Mooresville, NC 
Stumpy Creek Share
Uploaded By: YonderScott Hole #4 (Taken 2/2009)
4 / 450ft.   4 / 450ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 home course

5+    10/13/2010   10/14/2010
Review By: aman13
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: its good for exersice
its a challaging course
its fun with a lot of people
it has an open and closed in setting
the more you play the easyer it gets
holes are spaced out good enough for other groups to be able to play and not worry about rushing anyone
nice park
has scorecards in the box at practice baskets
alwys able to see basket olny one that you can not(#10)
tee pads are nicly done
its a great place to play
Cons: no tee signs but they are coming
its alot of walking
you may loose a disc (if you have your name and number on it and it is found you will get it back)
theres not much bad about it

Other Thoughts: ive played this course a lot its my home course and i no it like the back of my hand its a sweet course and good for a days work out and with a couple of people its a funn place to play i think the creaters did a amazing job at it and everyone that help him put the tee pads in

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 stumpy delivers

5+    8/14/2010   8/15/2010
Review By: hogleggbob
Played: 96  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 8.2 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: terrain....the use of elevation is this courses biggest factor. challenging lines for the average player. new concrete pads on all but 4 pads. nice steps through out the course to help you with all the up and down fairways.
Cons: there needs to be a couple more benches out here, cause it is a hike. lots of uphill shots so be prepared for a work out. trash cans on a few more holes would be nice.
Other Thoughts: i played the longs out here the last time i played ,and thought the course was very challenging. tight, long fairways on most of the wooded holes. alot of the holes required the same shot...straight down the middle. great course outside of charlotte. the amount of work that went in here shows...

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 More like Spider Gorge

1    8/11/2010   8/12/2010
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 130  Reviewed: 127  Exp: 9.2 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tough, solid course that's 3/4 wooded, the open holes play around the various sports fields. Short and long tees on nearly every hole, better than average variety from left to right (hyzers, anhyzers, straight, etc). A good mix of distances as well, with short holes being cleverly designed, such as the elevated basket on hole 8. Lots of elevation in play, you're constantly throwing up and down the hills. Fairways are still fairly rough around the edges but very playable.

What really shines here are the little things done to facilitate walking and navigation, such as steps, erosion control measures, cedar chip paths, etc. Very nice touches that don't take away too much from the naturalness of the woods. A very secluded course once your in the woods (after hole #2), the duck definitely flies at midnight I'd imagine.

Not all the tees are in yet, roughly half, but the ones that are in are great. Very smooth and long enough for those of us that need a runway. Tee signage is still temporary I think but it gets the job done.
Cons: Be prepared to make some spiders homeless if your disc leaves the fairway.

The elevation makes this a great course if you're a running back looking for a workout, it's constantly up and down, up and down. It's even worse than Ashe Co., which is in the mountains. This isn't necessarily a knock on the course, I'm just advising the more out of shape disc golfers to be prepared for a workout.

What the elevation does do is make the holes, particularly the wooded holes, seem a little repetitive. Another concern is that open holes have ball fields very much in play on virtually all of them.

Navigation/flow: There's some tricky spots thanks to a plethora of little trails randomly crisscrossing between holes, but the next tee signs do a good job of pointing you in the right direction. Many of the open holes could use some next tee signs, especially on the back 9 where it's not apparent where to go around the fields. There's also an excruciatingly long walk to hole 15(?), but the "beware of dinosaur" sign along the way provides some levity.

Some of the fairways are pretty tight, but that's characteristic of Charlotte courses. Still, it's definitely not aimed at beginners who prefer a spray and pray style of pitch and putt.

The open holes were kind of meh, but a nice change of pace from the woods.

A little bit of litter here and there, hopefully some more respectful golfers will use the trash cans provided on a few of the holes.
Other Thoughts: This is a really good course and I'm excited by the work that's being put into it. The designers deserve a pat on the back overall, as soon as all the tees are put in this course is a 4.0 easy. It's mostly challenging in a good way, the wooded holes are pleasant and secluded (except for the spiders), and it's quite a hike for 18 holes. I'm not a big fan of ball fields being in play but most seasoned golfers worth their salt shouldn't end up taking out a Little Leaguer or soccer player.

Needs benches!!!! My out of shape arse was exhausted by hole 5 (I spent 15 minutes looking for a disc up and down the hillside in the humidity).

