Saint Charles, IL 
Campton Hills Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1
3 / 186ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fun, technical, short course

2-4    7/15/2013   7/28/2013
Review By: ChrisMacG
Played: 83  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6.7 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: One of the most challenging short courses I've ever played. Usually courses this short are for beginners, but not here. This is a challenging course that pits you agains the many elevation changes and tight fairways.

This course is well thought out with a number of very challenging holes, each with different skills required. Even the shortest hole, #2, is a challenge due to trees and the hill behind the basket. Hole 6 has a number of tight lines and you have to know how your disc will fly to negotiate one of them. Hole 9 is such fun to throw with it's tee located at the top of a cliff overlooking the canyon fairway. All of the tee boxes are perfectly sized for the hole, they keep this course about technical skill with a disc.

The course is short enough to play through almost twice in an hour. If your game is the long drive, this course will teach you more about disc golf than any other short course in the area.
Cons: Safety. The hills on #7 and #8 are treacherous with poor steps. The drop off behind the #1 baskets needs steps too.

Other Thoughts: Have seen the cops walking through this course a number of times. They're friendly enough, but they tend to sneak up on you.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Top Notch 9

1    6/3/2012   6/7/2012
Review By: Chicagolandlefty
Played: 79  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 17.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Incredible slopes and creative tee shots.
Challenging finesse shots and some of the coolest holes I've played here.
Elevation on almost every tee and you'll rarely be able to throw the same shot twice on a round.
Cons: 8 is a mess. Standing water right where most people will wind up. Be aware of this before teeing off because you can't see the water from the tee.
It can be difficult to climb around if you're not a little acrobatic. The steps in some places are falling apart due to erosion.
Other Thoughts: It's probably the best 9 I've played. Great design with some shots you won't find in many other courses in IL.
As far as 9s go it's great, but short.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 SHORT BUT FUN

5+    8/26/2011   9/4/2011
Review By: Rexdiscus
Played: 111  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/29/2012
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is my favorite nine-hole course. I know it is short (pitch and putt in disc golf parlance). However, what it lacks in length, it makes up for in elevation, trees, and just a cool scenery. There are lines to be hit on each hole for a safe passage to the basket, but since I am not a pro, I cannot always hit that line. I like the fact that trees abound, yet the risk of losing a disc in the woods is not very high. People who do not play disc golf would enjoy this place if they liked walking in a wooded environment with elevation changes if they came very early in the morning to avoid all the disc golfers. My first Campton Hills outing of 2012 was met with the addition of new cement tees to replace those other shabby little things that were still here Aug. 2011. That is just another plus for this place I dig so much.
Cons: Like I said, it is very short. It also gets crowed later in the day. I played this course on August 26, 2011 and encountered standing water on hole #8. That is the only time I have ever encountered that here, but it swallowed one of my discs. I like water hazards to make things interesting, but this was a hazard I did not know existed since one cannot see the standing water until you walk closer to the hole. One of those many trees (the last one before the hill on which the basket sits) came into play, then kerplunk! Goodbye mid-range disc. Maybe a little canal system to divert some of that standing water would be nice. I also do not like the fact that it is closed in winter. I play in winter as long as there is not too much snow on the ground. Unfortunately, there was standing water on hole eight again in April 2012. I hate laying up for fear of losing a disc. It means I am ruling out a realistic chance of a deuce.
Other Thoughts: Some people knock off points for a course being only nine holes. I do not believe in that. I enjoy this course more than most 18 hole courses I have played in Illinois. There is just something about this place that keeps bringing me back. If you hate pitch and putt, do not bother coming here. If you do not throw 400 feet (I throw about 320 max), but like to work on finesse, I recommend Campton Hills. If possible, come before noon.

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  campton hills

5+    7/23/2011   9/1/2011
Review By: dg11
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: great scenary cool place to be fun place to play on great for finding frisbees n great for beginners
Cons: lots of hills and trees usually muddy on a couple of holes sometimes a lot of mosquitos
Other Thoughts: love this course

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 The course that Got me Hooked

1    8/5/2011   8/17/2011
Review By: Disc Jedi
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: A beautiful course that couples a rousing game of Disc Golf with a nature hike. The holes are challenging and tempt the player to take risks that can pay off.
Being as this was the first time I'd ever played disc golf this course will forever hold a special place in my Disc Golf heart.
Cons: It is easy to lose discs
Other Thoughts: I would recomend this course to anyone who either lives in or is visiting the Chicago land area

