Saint Charles, IL 
Campton Hills Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5
3 / 223ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 One of the best Par 9's

5+    5/1/2010   5/1/2010
Review By: skearns2
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The landscape has rolling hills, trees, and sometimes little pond due to rain. If you are in a hurry this course is perfect, it can be completed very fast. 20mins or so if you are not waiting on anybody. There are 9 holes, and each is slightly unique. No hole feels the same as a prior hole. The wholes are nice and new, and the tee markers vividly show the fairway on each map.
Cons: Not for beginners. Everything here is a par 3, and every whole has several trees. No breathtaking scenery, because you are walking in the woods the entire time. The tees are not the greatest. They are a wooden box with sand and dirt inside of them. None of them are straight or level. The parking lot is gravel and is very small. Sometimes there are no parking spots to be found.
Other Thoughts: Even though you are in the woods, it is easy to find a missing disk due to the landscape.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/9/2010   2/9/2010
Review By: Countchunkula
Played: 121  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 8.2 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Unique course for the area
-Lots of elevation change
-A couple of the holes require odd flight patterns that you don't normally use
-Densely wooded, but with relatively little underbrush
-There is often a disc merchant in the parking lot
-No other activities in the park to interfere with DG
Cons: -Very, very short
-Rutted dirt tees framed with landscaping timbers
-Crowded, especially with the short holes playing so quickly. If you have to wait for 5 min, 2 groups will be waiting behind you.
Other Thoughts: This course has some odd holes that you just don't see in this part of IL, and for that reason is worth the trip. Don't go out of your way though.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Suburb Classic

5+    8/4/2008   12/4/2009
Review By: jdonahuegrossman
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Tough forest course provides excellent opportunity to practice touch. Good upkeep. Easy access and easy to find times to go where its not too crowded.
Cons: A lot of forest
Other Thoughts: Might lose a couple if not prepared.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Short and Shorter

5+    9/10/2009   9/13/2009
Review By: Three Putt
Played: 130  Reviewed: 83  Exp: 19.7 Years
This review was updated on 5/28/2010
13 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: I really, really want to like Campton Hills. It is a disc golf only site in a very well-funded park system, so it seems like there would be the potential for a very good course. It does have some nice amenities like several sets of stairs to get you up and down the many elevation changes and good tee signs. There is also a nice map in the parking lot, although it says "Disk Golf" on it. The site has exceptional elevation changes and is heavily wooded. At some spots in the park it is a really beautiful environment. So, it theory it should be a nice course.
Cons: Campton Hills main weakness is that it is far, far too short to pose any sort of real challenge to even the most recreational of golfer. Elevation does make some of the holes play longer than they are listed, but none of them are so long that even the average thrower would not have a putt for deuce. Despite the wooded setting, the routes to the hole are too open to really create any significant challenge. What you end up with is a painfully short course with open routes to the pin, which makes for some very boring golf.

The tees are very poor. They are wider than they are long, and are just a washed-out border that probably held gravel or something that is now long gone. In its place is a rutted, muddy mess for you to deal with while you try not to trip over the border timbers. Given how affluent the St. Charles area is, you would expect better tees.

The course cris-crosses the site, leading to two problems. The first is that many tees and baskets are very close together, but the woods and the fact that it is very easy to loose your sense of direction given that you keep circling around sometimes makes it hard for you to realize how close you are to other players. It's pretty easy to think you are just throwing your drive into the woods when actually you are throwing right at a nearby tee. The second problem is that it's easy to take the wrong path and end up at the wrong hole. Some directional signs on the course to lead your from hole to hole would be a welcome addition.

The site has some very steep drop-offs, and a few holes play up and down these steep slopes. This causes me some concern for the site, as erosion is going to be a significant problem in the future. It also makes the course virtually unplayable in wet weather.
Other Thoughts: Several times when I have been to Campton Hills I could not find a spot in the parking lot, which usually would mean a busy course. However, every time this has happened to me a lot of the cars were occupied by teenagers smoking and drinking. I'm not sure if any of them were going to get out and play at any point or not. At any rate, it appears to be a party spot for the local young people. Whether you find that to be a pro or con is up to you.

Hole # 9 is a very pretty hole where you shoot from way up on a ridge to a hidden basket. Unfortunately, the shot is only 223' and once you figure in the huge boost you get from how high up you tee from the real challenge is to not throw past the pin. Sadly, this pretty much describes the whole course. Had this course been designed pre-1983 I would have had more understanding for the limitations of the design, but the course was designed in 2005. These types of courses had been obsolete for over 20 years before it was designed, so the truly inadequate challenge of the design cannot be overlooked.