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 traveling player review

1    3/29/2010   5/16/2010
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 830  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 28.4 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Two sets of tees. (We played shorts after getting input that, "many longs seem long for the sake of being long"). Short tees provided nice blue player level course.
A bunch of "tunnel" (narrow, tight fairway) shots to test accuracy.
Two extreme elevated baskets (one more than 7 foot above ground/I'm happy to say I deuced the first one from short tee).
Good signage (I believe this is a recent improvement) with correct footage and great next tee info. (except for #17 and #18).
Long tees appeared to provide Gold level players with a challenge.
Cons: Long tees did somewhat appear to long for the sake of long. However, without playing them; I am giving designer the benefit of the doubt. Locals may only give this one a 3 rating; you will have to read their input, come and play, and decide for yourself. It is at least a three rated course; and therefore, worth a trip.
Gate was closed off in March; but no signs or anything prohibiting us from entering; and was no big deal to get to course.
A couple of longer walks between holes. Again, no big issue for me. Walks were marked well (with the exception of #16 and #17/which I imagine has already been corrected).
We were here in March. I imagine all of the courses in this area (2 hour radius of Charlotte), have the potential for big undergrowth issues during summer months. Course maintenance will probably vary between courses. In any event, I suggest keeping a sharp eye on plastic, and bug spray is probably also a must. Fluids, a good idea.
Mental toughness necessary for an enjoyable round on most of Stan's courses. Long tees here would fit that prepared.
Other Thoughts: This is a course still in a bit of transition. One of the many courses being improved in the Charlotte area; on a nearly weekly basis. Stan McDaniel designs have found a place in my heart as some of the best in the country, and Stumpy is no exception. He uses land available to him in wonderful manner; and this one is no exception. Even though we chose not to play long tees; I can say with near certainty, that these will be enjoyed by Gold level players. If you're a local, I know you're thinking, these are pretty general ideas; but, heh, a traveling player can only add what input he can. Navigation was easy, course was fun and challenging.
I tend to reserve 3.5's for quite quality courses; and even though I would recommend Renny, Hornets, Nevin, Ashe, some of the HGT courses, etc.; higher than Stumpy; I am still giving this one a 3.5. In other words, a two hour radius around Charlotte is filled with top quality, and Stumpy fits the description....

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Great course that has most everything

1    3/14/2010   3/15/2010
Review By: DiscChainBasket18
Played: 96  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 12.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has just about everything I like! Clean, multi-use park type setting. Great mix of open & tightly wooded shots. Long & short drives. Good elevation changes with long & short up & downhill shots. Huge concrete tee pads (on most holes). Sturdy wood beam landscaping frames some of the baskets & provides safe steps up & down the hills. Long & short tee pads on a majority of holes. The second pad is enough of a change to make it a challenge. Plenty of 'next tee' signage & directional arrows.
Cons: No benches. The tee signs needed work. If you didn't have a map, some of the basket locations are difficult to find. Hole #6 is hard to see players finishing up their putts. Check before throwing. Some tee pads were dirt or framed earth (will be concrete soon I would guess). Could use a couple more trash cans.
Other Thoughts: We played the 'long' tees. The course wraps around the perimeter of this multi-use complex so the disc golf play is kept separate. They have any possible conflict areas protected by OB markers. I can't wait to go back!
Favorite holes: #13. It is a long gauntlet across a valley of possible fame or misfortune!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Don't knock it til you've tried it.

1    2/17/2010   2/17/2010
Review By: chdg
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I really enjoyed the great variety this course offers.

Tight turning fairways in the woods.

Excellent use of elevation changes.

Challenging pin placements.

Good mix of short technical holes, and a few "grip it and rip it" holes.

I can't wait to go back to try and top my score.
Cons: There's a mix of concrete and natural pads, the natural pads were really muddy (but...snow had just finished melting, and the mulch kept it from being nearly as bad as i could have been).

The tee maps leave something to the imagination.

Look out for "holes" left from old rotted stumps...some of the terrain is a little treacherous for walking.
Other Thoughts: This course far exceeded my expectations.

