Mooresville, NC 
Stumpy Creek Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18   (Taken 3/2010)
Practice basket near parking lot



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Awesome

2-4    4/24/2012   4/24/2012
Review By: RJRendleman
Played: 54  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great use of elevation!
-Great risk/reward shots
-Little to no trash on the course
-Trashcans!
-Long and a short layout
-Clean park
-Restrooms
-Little course traffic
-Concrete pads
-14 Long
-Practice basket
Cons: -No benches
-2 more pads need to be poured
-10's fairway isn't exactly fair
-17 is boring and too easy in its current configuration
-18 is also easy and boring
Other Thoughts: I played this course today for the first time in about a year today (both longs and shorts). I have drastically improved my game over the past year and I can say that this course is tons of fun. First I played the longs and was definitely challenged on most holes. The shorts was less of a challenge but hitting your lines is still super important. Leave your drivers in the bag except for holes 1 long, 14 long, 17, and 18 long. This course will teach you how to throw a Buzzz or Roc 300-330 accurately off the tee every time. It would be hard to score well if you cannot do so. The lines are tight, but fair (except 10s fairway). It's a shame it's not in Charlotte because it would get played a lot more but we can't have everything in Charlotte. I would jump all over the chance to play in a sanctioned tournament here. Bring water and be prepared to be worn out after your round(s) due to the extreme elevation. Don't wait, if your in the area give it a try as soon as possible.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Date: 11/19/2012 Designer Response by: 1978
Benches are an issue with such a strenuous course.

Trees have been cut 11/4/2012 on holes 7 & 10 to make the course a bit more fair. #10 is a short par 5 that requires 4 short shots to navigate the "w" shaped fairway. The removed trees help from both pads.

#17 - A dog park was scheduled to go in this field so permanent work could not be completed. #17's Mando pole has been planted. Must pass to the right of the pole. Following this path makes 17 a difficult birdie. A 25' 4x4 & PVC pipe Mando pole (visible from the tee) is installed, elminating eagles except fairway aces.

#18 is an 80' wide by 500' long fairway that slopes right to left. It is surrounded by OB road and fence posts. It is an easy par and birdie (for some) if you stay in bounds. The slope of right to left aids in discs flaring out of bounds. The relative shortness invites players to over throw as well, causing flipped discs to land OB. Turnament rules for OB on hole 18 will be stroke and distance.

Benches - Building 12-15 and the park department will have them all installed by mid-February.

 

1    4/16/2012   4/16/2012
Review By: Cwisicle
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: very challenging. for those who have played glen hilton in hickory will like this one. a lot of different shots are required to tackle this course. you do think twice about how you want to throw the next disc.
Cons: very hilly and a lot of walking required. stumps throughout the course to trip over. a lot of blind shots so you kinda throw your disc wondering where it might end up.
Other Thoughts: could use some better maps for the holes but the ones they have work well enough to know where to throw. spent more time looking for discs on the holes that have blind shots than it took to actually play the hole. would take a walking stick cause im sure you might run up on a copperhead being close to the lake and deep in the woods. during summer and fall months bring a can of OFF cause im sure mosquitos will tear you up. dont walk during the day.....unless its under 80 degrees and bring water.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Date: 11/7/2012 Designer Response by: 1978
Fairways are very inviting at Stumpy and drivers are used inappropriatly. The course was designed for placement midrange shots, Good execution of these shots will leave you with birdie/par attempts on every hole. Players that decide to throw high speed discs poorly will see them sail, off the elevation changes, deep into the woods.

 Bring water and A game.

5+    2/18/2012   2/18/2012
Review By: pmaxhen
Played: 56  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: A tough challenge, lots of up and down holes in the woods that take a great deal of thinking twice about shots.
Cons: The name is very fitting for the course, stumps and roots will be tripping you all along the wooded holes.
Other Thoughts: While it makes the course more technical, the way the hills are along the course it's not wise to try and tackle this place in the middle of the day from June to August unless it's below 85 degrees out. This course at one time was a 9 hole course and it has two ways it can be played one with 18 holes one with just 9 that stays pretty well out of the wood. There is a way to play 9 holes without going deep into the hills if you play the old basket on 4 from 5's white tee box.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    1/29/2012   1/30/2012
Review By: xcrunner134life
Played: 81  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.5 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Mix of open holes and woods
most holes have a long and short tee
baskets are easy to identify in the woods
challenging course- difficult for beginners
the course really opens up in the winter time
the course will benefit the consistent and accurate player
Cons: at the tees you'll find some distance markers and a few hand drawn signs, but nothing permanent
if it rains, good luck making it through without falling or slipping.
Unless you know the course, you can get a little lost. Not all the holes flow to the next tee and there aren't a lot of signs


