Saint Charles, IL 
Campton Hills Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5
3 / 223ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Top Notch 9

1    6/3/2012   6/7/2012
Review By: Chicagolandlefty
Played: 79  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 17.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Incredible slopes and creative tee shots.
Challenging finesse shots and some of the coolest holes I've played here.
Elevation on almost every tee and you'll rarely be able to throw the same shot twice on a round.
Cons: 8 is a mess. Standing water right where most people will wind up. Be aware of this before teeing off because you can't see the water from the tee.
It can be difficult to climb around if you're not a little acrobatic. The steps in some places are falling apart due to erosion.
Other Thoughts: It's probably the best 9 I've played. Great design with some shots you won't find in many other courses in IL.
As far as 9s go it's great, but short.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 SHORT BUT FUN

5+    8/26/2011   9/4/2011
Review By: Rexdiscus
Played: 111  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 9.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/29/2012
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is my favorite nine-hole course. I know it is short (pitch and putt in disc golf parlance). However, what it lacks in length, it makes up for in elevation, trees, and just a cool scenery. There are lines to be hit on each hole for a safe passage to the basket, but since I am not a pro, I cannot always hit that line. I like the fact that trees abound, yet the risk of losing a disc in the woods is not very high. People who do not play disc golf would enjoy this place if they liked walking in a wooded environment with elevation changes if they came very early in the morning to avoid all the disc golfers. My first Campton Hills outing of 2012 was met with the addition of new cement tees to replace those other shabby little things that were still here Aug. 2011. That is just another plus for this place I dig so much.
Cons: Like I said, it is very short. It also gets crowed later in the day. I played this course on August 26, 2011 and encountered standing water on hole #8. That is the only time I have ever encountered that here, but it swallowed one of my discs. I like water hazards to make things interesting, but this was a hazard I did not know existed since one cannot see the standing water until you walk closer to the hole. One of those many trees (the last one before the hill on which the basket sits) came into play, then kerplunk! Goodbye mid-range disc. Maybe a little canal system to divert some of that standing water would be nice. I also do not like the fact that it is closed in winter. I play in winter as long as there is not too much snow on the ground. Unfortunately, there was standing water on hole eight again in April 2012. I hate laying up for fear of losing a disc. It means I am ruling out a realistic chance of a deuce.
Other Thoughts: Some people knock off points for a course being only nine holes. I do not believe in that. I enjoy this course more than most 18 hole courses I have played in Illinois. There is just something about this place that keeps bringing me back. If you hate pitch and putt, do not bother coming here. If you do not throw 400 feet (I throw about 320 max), but like to work on finesse, I recommend Campton Hills. If possible, come before noon.

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  campton hills

5+    7/23/2011   9/1/2011
Review By: dg11
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: great scenary cool place to be fun place to play on great for finding frisbees n great for beginners
Cons: lots of hills and trees usually muddy on a couple of holes sometimes a lot of mosquitos
Other Thoughts: love this course

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Spot

1    8/18/2011   8/18/2011
Review By: cpoquette
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Thickly wooded, good atmosphere, never very windy so its easy to like a cig. Its close to my house. Good elevation changes on almost every hole. You can play it when it is kinda raining because of the tree canopy over your head. Cant get sunburnt there, so that cool! Once I found 10 cold unopened beers in a garbage there, guess security made some little idiot highschool kids throw them out. Got my first ace there.
Cons: Lots of idiot kids all summer and after 3pm during the school year. Hole eight reminds me of the Degobah system where yoda lives, swampy and buggy for the rest of the season after a big rain. You never really get to open up and let it rip.
Other Thoughts: Overall a pretty fun little 9 hole course. Its basically like a putt putt course for disc golf. Its also fun cause you can play 54 holes and not have a sore arm and it only takes 20 minutes per 9 if its not crowded.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The course that Got me Hooked

1    8/5/2011   8/17/2011
Review By: Disc Jedi
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: A beautiful course that couples a rousing game of Disc Golf with a nature hike. The holes are challenging and tempt the player to take risks that can pay off.
Being as this was the first time I'd ever played disc golf this course will forever hold a special place in my Disc Golf heart.
Cons: It is easy to lose discs
Other Thoughts: I would recomend this course to anyone who either lives in or is visiting the Chicago land area

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great Complement to Area Courses!