A LOT of fun.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Stumpy Creek

1    12/15/2009   12/16/2009
Review By: thebear021980
Played: 23  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 21.5 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nice use of woods and elevation change for holes 2 - 13. Good mix of drive lengths and styles. Nice course maintenance concerning steps and walkways, it was wet, so this was helpful.
Cons: Needs concrete tee pads, better signage, etc.
Other Thoughts: One reason I give Stumpy Creek a 3 is the fact that you are playing around the baseball fields so much (approx. 7 holes). Not a fan of that.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Stumpy Creek fun

5+    7/29/2010   9/2/2009
Review By: newhuck
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/12/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course now has 18 different holes and was very challenging. I am from CA and this was my first experience with NC disc golf. The terrain is heavily wooded and favors a long accurate throw. I spent a lot of time finding my disc that had veered from the fairway. I would recommend hiking style shoes or boots for this course. Miraculously i did not get a bug bite despite having to go through 100 spider webs while searching for discs. Holes 1 and 2 shoot from open field into the woods and from 3-13 you are in for a treat. I was playing mid afternoon in the summer and the canopy from the trees kept it nice. Bing lots of water you'll be glad you did.

1 year later, I am back to stumpy and although my game has improved this course is still tough, but very fun. Yes you need to wear shoes with good grip and the cement tees are coming this weekend I believe. Very peaceful and serene in the woods, great effort has been made on a course of this caliber that gets very little play. Kudos to the designers, I played a number of their other courses this trip and all were great.
Cons: Tried to play the first saturday and sunday of the month and there was a 2 day triathalon taking place. I played the first day,but had to start hole 1 with a drive over windshields and cars. Holes 14-18 were in the path of the finish for the running portion of the event and I ended up not playing them. I went back on sunday to find the same mess. I don't know the schedule, but my guess is maybe they do this the first weekend of the month, but I don't know if its every month or just summer. I was there in August.
Other Thoughts: Park at closest parking lot to woods, near beverage shack. Walk up hill to top of park, you'll see tee with distance details. Hole 2 is right up from hole 1 another shot from clear field into woods then follow the most beaten trail and look for signs pointing to next hole. The course design is really great. Unless you are great I wouldn't bother keeping score its tough. Be thankful if you manage a few birdies but be prepared for double bogeys.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


5+    5/27/2009   5/27/2009
Review By: honeycu4
Played: 53  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 20.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice length and dual tee pads on orginal nine holes. Recently expanded to 18 holes with new holes carved out of dense woods. New nine are very challenging with substantial elevation changes. With expansion to 18 provides nice mix of wooded and open holes. From pro tee pads many holes are legit par 4's.
Cons: New nine currently do not have tee pads and terrain is tricky because it has not been played alot. A few holes have long walks between holes.
Other Thoughts: Course will rate much higher once tee pads are in on new nine and course gets played alot to better carve out woods and paths. Bring water as new nine go up and down through a large valley. Located just steps away from Lake Norman.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


1    4/24/2009   4/24/2009
Review By: wk jester
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.7 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: ok, so 1st... any "harshness" in this review is ment only in jest/good humor.

hats off to the SOB who designed this thing,,, are you kidding me? you are just sick! i had no idea there were even hills this big in mooresville!!
1. beautiful course with lots of potential
2. well marked directions. based on previous posts, it seems that this used to be an issue? there is still some confusion because its hard to remove spraypaint from trees, so i think some of the old arrows are confusing... but if you follow the new white wooden arrows that say "new hole #2" etc... youre fine.
3. nice drawings of each hole at each tee location
4. good risk/reward... if you can throw long dirves (there are several over 450' - 600') and can be accurate, you will be good! if you tank in the woods, its a rough go... but, its fun either way.
Cons: 5. clearly project work is still being done. several tees dont have concrete pads yet, but its clear that the course is moving forward. several of the baskets are BRAND new... there has been nice work to line the trail edges with logs etc to make the path visible.
6. ITS FREAKING STEEP!!! seriously, bring a nalgene of water, this course is no joke!
Other Thoughts: If you want to go for a hike, and "happen" to play disc golf while youre there.. then this is a great course! if you want to play for the sake of playing, and the challenge of hilly terrain isnt your thing... then maybe hornets nest or reedy creek is a better choice.

i look forward to playing this course more, and i guess im just gonna have to get my *** in shape...

one last "pro", so far this is a diamond in the rough! noone seems to know much about it, so there was noone else out there, no waiting to play thru etc. it was very nice!
best of luck to all!!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.