Disc Golf Center
Austin, TX 
Bartholomew Park Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #15 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Recently Weeded

5+    3/13/2011   3/21/2011
Review By: Kasop
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Varied and challenging, recently cleaned up and marked some. Big improvement. Lots of water and elevation.
Cons: Still messy in spots. Some rough tees. More crowded now that Pease is closed.
Other Thoughts: Enjoyable short course.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great course. Just needs work.

5+    9/9/2010   9/23/2010
Review By: ATXdiscgolfer
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Requires a good variety of throws due to the ruggedness and sharp angles on certain holes.

Tees and baskets are very well placed.

Holes change from wide, open and long to narrow, short and wooded.
Cons: Where to start... Basically, the park is in a state of disrepair and requires some serious maintenance.
It seems the city has just given up on the park altogether seeing as how there are several downed trees that have just been laying in the way for the past few months. (Hole #2 especially)

The reeds/brush are out of control and several feet above your head in certain areas so it's easy to lose your discs and get covered in burs at the same time.

The baskets are really shallow (except on hole 9) so popouts can be a nuisance on what would be a perfect birdie, ace, etc..

Three of the most fun holes were taken out a few years ago so it's only a 15 hole course now.

After it rains the creek can be a real pain so be ready to get a little wet.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a gem of a disc golf course that just needs some attention. I've heard rumors that it's scheduled to be fixed up real soon and I'm keeping my fingers crossed because I play this course almost every week and I'd love to see it restored to it's original condition.
If this is in fact true and done properly then I think it will be one of, if not the best course in Austin.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 good old bart

5+    10/13/2009   11/11/2009
Review By: Geaver
Played: 39  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I'm a sucker for elevated tee boxes, and bart's got some good ones,{#"s 3,5,7, and old 19). lots of different shots. plenty of "let em rips", and just enough "steer em through the trees" to make it fun.
Cons: No signs
only fifteen baskets
couple of tee boxes a little janky
The creek that flows through the course is a freakin disc eater(1,2,3,5,7)
Other Thoughts: I used to live on this course before they removed some baskets do that erosion control project. I hadnt played it since i moved down to south austin a few years ago and man i really like this course. If they ever get around to showing Bart some love by replacing the old baskets that are missing, this coourse would be one of the best, most challenging course in the city. Even in its current condition, its a hidden gem in Austin.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/13/2008   2/22/2009
Review By: biggio1
Played: 39  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/3/2009
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: First of all (THE COURSE MAP ON THIS SITE IS NOT COMPLETELY ACCURATE ANY MORE)Length and elevation. Water running through most of it and it is not very busy. Some very beautiful shots.
Cons: not a full course, only 15 baskets. needs tee pads
Other Thoughts: Austin's oldest discgolf course. Has tall weeds at times.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not too crowded

5+    2/5/2009   2/7/2009
Review By: Djza
Played: 61  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 12.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great challenge without the crowds.

I'm a bit partial because this once was my neighborhood course. Because it only has 15 baskets right now it has a bit of a bad rep. right now, but the amount of people packing all of the other courses in the city of Austin, (especially with Circle C closed right now) makes Bart a hidden jewel in my opinion.

At Bart you need some D.
You need to be able to turn it both ways and go straight.
There are uphill as well as down hill holes.
I guess what I'm saying is you need and get a little of everything out here.

Though some holes are blind, it's not as bad as it sounds once you know your way around.

Other people using the park, though many at times, are very friendly, and most often using other facilities at the park and not in the way of DG.

Hole 3 off the top box is about as fun of a long hole as you can find!

I also like the downhill bomb on #5 which is in no way easy, and for beginners is downright agonizing with the huge culvert 100 feet or so off the tee box.

#7's pin on the hill is a challenge where I've seen/thrown plenty of putts that after hitting the basket get on an edge and can end up in the creek. Frustrating to the score, but amusing during a casual round.

Plenty of ace runs up for grabs, keeps it exciting.
Cons: The construction/revamp of the park that has been going on forever is not so pretty and seems never ending.

Some trees that significantly narrowed some alleys have been removed(I guess this could be a pro for some).

Plenty of opportunities to get wet, though most are easy retrievals with a long stick or a little wading.

Hole 9 is kinda dumb in my book. A short tunnel ace run down hill. There is the danger of the creek right behind the basket, so the old risk/reward comes into play, but it's just never sat right with me.

Without a map or knowing your way around, I could see how it would be durn near impossible to figure it out.
*HINT* #1 Tee is out by the road and sidewalk just east of the entrance off 51st by the old courts where east-side folks occaisionaly like to rollerblade, but more often play volleyball or soccer. The pin is up the hill on the other side of the creek by the back yards, behind the tree on the left. After that good luck.
Other Thoughts: I've heard this is the oldest course in Austin? I'd love to learn more about that.

Most locals will play 1-3 twice to make 18, but you can always use this opportunity to make up some safari holes to finish a round. Just look around for other people playing those holes.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.