Austin, TX 
Bartholomew Park Share
Uploaded By: Bevo  



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Classic Course

1    5/6/2016   8/7/2016
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 73  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 2.9 Years
Pros: - There is a great variety of shots that will need to be made. Right, left, up, down, short, long, open, wooded, blind.
- The course fairways were just cut the day before.
- There are some really good elevation changes do to the fact that a creek runs thru the course.
- Hole 18 is a great bomb it hole. probably in the 375 to 400 range downhill.
- Hole 8 is nice technical downhill dogleg right.
- Hole 7 is pretty right sweeping shot along the creek
Cons: - There was a bunch of trash in the park.
- Not 18 holes unfortunately. Our group replayed 3 holes.
- A bunch of overgrown areas. although our group didn't lose a disc, we spent a good 30 minutes searching through-out the round.
- Not to many seat areas.
- Tee signs were less than to be desired
- Dirt tee pads
Other Thoughts: Overall i thought the course overcame a lower rating do to the fact that a majority of the holes were enjoyable to play. no 2 consecutive holes had the same feel.

 Bart, AKA: Bamboo city, USA

5+    6/8/2016   6/8/2016
Review By: spiritofjerry
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 16.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Unique course, utilizing a variety of shots (mostly technical)
-Constantly changing elevation makes play challenging
-Oldest course in Austin, so a staple ("Bart")
-Low traffic
Cons: -Bamboo so overgrown that you're bound to lose a disc here if you don't have a spotter, or aren't willing to trudge through head-high bamboo.
-Trash, everywhere (park is located in a lower socioeconomic area, and is heavily trafficked by teenagers, resulting in tons of dumped refuse. It's really sad, and fucking gross.)
-Mosquitos galore
-Muddy, almost always muddy, even over a week after rain is gone

Other Thoughts: I have played this course at least 20+ times in past decade, and when I played today, the bamboo was so thick, it really might be my last time. I played alone today, and I helped at least three other players along the way search for their lost disc. The fairways on holes 1-9 were freshly mowed, but the bamboo by the creek areas and drainage ditches is so overgrown, that if you throw anything off the tight fairways, you are in for disaster. This course used to be beginner friendly, but the overgrowth is so bad that I wouldn't give it the time of day unless you are an intermediate to advanced level player.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Old Soul

5+    10/17/2015   11/17/2015
Review By: jbeezus
Played: 29  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 0.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Classic Course with some nice elevation changes.
Cons: Difficult to navigate and dirt tees.
Other Thoughts: Tons of fun if you go with someone who knows the course- pretty frustrating to figure out for yourself. You can post some nice scores especially if you bring your tomahawk.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A for Effort

5+    11/15/2015   11/17/2015
Review By: vdWcontact
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
Pros: -Lots of short, technical shots that allow people with no distance to focus on accuracy.
-Great location and a breeze to get to
Cons: -Hard to find tees
-Only 15 holes
-Not playable when it's wet outside (or has rained much at all recently)
-The OBs are all getting thicker and thicker all the time and eat discs like no other.
Other Thoughts: I live right up the street from Bart. It's worth playing if it's relatively convenient to get to.

I'd really like to note that a HUGE amount of effort has gone into improving the course. Many of the baskets have a "green" mowed out, and paths are being mowed to help people find their way around. Someone has also gone through and tried to reduce the thickness of the OBs on a lot of the front 9. If improvements keep getting made at this rate next summer then the course will probably be up to a 3.

 Horrible

1    7/23/2014   7/24/2014
Review By: Cheddar
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.8 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Close to my house
Cons: Overgrown, stagnant mosquito infested water, poor design, bum squats, trashy, smelly, inconsistent rickety baskets, dirt tee boxes with no markings, missing baskets, difficult to navigate.
Other Thoughts: I'm "glad" I gave it a shot, but this course needs to be demolished and forgotten. I don't even know if building a new one on this property would make it better. It'd be hard to keep the bums from trashing this place, and get better water flow to get rid of the smell and mosquito nests. Awful course...

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Avoid at all costs

1    1/20/2014   1/20/2014
Review By: MC McMic
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.9 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Centrally located
Cons: Missing holes
Filthy
Difficult to navigate
Not maintained
Overgrown
Terrible tee boxes
Poor course design
Other Thoughts: This course is not long for this world, if I had to guess. The only upside is that it is somewhat centrally located. Besides that, the course is dirty, with garbage scattered everywhere, it is not maintained in any way, and certain holes (12, 13, 16, and 17) didn't even exists as far as I could tell. Who knows... maybe they do exist, and my friends and I just couldn't find them. The course is difficult to navigate and sporadically marked. The tee boxes are also in very bad shape.

The holes are pretty bad, even if they were properly maintained. There's only so many right to left sloping holes bordering a creek that one can play before you just have to say, "seriously?" If you're left-handed or right-hand/forehand, you may be in heaven... if you also happen to love creeks filled with trash and could actually see the baskets and find the tee boxes.