2-4    12/23/2010   4/5/2011
Review By: cefire
Played: 637  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 15.4 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As the title of this review states, it is refreshing to have a moderately/tightly wooded course in the area. So often, area courses consist of wide open holes where the player can choose from any number of shots. Campton Hills really requires that most shots are shaped according to the fairways which are defined by small, skinny trees. This means that the average midwest player may have to step out of the comfort zone to 'get it done' on these shorter, tighter holes. It is a great place for a newer player to take a putter and a midrange and learn to throw with accuracy - plenty of other local destinations to practice with a boss or katana. Fast greens are another nice complement to area courses. Because of the dirt and elevation, putts and approaches that don't have a bit of finesse may be flying right by the basket on the way to a three putt.
Cons: Safety: As other reviewers have noted, several of the previous baskets and subsequent teepads are very close together. In an especially bad combination, players are throwing downhill almost directly towards the next tee. Be vigilant out here or you may end up with a disc in the head!

Erosion: Most of the fairways and especially near basket placements have rolling elevation and consist mainly of a mud base. When it is wet, I'd imagine this place is really tough to play. When we visited, it had been fairly dry for a few days prior, but there was plenty of evidence of past erosion.
Other Thoughts: All-in-all, Campton Hills is a nice flip-flop of the usual NW Illinois niner. It incorporates both nice tight fairways and decent elevation. This course is perfect for the family (as long as people keep a 'heads up') or for the newer player who needs to figure out how to play in the woods. More experienced players are going to have a birdie-fest and while they may have a fun round or two, aren't going to be making a regular trip out.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Change of pace

1    10/10/2010   10/10/2010
Review By: flingkaching
Played: 124  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 34.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/17/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to find due to Dics Golf Course sign from the road, only disc golf here, had signs & map so easy to navagate, not overly busy, was nice to throw a few steep up & down elevation shots, there are plenty of obstructions and trouble areas including inadvertant shoots over steep ledged areas to sides or past some pins. Good course etiquette from other players. Plays fast.
Cons: Tee pads too small & some are not level surfaces, also poor footing if shooting at sides of pads from dirt (potential for injury issues with this course). It's a short course, most holes too short, hole 2 is rediculously short and too easy a shot. Had a large standing water pool at back side of hole 8 with trees all around, had no idea it was there, shot skimmed a tree & landed in it, lost a gray x wildcat. Course lacks variety & only 9 holes.
Other Thoughts: Not too bad aside from the footing issues which is a major deduction to me. Definately room in areas for improvements. Has some uniqueness to it in comparison to other courses in area & some fun shots at least. You get a workout walking up & down all the steep inclines. Wouldn't go out of my way to play here but might stop by again if in the area & will be wearing my high tops next time.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun for all ages

2-4    10/9/2010   10/9/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 418  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.2 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Park is devoted completely to disc golf, to the point where it isn't really a park... just a course. The land is perfect for it, with large hills and cliffs and a good amount of trees.
- Almost every hole has some kind of elevation change, and can be pretty extreme. A few uphill and downhill cliff shots, hills off the tee and by the basket, and some nasty ravines as hazards. The shorter length on some holes make it even more pronounced, shots have to get up or down quickly.
- Great mix of different lines to hit, which are pretty much forced due to plenty of trees in the fairway (and off it). Almost a perfect mix with 3 left, 3 right, and 3 straight holes. Being able to throw BH, FH, and OH accurately can lead to some great shots.
- There is only rough in a few places, the majority of the course just has dense clusters of trees that force the way. This means there are tons of opportunities to get creative with shot selection, to find that perfect hidden line, if you don't like the obvious one.
- When I was there, a puddle of water in #8's fairway, before the hill, was a huge hazard. It really added a challenge to avoid it, and is in a good spot to punish short or redirected shots.
- A few well protected baskets thanks to ravines, some trees, hills, and slopes.
- Good baskets, good signs. Navigation pretty easy. Great staircases and paths to get around as well. Nice, short teepads for a short course.
Cons: - Although it is a newer course, it has a very old school feel. This includes the very, very short hole lengths. It is tough to list that as a con; as it is not trying to be a long course, but the average length is 176'.
Other Thoughts: - This course doesn't care if you can throw over 250', it just wants you to hit a bunch of different lines and show some good control. There are some punishing areas, like left of #1 and right of #7, and plenty of trees to avoid all over the place. It might be a bit frustrating for a beginner, but everyone should enjoy this course.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Campton boggles my emotions

