Mooresville, NC 
Stumpy Creek Share
Uploaded By: YonderScott Hole #14
3 / 284ft.   4 / 653ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 White Tee: Basket behind the trees in the middle on a narrow green



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Tight, Wooded, and Elevated

5+    9/23/2014   9/24/2014
Review By: mobrewing
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Stumpy Creek is a great course! Good distance for both short and long throwers. If you play the blue or white tees, both require control and disc placement. Hole 1 is great to start with due to open field to basket tucked in the edge of woods. After 1 it's time to bring out your tight flying discs until 14 when course opens up again. Elevation is great and good exercise. Stumpy is wooded, but very hard to lose a disc here. You always can hustle out of a bad shot and make good with the next. Fairly clean and always friendly.
Cons: Not many cons with Stumpy. I would say that more info would be posted at practice tee about course and course layout. Trash seems to build up in trash cans, but good thing is that almost every hole has a trash can! Hole 18 can sometimes have vehicles on fairway due to soccer games, I guess people don't understand what yellow tape means!
Other Thoughts: This is my home course and I wanted to post an honest review due to I have played at least 8 courses in this area including some Charlotte courses and Stumpy is a hidden gem! We now have a group of us in the area that will help with some of the cons I mentioned above, so this course will only improve in the future. Thanks to Stan and Mark for creating a great course!!

I'll try to get some new photos of course. Photos uploaded do not show how good Stumpy looks right now.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Awesome

2-4    4/24/2012   4/24/2012
Review By: RJRendleman
Played: 39  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great use of elevation!
-Great risk/reward shots
-Little to no trash on the course
-Trashcans!
-Long and a short layout
-Clean park
-Restrooms
-Little course traffic
-Concrete pads
-14 Long
-Practice basket
Cons: -No benches
-2 more pads need to be poured
-10's fairway isn't exactly fair
-17 is boring and too easy in its current configuration
-18 is also easy and boring
Other Thoughts: I played this course today for the first time in about a year today (both longs and shorts). I have drastically improved my game over the past year and I can say that this course is tons of fun. First I played the longs and was definitely challenged on most holes. The shorts was less of a challenge but hitting your lines is still super important. Leave your drivers in the bag except for holes 1 long, 14 long, 17, and 18 long. This course will teach you how to throw a Buzzz or Roc 300-330 accurately off the tee every time. It would be hard to score well if you cannot do so. The lines are tight, but fair (except 10s fairway). It's a shame it's not in Charlotte because it would get played a lot more but we can't have everything in Charlotte. I would jump all over the chance to play in a sanctioned tournament here. Bring water and be prepared to be worn out after your round(s) due to the extreme elevation. Don't wait, if your in the area give it a try as soon as possible.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Date: 11/19/2012 Designer Response by: 1978
Benches are an issue with such a strenuous course.

Trees have been cut 11/4/2012 on holes 7 & 10 to make the course a bit more fair. #10 is a short par 5 that requires 4 short shots to navigate the "w" shaped fairway. The removed trees help from both pads.

#17 - A dog park was scheduled to go in this field so permanent work could not be completed. #17's Mando pole has been planted. Must pass to the right of the pole. Following this path makes 17 a difficult birdie. A 25' 4x4 & PVC pipe Mando pole (visible from the tee) is installed, elminating eagles except fairway aces.

#18 is an 80' wide by 500' long fairway that slopes right to left. It is surrounded by OB road and fence posts. It is an easy par and birdie (for some) if you stay in bounds. The slope of right to left aids in discs flaring out of bounds. The relative shortness invites players to over throw as well, causing flipped discs to land OB. Turnament rules for OB on hole 18 will be stroke and distance.

Benches - Building 12-15 and the park department will have them all installed by mid-February.

 

5+    5/1/2011   5/1/2011
Review By: roadtrip
Played: 196  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 19.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/6/2012
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: No one comes here
Incredible variety (shortish ace runs, huge up/downs, mostly wooded with a few lefts/rights), very chill/friendly area.
A good mix of putter drives, long tight bombs, even a few open bombs. Some tight finesse drives too.
Very pretty, very under-played
Cons: It's just a brutal course (at times)
You can lose discs. You can hit trees within 10 feet of the tee pad. You throw into a hornets nest. You can wear yourself out walking up the fairway on Hole 2 (and that's not at all the toughest hike). Soccer fields can come in to play. Holes 14,17,18 can fill up with soccer kids. You can lose a disc (though you can find my 171 Orc on 11 and email me). Mooresville traffic sucks.
Short tees have miniature pads on some holes.
This is one of the least maintained courses in the Charlotte area, though it's in better condition than many courses you'll find across the country. Could use some trimming in the summer and it gets muddy after rains.
Other Thoughts: The Richmond Hill of Charlotte.
The hidden gem of Charlotte.
It's at least 20 traffic-y minutes off of I-77, and that's once you get to exit 36.
I want to say it's hole 14. You're on top of a hill overlooking a soccer field on your left (longs, or by the gravel track - shorts) - the basket you can see by that sink hole looking pit, that's the old basket, the actual basket is well past that through the two tall pines, another 250 feet.

