Disc Golf Store
Saint Charles, IL 
Campton Hills Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5
3 / 223ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 Next >
 

1    5/24/2009   5/25/2009
Review By: Disc Golf Greg
Played: 21  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/14/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Elevation which is a nice change from all the flat courses I'm used too
-Pretty nice design and shot variety
-Good number of Ace chances
-Pretty challenging while still a good choice for beginners
-Shady which is nice since it's getting hot now
-Trash cans at offered at every hole and the course was very clean
-Friendly locals who showed me to Hole #1
-DISCatcher baskets which are nice since this course is located in the woods
-wooden stairs built on the very steep hills you throw up and down
-Drives that require you to throw down huge hills
-Uphill shots with baskets on top of hills
-Dogleg blind shot on Hole #9 where you throw some 75-100 feet down a hill is an awesome way to end a competitive round
-Unique never really played a course like this
Cons: -Tee pads suck, they are dirt and are literally 4-5 feet long with wood borders that prevent you from being able to step outside the tee and throw without tripping, the tee pads are also very uneven and practically have holes in them
-Insanely crowded there were 4 groups waiting to play Hole #1 when I arrived. With groups of 4-5 in front of groups of 2 who did not understand the term "playing through"
-Poison Ivy
Other Thoughts: Don't go during Weekend/Weekday afternoons or evenings because it's just too crowded I was talking to a group of locals and they said the course is a lot of fun to play alone in the morning when it's not crowded, and that you almost always have it to your self.

I would for sure go back but it would have to be for a morning round.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 SHORT AND WOODSY

5+    5/23/2009   5/23/2009
Review By: tntbuffallo
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: SCENIC AND WOODSY TERRAIN ESPECIALLY FOR IL. ALSO VERY HILLY.UNLIKE MOST COARSE AROUND AREA.
Cons: VERY SHORT, GREAT FOR BEGINERS. TOO MUCH GARGBAGE, AND OFTEN CROWDED, BRING YOUR BUG SPRAY.
Other Thoughts: BEST COARSE IN VECINITY OF ST CHARLES. CHALLENGING DESPITE SHORT DISTANCE. POSSIBLE ACES (HOLE IN ONES)

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Decent quick game spot

2-4    5/11/2009   5/12/2009
Review By: syruphussy
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/26/2009
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Flow from basket to basket is simple and easy to follow.

Beautiful scenery and foliage.

They now have buckets for trash at nearly every tee box.

I believe at #6 and #8 (?) there are steps built into the hillside.
Cons: Gets busy after school is out.

#7 is missing.(EDIT: Basket #7 has been replaced)
Other Thoughts: I like the course for a quick game. Easily playable twice with out getting tired of it. Good for beginners.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Great

5+    4/15/2009   4/17/2009
Review By: EDoty
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 4/19/2009
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Very fun and moderatly easy course. This was the first course i played and the course i learned on. Holes are short but the woods make it very challenging.
Cons: Teeboxs are short also the holes are short
Other Thoughts: great course that i would reccomend to beginners and advanced players its a very fun and challenging course

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Eh...

5+    8/1/2008   12/1/2008
Review By: Tripod2
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 12.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/5/2009
8 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: It's near home and work. It's a 9 holer, which is kind of an oddity for me.

Good workout for your midrangers and putters as most holes are short. Holes 6, 7 & 8 offer nice elevation challenges that most IL players are not used to.
Cons: Pin placements never change.

I've played here for 2 years +. They have chopped down or hacked a lot of trees, making this a far easier course than it was a few years ago.

For shame.....

This place gets awfully crowded when the weather's nice. Be patient.....and bring plenty of bug spray.

With crowds comes litter...and plenty of it. Maybe that's why they're chopping down all those trees - to make the litter more visible for clean up crews.

I dunno.


Other Thoughts: If you're in the area, swing by, but don't make a special trip to this one unless you want to rigorously work out your mid-ranger.

Nearly aced hole 6 in June 2009. Putter glanced off tree and hit top of basket. So close.

Also, nearly aced hole 8 same day. Driver glanced off a tree and hit the chains....before bouncing out of basket.

