Ludington, MI 
Mason County Park - Beauty Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1
3 / 302ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Killer

1    8/18/2012   4/30/2013
Review By: bygwyllay
Played: 81  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 7.2 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: First off, let's just say the Mason County Threesome is the most ridiculous DG complex I've ever seen. The expanse is vast, and almost all of it is exclusive to the game. A long drive connects the road to the main parking area, where all the courses begin. Beauty stands alone, and plays back towards the road. Beast/Goliath head in the opposite direction, and offer a much different experience.

Beauty was my favourite. One of the most natural courses I've played, it was a nice touch to see how well it blended in with the surrounding forest. The first eight holes have you cross the road a couple of times, but this is the only time it takes you out of the element. Great line shaping is required here, making sure you hold true despite the open feel to these beginning holes. My favourite shot was #7, which has you firing over the road and into the woods, where you continue your round. If you don't land your drive just right, you will have a completely blind approach into the forest and will most likely play a safe shot, costing you a stroke.

Deeper and deeper into the pristine woodlands you go, feeling farther away from civilization. Some of the most breathtaking holes exist in here. Beauty is the most naturally scenic course I've had the pleasure to play through. #9 & #12 were my two favourites in here; the former an epic twister and the latter a forked adventure down and up to the pin. #17 is a bouncing trip over waves of land; I could hear Children laughing as they played by the nearby pavilion, adding to the Neverland atmosphere.

I really enjoyed the vignette of holes breaking up 17 & 18; much more technical and cramped, these three holes can really affect the outcome of the round, and are a helluva lead in to #18's massive uphill launch. Unless you've got a sizable lead, no score is safe here. And 18 is a great finisher, tying everything together as you are once more out of the woods. And since you're already half way up the massive hill that Beast begins on, you might as well keep on hikin'! Great setup all the way around.
Cons: Aside from the short tees, not a damn thing wrong with this place.
Other Thoughts: The course and hole design are A+ and it was such a great experience. We played Beauty in the AM and Beast in the PM. Like I said to start, Beauty is the best course in the best DG complex in the state. Obviously well maintained; these folks care about upkeep. Thanks for building these! Will definitely be back

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course!

2-4    5/21/2010   5/23/2010
Review By: Jax11
Played: 94  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 5.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great wooded holes with multiple line choices.
- Short but challenging.
- Navigation was simple
- Tee signs had hole number and distance written, tthey were rather crude, but they were sufficient.
- Nice transitions in and out of the woods.
- Great variety of shots.
- Very neat wooded and hilly landscape.
- The baskets are in solid shape.
- Course stays dry even through light rainfall.
Cons: - Tee pads are way too small and favor a stand still technique. Some also had edges of dirt or roots at the end that are just waiting to cause and injury.
- Some tee signs were missing the distance.
- Bugs can get bad.
- Gates to the course only open between Memorial Day and Labor Day.
Other Thoughts: My group played this course through a light rain directly after Beast. I found this course more enjoyable then Beast. The tee pads are terrible though, They are too small and some are sunken. I recommend preparing a stand still throw before playing this course if you don't already throw like that. This course could be pushed to a 5/5 for me if the tee pads were better, the tee signs were better and scorecards were provided. If you had to pick one Mason county course to play I would chose Beauty. The Mason County Courses are definitely worth traveling to. They are memorable and make for a great day of disc golf.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/18/2009   10/18/2009
Review By: adamkgourley
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great course, nice hike through through the woods and park

Elevation changes truly made each hole exciting and challenging.

Clean and well maintained course

Plenty of people playing on the course--very pleasant
Cons: Had a hard time finding each hole

For a fairly new beginner didn't really have problems with course

I thought too many blind holes for no maps at the tee-pad's (also had a couple of goles that were marked wrong, I think)

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Quite a Beauty!

2-4    5/2/2009   5/20/2009
Review By: volklgirl
Played: 67  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/28/2011
8 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beauty sits in a scenic multi-use park with plenty of discing opportunities for everyone of all ability levels (3 different 24-hole courses).