2-4    8/7/2010   8/13/2010
Review By: #19325
Played: 316  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 13.4 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is like the ultimate miniature version of disc golf. In a weird way it's kind of fun. It would get old if you played it every day.

This is an excellent beginner course.

The holes require decent variety of shots. It's a great place to work on your upshot game.

Each hole has a tee sign, tee pad, and nice basket.

The elevation is pretty cool in this park. Every hole plays up and down a hill.

If you get off the fairway you can be punished on a bad shot even though all holes are under 225ft.

Several sets of stairways have been installed to help get up and down hills.
Cons: The tee pads are framed in by wood and filled with limestone. They are very short and not level.

This course has been trashed. There is garbage all over the place. There is a ton of erosion and this place gets muddy after rain.

It's too easy for more skilled players. My intermediate rated friend 2'd 8 of the 9 holes and had another putt rattle out for the perfect 9.
Other Thoughts: The frustrating part about this course is that the St. Charles Park District is loaded with money. They could have a top notch facility. The lack of cement tee pads is frustrating.

Bring bug spray during the warm wet monthes.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Surprisingly fun

1    5/30/2010   6/1/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 770  Exp: 12.7 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays on a very small property dedicated to disc golf, so you won't run into any other park users. The terrain is hilly, with a few good steep climbs and drop offs, and some gradual elevation. Nearly every hole uses the elevation in some way, making a great variety of up and down hill shots, with some risky pin placements that have good roll away potential. The course is heavily wooded, but with relatively clear fairways, so there is a line to the hole but punishment for errant drives that go into the woods and brush.

Though all the holes are very short, there is still a good variety of hole shapes here. It's a good balance of right and left turning holes, and with the elevation thrown in, none of the holes feel the same. It's a great place to play a putter only or super class round, and just work on shaping lines with one disc.

The signs are basic but functional, with hole layout and distance to the pin. There is a good course map by the parking lot, but I found the flow to be fairly intuitive my first time through with no real issues finding my way around. The baskets are in good shape and catch fine. There are really nice stairs built into a couple hill sides to make it easier to get up and down the steepest spots on the course. The course is surrounded by neighborhoods, and many holes play close to one another, but the heavy woods and hills make it feel very secluded and serene.
Cons: The tees are terrible. They are small framed out sand boxes, many of which are wider than they are long. If you needed any kind of run up on any of the holes here, this would be an even bigger issue, but they were rutted out and made for poor footing even on standstill drives.

The course can get very crowded with newer players, meaning lots of waiting, lots of litter, and lots of ace signatures on 120' holes. This is especially true when the weather is nice, so be prepared if you go on a warm sunny day.

The course is extremely short. Every hole is an ace run with a putter if you hit your line, so it won't work on any of your longer shots to play here. This also means it's not terribly challenging, every hole is easily deuceable and you have to really screw up to get more than a 3.
Other Thoughts: This course was really difficult for me to rate. The fun factor here is extremely high, but the lack of challenge and the terrible tees take away quite a bit for me. Despite an average rating, I would still definitely recommend a stop here if you're anywhere in the area, it's a fun and quick course to play and a really nice place to throw your putter in the woods. It's mostly beginner friendly despite some brushy areas to lose discs, and it offers enough variety that a more experienced player can have a lot of fun here.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.