So the bottom line I guess is that if you are the kind of golfer looking for a course where you can easily deuce every hole and have plenty of Ace runs, Campton Hills is your kind of course. There is nothing wrong with that. However If you are the kind of golfer who is looking for a challenge and some risk-reward shots, this is not that kind of course. While it is a pretty course aesthetically and it might score highly on a "fun factor," in my opinion the design simply does not have the elements necessary to rate this course highly.

13 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Great nine hole in IL

1    8/22/2009   8/24/2009
Review By: bongripper0420
Played: 31  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.6 Years
4 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Nicely wooded, Techinal course. A nice change of pace with plenty of elevation changes. Nicely built bridges and stairs to help navigate this terrian. Easy to follow and garbage "buckets" located at most of the holes. Short and sweet, if your in illinois and looking for a quick nine, dont miss this one. Alot of short drives, plenty of chances for a ace.
Cons: Tee pads suck but does not take away from the overall enjoyment factor of this course. Place was packed when I went and parking was an issue. Also tee pads get pretty jammed up when this crowded. Wish it was 18 holes....
Other Thoughts: All in all, this is a course that I will definitly visit again. Its almost perfect with the exceptions of a few minor details, but if your in the area , dont miss out on this great little nine holer.

4 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Stupid course

1    8/7/2009   8/23/2009
Review By: Watch Your Hyzer
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 16 Not
Pros: Nice and scenic.
Cons: Stupid hole layouts.
30'-40' elevation changes on 125' holes!
SHORT holes!
MUDDY!
Easy to lose disc.
Other Thoughts: Bring your bright colored discs for this course. Also BRING YOUR BOOTS! This course is very misplaced.

2 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Play 3 rounds unless you live close

5+    8/16/2009   8/18/2009
Review By: schroeder5520
Played: 47  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 20.4 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Unique, borderline weird elevation changes; especially for a really short course.

Ability to very easily play with 1 or 2 discs. (though I don't, I do like the putter challenge that one guy mentioned).

Scenic deep woods, but without major danger of losing a disc.

Shady, almost all parts of every hole. This makes it great to play if it is really hot and sunny out.

Windy? It really can't be windy here. If you don't feel like playing Jericho or Eagle Ridge because of 30 mph+ gusts, play here.

Just rained? You can probably still play here if the gates are open. Because of the thick canopy everything stays pretty dry except for a couple of low spots on 2 holes. And the tee boxes have been filled in with more gravel.

Because people play it more casually, like after work or just to get some quick holes in; I almost always run into another solo player to throw with. Compared to every other course I have playes solo, I cannot stress how nice that is.
Cons: Tee pads are ridiculous. As others have commented, short wood framed gravel pads. Really short, so short it is hard to imagine what the designers were thinking, or if they every played.

Obviously not a very hard course, because of the length.

Cowded in the late afternoon/evening.

You will run into people drinking, which doesn't bother me but might others. And you might see kids just hanging out smoking weed etc. It is one of those type courses. Most people that play here live close and are young- I would say 80% are 25 and under.
Other Thoughts: I gave this course a 3 simply because it is one of the most unique nine hole courses you will ever play. I play it a lot because it is five minutes away and I can get out there at 7:00pm and still get in 27 holes easily.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 A Juicy Little Morsel of a Course!