This course is out of my league (skill wise). You have to be really damn good to score well here. I've held out 6 months on reviewing this course because I didn't want it to get crowded, but it's so remote (and Mooresville traffic is so terrible), I'm really not worried about it. Nice baskets. Nice views. Lake access just past the course.

If you're looking for a Charlotte-area comparison, I'd say this course is like the first ten at Eastway.

I give it a 4.
I'd say it's excellent because of the variety, the challenge, the peacefulness, the beauty. I'd dock it because it gets overgrown, because of the soccer field interference, and because of the traffic.

I'd highly recommend this course if you're passing through.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Undiscovered Treasure in the Charlotte Area

2-4    9/19/2010   11/7/2010
Review By: terptwerp
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is one of the better courses in the Charlotte area, but seldom has a crowd. It is a little farther away from central Charlotte, but worth the drive. There are major elevation changes, which makes this course unique in the area. This course has the feeling of playing in the mountains without the drive. The Fairways are fairly tight, but not unfair.
Cons: The signage could be better on a few holes.

If you have a big arm and like to throw 400+ feet, there are not many opportunities. The last couple holes are open, but most of the course is wooded and somewhat tight.
Other Thoughts: Stan and Mark did a great job expanding this course. Make sure to bring plenty of water with you, since it requires a long hike up and down some steep hills.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 home course

5+    10/13/2010   10/14/2010
Review By: aman13
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: its good for exersice
its a challaging course
its fun with a lot of people
it has an open and closed in setting
the more you play the easyer it gets
holes are spaced out good enough for other groups to be able to play and not worry about rushing anyone
nice park
has scorecards in the box at practice baskets
alwys able to see basket olny one that you can not(#10)
tee pads are nicly done
its a great place to play
Cons: no tee signs but they are coming
its alot of walking
you may loose a disc (if you have your name and number on it and it is found you will get it back)
theres not much bad about it

Other Thoughts: ive played this course a lot its my home course and i no it like the back of my hand its a sweet course and good for a days work out and with a couple of people its a funn place to play i think the creaters did a amazing job at it and everyone that help him put the tee pads in

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Don't knock it til you've tried it.

1    2/17/2010   2/17/2010
Review By: chdg
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I really enjoyed the great variety this course offers.

Tight turning fairways in the woods.

Excellent use of elevation changes.

Challenging pin placements.

Good mix of short technical holes, and a few "grip it and rip it" holes.

I can't wait to go back to try and top my score.
Cons: There's a mix of concrete and natural pads, the natural pads were really muddy (but...snow had just finished melting, and the mulch kept it from being nearly as bad as i could have been).

The tee maps leave something to the imagination.

Look out for "holes" left from old rotted stumps...some of the terrain is a little treacherous for walking.
Other Thoughts: This course far exceeded my expectations.

A LOT of fun.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Has potential

1    4/12/2009   4/12/2009
Review By: PanicKJ
Played: 25  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/2/2009
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The first tee seems pretty ordinary. Open shot to a tee tucked away in an opening in the woods. Then as soon as you reach the second tee you will probably get excited. There is a 100 foot drop and then probably two hundred feet back up the hill. After you make your putt prepare to do it again as the next hole again drops down and goes back up hill, only this time the fairway is tighter! If you can snake a good drive through these narrow fairways you will score great however prepare to be punished for any errant drives. I was very impressed with the variety of holes as each hole in the woods was memoriable. Once you get out of the woods you have a chance to make up some ground as the open holes are a little easier. If you play the long tees it will give you a chance to let a few rip hopefully letting out all that frustration from the earlier holes in the woods!
Cons: Even though it was easy enough to navigate some signs would be nice. Also I really hope that they install tee pads in the wooded holes. At this moment you are pretty much having to stand still to drive as the ground around the tee is not level and has rocks and stumps everywhere. The woods are still pretty thick in spots. My friend threw a disc that went into the creek, took him ten minutes to retrieve it and he was so mad after that that he didnt even finish the hole.
Other Thoughts: If they installed two sets of concrete tees for the new wooded holes, and put up some signs I would think that it would be one of the top courses in NC. The terrain is pretty rough though so getting concrete to these areas would be a huge undertaking. I actually rated this course with its potential in mind. It has lots of room to improve however still worth an hour and a half drive to play it as it is now.

