Disc Golf Store
Mooresville, NC 
Stumpy Creek Share
Uploaded By: 1978 Hole #3 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 306ft.   4 / 429ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee: Shoot the gap straight ahead then a gentle fade to the right to the pin.



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Stumpy Blue

1    6/11/2011   6/12/2011
Review By: Rythum55
Played: 25  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.7 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Very hard course, need to be accurate. The blue tees add up to 1.4 miles, and are a lot of hills. long high hilled fairways. Great during the week, no one is in the park.
Cons: Hole 18 is in the middle of the "parking lot". its not really in it, but people park in the fairway, and right in front of the tee. if your not in good shape, you'll be worn out by the time you get done. the course raps around several baseball and soccer fields, if your disc goes in the field, on a busy day, you won't get an accurate spot due to kids moving your disc.
Other Thoughts: the only hole i didn't play was hole 18 because of a line of vehicles right in front of the tee, and going down to the basket. but that hole is straight and open during week when the park is closed. if you decide to go during the week, you can park outside the gate near hole 1 and walk around. that would be the best time to play due to the inconvience of hole 18l

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Need a map

1    6/2/2011   6/2/2011
Review By: fujijon
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.5 Years
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: No waiting - no players, great terrain, looking to play with some body who knows the course
Cons: No map, no layout, no players to ask, not for somebody from out of town, unless you have some sort of guide.
Other Thoughts: will try again.

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.


5+    5/1/2011   5/1/2011
Review By: roadtrip
Played: 191  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 19.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/6/2012
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: No one comes here
Incredible variety (shortish ace runs, huge up/downs, mostly wooded with a few lefts/rights), very chill/friendly area.
A good mix of putter drives, long tight bombs, even a few open bombs. Some tight finesse drives too.
Very pretty, very under-played
Cons: It's just a brutal course (at times)
You can lose discs. You can hit trees within 10 feet of the tee pad. You throw into a hornets nest. You can wear yourself out walking up the fairway on Hole 2 (and that's not at all the toughest hike). Soccer fields can come in to play. Holes 14,17,18 can fill up with soccer kids. You can lose a disc (though you can find my 171 Orc on 11 and email me). Mooresville traffic sucks.
Short tees have miniature pads on some holes.
This is one of the least maintained courses in the Charlotte area, though it's in better condition than many courses you'll find across the country. Could use some trimming in the summer and it gets muddy after rains.
Other Thoughts: The Richmond Hill of Charlotte.
The hidden gem of Charlotte.
It's at least 20 traffic-y minutes off of I-77, and that's once you get to exit 36.
I want to say it's hole 14. You're on top of a hill overlooking a soccer field on your left (longs, or by the gravel track - shorts) - the basket you can see by that sink hole looking pit, that's the old basket, the actual basket is well past that through the two tall pines, another 250 feet.

This course is out of my league (skill wise). You have to be really damn good to score well here. I've held out 6 months on reviewing this course because I didn't want it to get crowded, but it's so remote (and Mooresville traffic is so terrible), I'm really not worried about it. Nice baskets. Nice views. Lake access just past the course.

If you're looking for a Charlotte-area comparison, I'd say this course is like the first ten at Eastway.

I give it a 4.
I'd say it's excellent because of the variety, the challenge, the peacefulness, the beauty. I'd dock it because it gets overgrown, because of the soccer field interference, and because of the traffic.

I'd highly recommend this course if you're passing through.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Undiscovered Treasure in the Charlotte Area

2-4    9/19/2010   11/7/2010
Review By: terptwerp
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is one of the better courses in the Charlotte area, but seldom has a crowd. It is a little farther away from central Charlotte, but worth the drive. There are major elevation changes, which makes this course unique in the area. This course has the feeling of playing in the mountains without the drive. The Fairways are fairly tight, but not unfair.
Cons: The signage could be better on a few holes.

