed gravel pads. Really short, so short it is hard to imagine what the designers were thinking, or if they every played.

Obviously not a very hard course, because of the length.

Cowded in the late afternoon/evening.

You will run into people drinking, which doesn't bother me but might others. And you might see kids just hanging out smoking weed etc. It is one of those type courses. Most people that play here live close and are young- I would say 80% are 25 and under.
Other Thoughts: I gave this course a 3 simply because it is one of the most unique nine hole courses you will ever play. I play it a lot because it is five minutes away and I can get out there at 7:00pm and still get in 27 holes easily.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 A Juicy Little Morsel of a Course!

1    6/28/2009   6/29/2009
Review By: jhgonzo
Played: 86  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 15.9 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. A short technical course. The first few holes kind of leave you wondering just how easy this course is going to be (which it is), but the overall design was really impressive. Hole #2 is a little 125' RHBH hyzer shot with a PAINFUL punishment if you go deep (which I imagine could be easy to do if you're one of the one-disc golfers carrying only a driver!).
2. Fantastic use of elevation. Again, all of these are short and reachable from the tee, but do require some thought before throwing. The extreme-uphill and extreme-downhill holes featured out here are just really cool to look at, and you can truly appreciate what the designers were aiming for once you start playing.
3. Ease of navigation. Sometimes a heavily wooded course can get confusing when there's no "next tee" sign and other paths winding through the woods, but with how busy this course is and the visibility of the next tee after holing out (as well as a nice, easy-to-memorize directory at the beginning), you shouldn't have an issue getting around.
4. The litter actually wasn't too bad when I played. I've seen this issue addressed in other reviews, so maybe I caught the course on a good day, but with how many groups we saw in what little time we were there, and with most of those groups seeming to be late-high-school age to early 20s (one of the more notorious litterbug demographics), I was impressed. The trash cans help!
Cons: 1. Only 9 holes. This seems like a park with great potential for an 18-holer or more, but it also seems like they'd have to chop down a lot of trees to do so...a designer's dilemma.
2. Basket vandalism. The baskets themselves were in great shape, but with how short this course is, there's bound to be a TON of aces--which apparently there have been. Again, people, if you get an ace, NOBODY CARES! Write it on the disc you aced it with, 'cause it was truly your arm and your plastic that helped you accomplish that feat.
3. Poor tees. Again, with this being a short course (I think the longest hole was the finishing hole, albeit a huge downhill, thus eliminating a lot of whatever the posted distance is), you don't really need big flared concrete tees, but I can't stand the frame boxes filled with gravel, especially in an area that gets as much rain and flooding as St. Charles. A few little sidewalk-square-sized chunks o' concrete are all that's needed to make a major improvement to this course.
4. Some muddy areas. Again, because of the frequent standing water in the low-lying areas, you have to tiptoe around some particularly yucky areas...or your disc may end up extremely muddy if you can't see this mud off the tee. Have a towel ready!
5. Crowds. A lot of people seem to come out in twosomes and threesomes, so that does help keep things moving...we had 6 in our group (out-of-staters hitting up a course before heading back to WI), and we let numerous groups play through. Adding another 9 would certainly stretch out when and where you hit the bottleneck, but even with all the people out here, most of them seemed really cool.
Other Thoughts: This is probably the most fun 9-hole I've ever played. I'd have rated it a 3.5 if the holes were just a LITTLE tighter (which, in reading previous reviews, they apparently were at some point!--for shame, park people/course management) and the tee pads didn't look like sinkholes. Since this course is literally up the street from my aunt's house, I'll definitely be hitting it up next time I'm in St. Charles.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Good technical short course

1    6/14/2009   6/14/2009
Review By: lko102
Played: 15  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good use of natural elevation changes.
- Well marked signage to guide you through the course.
- Well maintained "fairways"
- Very technical holes emphasize proper lines rather than raw distance.
Cons: - Crowded
- Tee pads are poorly designed
- Muddy and rutted after a rain
Other Thoughts: Very fun course! Shorter holes really force you to play a technical round rather than go for all out distance without accuracy. Wooded, natural setting gets you out of suburbs for a little while and walk in the trees. On the downside, the course was very crowded when we played, and any extra time spent looking for discs resulted in a backup at the tee. I would recommend playing during the week or in the mornings to minimize the crowds. Also, the tee boxes are too short to use for a proper run up, but are also elevated box frames, making it impossible to extend your run up out the front. I had better luck playing beside the tee boxes. Great little course to test out your ability to identify and throw a specific line. Come in the morning and give it a throw!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Course I Learned to Play on

5+    5/27/2009   6/11/2009
Review By: Daffron24
Played: 147  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 8.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course offers a little something for everyone whether you are a beginner or a seasoned pro. Short holes can make a first time player feel good about themselves as well as the #8 hole which requires accuracy up a hill. This short wooded course has a nice design with a good amount of elevation change. Hole #1 starts with an uphill dogleg left while the last hole, #9, ends with a blind downhill dogleg right. Course navigation is easy to follow with well mapped out signs.
Cons: Bugs. After a rain or in the summer months mosquitos sometimes emerge which is always annoying. So bring bug spray. Also the tee pads are dirt which means after a rain these holes will be filled for days.
Other Thoughts: Being the course I learned to play disc golf on I can gladly say this course must have something, because i've been addicted ever since. It is a fairly easy course, but the design of the course seems to always make you play a second round. All and all this course is local friendly, short, fun course that I will enjoy going to for years to come.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/24/2009   5/25/2009
Review By: Disc Golf Greg
Played: 21  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/14/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Elevation which is a nice change from all the flat courses I'm used too
-Pretty nice design and shot variety
-Good number of Ace chances
-Pretty challenging while still a good choice for beginners
-Shady which is nice since it's getting hot now
-Trash cans at offered at every hole and the course was very clean
-Friendly locals who showed me to Hole #1
-DISCatcher baskets which are nice since this course is located in the woods
-wooden stairs built on the very steep hills you throw up and down
-Drives that require you to throw down huge hills
-Uphill shots with baskets on top of hills
-Dogleg blind shot on Hole #9 where you throw some 75-100 feet down a hill is an awesome way to end a competitive round
-Unique never really played a course like this
Cons: -Tee pads suck, they are dirt and are literally 4-5 feet long with wood borders that prevent you from being able to step outside the tee and throw without tripping, the tee pads are also very uneven and practically have holes in them
-Insanely crowded there were 4 groups waiting to play Hole #1 when I arrived. With groups of 4-5 in front of groups of 2 who did not understand the term "playing through"
-Poison Ivy
Other Thoughts: Don't go during Weekend/Weekday afternoons or evenings because it's just too crowded I was talking to a group of locals and they said the course is a lot of fun to play alone in the morning when it's not crowded, and that you almost always have it to your self.

I would for sure go back but it would have to be for a morning round.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 SHORT AND WOODSY

5+    5/23/2009   5/23/2009
Review By: tntbuffallo
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: SCENIC AND WOODSY TERRAIN ESPECIALLY FOR IL. ALSO VERY HILLY.UNLIKE MOST COARSE AROUND AREA.
Cons: VERY SHORT, GREAT FOR BEGINERS. TOO MUCH GARGBAGE, AND OFTEN CROWDED, BRING YOUR BUG SPRAY.
Other Thoughts: BEST COARSE IN VECINITY OF ST CHARLES. CHALLENGING DESPITE SHORT DISTANCE. POSSIBLE ACES (HOLE IN ONES)

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.