There are way better courses to play in Austin. In fact, this is the worst I've ever played here. This course either needs to be either completely revamped or scrapped.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Needs some Love

1    3/25/2013   3/31/2013
Review By: #19325
Played: 343  Reviewed: 177  Exp: 15.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is located pretty close to downtown. It's an old classic par 3 disc golf for the most part. It has some nice rolling hills, woods, water, and rough. Overall it has a great mix of fun holes.

Hole #3 has an elvated tee where you can let a huge bomb go.

I really like #7. It's a nice RHBH turnover shot. On and over the sidewalk to the left is out of bounds. There is a decent sized ditch/water to the right. The basket is up the hill and elevated on a mound. Fun drive and great putting green.

There is one nice par 4 in hole #12.
Cons: The tee pads are really bad. They are dirt and many are uneven.

The course is very difficult to navigate. There are no tee signs and the tees are difficult to locate.

The baskets are in very rough shape.

The errosion needs to be taken care of. It's pretty bad.

Quite a bit of litter scattered around the entire park.
Other Thoughts: Print a map prior to playing. If you don't you'll be looking.

This course & park needs some TLC. I enjoyed it but it definitely needs some work.

I actually like this land a lot better than Roy G course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Needs maintenance badly

5+    11/13/2012   11/14/2012
Review By: Setreal
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Interesting variety of shots and terrain. There are lots of shots over a creek and up and down hills that require a variety of shots and skills. It's one of the oldest courses in the state and a few of the shots remind me of Pease (the higher starting point on hole three in particular). There usually aren't too many people playing the course so it can be nice to practice on and there are several wide open fields that are great for practicing. Holes 2, 3, 5, and 6 are really unique and fun.
Cons: The park and the course are not very well maintained right now (fall 2012). It is very easy to lose a disc on the shots that pass near the water due to the very high vegetation growing all around the creek. The tees are very worn and you will often see people shooting from the sides so that they can have a flat surface. Some of the holes on the back 6/9 are a mess due to the lack of maintenance and the ongoing construction of the new pool in the park.
Other Thoughts: I think there is a good chance that this course is not long for the world. Many of the alleged problems with Pease (erosion, proximity to vehicle and pedestrian traffic, etc) are present and it seems to be a low priority for both Austin Disc Golfers as well as the Austin Parks and Rec department. I suspect once they turn their attention to the park they may decide to just put in a new park elsewhere rather than try and fix all the problems. While I have a certain fondness for the park since it was where I first learned to play, I would much rather play at Circle C, Roy G, or Searight and not lose a disc or sprain an ankle.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 So much potential

1    7/26/2012   8/1/2012
Review By: madcow
Played: 28  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.1 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: First 5 or so holes are fun to play, a few others are good as well. Neat out of bounds areas (thin sidewalks, ect). Good for about an hour or so game play. Close to conoco.
Cons: Hard to locate tees. Have to check baskets for numbers. Tees are just ruts in the ground, most are not even visible.
only 15 holes. Easy to lose to discs on 10 i think it was. 1 is not even close to the park, its basically on its own. Rusty baskets.
Other Thoughts: Hole 1 is not even in the park basically hahah, you have to keep goin down 51st till the very end of the park (nowere to park). Correct it is right past tennis courts, but you still have a bit of a walk to get to it. When you reach 15.... keep walking strait. Took me 20min to find it.

Good course to play if you are local to the area. I did enjoy holes 1 - 5 i think and 7-10. Ended up skipping 12 - 14 as they didnt seem unique enough to play while i was in a bit of a rush. Did play 15.

Over all, if this course would just get some concrete tees, better number placement on the baskets, good signage and a bit touching up.... maybe 3 more holes, it would be an excellent course to play when you are just lookin for a good ole time.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/24/2012   7/24/2012
Review By: Banditozzy
Played: 28  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I have a bit of a soft spot for Bart. The design of the course is awesome first and foremost. As I understand it is the oldest course in Austin. 15 great holes with alternate boxes on holes 1, 2, and 3 to make a full 18. When I began playing I found this course favored fore hand throwers which was my style back then. It has very challenging technical windows and big bomb fairways. Conditions and requirements change on nearly every hole. I have never had a round on the course where I didn't enjoy myself. A shorter course if you find yourself in need of a quick round.
Cons: Bart's natural tee boxes are in extremely bad shape, dug out and eroded. The city has done a better job of maintaing it over the last year, but it can still get overgrown in a hurry. It is an easy course to lose a disc on. Navigating from tee to tee can be difficult. There is no map at the course, if possible first timers should play with a local.
Other Thoughts: I have heard a lot talk that this course in on the block to be redone. I can't think of a course in Austin that is more deserving or more in need. In my opinion it is a jewel and one of my favorite plays in the Austin area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.