Austin, TX 
Bartholomew Park Share
Uploaded By: BELLYRUBS Hole #7 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 369ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 

5+    10/13/2008   2/22/2009
Review By: biggio1
Played: 39  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/3/2009
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: First of all (THE COURSE MAP ON THIS SITE IS NOT COMPLETELY ACCURATE ANY MORE)Length and elevation. Water running through most of it and it is not very busy. Some very beautiful shots.
Cons: not a full course, only 15 baskets. needs tee pads
Other Thoughts: Austin's oldest discgolf course. Has tall weeds at times.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Maintenance Required

5+    1/18/2009   2/14/2009
Review By: skurf
Played: 21  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 12.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great shot variation-- from long 600' hyzers off a hill to anhyzers off a different hill and over a drainage gully. It has a good mix of wooded holes along the creek and more open holes closer to the entrance. There's this finesse hole of around 180 feet through sporadic woods and the pin is on a hill right above the creek. You are usually in the position to shoot for birdie, but how much do you really want it?! Luckily the water behind that hole isn't very deep in case you miss metal while trying to go for it. It has great tee box locations that allow you to maximize your distance no matter what type of shot you're having to throw, and trust me, you'll have to throw them all. This course not only uses natural obstacles, but also makes good use of man-made obstacles that make holes more challenging.
Cons: Everything in the cons section boils down to it not being properly maintained. The course went under construction a few years ago to fix some drainage problems and they had to remove a few baskets during this process. Unfortunately, after the construction was completed, they never put those 3 holes back and the course remains a 15 hole course to this day.

No signs and no tee box markers makes the tees extremely hard to find, hole 1 included. Everything is overgrown along the creek. It feels like I'm drudging through the jungles of Saigon coming down from Hole 3 or if you have an errant shot on 2.

Also, there are some pic-nic tables that are right in the middle or right to the side of fairways as well as a fair amount of pedestrian traffic. Combine those two and it's a recipe for some nervous shots.

Other Thoughts: The layout of this course is actually really well thought out and plays great. It's just a shame the park has been neglected for so long that it is literally impossible to find your way around without a local or map. If they ever put in the three holes that were removed, put signs in, tee markers, and cut the weeds back every so often, this course would easily score a 4 in my book. As it is, I just can't give it over a 2.5 as there are just too many things holding back would could be a really great course if it were maintained.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Not too crowded

5+    2/5/2009   2/7/2009
Review By: Djza
Played: 61  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 12.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great challenge without the crowds.

I'm a bit partial because this once was my neighborhood course. Because it only has 15 baskets right now it has a bit of a bad rep. right now, but the amount of people packing all of the other courses in the city of Austin, (especially with Circle C closed right now) makes Bart a hidden jewel in my opinion.

At Bart you need some D.
You need to be able to turn it both ways and go straight.
There are uphill as well as down hill holes.
I guess what I'm saying is you need and get a little of everything out here.

Though some holes are blind, it's not as bad as it sounds once you know your way around.

Other people using the park, though many at times, are very friendly, and most often using other facilities at the park and not in the way of DG.

Hole 3 off the top box is about as fun of a long hole as you can find!

I also like the downhill bomb on #5 which is in no way easy, and for beginners is downright agonizing with the huge culvert 100 feet or so off the tee box.

#7's pin on the hill is a challenge where I've seen/thrown plenty of putts that after hitting the basket get on an edge and can end up in the creek. Frustrating to the score, but amusing during a casual round.

Plenty of ace runs up for grabs, keeps it exciting.
Cons: The construction/revamp of the park that has been going on forever is not so pretty and seems never ending.

Some trees that significantly narrowed some alleys have been removed(I guess this could be a pro for some).

Plenty of opportunities to get wet, though most are easy retrievals with a long stick or a little wading.

Hole 9 is kinda dumb in my book. A short tunnel ace run down hill. There is the danger of the creek right behind the basket, so the old risk/reward comes into play, but it's just never sat right with me.

Without a map or knowing your way around, I could see how it would be durn near impossible to figure it out.
*HINT* #1 Tee is out by the road and sidewalk just east of the entrance off 51st by the old courts where east-side folks occaisionaly like to rollerblade, but more often play volleyball or soccer. The pin is up the hill on the other side of the creek by the back yards, behind the tree on the left. After that good luck.
Other Thoughts: I've heard this is the oldest course in Austin? I'd love to learn more about that.

Most locals will play 1-3 twice to make 18, but you can always use this opportunity to make up some safari holes to finish a round. Just look around for other people playing those holes.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 If only it was maintained...

5+    11/22/2008   11/22/2008
Review By: metis314159
Played: 26  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Quite possibly the best use of elevation changes out of the Austin area courses. The creek that runs through the park must be thrown over or along on most of the holes. Good mix of hole distances; however, it could use one longer hole.
Cons: Unfortunately several holes (12-14) are gone - apparently they had to be removed when the city was renovating part of the park. Dirt tee pads, but they are relatively flat and free of obstructions (like rocks jutting out). Also, many of the disc catchers have missing inner chains. Finally, there are no signs anywhere on the course and the path to the next hole is not always obvious so bring a map.
Other Thoughts: It appears (there are spray paint markings) that they are finally adding the three holes (12-14) that are missing since the city renovated the park. This course would easily be a 4.0 if it were better maintained and from the looks of it, it might be in the process of an overhaul. It is a city park, so there are usually a few pedestrians present, but they tend to stay near the park tables or the various fields/courts around.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/16/2008   8/16/2008
Review By: sidewinding
Played: 81  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/3/2008
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are quite a few holes with elevation changes.

The designer must have loved blind holes. I've never seen so many on a course.

There is a creek with water that you are always throwing around, over, parallel to, or even into.

There is a good quantity of trees throughout the course with plenty of shade for play in the mid-day summer sun.

Easy to follow for first timers as long as you print the online map and take it with you. If you don't have a map you will never even find tee #1.

Good parking, trashcans, picnic tables throughout.



Cons: Absolutely no signs anywhere on the course. With as many blind holes as there are, a sign with the pin location and distance would be nice. If you don't bring a map your first time you will not be able to find your way like you would on most courses.

Dirt hole tee pads are an Austin standard.

I was lucky not to throw into the creek. It does not look like a fun place to retrieve a disc from due to snakey looking dense vegetation and green stagnant water.
Other Thoughts: I wish I hadn't waited so long to try this course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.