This is a great course for a group of mixed abilities. Longer, open field holes give the power throwers a chance to shine while the wooded holes reward the shorter but more accurate throwers. All the wooded holes have definite fairways and most have multiple routes to the pin. I loved that there are no toss-n-pray pinball holes here. Strong wind off Lake Michigan is in play on some of the wide open holes and there are plenty of varied challenges for everyone! The course and surrounding park is very well maintained and there were very few places with thick shule in the rough.

This course is a nice balance of open, partially wooded, and thickly wooded holes with plenty of elevation changes for added fun. The course layout makes excellent use of all the myriad of terrain and vegetation changes available on its end of the park and incorporates a great mix of straight, fade, turn, "S", dogleg, and even J-hook shots. There are many blind shots here due to either foliage or rolling terrain changes, adding tot he challenge factor significantly. However, the wide and well defined fairways and lack of any really heavy shule makes the blind holes fun rather than frustrating. Chances of losing a disc here are pretty minimal. Paths between holes were well worn and obvious, for the most part.

The various entry points to the course were well marked and had rules signage, multi-course scorecards, and obvious pay-to-play boxes with a sufficient stash of envelopes.
Cons: Holy cow, that climb up to the #1 tee is a doozy!! Stairs of some sort would be really nice, but the view from there is amazing (although not quite as nice as from the Beast #1)!

Maps or more consistency in hole and "next tee" signage would be a benefit for first timers and cement tee pads for all the holes would earn this course a significant jump up in ratings. The alternate holes, while being some of the most interesting on the course, have a very definite "after thought" feel with minimalistic (often hand written) hole signage, few or no directional signs, non worn-in paths, and some rubber tee mats.

The main road into the park comes into play on at least 4 holes (2 along and 2 over), so watch for cars! Throwing along the road twice was bad enough, but having to throw across the road had me really scratching my head. Hikers and dog walkers also frequent areas in and around the disc golf courses.
Other Thoughts: We went early in the season, before the park was officially open so not all the scorecard boxes actually had cards in them and the restrooms were not open yet, but the supplied port-a-johns were clean and stink free. Even this early in the season the parking lot across the street was full by 3:00.

This scenic, well-kept park with great views of Lake Michigan is a fabulous place bring a picnic and hang out for the day! If you plan to stay all day you may want to pack a light jacket/sweater/hoody as the cold wind off the lake tends to pick up later in the day making sweaty, sunburned bodies chilly. When taken as a whole, the combination of courses at this park would rate at least a 4.5 or 5, and a minimal amount of course work and attention to detail would elevate this to a 5. However, as a first timer there, the frustration of trying to find our way around really took some of the joy out of being here.

*** Update 10/12/09 ***
A second round here with some knowledge of course layout and pin placement made for a much more enjoyable day. The course was once again really clean of trash although there was lots of downed leaves and branches from recent storms. Also, there are no facilities available in the park now that the building is closed for fall and we had a really unpleasant experience with a group behind us and their 2 out-of-control dogs. I LOVE dogs, but not everyone does, and even I was irritated by these 2 constantly following us, barking while putting and driving, and then having to listen to the owners hollering at them at the top of their lungs. Argh! If your pets won't stay close, PLEASE leash them!!!!

*** Update 7/23/11 ***
All tee pads have been updated to concrete although many are shorter than you'd expect. many, many small, low, red "Next Tee" signs have been added along the course making navigation MUCH easier. These 2 changes alone have inspired me to raise my rating a bit as this makes the course much more enjoyable.

However, I still argue that incorrect, shabby, and missing signage on many holes takes away some of the enjoyment and I feel it's absolutely inexcusable for a county park pay-to-play course. Ditto for the trash we picked up along the way.

8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  A short, tactical course

5+    10/10/2008   1/16/2009
Review By: atwork
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Well-maintained, quick to play a round. Start at either the first or 6th hole. Difficult to lose a disc on a bad throw.
Cons: Might be too difficult for first timers - lots of trees, especially on the 3rd hole. LOTS of bugs.
Other Thoughts: This course is a great warmup for the 2 other courses on-site, Beast and Goliath. You can play through Beauty in about 45 minutes if you don't have to wait for other people. During nice days in the summer, this place is always busy.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.