Monroe, WA 
Tall Firs DGC Share
Uploaded By: johnrhouck Hole #12 (Taken 8/2014)
3 / 234ft.   3 / 299ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Blue Tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
PLAY THIS COURSE!

5+    12/13/2014   12/14/2014
Review By: TheMinnesotan
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Accessibility: This course is great for all kinds of players.

-Shot/hole types: Tall Firs offers a variety of shot options, forcing players to really "think" about their shots. The course also offers varying hole lengths from short ace run par 3s to a towering par 5 that will mandate perfection from any tee in order to birdie.

-Navigation: The course is easy to maneuver. Baskets are marked with tall yellow flags on top. The tee pad signage is some of the best I have ever seen with clearly marked OB and mandos. The fairways are cut well from tee to basket and give players a clear picture of each hole.

-Atmosphere: The course is CLEAN! You will not find trash laying around this property. The staff and local players are friendly and respectful.

-Events: this was not a "set it and forget it" course as one finds with many city parks. This course is constantly holding events from glow nights to random doubles (Saturdays). There is always something going on!

-Pro Shop: Fully stocked with Westside Discs! I had never thrown Westside before so I took out one of the free loner discs (pretty much every mold is available to try) for a round and I am now a believer! The gentleman who runs the property is extremely friendly and shows a true love for the game. If you play the course make sure to stop in and say hi, you will not be disappointed!

-Parking: The property has its own parking lot that is at very minimal risk of catching a stray disc.

-Coffee: the free coffee is always hot!
Cons: -Open spaces: Much of the front 9 is wide open with few obstacles. With that said, all we have to do for this to change is wait. Many trees have been planted in what will end up being very tricky locations throughout the course. This course will get harder as time goes on.
Other Thoughts: I grew up playing ball golf. I played on my high school team, worked at the local course, and played in numerous leagues. Tall Firs has all of the amenities that I came to love about ball golf. I play better at Tall Firs because of the professional atmosphere. This course really aims to have a player "think" about each hole adding a whole other element to the round. Sometimes the best line is not blatantly obvious. This is not some city park where you have to clear beer cans from your lie. This is a well manicured course that will challenge and excite players of all skill levels all while holding the sport to the highest standard of excellence.

The $5 greens fee for all day play is well worth it!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Finally, a great course on the Eastside!

2-4    10/6/2014   12/10/2014
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 184  Reviewed: 114  Exp: 22.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Started off the morning round with a thermal coffee pot and condiments waiting for us out on the registration table! Now that's a first class welcome.

They converted this from an old ball golf course and went and planted dozens and dozens of cedar trees to help shape the course. It's a pretty piece of land that will certainly mature into a better course over time.

Giant fir trees are scattered about the land and one hole has a nice little pond that is the backdrop for a short downhill hole that you will want to run the ace, but probably shouldn't! The course is well manicured with large fairways with nice tall grass dividing fairways. The tall grass is fair ground, but the neighboring fairways are OB. The course has a lot of joy for long arms, but enough short ones to balance things out. I thought the designer (Houck) did a nice job with the land.

The dual tees were a very nice touch -making a big difference in challenge from long to short. Hole #3 is special - the short tee starts at the beginning of an alley of "Tall Firs", but the long tee starts around 100 feet further, making the firs like a double mando bottleneck. It takes an already interesting hole to another (but tougher) level.

Pins were often placed on little hills to make the putts nerve wracking.
Cons: This is not a con so much as a wish - for those little cedar trees to mature. Some of the holes were a bit too wide open for my likes. Just not enough obstacles on some holes to punish errant shots. Honestly, I thought the tall grass should be OB until many trees mature.
Other Thoughts: The hospitality by Paul was exceptional. He sells discs in his pro shop and will even let you test drive the molds during your visit!

As trees mature this course should get even better. As it stands, I think the course rates a 3.5, but I just could not help but give Tall Firs a half point more for the amenities and spirit.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Long fairways are big fun

1    12/9/2014   12/9/2014
Review By: World Eater
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tall Firs in Monroe, Wa is a premier, dedicated 18 hole disc golf course from one of the worlds best designers, John Houck. It is a different world from your city park style. Its truly wonderful to play a big beautiful course without randoms walking dogs or berserk children running through your line. Worth $5 every time.

