Mooresville, NC 
Stumpy Creek Share
Uploaded By: 1978 Hole #2 (Taken 6/2009)
4 / 456ft.   5 / 565ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 White Tee: Basket straight ahead, down hill in woods



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Don't knock it til you've tried it.

1    2/17/2010   2/17/2010
Review By: chdg
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I really enjoyed the great variety this course offers.

Tight turning fairways in the woods.

Excellent use of elevation changes.

Challenging pin placements.

Good mix of short technical holes, and a few "grip it and rip it" holes.

I can't wait to go back to try and top my score.
Cons: There's a mix of concrete and natural pads, the natural pads were really muddy (but...snow had just finished melting, and the mulch kept it from being nearly as bad as i could have been).

The tee maps leave something to the imagination.

Look out for "holes" left from old rotted stumps...some of the terrain is a little treacherous for walking.
Other Thoughts: This course far exceeded my expectations.

A LOT of fun.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Stumpy Creek

1    12/15/2009   12/16/2009
Review By: thebear021980
Played: 23  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 19.7 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nice use of woods and elevation change for holes 2 - 13. Good mix of drive lengths and styles. Nice course maintenance concerning steps and walkways, it was wet, so this was helpful.
Cons: Needs concrete tee pads, better signage, etc.
Other Thoughts: One reason I give Stumpy Creek a 3 is the fact that you are playing around the baseball fields so much (approx. 7 holes). Not a fan of that.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Stumpy Creek fun

5+    7/29/2010   9/2/2009
Review By: newhuck
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/12/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course now has 18 different holes and was very challenging. I am from CA and this was my first experience with NC disc golf. The terrain is heavily wooded and favors a long accurate throw. I spent a lot of time finding my disc that had veered from the fairway. I would recommend hiking style shoes or boots for this course. Miraculously i did not get a bug bite despite having to go through 100 spider webs while searching for discs. Holes 1 and 2 shoot from open field into the woods and from 3-13 you are in for a treat. I was playing mid afternoon in the summer and the canopy from the trees kept it nice. Bing lots of water you'll be glad you did.

1 year later, I am back to stumpy and although my game has improved this course is still tough, but very fun. Yes you need to wear shoes with good grip and the cement tees are coming this weekend I believe. Very peaceful and serene in the woods, great effort has been made on a course of this caliber that gets very little play. Kudos to the designers, I played a number of their other courses this trip and all were great.
Cons: Tried to play the first saturday and sunday of the month and there was a 2 day triathalon taking place. I played the first day,but had to start hole 1 with a drive over windshields and cars. Holes 14-18 were in the path of the finish for the running portion of the event and I ended up not playing them. I went back on sunday to find the same mess. I don't know the schedule, but my guess is maybe they do this the first weekend of the month, but I don't know if its every month or just summer. I was there in August.
Other Thoughts: Park at closest parking lot to woods, near beverage shack. Walk up hill to top of park, you'll see tee with distance details. Hole 2 is right up from hole 1 another shot from clear field into woods then follow the most beaten trail and look for signs pointing to next hole. The course design is really great. Unless you are great I wouldn't bother keeping score its tough. Be thankful if you manage a few birdies but be prepared for double bogeys.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/27/2009   5/27/2009
Review By: honeycu4
Played: 53  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 18.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice length and dual tee pads on orginal nine holes. Recently expanded to 18 holes with new holes carved out of dense woods. New nine are very challenging with substantial elevation changes. With expansion to 18 provides nice mix of wooded and open holes. From pro tee pads many holes are legit par 4's.
Cons: New nine currently do not have tee pads and terrain is tricky because it has not been played alot. A few holes have long walks between holes.
Other Thoughts: Course will rate much higher once tee pads are in on new nine and course gets played alot to better carve out woods and paths. Bring water as new nine go up and down through a large valley. Located just steps away from Lake Norman.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  suprised

1    4/24/2009   4/24/2009
Review By: wk jester
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.9 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: ok, so 1st... any "harshness" in this review is ment only in jest/good humor.