I recently went back to stumpy and I noticed some work have been done. New hole in the woods, it even looks as if they are preparing some teepads to get concrete.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/20/2008   8/21/2008
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 176  Reviewed: 172  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/19/2010
13 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Wow! What a course. It went from a good 9-hole course to an outstanding, top-notch 18 hole course. The new holes are challenging, but fun. It says something about a course when it's getting the best of you, yet you're still having a blast.
- For anyone who played this course when it was 9 holes, they added 10 wooded holes and eliminated one of the open field holes - 9 original + 10 new holes - 1 old hole = 18.
- Great hole layouts. This course has some serious elevation changes to it, which make for some great holes. It felt like I was walking up and down hills the entire round. If you're not in shape, it's going to wear you down by the time you get to the back 9, especially on a hot summer day.
- Long, challenging holes. Holes #2 & 4 are my favorite holes on the course. They're both long (both 500+) up and down holes with tight fairways, so you can't just let the driver fly. Errant shots will find thick woods that make advancement difficult. All the wooded holes are tight, but because of the course length, you can't get too conservative. This course finds the perfect balance.
- Good pin placements make for interesting shots. Even the original holes had some good layouts.
- Dual tee pads give an alternative/easier shot on some of the more difficult holes.
- Course ends with several open holes so you're finally able to let it rip and let off some frustration.
- Long course that plays even longer because of elevation and tight fairways. Holes average 400ft+ from long tees (7400 ft overall). On the course's longest hole, #10 @ 660 ft, you're throwing up a steep hill on your first shot, which make it's play even longer.
Cons: As with many new courses, it's going through growing pains. There's still a lot of small stumps in many fairways; pathways between holes haven't been worn in, so it's somewhat of a challenge finding some holes. The second issue can be resolved with more signs pointing to the next tee. There are some signs, but not one for every hole.
- The wooded holes do not have cement tee pads. On long holes, where accurate shots are crucial, a smooth surface to throw your tee shots from is crucial. Again, I'm sure this is a problem that will be fixed with time, but in the meantime, it is a problem.
- Tee signs will need to be improved. Some only have the distance, some are hand-drawn. On several of the longer holes, I had to walk down most of the fairway to find out where the basket was because it wasn't visible from the tee pad.
- I listed this as a pro, but it can also be viewed as a con. The final two holes are the most wide open holes on the entire course. #17 at least has a semi-difficult basket placement, but #18 is a wide open hole. It's slightly disappointing that (IMO) the two best holes (#2 & 4) are at the beginning and two of the least challenging are the closing holes. You wish it was the other way around.
- You can't easily get to the back nine from the beginning, so if it's crowded, you'll have to do a lot of hiking through the woods. This might be a pet peeve of mine, but it always bothers me when hole #9 doesn't finish near the beginning or at least near an opening that easily leads you back to the front.
- It's a long walk from #18 back to #1. There are also several other long walks between holes. That's not much of a problem because it gives you time to catch your breath, especially if you've just had a bad hole.
Other Thoughts: As mentioned above, what a testament to the course when you can have a blast while also facing such a tough challenge. Everyone who worked on the new holes did an outstanding job.
- This course is now close to joining the other Charlotte-area elite courses - Renny, Winthrop, Brackett's Bluff, Hornet's Nest. This is one of the best courses I've ever played, and it's only (IMO) the 3rd or 4th best course in the Charlotte-area. The course also seems to take some of the best elements of other area courses (Yadkinville, Hilton Park in Hickory).
- I can only give this course a 4.0 right now because there are some many problems with the new holes. Once they're fixed (cement tee pads, tee signs, stumps removed, etc), this will be a 4.5 rating.
- It's a must play for everyone in Charlotte, or anyone visiting the area.
- Here's what I wrote in my original review, when the course was only 9 holes "When they make it a complete 18, it's going to fit in nicely with all the other Charlotte-area courses." The course blew away any expectations I had for this.

13 of 15 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.