• Signage is very good.
• Concrete tee pads.
• Most holes have blue and red tees.
• Good shot variety.
• Lots of long and wide open which is fun, and great for practicing distance lines on the course.
• Great pro shop full of trilogy plastic with loaners that you can try before you buy.
• Paul Clark is a tremendous host and does an incredible job maintaining and improving this young course.
Cons:
• Some fairway overlap, but not a big issue.
• Long tee 5 gets wet and can be slippery which is a bummer because its a long fun drive when its dry.
• Some of the Red tee pads should be longer. Some of the Red pad positions are still over 400' so no reason to be shorter than the blues.
Other Thoughts:
This could be a pro or con depending on what you're looking for, but right now this course isnt the most challenging.

As the flora grows in and the pine sprouts turn in to great big trees the challenge of the course will grow.

For now, for me anyway, its a nice place to practice distance and have a fun, less frustrating day of DG.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Excellent repurposed ball golf course

1    11/23/2014   11/25/2014
Review By: 01guin
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.6 Years
Pros: + Excellent signage
+ Multiple tees on many holes
+ Pro shop on site has free coffee and loaner umbrellas
+ New DISCatcher baskets
+ Good variety of hole lengths
+ Some slight elevation changes
+ A few wooded holes
+ Wide fairways invite you to drive with all your might on the 500+ft par 4s
+ Visually appealing with the rolling hills, roughs, and occasional trees
+ Definitely worth the $5
Cons: - Not very challenging regarding shot variety--many holes are just wide open grass from tee to basket and the wooded holes have generous gaps
- I didn't mind the lack of benches as our group never had to wait, but it's true that there was no place to sit

First round

1    9/19/2014   10/20/2014
Review By: pnwooki
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 0.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: so everything is pretty great about this course
-mix of short technical and long let it fly tees
-lots of tees actually had a red and blue tee pad!
-every tee box has a map of the basket
-every basket has a flag and is clearly marked
-the roller net along the little pond is great kept my putter out of the weeds
-the $5 all day play fee is great, i am more than down to pay some guy for his time to make sure that I don't loose my disc is the weeds and that the baskets are clearly marked
Cons: -course flora needs a couple of years to reach maturity
-benches would be nice along a couple of spots
-a map at the beginning of the back 9 would be good its kind of confusing finding 10 on the side of the barn
-a net around the septic tank plot would be pretty cool...just saying
Other Thoughts: great course! the guy running the pro shop is super friendly, always willing the chat and talk about throwing discs and will probably go out for a few holes with you.
the pro shop could use some more variety but I'm sure that will come with time.
i got there early and there was even free coffee!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Wow.

1    8/27/2014   8/27/2014
Review By: GarrettDN
Played: 31  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 17.6 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Just a fantastic course. Thoughtfully laid out, lefty and righty mix, long and short, legitimate par 3, 4, and 5 holes, positively identifiable fairways (!)....the design is really great.
I usually find myself craving a longer course. This one made me feel like a cross of disc and ball golf, where you legitiamtely don't just drive and put.
This course will get much harder as the (freshly installed) trees mature.
Highly recommend playing.
Of note, they are fixing some of the gripes in other reviews: baskets are now labeled, there were maps out at the sign up so the jump to tee ten was no biggie.
Cons: Benches would be sweet, and the pad for 10 is kind of in the way for 3.
Other Thoughts: I drove about an hour. Well worth it. Layout wise this is one of the best, if not the absolute best, I have played.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

John Houck Designed Course Is Worth The $5!