If you have a big arm and like to throw 400+ feet, there are not many opportunities. The last couple holes are open, but most of the course is wooded and somewhat tight.
Other Thoughts: Stan and Mark did a great job expanding this course. Make sure to bring plenty of water with you, since it requires a long hike up and down some steep hills.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 home course

5+    10/13/2010   10/14/2010
Review By: aman13
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: its good for exersice
its a challaging course
its fun with a lot of people
it has an open and closed in setting
the more you play the easyer it gets
holes are spaced out good enough for other groups to be able to play and not worry about rushing anyone
nice park
has scorecards in the box at practice baskets
alwys able to see basket olny one that you can not(#10)
tee pads are nicly done
its a great place to play
Cons: no tee signs but they are coming
its alot of walking
you may loose a disc (if you have your name and number on it and it is found you will get it back)
theres not much bad about it

Other Thoughts: ive played this course a lot its my home course and i no it like the back of my hand its a sweet course and good for a days work out and with a couple of people its a funn place to play i think the creaters did a amazing job at it and everyone that help him put the tee pads in

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 stumpy delivers

5+    8/14/2010   8/15/2010
Review By: hogleggbob
Played: 96  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 6.1 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: terrain....the use of elevation is this courses biggest factor. challenging lines for the average player. new concrete pads on all but 4 pads. nice steps through out the course to help you with all the up and down fairways.
Cons: there needs to be a couple more benches out here, cause it is a hike. lots of uphill shots so be prepared for a work out. trash cans on a few more holes would be nice.
Other Thoughts: i played the longs out here the last time i played ,and thought the course was very challenging. tight, long fairways on most of the wooded holes. alot of the holes required the same shot...straight down the middle. great course outside of charlotte. the amount of work that went in here shows...

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 More like Spider Gorge

1    8/11/2010   8/12/2010
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 99  Reviewed: 97  Exp: 7.1 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tough, solid course that's 3/4 wooded, the open holes play around the various sports fields. Short and long tees on nearly every hole, better than average variety from left to right (hyzers, anhyzers, straight, etc). A good mix of distances as well, with short holes being cleverly designed, such as the elevated basket on hole 8. Lots of elevation in play, you're constantly throwing up and down the hills. Fairways are still fairly rough around the edges but very playable.

What really shines here are the little things done to facilitate walking and navigation, such as steps, erosion control measures, cedar chip paths, etc. Very nice touches that don't take away too much from the naturalness of the woods. A very secluded course once your in the woods (after hole #2), the duck definitely flies at midnight I'd imagine.

Not all the tees are in yet, roughly half, but the ones that are in are great. Very smooth and long enough for those of us that need a runway. Tee signage is still temporary I think but it gets the job done.
Cons: Be prepared to make some spiders homeless if your disc leaves the fairway.

The elevation makes this a great course if you're a running back looking for a workout, it's constantly up and down, up and down. It's even worse than Ashe Co., which is in the mountains. This isn't necessarily a knock on the course, I'm just advising the more out of shape disc golfers to be prepared for a workout.

What the elevation does do is make the holes, particularly the wooded holes, seem a little repetitive. Another concern is that open holes have ball fields very much in play on virtually all of them.

Navigation/flow: There's some tricky spots thanks to a plethora of little trails randomly crisscrossing between holes, but the next tee signs do a good job of pointing you in the right direction. Many of the open holes could use some next tee signs, especially on the back 9 where it's not apparent where to go around the fields. There's also an excruciatingly long walk to hole 15(?), but the "beware of dinosaur" sign along the way provides some levity.

Some of the fairways are pretty tight, but that's characteristic of Charlotte courses. Still, it's definitely not aimed at beginners who prefer a spray and pray style of pitch and putt.

The open holes were kind of meh, but a nice change of pace from the woods.

A little bit of litter here and there, hopefully some more respectful golfers will use the trash cans provided on a few of the holes.
Other Thoughts: This is a really good course and I'm excited by the work that's being put into it. The designers deserve a pat on the back overall, as soon as all the tees are put in this course is a 4.0 easy. It's mostly challenging in a good way, the wooded holes are pleasant and secluded (except for the spiders), and it's quite a hike for 18 holes. I'm not a big fan of ball fields being in play but most seasoned golfers worth their salt shouldn't end up taking out a Little Leaguer or soccer player.

Needs benches!!!! My out of shape arse was exhausted by hole 5 (I spent 15 minutes looking for a disc up and down the hillside in the humidity).

