Memphis, TN 
Libertyland DGC Share
Uploaded By: 86blackburban Hole #1 (Taken 8/2014)
3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee: Alt position indicated by red arrow



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers

1    4/11/2015   6/19/2015
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 245  Reviewed: 233  Exp: 18.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Libertyland is an 18 hole course of the city park style, relatively flat (with some mounds) and open land dotted with large trees (only course this style in Memphis area ). Course offers a good variety of length with both long bombs and birdie opps. Though very few holes force a shot shape there is opportunity to utilize different shapes off various tees if you choose.

The Mach X baskets are very nice and I really liked putting to them.

Be sure to check out the large map painted on the extra large kiosk beside hole #1 tee- (I drew a map before I started, but there is one posted on the course page.)

Course is set in a corner of two highways and in the shadow of the arena near the liberty bowl, putting this land to decent use and is the only thing on it (no walking trails, playgrounds, picnic tables, etc.)

This would be a good course to introduce people to the game, and good for beginners to intermediate players as there are not narrow wooded fairways and thick rough, so there is little chance to lose discs and much room to overcome errant shots, good for practicing drives and approaches.
Cons: Tee areas- my preference is concrete tees and tall tee signs making it clear as to where the holes are. What is here is sufficient, but not the best. Some of the tees were hard to find as the markers/trash cans were moved/knocked down/not there. I had trouble finding 1 and 10 tee, but a local helped me out and the rest weren't too difficult to figure out, except for.

Baskets- an open course makes determining which basket you are throwing to more difficult when you can see several at a time. Numbers can help, and these baskets had numbers on them, but the logo/font (which is fancy when up close) made it impossible to read from the tee and even approaches. I could barely read the number even when putting, so they are useless unless you want to walk all the way to the basket to verify it is the correct one.

When I played in mid-spring, the front 9 was basically a field of tall thick clover making finding discs challenging even in the fairways, sometimes I couldn't see it until I practically stepped on the disc (hopefully gets mowed on a regular basis.)

The area just had an odd vibe to me, two sides border highways and placed on land of a deserted amusement park (no major remnants like those creepy famous/deserted amusement parks but the man-made structures just looked old and sad.) Also, there is not much else here, including no restrooms .
Other Thoughts: Some of the pros and cons could be flipped depending on what type of player you are and what type of course you are looking for. It definitely is a good addition of course variety to the Memphis area, as it can be very helpful and useful to many people.

The course, though is pretty average (which is why I rate it 2.5/Average.) There is nothing epic or unique here, all holes are pretty standard, and it might get boring to play over and over. I am not saying that people can't enjoy this course, but if you are traveling to the area looking for a memorable top course, this is not it. I have played most of the courses in Memphis, many multiple times, and there are several I would prefer to play over this one, primarily due to its simplicity and somewhat repetitive style.

Tip- enter the park off Southern Ave , first tee is right there by the large kiosk on the left, parking lot will be on your right. The road that cuts through the middle of the course is fenced off, so there is no traffic on it while playing, but it is not an entrance/exit either.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great Location; Typical City Course

1    10/10/2014   10/13/2014
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 152  Reviewed: 120  Exp: 3.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the kind of course that Memphis needed. A relatively open course that is easy access for the majority of the city. It sits a couple miles from University of Memphis and is in the same facility as the Liberty Bowl, so the course should be in a well known location.

Mach X baskets are legit. I had never played a course with those baskets, and I wish that more courses could install these baskets. They catch great.

The navigation of the course was not a huge deal. There was a trash can at every hole, which made it easy to locate the next hole. The rubber mats were good as well if they was no sand on it.

The course itself was a good mix of long and short holes. The course did not have a ton of obstacles, but the designers did a good job putting the holes in strategic places that put many of the oak trees in play.
There were also a few baskets perched up on small hills. This gave a little bit of excitement and mixed things up from the same kind of shot on each hole.
Cons: Besides Hole 15, I think, which was around the building, very little precision is required off the tee. I like courses that require a little bit of aim off the tee. Most holes can be reached with a simple hyzer.

I felt that the course was a little repetitive. No holes except the long holes #9 and #10 really stuck in my mind.

My grandfather was not a huge fan of the walks in between the holes, and I would have to agree. The course is open enough that you do not need the 100' walks in between holes like are present on some holes.
Other Thoughts: I come to Memphis on occasion, maybe twice a year. Out of the four courses I have played in Memphis, this one ranks third behind the Grove and Johnson Road Park, but this one is better than Shelby Farms by a lot.

Because of this course's location, this course can one of the best plays if you are in the area. You do not have to worry about losing discs like at JRP and you do not have to drive super far like if you were going to the Grove.

I probably will end up visiting this course in the future. The fun factor may not be as high as other places, but it is still does exist.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Libertyland DGC

5+    8/24/2014   8/24/2014
Review By: lowrie4
Played: 24  Reviewed: 13
This review was updated on 4/19/2015
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: First of all, a very fun course to play. Good hole variation in terms of distance and in terms of obstacles. Hole 8 is especially fun with the basket sitting on top of a mound. But probably the greatest thing about this course is its location. Set right on top of the Liberty Bowl this course is extremely accessible to those living in Memphis, which is great because most other courses in the area are a good distance away from anyone living (or going to college) in Memphis. Another plus is that there is a trash can at every hole and the course always looks very clean and well maintained.
Cons: There are currently no tee signs on the course which can be tricky for navigation. Also, some of the tee pads are fairly uneven, which can cause slips or other unwanted distractions on drives.
Other Thoughts: This really is a great course especially for newer players. The general hole variety while still sticking to mostly open holes is perfect for people just learning how to play. I highly recommend this course to anyone looking to play in Memphis.
Final tip: If navigation is tough, look for the closest trash can and that's probably where the next tee is.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great course, great location

5+    8/6/2014   8/12/2014
Review By: Terry 44
Played: 53  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 22.2 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very well maintained course, with little to no bugs or poison ivy to deal with. A great location for the City of Memphis. A combination of long and tight technical holes. An excellent design within the usable space, utilizing the trees and elevation changes to the utmost in course design.
Cons: No tee signs yet. No course map or signage. These should be installed soon. A tighter course that should be taken into account when others are in close proximity for safety concerns.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent use of space provided!

1    8/5/2014   8/11/2014
Review By: 86blackburban
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Some challenging holes - some OB hazards - and a few long bombs make the course very enjoyable and open for alternate baskets in the future!!! Centrally located for many folks, should be the home of some great tournaments coming up soon! Teepads are very grippy when wet
Cons: If you throw OB over Southern Ave or E Parkway, kiss it goodbye (unless you're a professional fence jumper!) A couple fairways play into each other, notably hole #5 and #7
Other Thoughts: This course has some remaining room for future alternate baskets and possibly alternate teepads.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center