1    8/25/2014   8/26/2014
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.6 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Everything about this course has been done first class with seemingly no expense spared. After playing the new course across town being built on a shoe string budget, this place felt like the Taj Mahal.
The course sits on the property of an old ball golf course just over a mile outside of Monroe. The property features a semi-well stocked Pro Shop and I understand a Bistro is in the works. The loaner box is a great idea if you want to try out a disc before buying. The $5 fee for unlimited all day play is more than reasonable. There is a red metal box for your donation if the Pro Shop is locked. Parking is plentiful and picnic tables are provided are the warm up area. There is also a fire pit for those chilly NW evenings.
There are two sets of tee pads. The blue were over-sized trapazoid shaped, concrete. The reds were concrete with a couple of rubber matted ones.
The signs were wonderful,John Houck design.
Houck did use every bit of the property to the fullest. The terrain is mostly flat with a touch of elevation and two holding ponds for water run off. These are both used to the max with the # 15 basket being placed right in front of the pond adding a slight pucker factor to that otherwise short easy downhill throw and then you have a fairly easy carry over the other pond on # 16.
75 trees have been planted on the property. I believe they're mostly Cedar (they're extremely grabby) and as they mature, they'll greatly add to the course's over-all challenge.
To add some challenge, Houck often has you teeing off through an initial tight opening. I think six of the first nine holes feature this aspect. Frankly, I found it a little tedious.
The course is fairly long, Par 63 from the Blues, but not overly difficult. Even from the longer Blues, it doesn't compare in difficulty to Sea Tac, Shelton or Steilacoom.
# 13 with it's it's 909' length, right dogleg, Mandos and trees was a challenging hole for a old duffer such as myself.
Cons: I followed a group ahead of me so didn't have to concern myself with about navigation issues but there are a few. The long walkout from 9 to the red barn for # 10.
Blue # 6 is confusing. looking out from the tee box, you see three baskets including one straight ahead just past the big fir tree. Wrong, You're throwing to the basket to the right!
Walking up to hole ? while players were throwing down # 10, I almost got drilled. Keep your eyes open here guys.
Some benches would be great and I'm sure they're forthcoming.
A sani-can would be nice over by the red building. I kept looking for a place to go and almost everywhere is visible from the surrounding houses.
Other Thoughts: What a great addition to Washington's stable of courses. Thank you John Houck for your design and to Paul Clark for making this happen. My only selfish thought is, I wish they could have built it in Pierce County somewhere.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Worth the drive and the money

2-4    8/25/2014   8/25/2014
Review By: b-mart
Played: 47  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 4.4 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It took well over a year of rumors and false start dates for it to happen, but the rumors turned out to be true. John Houck was designing a pay to play course in Monroe, and it was going to be a doozy. I chose to avoid the crowds of opening weekend and instead sat in fair traffic on a Monday to get my rounds in. I've gotta say: I'm impressed.

Houck clearly knows what he's doing. To those uneducated in the world of disc golf course design, the man is a legend. This was the first Houck course that I've played (to my knowledge), but if it's any indication of what he does? I definitely want to play some others. So about those pros:

Equipment - The baskets are fresh out of the box, so no complaints here. It seems that the DisCatcher has gotten deeper, but it catches just as well. Putting tall flags on top of each one was great as well. A friend of mine had his high putts stopped by those flag poles at least three times today, but that isn't why they're great. They just make the baskets easier to spot on those longer holes.

Teepads - The teepads on the blue tees are impeccable. They start out wide in the back and taper to a normal width at the front, so the player has a multitude of options for how to approach their drive. The red tees were okay, but clearly weren't the prime focus when everything was being installed. All of the pads were textured, with the exception of the two rubber pads on the course (both red tees). You won't have to worry about grip even on the rainiest of days.

Signage - The signs are beautiful and offer a good idea of where you're throwing. I would have almost preferred satellite images, but these are beautiful. Every sign also gives credit to John Houck as the course designer.

Variation - Houck used every inch of the land here, and it never gets repetitive. You have your longer holes like 1 and 18, your uber long holes like 13, and some stupidly short holes like 4. The easy holes that are randomly thrown into the round allow you to either drive your score down or get your feet back under you after a bad hole or two. I like the variation. We don't need another SeaTac (original 18). He also brings the elevation into play whenever possible, places baskets on sloped greens, and even places one right beside the pond. Hole 15 might be my favorite one on the course just because of the risk/reward ratio. It's an easy ace run, but with the pond right behind it and downhill it's just plain fun. You also get to throw across the pond on the blue 16, but it isn't really a challenging throw. Think hole 1 at Lakewood. Of course there are shots for all types as well. Right and left turning, long S-curves, big hyzer lines, short hyzer lines, etc. There's also a decent amount of variety between the red and blue tees. Even the ones that are only a few feet apart offer different looks around trees or bushes.