Pros:
hats off to the SOB who designed this thing,,, are you kidding me? you are just sick! i had no idea there were even hills this big in mooresville!!
1. beautiful course with lots of potential
2. well marked directions. based on previous posts, it seems that this used to be an issue? there is still some confusion because its hard to remove spraypaint from trees, so i think some of the old arrows are confusing... but if you follow the new white wooden arrows that say "new hole #2" etc... youre fine.
3. nice drawings of each hole at each tee location
4. good risk/reward... if you can throw long dirves (there are several over 450' - 600') and can be accurate, you will be good! if you tank in the woods, its a rough go... but, its fun either way.
Cons: 5. clearly project work is still being done. several tees dont have concrete pads yet, but its clear that the course is moving forward. several of the baskets are BRAND new... there has been nice work to line the trail edges with logs etc to make the path visible.
6. ITS FREAKING STEEP!!! seriously, bring a nalgene of water, this course is no joke!
Other Thoughts: If you want to go for a hike, and "happen" to play disc golf while youre there.. then this is a great course! if you want to play for the sake of playing, and the challenge of hilly terrain isnt your thing... then maybe hornets nest or reedy creek is a better choice.

i look forward to playing this course more, and i guess im just gonna have to get my *** in shape...

one last "pro", so far this is a diamond in the rough! noone seems to know much about it, so there was noone else out there, no waiting to play thru etc. it was very nice!
best of luck to all!!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 B+ = Interesting and addicting

1    8/19/2009   4/23/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 368  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/3/2009
7 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 18 hole courses:

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == B+
(The is a boatload of punishment on this course. Lots of trees, narrow fairways, and huge slopes to fly or roll down. Usually I complain that there is not enough of this, but this course might just be over the edge. I believe pretty much all the trees that are coming out have been removed. If so, on the wooded holes you may as well leave your driver in the bag and throw mids and putters and settle for a higher score than you want, or take 2-3 more strokes than you could have settled for. That lessens the fun factor big time.)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == B
(Mostly this course is too long for my arm, so pars are expected not birdies. I did not deduct too much off for that since on several holes par is rewarding to me.)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == B+
(There is a ton of variety of up/down, left/right and wooded/open. There are a ton of unique holes....and I love that! Holes 3 & 4 left me puzzled - the drive was lame in that you had to lay up or leave things up to random chance if you tried for more than 150' or so.)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == B
(The woods are very nice - beautiful & secluded. The holes around the ball fields are not so pretty.

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == B-
(There are several par 4's out there, but not great one's IMO. As said before, the risk is too high to get aggressive. That takes the exhileration and fun out.)
Cons: I fear that most will not find this course fun and it will not get much play. Those of us who have masochistic tendencies and like pure challenge will play here sometimes. There is only 1 fun hole on the course - a nice chute down a steep hill. This is a pity since an amazing amount of work has been done. Kudos to those who have busted their butts!
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (149 18-hole, 91 9-hole as of late 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me….that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

7 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Has potential

1    4/12/2009   4/12/2009
Review By: PanicKJ
Played: 25  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/2/2009
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The first tee seems pretty ordinary. Open shot to a tee tucked away in an opening in the woods. Then as soon as you reach the second tee you will probably get excited. There is a 100 foot drop and then probably two hundred feet back up the hill. After you make your putt prepare to do it again as the next hole again drops down and goes back up hill, only this time the fairway is tighter! If you can snake a good drive through these narrow fairways you will score great however prepare to be punished for any errant drives. I was very impressed with the variety of holes as each hole in the woods was memoriable. Once you get out of the woods you have a chance to make up some ground as the open holes are a little easier. If you play the long tees it will give you a chance to let a few rip hopefully letting out all that frustration from the earlier holes in the woods!
Cons: Even though it was easy enough to navigate some signs would be nice. Also I really hope that they install tee pads in the wooded holes. At this moment you are pretty much having to stand still to drive as the ground around the tee is not level and has rocks and stumps everywhere. The woods are still pretty thick in spots. My friend threw a disc that went into the creek, took him ten minutes to retrieve it and he was so mad after that that he didnt even finish the hole.
Other Thoughts: If they installed two sets of concrete tees for the new wooded holes, and put up some signs I would think that it would be one of the top courses in NC. The terrain is pretty rough though so getting concrete to these areas would be a huge undertaking. I actually rated this course with its potential in mind. It has lots of room to improve however still worth an hour and a half drive to play it as it is now.