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best Par 9's

5+    5/1/2010   5/1/2010
Review By: skearns2
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The landscape has rolling hills, trees, and sometimes little pond due to rain. If you are in a hurry this course is perfect, it can be completed very fast. 20mins or so if you are not waiting on anybody. There are 9 holes, and each is slightly unique. No hole feels the same as a prior hole. The wholes are nice and new, and the tee markers vividly show the fairway on each map.
Cons: Not for beginners. Everything here is a par 3, and every whole has several trees. No breathtaking scenery, because you are walking in the woods the entire time. The tees are not the greatest. They are a wooden box with sand and dirt inside of them. None of them are straight or level. The parking lot is gravel and is very small. Sometimes there are no parking spots to be found.
Other Thoughts: Even though you are in the woods, it is easy to find a missing disk due to the landscape.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Decent quick game spot

2-4    5/11/2009   5/12/2009
Review By: syruphussy
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/26/2009
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Flow from basket to basket is simple and easy to follow.

Beautiful scenery and foliage.

They now have buckets for trash at nearly every tee box.

I believe at #6 and #8 (?) there are steps built into the hillside.
Cons: Gets busy after school is out.

#7 is missing.(EDIT: Basket #7 has been replaced)
Other Thoughts: I like the course for a quick game. Easily playable twice with out getting tired of it. Good for beginners.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course!

5+    9/20/2008   10/1/2008
Review By: krc1130
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/12/2009
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very well marked holes and clear tees. Great flow, as each hole easily goes to the next (though the walk from 8 to 9 seems a bit contrived). Big elevation changes, which is unusual for this area. Holes 6-9 have very well built stairs which is definitely necessary. This is a very challenging short course, as it requires a great variety of shots. Narrow fairways and very wooded, but even so, there is pretty good visibility. Losing a disc is possible, but there's always a good chance you can find it. A very pretty course, it doesn't feel like you're playing on a course off a major road. Even though holes 6 and 7 play along Campton Hills Road, it's barely noticeable - just a very peaceful, serene looking course. This is a well built and well maintained course - I played the Monday after the big rain and flooding a couple weeks back and the park district was finishing up some maintenance on the course. A day or two after all the flooding, this course was very playable, save for some mud on holes 7 and 8.

**Update - 7/12/2009** On the 7th and 8th holes, they've added makeshift stairs on some of the more treacherous inclined areas. It makes it easier to get to discs on those inclines and it's easier to get to the basket. A very nice addition to this course.
Cons: I'll agree with Dave in saying that the tee boxes are too short. I don't have an issue with it, but I've definitely heard the same complaints. I can see how it would be a bother. Definitely a short course, but the challenge provided should make you totally forget about the length. Be careful with your shots, there can be some potentially dangerous and unplayable lies on the hilled portions. The course can also get very busy, and the litter can be bothersome as well. I wish people would use garbage cans instead of leaving cans and broken bottles all over the course.
Other Thoughts: This is a tremendous place to play, and is great to have as a hometown course. The only really comparable course in the area is Oswego, but this is a very good 9-hole complement to that course. This is just such a nice course, with the pros most definitely outweighing the cons. This course is great for all disc golf players, and you should really go out of your way to check it out. It's also close enough to Oswego and Aurora where you could check those courses out in the same day (it's also close to South Elgin and Bartlett, but I would go ahead and avoid those courses). Overall, one of my favorite courses and one I would recommend to all.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Nature hike!!!

5/13/2008   5/13/2008
Review By: agentdave
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a great course to take friends that are new to the game. The course is entirly in the woods, with huge elevation changes. This course will reduce a good players edge thus making it great for new people. Even friends that don't like disc golf may like this course because it is just like a nature hike. Very short and quick to get through, but I can not say enough about the scenery. Very unique course. Never seen another like it.
Cons: The tee boxes are way to short, gravel with raised timber around the edges. rutted pretty bad. Not possible to 3 step in the box. Sometimes you can throw outside the box, but with the narrow fairways you will be at a huge disadvantage outside the box. Hole 8 is a good example, about 250 feet, Right backhand hyzer at about +2 and the tee is on top of a 25 foot ridge. I need a 3 step to have a chance at getting up the ridge, but the box will not allow it, start behind the box and you will trip on the timber entering the box, and tree's on either side.
Other Thoughts: I love this course on weekdays for a quick game by myself. Very peacefull.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.