Design - I've pretty well covered the design already. I do have to say that I like the inclusion of so many mandos and OB though. Otherwise it would be a fairly open course and would get boring. Having these also makes shot placement much more important than it otherwise would be. It's obvious that the designers had a big budget here. A lot of the fairways that would have just been stupidly open have trees freshly planted in them. Once these trees grow in it will really add complexity to this course.

Amenities - The pro shop lacks variety in discs. If you don't throw Prodiscus or Westside you're out of luck. But it's there, it sells beverages and some snacks, and even has a "loaner box" which I've never seen before. He also has tester discs if you want to try before you buy. The course has bathrooms and three practice baskets (two are hidden over by the 13 teepad). My favorite feature on the course was probably the kids selling water, granola bars, and Gatorade out of their backyard by 14. They saw a need and filled it. I fully endorse supporting them even if they have nothing to do with the course at all.
Cons: You probably didn't think I'd ever get to the cons, did you? Well I have. And they're here. It's a new course, so I'm sure that many of these will be fixed in time. But they must be pointed out anyway. Keep in mind that I don't allow some of these "cons" to affect my rating (cost, lack of certain amenities, etc), but I still include them because I try to review this for any reader… Not just hardcore discers. So I'll start with those that don't affect the rating:

Cost - Tall Firs is absolutely worth $5 a day. You can pay, play, leave, and come back without being charged again. The grounds are in great shape, and as long as they stay that way I won't have a problem with paying. It's only when you're charged to play and upkeep suffers that I have a problem with it. Being charged is not a con. If you think it is, go somewhere else.

Amenities - Being a pay to play course, I would expect some basic services to be provided, like trash cans and benches. I'm sure that this will be fixed in time, but as of right now the course is trash can free (not trash free sadly) and bench free. The bathrooms are by the pro shop, but we didn't notice that until we'd complained about peeing on a tree or five. So remember that they're there.

Now on to the real cons (many of which are included in "pros" too):

Equipment - The course is three days old and a few of the baskets are already askew. I don't know who's been climbing on them, but knock it off! Whoever runs the place should do equipment checks at least weekly to make sure that everything is still pristine. I hope that they do.

Teepads - I have no complaints about the blue tees. The red ones really do seem like an afterthought though, and many of them are too short. Take hole 13 for example: It's "short" at 700+'. We still need a decent runup for a shot like that, so why not provide a full length teepad?

Navigation - While all of the signs are lovely and there are maps available at the pro shop, navigation was a chore at times. None of the baskets are marked with anything other than the Innova logo, and none of them have tape to guide you to the next hole either. It's relatively easy to find your way around, but tape and numbers would go a long way. Throwing a disc in the general direction of three unmarked baskets can be a bit maddening for a first timer. It would also help if the rough, mandos, and OB were more clearly marked. I'm sure that over time the rough will grow in more and be more obvious, but right now it's hard to tell where you aren't supposed to throw without walking the full hole in advance.

Flow - The course flows really well overall. There are a few unnecessarily long walkouts though. While these walkouts lead to some fun holes, they still have to be noted. The walk from 9 to 10 is the most confusing. See my "Other Thoughts" for tips on that.
Other Thoughts: Just a few tips:

-There's a red metal box by the pro shop for you to pay if nobody is there. It's on the honor system, but do it. We want to keep this course. So bring cash just in case there's nobody there.

-The walkout from 9 to 10: If you're at the 9 basket, look to your left along the fence and then follow that asphalt path. You'll see that red building by the 3 fairway. The 10 tee is right there (red and blue combined).

-The walkout from 12 to 13: If you're playing the blue, cut through the parking lot toward those random baskets over there. You'll see the teepad just on the other side of the parking lot. If you're playing the red, just walk straight past the basket that's just past 12. That's 18. You can see the teepad ahead of you and slightly to your left.

-The walkout from 15 to 16: Go counterclockwise around the pond to the blue, and clockwise to the red. Blue is way more fun.