I recently went back to stumpy and I noticed some work have been done. New hole in the woods, it even looks as if they are preparing some teepads to get concrete.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Stumpy Creek

5+    3/23/2009   3/25/2009
Review By: 1978
Played: 185  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 2/2/2011
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: In the summer this course is beautiful. With the final 9 baskets installed it isone of the more challenging courses in the Charlotte, NC area. There are shots for all skill levels. The original 9 have 2 tee locations so the course can be played multiple ways. The original 9 plays around fields that are OB. The last hole can get narrow as cars park along the fairway. The tight fairways through woods on the 9 new holes will challenge any skill level. There are short pads on 5 of the wooded holes to make the course have 32 hole locations. The elevation changes give this course the feel of a semi-mountain course. This course has a good mixture of shots that benefit thumbers, RHBH, right hand forehand. There are holes that are uphill, downhill, tight fairways, and wide open. You will find that this course now has more elevation change than any other course in Charlotte. A lot of work has been done recently to define clear landing areas and make some of the comon flight paths more fair.
Cons: If it is rainy watch your step as it gets slippery. The ball field OB's on the original 9 holes can make some shots tricky if it is a busy park day. Some players don't have the fitness to play this beast.
Other Thoughts: *Update 29 of 32 tee pads are concrete. If you are visiting or live in Charlotte, this is a course that you need to visit. If you like to use multiple types of throws or "problem solve" shots this course will give you good opportunity to do this. I will increase this rating once the tee-pads are leveled and filled with Concrete or Gravel. Also, the leaves are full out and the fairways have been widened and hangers cut out of the canopy. New holes and tee pad locations make the par 65. Some players don't have the fitness to play this beast. Stick to the original outside 9 holes. 2 holes have been combined so to play the outside you could get 16 holes in by playing both long and short locations.

Check out a "little" of the work that the parks department has been doing recently.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/44189295@N06/
I'll upload more soon. They are putting in steps faster than I can find time to play.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Stumpy

5+    4/2/2008   1/13/2009
Review By: _.-Dut-._
Played: 50  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 16 Years
9 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Multiple Tee's add distance and a variety of lines to most of the holes. Several holes are elevated and Pin placements are on hills increasing the challenge of the course by adding a risk/reward if you find yourself left with a long putt/approach. The park also offers restrooms, vending machines, and water fountains.
Cons: Teesigns leave alot to be desired, hole 5 acctually has it planted directly infront of the teebox. Fairly long walks between holes and some overgrowth that could be trimmed would be the only negatives to the course.
Other Thoughts: Pretty nice course especially for being a nine hole. Back nine looks promising from what I have seen and I am sure I will be updating this to a higher rating when its completed.

9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Needs back nine

5+    10/1/2008   1/2/2009
Review By: willstradamus
Played: 32  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 16.2 Years
4 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads. Open Holes with white and blue tees which provide a big difference in distances. Great use of elevation changes. Can be enjoyed by beginners and experienced players alike.
Cons: Signs on blue tees are sometime in the way. Still only nine holes though the back nine is cut out. Terrain going from hole 1 to hole 2 can be slippery when wet. Course is not well kept in the summer time making it easy to lose discs. There is only one hole that offers a line other than strait (hole five turns right)
Other Thoughts: Cant wait for the back nine. It appears that the back will be treacherous with the same great use of elevation plus trees. There appears to be a long walk coming from hole 9 to 10.

4 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.