1    6/28/2009   6/29/2009
Review By: jhgonzo
Played: 92  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 16.3 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. A short technical course. The first few holes kind of leave you wondering just how easy this course is going to be (which it is), but the overall design was really impressive. Hole #2 is a little 125' RHBH hyzer shot with a PAINFUL punishment if you go deep (which I imagine could be easy to do if you're one of the one-disc golfers carrying only a driver!).
2. Fantastic use of elevation. Again, all of these are short and reachable from the tee, but do require some thought before throwing. The extreme-uphill and extreme-downhill holes featured out here are just really cool to look at, and you can truly appreciate what the designers were aiming for once you start playing.
3. Ease of navigation. Sometimes a heavily wooded course can get confusing when there's no "next tee" sign and other paths winding through the woods, but with how busy this course is and the visibility of the next tee after holing out (as well as a nice, easy-to-memorize directory at the beginning), you shouldn't have an issue getting around.
4. The litter actually wasn't too bad when I played. I've seen this issue addressed in other reviews, so maybe I caught the course on a good day, but with how many groups we saw in what little time we were there, and with most of those groups seeming to be late-high-school age to early 20s (one of the more notorious litterbug demographics), I was impressed. The trash cans help!
Cons: 1. Only 9 holes. This seems like a park with great potential for an 18-holer or more, but it also seems like they'd have to chop down a lot of trees to do so...a designer's dilemma.
2. Basket vandalism. The baskets themselves were in great shape, but with how short this course is, there's bound to be a TON of aces--which apparently there have been. Again, people, if you get an ace, NOBODY CARES! Write it on the disc you aced it with, 'cause it was truly your arm and your plastic that helped you accomplish that feat.
3. Poor tees. Again, with this being a short course (I think the longest hole was the finishing hole, albeit a huge downhill, thus eliminating a lot of whatever the posted distance is), you don't really need big flared concrete tees, but I can't stand the frame boxes filled with gravel, especially in an area that gets as much rain and flooding as St. Charles. A few little sidewalk-square-sized chunks o' concrete are all that's needed to make a major improvement to this course.
4. Some muddy areas. Again, because of the frequent standing water in the low-lying areas, you have to tiptoe around some particularly yucky areas...or your disc may end up extremely muddy if you can't see this mud off the tee. Have a towel ready!
5. Crowds. A lot of people seem to come out in twosomes and threesomes, so that does help keep things moving...we had 6 in our group (out-of-staters hitting up a course before heading back to WI), and we let numerous groups play through. Adding another 9 would certainly stretch out when and where you hit the bottleneck, but even with all the people out here, most of them seemed really cool.
Other Thoughts: This is probably the most fun 9-hole I've ever played. I'd have rated it a 3.5 if the holes were just a LITTLE tighter (which, in reading previous reviews, they apparently were at some point!--for shame, park people/course management) and the tee pads didn't look like sinkholes. Since this course is literally up the street from my aunt's house, I'll definitely be hitting it up next time I'm in St. Charles.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 A+ = Supremely Unique & Fun!! Best 9-holer I have played

2-4    6/18/2009   6/18/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.3 Years
18 Helpful / 13 Not
Other Thoughts: This course blew my mind! It has got to be the single most unique course of the 193 courses I have played to date. To be sure, this course is not a "serious" disc golf course…..but is seriously fun - a total blast!

I am going to explain why this course deserves a 5 disc rating in my book. I'll spare rehashing the course details since previous reviewers (and the pictures) have done a splendid job with that.

Normally I have a set way of ranking courses (details in my profile). Since this course is so unique I approached things uniquely….but only slightly differently. This is an unashamed pitch-n-putt course that challenges the tar out of a 1 or 2 disc challenge. I tried to get to 6 down (a score of 21) three times over using only a putter. That seemed reasonable. I never got close……even with an ace on #5 one round.

I had more fun playing things this way than I've had playing any other 9 hole course. The poor tee pads (they were all big puddles when I played yesterday) are not a detriment….they are simply an added challenge.

I keep 2 lists of courses: 18 or more holes and 17 or less holes (mainly 9 holers). This course topped the 9-holer list where the highest course was rated a 96% grade (an A, or 4.5 disc rating). So this course gets at least a 97% (A+, 5.0 discs).

I base my ranking list on my "personal addiction factor" -- how a given course feeds these desires/motivations/reasons I have for going out to play:
1) To be challenged by the course (getting more birdies than pars at Campton Hills with just a putter - supreme challenge!)
2) To have fun with friends (Campton is like none other!)
3) To relax and enjoy nature in a beautiful and secluded setting (besides being overcrowded at times it is waaaaay beautiful and the layout keeps it feeling other-worldly secluded.)
4) To enjoy a nice birdie fest (A given on this course. Half the birdies are easy to get, half are quite challenging.)

Simply put, this course topped my list of 68 9-hole courses I have played. It deserves 5 discs!

18 of 31 people found this review helpful.

 Good technical short course

1    6/14/2009   6/14/2009
Review By: lko102
Played: 16  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good use of natural elevation changes.
- Well marked signage to guide you through the course.
- Well maintained "fairways"
- Very technical holes emphasize proper lines rather than raw distance.
Cons: - Crowded
- Tee pads are poorly designed
- Muddy and rutted after a rain
Other Thoughts: Very fun course! Shorter holes really force you to play a technical round rather than go for all out distance without accuracy. Wooded, natural setting gets you out of suburbs for a little while and walk in the trees. On the downside, the course was very crowded when we played, and any extra time spent looking for discs resulted in a backup at the tee. I would recommend playing during the week or in the mornings to minimize the crowds. Also, the tee boxes are too short to use for a proper run up, but are also elevated box frames, making it impossible to extend your run up out the front. I had better luck playing beside the tee boxes. Great little course to test out your ability to identify and throw a specific line. Come in the morning and give it a throw!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.