The disc gods were teasing me.

3/23/09 - This course lost half a star. I played a quick 18 on Saturday and was very disappointed. The folks in charge of this place decided to chop down a LOT more trees. The most challenging aspects of this course was the terrain and trees.

Now that most of the obstacle trees have been chopped down, this is nothing more than a beer swigging/yuppie paradise.

If this wasn't on my way home from work, I would never throw here again.

8 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Short & Quick

5+    11/28/2008   12/1/2008
Review By: J.W.I.
Played: 30  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 7.8 Years
3 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: There are baskets to throw at. The signs are accurate. (But, when there is only one pin placement and one tee for each hole, what do you expect?) Good elevation in play.
Cons: It's short. It's often crowded. The gate is sometimes closed on the lot. There are only nine holes. There is one pin (#2) that my 10-year-old can easily drive past with a putter. Very short tees, but they are just gravel and wood so you can walk right through them and not miss much.
Other Thoughts: You might want a driver for the 8th & 18th holes, but you don't really need one. Beyond that, some midranges and putters will do it out for you.

3 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course!

5+    9/20/2008   10/1/2008
Review By: krc1130
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/12/2009
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very well marked holes and clear tees. Great flow, as each hole easily goes to the next (though the walk from 8 to 9 seems a bit contrived). Big elevation changes, which is unusual for this area. Holes 6-9 have very well built stairs which is definitely necessary. This is a very challenging short course, as it requires a great variety of shots. Narrow fairways and very wooded, but even so, there is pretty good visibility. Losing a disc is possible, but there's always a good chance you can find it. A very pretty course, it doesn't feel like you're playing on a course off a major road. Even though holes 6 and 7 play along Campton Hills Road, it's barely noticeable - just a very peaceful, serene looking course. This is a well built and well maintained course - I played the Monday after the big rain and flooding a couple weeks back and the park district was finishing up some maintenance on the course. A day or two after all the flooding, this course was very playable, save for some mud on holes 7 and 8.

**Update - 7/12/2009** On the 7th and 8th holes, they've added makeshift stairs on some of the more treacherous inclined areas. It makes it easier to get to discs on those inclines and it's easier to get to the basket. A very nice addition to this course.
Cons: I'll agree with Dave in saying that the tee boxes are too short. I don't have an issue with it, but I've definitely heard the same complaints. I can see how it would be a bother. Definitely a short course, but the challenge provided should make you totally forget about the length. Be careful with your shots, there can be some potentially dangerous and unplayable lies on the hilled portions. The course can also get very busy, and the litter can be bothersome as well. I wish people would use garbage cans instead of leaving cans and broken bottles all over the course.
Other Thoughts: This is a tremendous place to play, and is great to have as a hometown course. The only really comparable course in the area is Oswego, but this is a very good 9-hole complement to that course. This is just such a nice course, with the pros most definitely outweighing the cons. This course is great for all disc golf players, and you should really go out of your way to check it out. It's also close enough to Oswego and Aurora where you could check those courses out in the same day (it's also close to South Elgin and Bartlett, but I would go ahead and avoid those courses). Overall, one of my favorite courses and one I would recommend to all.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Nature hike!!!

5/13/2008   5/13/2008
Review By: agentdave
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a great course to take friends that are new to the game. The course is entirly in the woods, with huge elevation changes. This course will reduce a good players edge thus making it great for new people. Even friends that don't like disc golf may like this course because it is just like a nature hike. Very short and quick to get through, but I can not say enough about the scenery. Very unique course. Never seen another like it.
Cons: The tee boxes are way to short, gravel with raised timber around the edges. rutted pretty bad. Not possible to 3 step in the box. Sometimes you can throw outside the box, but with the narrow fairways you will be at a huge disadvantage outside the box. Hole 8 is a good example, about 250 feet, Right backhand hyzer at about +2 and the tee is on top of a 25 foot ridge. I need a 3 step to have a chance at getting up the ridge, but the box will not allow it, start behind the box and you will trip on the timber entering the box, and tree's on either side.
Other Thoughts: I love this course on weekdays for a quick game by myself. Very peacefull.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.