Austin, TX 
Bartholomew Park Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #12 (Taken 4/2011)
4 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Approach



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Needs some Love

1    3/25/2013   3/31/2013
Review By: #19325
Played: 315  Reviewed: 168  Exp: 13.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is located pretty close to downtown. It's an old classic par 3 disc golf for the most part. It has some nice rolling hills, woods, water, and rough. Overall it has a great mix of fun holes.

Hole #3 has an elvated tee where you can let a huge bomb go.

I really like #7. It's a nice RHBH turnover shot. On and over the sidewalk to the left is out of bounds. There is a decent sized ditch/water to the right. The basket is up the hill and elevated on a mound. Fun drive and great putting green.

There is one nice par 4 in hole #12.
Cons: The tee pads are really bad. They are dirt and many are uneven.

The course is very difficult to navigate. There are no tee signs and the tees are difficult to locate.

The baskets are in very rough shape.

The errosion needs to be taken care of. It's pretty bad.

Quite a bit of litter scattered around the entire park.
Other Thoughts: Print a map prior to playing. If you don't you'll be looking.

This course & park needs some TLC. I enjoyed it but it definitely needs some work.

I actually like this land a lot better than Roy G course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 So much potential

1    7/26/2012   8/1/2012
Review By: madcow
Played: 27  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.9 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: First 5 or so holes are fun to play, a few others are good as well. Neat out of bounds areas (thin sidewalks, ect). Good for about an hour or so game play. Close to conoco.
Cons: Hard to locate tees. Have to check baskets for numbers. Tees are just ruts in the ground, most are not even visible.
only 15 holes. Easy to lose to discs on 10 i think it was. 1 is not even close to the park, its basically on its own. Rusty baskets.
Other Thoughts: Hole 1 is not even in the park basically hahah, you have to keep goin down 51st till the very end of the park (nowere to park). Correct it is right past tennis courts, but you still have a bit of a walk to get to it. When you reach 15.... keep walking strait. Took me 20min to find it.

Good course to play if you are local to the area. I did enjoy holes 1 - 5 i think and 7-10. Ended up skipping 12 - 14 as they didnt seem unique enough to play while i was in a bit of a rush. Did play 15.

Over all, if this course would just get some concrete tees, better number placement on the baskets, good signage and a bit touching up.... maybe 3 more holes, it would be an excellent course to play when you are just lookin for a good ole time.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Bart

1    4/5/2012   5/12/2012
Review By: ColinB
Played: 29  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Challenging course, good mix of elevation changes, lefts and rights
Baskets in good shape for the most part
Cons: Park can be crowded
A lot of the water hazards are pretty nasty
Could use some tee pads and tee signs
Navigation is fairly tricky
Other Thoughts: Not a bad course, will definitely play again, but it could use some improvements.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Bart has Character

5+    8/10/2009   8/24/2009
Review By: milow369
Played: 24  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 13.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of, if not the, oldest disc golf course in Austin. Holes have lots of character, a number of ace/birdie runs. Also has holes that you're happy to par. I was very pleasantly surprised at how fun Bart was to play the first time. I have been back several times. I guess I would call Bart a disc golfer's dg course. Technical lines, player is usually rewarded for hitting those lines.
Some changes in elevation make for fun and memorable shots. Creek comes into play on several occasions, usually to the tune of a couple knee-nocker putts.
At times you're letting the big guns fly and others you're going to old faithful one more time.
Lots of memorable holes, you will remember most after only playing once.
This course has you throwing over a fairly busy road, other manmade objects, over overgrown creeks, around barbed wire fences, over wet water collection areas, some elevated tee boxes, ...
No crowds, easy to get to, plenty of parking. Can be played in an hour or so most days.
Cool crowds when you do run into people- in my experience. Truly an Austin course no matter how run down.
Cons: No course signs,
Teepads are terrible, dirt - don't bother if wet.
3 holes missing baskets
Course and creek are badly overgrown. Can lose a disc if you're not really paying attention. Reminds me of an old casino - lots of fun in its heyday but worn down. Burned out light bulbs, chipped paint, maybe sheet of plywood over a window or two.
Not in a great area of town, some trash & usual vandalism on the course.
Other Thoughts: This course is worth going out to and playing. If it was 18 holes and the course was a little more maintained I could justify rating Bart 3.5, Teeboxes would bump it to 4. Ideally you would play a round with a local the first time as it's tough to navigate based on well worn paths alone. Good news is Bart's on the list for renovation after Searight. Should get some nice teepads and signs at a minimum. I suspect adding the 3 missing baskets and possibly other improvements to the course are on tap.