Other Thoughts: I like playing here. It's close to my house, but there's a lot of work to be done. Stumpy could be a great course, but it needs some TLC. It's a good, enjoyable course for the competitive player, but I don't think the casual player will find it as fun if they play alone. I'm hoping to get out and do some clean up to it this spring and start a regular league that will meet during the week.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/5/2011   8/7/2011
Review By: shtfox13
Played: 27  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a great course. Very long course surrounding Iredell counties first park. The first hole is hidden up by the road near the outer most baseball diamond. The pin in the middle of the parking lot by the big brown "Disc Golf Course" sign is the practice pin.There are very technical holes with tight fairways and many elevation changes. This course takes some good accuracy. Also like everyone has mentioned there is hardly ever any one at this park on the week days. Tees are all concrete pads with disc catcher baskets. Most holes at least have a white or blue post denoting the original and pro tee pad.
Cons: Only one hole has a trashcan and bench that being #9 if I remember correctly. Looks like it was someones Eagle Scout project. Also signs are very lacking with most holes having a handmade sign or nothing at all. Be careful on the fairways when walking around. There are some large stumps and some at ankle height that could really trip you up. This is a very long course. Make sure to bring water and probably at least tennis shoes.
Other Thoughts: I really like playing at this course. Wouldnt mind getting a group together to clean it up a bit and gather some money for some trash cans and benches. With just a little bit of work could be a 4-4.5 star course

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Stumpy Blue

1    6/11/2011   6/12/2011
Review By: Rythum55
Played: 25  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.7 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Very hard course, need to be accurate. The blue tees add up to 1.4 miles, and are a lot of hills. long high hilled fairways. Great during the week, no one is in the park.
Cons: Hole 18 is in the middle of the "parking lot". its not really in it, but people park in the fairway, and right in front of the tee. if your not in good shape, you'll be worn out by the time you get done. the course raps around several baseball and soccer fields, if your disc goes in the field, on a busy day, you won't get an accurate spot due to kids moving your disc.
Other Thoughts: the only hole i didn't play was hole 18 because of a line of vehicles right in front of the tee, and going down to the basket. but that hole is straight and open during week when the park is closed. if you decide to go during the week, you can park outside the gate near hole 1 and walk around. that would be the best time to play due to the inconvience of hole 18l

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Need a map

1    6/2/2011   6/2/2011
Review By: fujijon
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.5 Years
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: No waiting - no players, great terrain, looking to play with some body who knows the course
Cons: No map, no layout, no players to ask, not for somebody from out of town, unless you have some sort of guide.
Other Thoughts: will try again.

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/1/2011   5/1/2011
Review By: roadtrip
Played: 200  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 21.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/6/2012
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: No one comes here
Incredible variety (shortish ace runs, huge up/downs, mostly wooded with a few lefts/rights), very chill/friendly area.
A good mix of putter drives, long tight bombs, even a few open bombs. Some tight finesse drives too.
Very pretty, very under-played
Cons: It's just a brutal course (at times)
You can lose discs. You can hit trees within 10 feet of the tee pad. You throw into a hornets nest. You can wear yourself out walking up the fairway on Hole 2 (and that's not at all the toughest hike). Soccer fields can come in to play. Holes 14,17,18 can fill up with soccer kids. You can lose a disc (though you can find my 171 Orc on 11 and email me). Mooresville traffic sucks.
Short tees have miniature pads on some holes.
This is one of the least maintained courses in the Charlotte area, though it's in better condition than many courses you'll find across the country. Could use some trimming in the summer and it gets muddy after rains.
Other Thoughts: The Richmond Hill of Charlotte.
The hidden gem of Charlotte.
It's at least 20 traffic-y minutes off of I-77, and that's once you get to exit 36.
I want to say it's hole 14. You're on top of a hill overlooking a soccer field on your left (longs, or by the gravel track - shorts) - the basket you can see by that sink hole looking pit, that's the old basket, the actual basket is well past that through the two tall pines, another 250 feet.

This course is out of my league (skill wise). You have to be really damn good to score well here. I've held out 6 months on reviewing this course because I didn't want it to get crowded, but it's so remote (and Mooresville traffic is so terrible), I'm really not worried about it. Nice baskets. Nice views. Lake access just past the course.

If you're looking for a Charlotte-area comparison, I'd say this course is like the first ten at Eastway.

I give it a 4.
I'd say it's excellent because of the variety, the challenge, the peacefulness, the beauty. I'd dock it because it gets overgrown, because of the soccer field interference, and because of the traffic.

I'd highly recommend this course if you're passing through.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Undiscovered Treasure in the Charlotte Area

2-4    9/19/2010   11/7/2010
Review By: terptwerp
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is one of the better courses in the Charlotte area, but seldom has a crowd. It is a little farther away from central Charlotte, but worth the drive. There are major elevation changes, which makes this course unique in the area. This course has the feeling of playing in the mountains without the drive. The Fairways are fairly tight, but not unfair.
Cons: The signage could be better on a few holes.

If you have a big arm and like to throw 400+ feet, there are not many opportunities. The last couple holes are open, but most of the course is wooded and somewhat tight.
Other Thoughts: Stan and Mark did a great job expanding this course. Make sure to bring plenty of water with you, since it requires a long hike up and down some steep hills.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 home course

5+    10/13/2010   10/14/2010
Review By: aman13
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: its good for exersice
its a challaging course
its fun with a lot of people
it has an open and closed in setting
the more you play the easyer it gets
holes are spaced out good enough for other groups to be able to play and not worry about rushing anyone
nice park
has scorecards in the box at practice baskets
alwys able to see basket olny one that you can not(#10)
tee pads are nicly done
its a great place to play
Cons: no tee signs but they are coming
its alot of walking
you may loose a disc (if you have your name and number on it and it is found you will get it back)
theres not much bad about it

Other Thoughts: ive played this course a lot its my home course and i no it like the back of my hand its a sweet course and good for a days work out and with a couple of people its a funn place to play i think the creaters did a amazing job at it and everyone that help him put the tee pads in

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.