This course is great for the area. It offers something for every level of player except complete beginners. Being in Monroe (a haul from just about anywhere) and being pay to play means that it won't get overcrowded by those players who have no regard for anything. You know who I'm talking about: The people who take over the course, carry two discs in a shopping bag, throw their trash on the ground, and refuse to acknowledge that anyone else is there. Those people won't frequent this course, and I love that. Is it the best course I've ever played? Not by a long shot. But it finally gives us people up north somewhere to play and improve our overall game (short, long, open, technical, etc) without having to drive all the way to Sedro Wooley, Lakewood, or Stilly. I'll definitely be back.


12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Beer is Allowed!

5+    9/27/2014   8/25/2014
Review By: Sweet
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/1/2014
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *They sell beer in the pro shop. The course is considered a golf course, so beer is allowed in the pro shop and on the course. No beer in the parking lot or at the picnic benches.
*Night disc golf. They sell the little LED lights for your disc. The first 9 holes are playable, with lighted baskets and tee pads. Quarter moon last night, so it was tough to navigate. I'd suggest playing in the daylight first so you know the course. It is really nice having a night disc golf place already set up and ready to play. It's surprisingly easier to find your discs at night.
*Brand new Innova baskets with flags
*3 practice baskets. Two near the pro shop. One other by the blue 13th tee box on the other side of the pro shop building.
*Driving practice net. You can huck your discs and not have to chase them!
*Great signage and concrete tees (some rubber mats).
Cons: *Blue hole six is confusing. It looks like you're shooting at the basket under the big tree, but its the basket to the right of that big tree (there is a red maple 100-150' in front of it)14
*No benches. Opening weekend, there was some waiting time when teeing off. I might need to invest in a chair. Some shade can be found near most tees.
*It can be dangerous when walking from hole 9 to 10 on the cart path. Blue tee #1 drives across that cart path. *New route from 9 takes you to the parking lot and proshop. Then you can take a safe route to 10.
Other Thoughts: *$5 green fees per day. You can come and go as you please and you can play as many rounds as you want.
*Night DG on Saturday nights.
*Weekly random doubles at 10:15 on Saturday mornings. $12 entry fee (includes the greens fees)
*Facebook page for updates.
*Has a "Links" course feel. Fairways are in full view of each other.
The course has a feel of Lakewood (West Seattle) old golf course with rolling fairways, water hazards and sandtraps. Short open and wooded holes like Howling Coyote and Silver Lake. Great course, it will get tougher as the trees grow up.

I had a great time! I only played the red tees and scored pretty well. Blue tees are next!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Worth the Price of Admission

2-4    8/23/2014   8/25/2014
Review By: erikktlog
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tall Firs has something for everyone. Red Tees for beginners and rec players. Blue Tees for the intermediate and up. It's got length which is unique compared to surrounding courses. Tight tree lines, winding open Par 4's, an epic Par 5. I was expecting it to be longer to be honest, but John Houck has designed a course that rewards great shots and punishes bad ones. Every new course should subscribe to acheive that goal. Love the slopey pin locations too. Played 4 rounds and never got bored

Other Pros:
- $5 admission lets you play all day!
- Great Signage
- Flow of the course is easy to follow and doesn't put the surrounding homes in danger (Except a tiny bit on the Par 5 13, so be aware, don't be a hero and try to throw over homes or retrieve your disc from peoples yards)

- DISCatcher Baskets (Personal Favorite) with flags
- Outstanding Variety of Holes
- Pro Shop and Bistro under construction, looking forward to that!
Cons: - The tight alleyway with Holes 2,3, and 10. Gets congested especially when it's crowded. Gotta keep your head on a swivel in these areas and be aware of other golfers.

- There's a walking path that cuts across about 4 fairways that goes from Hole 9 to 10. I'm sure they'll find a way to remedy this.

- Red tee Pars are a bit generous, but I love the fact these are designed to get beginners involved.
Other Thoughts: It's a beautiful, challenging, and picturesque course, well worth the $5. The par 5 Hole 13 and par 4 16 over the pond are my personal favs.

Please be courteous to surrounding residents that border the course, to grow the sport we gotta show these people this is a legit sport.

Happy Huckin'

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.