Memphis, TN 
Libertyland DGC Share
Uploaded By: 86blackburban Hole #2 (Taken 8/2014)
3 / 261ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee: Alt position indicated by red arrow



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great Location; Typical City Course

1    10/10/2014   10/13/2014
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 127  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 2.5 Years
Pros: This is the kind of course that Memphis needed. A relatively open course that is easy access for the majority of the city. It sits a couple miles from University of Memphis and is in the same facility as the Liberty Bowl, so the course should be in a well known location.

Mach X baskets are legit. I had never played a course with those baskets, and I wish that more courses could install these baskets. They catch great.

The navigation of the course was not a huge deal. There was a trash can at every hole, which made it easy to locate the next hole. The rubber mats were good as well if they was no sand on it.

The course itself was a good mix of long and short holes. The course did not have a ton of obstacles, but the designers did a good job putting the holes in strategic places that put many of the oak trees in play.
There were also a few baskets perched up on small hills. This gave a little bit of excitement and mixed things up from the same kind of shot on each hole.
Cons: Besides Hole 15, I think, which was around the building, very little precision is required off the tee. I like courses that require a little bit of aim off the tee. Most holes can be reached with a simple hyzer.

I felt that the course was a little repetitive. No holes except the long holes #9 and #10 really stuck in my mind.

My grandfather was not a huge fan of the walks in between the holes, and I would have to agree. The course is open enough that you do not need the 100' walks in between holes like are present on some holes.
Other Thoughts: I come to Memphis on occasion, maybe twice a year. Out of the four courses I have played in Memphis, this one ranks third behind the Grove and Johnson Road Park, but this one is better than Shelby Farms by a lot.

Because of this course's location, this course can one of the best plays if you are in the area. You do not have to worry about losing discs like at JRP and you do not have to drive super far like if you were going to the Grove.

I probably will end up visiting this course in the future. The fun factor may not be as high as other places, but it is still does exist.

Libertyland DGC

1    8/24/2014   8/24/2014
Review By: lowrie4
Played: 17  Reviewed: 11
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: First of all, a very fun course to play. Good hole variation in terms of distance and in terms of obstacles. Hole 8 is especially fun with the basket sitting on top of a mound. 10 is a nice hole for those that can really throw far. But probably the greatest thing about this course is its location. Set nearly right on top of the Liberty Bowl this course is extremely accessible to those living in Memphis, which is especially needed because most other courses in the area are a good distance away from anyone living (or going to college) in Memphis.
Cons: That be said there are some significant areas for improvement. It was very difficult to find hole 1 at first because we parked on the opposite side of the course from it. In addition, there are no tee signs which would be really useful. When I was there something was going on which meant some of the pins had been moved, which left the last few holes of the course unplayable.
Other Thoughts: Despite those few areas this really is a good course. This course is especially favorable for newer players because there are just enough trees to develop their accuracy, and just enough distance to help improve that area of their golf game as well. I highly recommend this course to anyone and everyone looking to play in Memphis.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great course, great location

5+    8/6/2014   8/12/2014
Review By: Terry 44
Played: 53  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 21.4 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very well maintained course, with little to no bugs or poison ivy to deal with. A great location for the City of Memphis. A combination of long and tight technical holes. An excellent design within the usable space, utilizing the trees and elevation changes to the utmost in course design.
Cons: No tee signs yet. No course map or signage. These should be installed soon. A tighter course that should be taken into account when others are in close proximity for safety concerns.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Excellent use of space provided!

1    8/5/2014   8/11/2014
Review By: 86blackburban
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Some challenging holes - some OB hazards - and a few long bombs make the course very enjoyable and open for alternate baskets in the future!!! Centrally located for many folks, should be the home of some great tournaments coming up soon! Teepads are very grippy when wet
Cons: If you throw OB over Southern Ave or E Parkway, kiss it goodbye (unless you're a professional fence jumper!) A couple fairways play into each other, notably hole #5 and #7
Other Thoughts: This course has some remaining room for future alternate baskets and possibly alternate teepads.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.