If I only had 2 days in Austin, Bart would probably not be on my list. If I had a week in town, it definitely would.

I will make a point to come back and update this review/rating following the course renovation. The crew who did Circle C will be working on it so you should expect a huge improvement to yet another Austin dg course.

Some hopefully helpful Info:
Park at the lot on 51st. Across from the huge water tower.

Start at hole 4 - closest hole to the parking lot, up the hill. Typical to finish by playing 1,2,3 twice.

Alternate tee boxes are: 1) under bridge near creek 2) remains unchanged 3) down the hill across the creek to right near picnic table.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Maintenance Required

5+    1/18/2009   2/14/2009
Review By: skurf
Played: 21  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 12.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great shot variation-- from long 600' hyzers off a hill to anhyzers off a different hill and over a drainage gully. It has a good mix of wooded holes along the creek and more open holes closer to the entrance. There's this finesse hole of around 180 feet through sporadic woods and the pin is on a hill right above the creek. You are usually in the position to shoot for birdie, but how much do you really want it?! Luckily the water behind that hole isn't very deep in case you miss metal while trying to go for it. It has great tee box locations that allow you to maximize your distance no matter what type of shot you're having to throw, and trust me, you'll have to throw them all. This course not only uses natural obstacles, but also makes good use of man-made obstacles that make holes more challenging.
Cons: Everything in the cons section boils down to it not being properly maintained. The course went under construction a few years ago to fix some drainage problems and they had to remove a few baskets during this process. Unfortunately, after the construction was completed, they never put those 3 holes back and the course remains a 15 hole course to this day.

No signs and no tee box markers makes the tees extremely hard to find, hole 1 included. Everything is overgrown along the creek. It feels like I'm drudging through the jungles of Saigon coming down from Hole 3 or if you have an errant shot on 2.

Also, there are some pic-nic tables that are right in the middle or right to the side of fairways as well as a fair amount of pedestrian traffic. Combine those two and it's a recipe for some nervous shots.

Other Thoughts: The layout of this course is actually really well thought out and plays great. It's just a shame the park has been neglected for so long that it is literally impossible to find your way around without a local or map. If they ever put in the three holes that were removed, put signs in, tee markers, and cut the weeds back every so often, this course would easily score a 4 in my book. As it is, I just can't give it over a 2.5 as there are just too many things holding back would could be a really great course if it were maintained.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 If only it was maintained...

5+    11/22/2008   11/22/2008
Review By: metis314159
Played: 26  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Quite possibly the best use of elevation changes out of the Austin area courses. The creek that runs through the park must be thrown over or along on most of the holes. Good mix of hole distances; however, it could use one longer hole.
Cons: Unfortunately several holes (12-14) are gone - apparently they had to be removed when the city was renovating part of the park. Dirt tee pads, but they are relatively flat and free of obstructions (like rocks jutting out). Also, many of the disc catchers have missing inner chains. Finally, there are no signs anywhere on the course and the path to the next hole is not always obvious so bring a map.
Other Thoughts: It appears (there are spray paint markings) that they are finally adding the three holes (12-14) that are missing since the city renovated the park. This course would easily be a 4.0 if it were better maintained and from the looks of it, it might be in the process of an overhaul. It is a city park, so there are usually a few pedestrians present, but they tend to stay near the park tables or the various fields/courts around.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center