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 traveling player review

1    3/29/2010   5/16/2010
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 711  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 26.3 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Two sets of tees. (We played shorts after getting input that, "many longs seem long for the sake of being long"). Short tees provided nice blue player level course.
A bunch of "tunnel" (narrow, tight fairway) shots to test accuracy.
Two extreme elevated baskets (one more than 7 foot above ground/I'm happy to say I deuced the first one from short tee).
Good signage (I believe this is a recent improvement) with correct footage and great next tee info. (except for #17 and #18).
Long tees appeared to provide Gold level players with a challenge.
Cons: Long tees did somewhat appear to long for the sake of long. However, without playing them; I am giving designer the benefit of the doubt. Locals may only give this one a 3 rating; you will have to read their input, come and play, and decide for yourself. It is at least a three rated course; and therefore, worth a trip.
Gate was closed off in March; but no signs or anything prohibiting us from entering; and was no big deal to get to course.
A couple of longer walks between holes. Again, no big issue for me. Walks were marked well (with the exception of #16 and #17/which I imagine has already been corrected).
We were here in March. I imagine all of the courses in this area (2 hour radius of Charlotte), have the potential for big undergrowth issues during summer months. Course maintenance will probably vary between courses. In any event, I suggest keeping a sharp eye on plastic, and bug spray is probably also a must. Fluids, a good idea.
Mental toughness necessary for an enjoyable round on most of Stan's courses. Long tees here would fit that bill...be prepared.
Other Thoughts: This is a course still in a bit of transition. One of the many courses being improved in the Charlotte area; on a nearly weekly basis. Stan McDaniel designs have found a place in my heart as some of the best in the country, and Stumpy is no exception. He uses land available to him in wonderful manner; and this one is no exception. Even though we chose not to play long tees; I can say with near certainty, that these will be enjoyed by Gold level players. If you're a local, I know you're thinking, these are pretty general ideas; but, heh, a traveling player can only add what input he can. Navigation was easy, course was fun and challenging.
I tend to reserve 3.5's for quite quality courses; and even though I would recommend Renny, Hornets, Nevin, Ashe, some of the HGT courses, etc.; higher than Stumpy; I am still giving this one a 3.5. In other words, a two hour radius around Charlotte is filled with top quality, and Stumpy fits the description....

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Great course that has most everything

1    3/14/2010   3/15/2010
Review By: DiscChainBasket18
Played: 78  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 10.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has just about everything I like! Clean, multi-use park type setting. Great mix of open & tightly wooded shots. Long & short drives. Good elevation changes with long & short up & downhill shots. Huge concrete tee pads (on most holes). Sturdy wood beam landscaping frames some of the baskets & provides safe steps up & down the hills. Long & short tee pads on a majority of holes. The second pad is enough of a change to make it a challenge. Plenty of 'next tee' signage & directional arrows.
Cons: No benches. The tee signs needed work. If you didn't have a map, some of the basket locations are difficult to find. Hole #6 is hard to see players finishing up their putts. Check before throwing. Some tee pads were dirt or framed earth (will be concrete soon I would guess). Could use a couple more trash cans.
Other Thoughts: We played the 'long' tees. The course wraps around the perimeter of this multi-use complex so the disc golf play is kept separate. They have any possible conflict areas protected by OB markers. I can't wait to go back!
Favorite holes: #13. It is a long gauntlet across a valley of possible fame or misfortune!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Don't knock it til you've tried it.

1    2/17/2010   2/17/2010
Review By: chdg
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I really enjoyed the great variety this course offers.

Tight turning fairways in the woods.

Excellent use of elevation changes.

Challenging pin placements.

Good mix of short technical holes, and a few "grip it and rip it" holes.

I can't wait to go back to try and top my score.
Cons: There's a mix of concrete and natural pads, the natural pads were really muddy (but...snow had just finished melting, and the mulch kept it from being nearly as bad as i could have been).

The tee maps leave something to the imagination.

Look out for "holes" left from old rotted stumps...some of the terrain is a little treacherous for walking.
Other Thoughts: This course far exceeded my expectations.

A LOT of fun.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.