Austin, TX 
Bartholomew Park Share
Uploaded By: BELLYRUBS Hole #3 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Fairway



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 Next >
 good old bart

5+    10/13/2009   11/11/2009
Review By: Geaver
Played: 44  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I'm a sucker for elevated tee boxes, and bart's got some good ones,{#"s 3,5,7, and old 19). lots of different shots. plenty of "let em rips", and just enough "steer em through the trees" to make it fun.
Cons: No signs
only fifteen baskets
couple of tee boxes a little janky
The creek that flows through the course is a freakin disc eater(1,2,3,5,7)
Other Thoughts: I used to live on this course before they removed some baskets do that erosion control project. I hadnt played it since i moved down to south austin a few years ago and man i really like this course. If they ever get around to showing Bart some love by replacing the old baskets that are missing, this coourse would be one of the best, most challenging course in the city. Even in its current condition, its a hidden gem in Austin.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Bart has Character

5+    8/10/2009   8/24/2009
Review By: milow369
Played: 24  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 15.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of, if not the, oldest disc golf course in Austin. Holes have lots of character, a number of ace/birdie runs. Also has holes that you're happy to par. I was very pleasantly surprised at how fun Bart was to play the first time. I have been back several times. I guess I would call Bart a disc golfer's dg course. Technical lines, player is usually rewarded for hitting those lines.
Some changes in elevation make for fun and memorable shots. Creek comes into play on several occasions, usually to the tune of a couple knee-nocker putts.
At times you're letting the big guns fly and others you're going to old faithful one more time.
Lots of memorable holes, you will remember most after only playing once.
This course has you throwing over a fairly busy road, other manmade objects, over overgrown creeks, around barbed wire fences, over wet water collection areas, some elevated tee boxes, ...
No crowds, easy to get to, plenty of parking. Can be played in an hour or so most days.
Cool crowds when you do run into people- in my experience. Truly an Austin course no matter how run down.
Cons: No course signs,
Teepads are terrible, dirt - don't bother if wet.
3 holes missing baskets
Course and creek are badly overgrown. Can lose a disc if you're not really paying attention. Reminds me of an old casino - lots of fun in its heyday but worn down. Burned out light bulbs, chipped paint, maybe sheet of plywood over a window or two.
Not in a great area of town, some trash & usual vandalism on the course.
Other Thoughts: This course is worth going out to and playing. If it was 18 holes and the course was a little more maintained I could justify rating Bart 3.5, Teeboxes would bump it to 4. Ideally you would play a round with a local the first time as it's tough to navigate based on well worn paths alone. Good news is Bart's on the list for renovation after Searight. Should get some nice teepads and signs at a minimum. I suspect adding the 3 missing baskets and possibly other improvements to the course are on tap.

If I only had 2 days in Austin, Bart would probably not be on my list. If I had a week in town, it definitely would.

I will make a point to come back and update this review/rating following the course renovation. The crew who did Circle C will be working on it so you should expect a huge improvement to yet another Austin dg course.

Some hopefully helpful Info:
Park at the lot on 51st. Across from the huge water tower.

Start at hole 4 - closest hole to the parking lot, up the hill. Typical to finish by playing 1,2,3 twice.

Alternate tee boxes are: 1) under bridge near creek 2) remains unchanged 3) down the hill across the creek to right near picnic table.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/22/2009   8/2/2009
Review By: AlexBradford
Played: 81  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is one of my favorites in Austin. The crowds are never overbearing and the holes are set up very well. Each hole provides a new and different challenge.
Cons: The upkeep on the course leaves much to be desired. There is trash littered throughout the course and there are even a few baskets missing. Be ready to search through some overgrowth for some of your discs.
Other Thoughts: Despite the cons, I love this course. "Old Bart" is a lot of fun!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Bart bad!

1    5/21/2009   5/22/2009
Review By: sam_puck
Played: 21  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 14.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/23/2009
Pros: Nice variety of shots. Long, woody, elevation, OB - everything.
Cons: Water, Water, Water! TALL WEEDS! REally tall weeds! Loose you disc tall. Tee boxes dug out and full of roots. Right next to the street on a few holes. Still missing 3 baskets!
Other Thoughts: Weeds so tall, you can't see anything. My roommate and I lost a disc the first time we played and found one of them the next. Yeah for good karma.

 

5+    10/13/2008   2/22/2009
Review By: biggio1
Played: 39  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/3/2009
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: First of all (THE COURSE MAP ON THIS SITE IS NOT COMPLETELY ACCURATE ANY MORE)Length and elevation. Water running through most of it and it is not very busy. Some very beautiful shots.
Cons: not a full course, only 15 baskets. needs tee pads
Other Thoughts: Austin's oldest discgolf course. Has tall weeds at times.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Maintenance Required

5+    1/18/2009   2/14/2009
Review By: skurf
Played: 21  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 14 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great shot variation-- from long 600' hyzers off a hill to anhyzers off a different hill and over a drainage gully. It has a good mix of wooded holes along the creek and more open holes closer to the entrance. There's this finesse hole of around 180 feet through sporadic woods and the pin is on a hill right above the creek. You are usually in the position to shoot for birdie, but how much do you really want it?! Luckily the water behind that hole isn't very deep in case you miss metal while trying to go for it. It has great tee box locations that allow you to maximize your distance no matter what type of shot you're having to throw, and trust me, you'll have to throw them all. This course not only uses natural obstacles, but also makes good use of man-made obstacles that make holes more challenging.
Cons: Everything in the cons section boils down to it not being properly maintained. The course went under construction a few years ago to fix some drainage problems and they had to remove a few baskets during this process. Unfortunately, after the construction was completed, they never put those 3 holes back and the course remains a 15 hole course to this day.

No signs and no tee box markers makes the tees extremely hard to find, hole 1 included. Everything is overgrown along the creek. It feels like I'm drudging through the jungles of Saigon coming down from Hole 3 or if you have an errant shot on 2.

Also, there are some pic-nic tables that are right in the middle or right to the side of fairways as well as a fair amount of pedestrian traffic. Combine those two and it's a recipe for some nervous shots.

Other Thoughts: The layout of this course is actually really well thought out and plays great. It's just a shame the park has been neglected for so long that it is literally impossible to find your way around without a local or map. If they ever put in the three holes that were removed, put signs in, tee markers, and cut the weeds back every so often, this course would easily score a 4 in my book. As it is, I just can't give it over a 2.5 as there are just too many things holding back would could be a really great course if it were maintained.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Not too crowded

5+    2/5/2009   2/7/2009
Review By: Djza
Played: 61  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 14.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great challenge without the crowds.

I'm a bit partial because this once was my neighborhood course. Because it only has 15 baskets right now it has a bit of a bad rep. right now, but the amount of people packing all of the other courses in the city of Austin, (especially with Circle C closed right now) makes Bart a hidden jewel in my opinion.

At Bart you need some D.
You need to be able to turn it both ways and go straight.
There are uphill as well as down hill holes.
I guess what I'm saying is you need and get a little of everything out here.

Though some holes are blind, it's not as bad as it sounds once you know your way around.

Other people using the park, though many at times, are very friendly, and most often using other facilities at the park and not in the way of DG.

Hole 3 off the top box is about as fun of a long hole as you can find!

I also like the downhill bomb on #5 which is in no way easy, and for beginners is downright agonizing with the huge culvert 100 feet or so off the tee box.

#7's pin on the hill is a challenge where I've seen/thrown plenty of putts that after hitting the basket get on an edge and can end up in the creek. Frustrating to the score, but amusing during a casual round.

Plenty of ace runs up for grabs, keeps it exciting.
Cons: The construction/revamp of the park that has been going on forever is not so pretty and seems never ending.

Some trees that significantly narrowed some alleys have been removed(I guess this could be a pro for some).

Plenty of opportunities to get wet, though most are easy retrievals with a long stick or a little wading.

Hole 9 is kinda dumb in my book. A short tunnel ace run down hill. There is the danger of the creek right behind the basket, so the old risk/reward comes into play, but it's just never sat right with me.

Without a map or knowing your way around, I could see how it would be durn near impossible to figure it out.
*HINT* #1 Tee is out by the road and sidewalk just east of the entrance off 51st by the old courts where east-side folks occaisionaly like to rollerblade, but more often play volleyball or soccer. The pin is up the hill on the other side of the creek by the back yards, behind the tree on the left. After that good luck.
Other Thoughts: I've heard this is the oldest course in Austin? I'd love to learn more about that.

Most locals will play 1-3 twice to make 18, but you can always use this opportunity to make up some safari holes to finish a round. Just look around for other people playing those holes.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 If only it was maintained...

5+    11/22/2008   11/22/2008
Review By: metis314159
Played: 26  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 9.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Quite possibly the best use of elevation changes out of the Austin area courses. The creek that runs through the park must be thrown over or along on most of the holes. Good mix of hole distances; however, it could use one longer hole.
Cons: Unfortunately several holes (12-14) are gone - apparently they had to be removed when the city was renovating part of the park. Dirt tee pads, but they are relatively flat and free of obstructions (like rocks jutting out). Also, many of the disc catchers have missing inner chains. Finally, there are no signs anywhere on the course and the path to the next hole is not always obvious so bring a map.
Other Thoughts: It appears (there are spray paint markings) that they are finally adding the three holes (12-14) that are missing since the city renovated the park. This course would easily be a 4.0 if it were better maintained and from the looks of it, it might be in the process of an overhaul. It is a city park, so there are usually a few pedestrians present, but they tend to stay near the park tables or the various fields/courts around.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/16/2008   8/16/2008
Review By: sidewinding
Played: 81  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/3/2008
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are quite a few holes with elevation changes.

The designer must have loved blind holes. I've never seen so many on a course.

There is a creek with water that you are always throwing around, over, parallel to, or even into.

There is a good quantity of trees throughout the course with plenty of shade for play in the mid-day summer sun.

Easy to follow for first timers as long as you print the online map and take it with you. If you don't have a map you will never even find tee #1.

Good parking, trashcans, picnic tables throughout.



Cons: Absolutely no signs anywhere on the course. With as many blind holes as there are, a sign with the pin location and distance would be nice. If you don't bring a map your first time you will not be able to find your way like you would on most courses.

Dirt hole tee pads are an Austin standard.

I was lucky not to throw into the creek. It does not look like a fun place to retrieve a disc from due to snakey looking dense vegetation and green stagnant water.
Other Thoughts: I wish I hadn't waited so long to try this course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.