Ludington, MI 
Mason County Park - Beast Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 279ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 Pay to Play

2-4    4/30/2010   6/19/2010
Review By: mklahre
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: well marked.
it is tough but the best suited for my type of lefty play.
it has lots of diffrent types.
keeps you interested and slightly chalanged.
there is more then one course here so once you are done you can go on to another one.

Cons: if you get a disc not on the "fairway" on some holes most of the time you will not see it again. I have lost a total of 3 discs on this course in one round, no other has gone even close.
not many trash cans along the course.
Other Thoughts: this the bst marked of all the courses in mason county park. I got lost once on both of the other ones.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 The Beast

2-4    5/21/2010   5/23/2010
Review By: Jax11
Played: 95  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/12/2011
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Epic elevation changes
- Well groomed and defined fairways.
- Some very memorable holes.
- Great tee signs with distance and hole number posted
- Challenging and interesting holes that utilize the terrain brilliantly
- I felt like each hole was a new and interesting challenge
- Some long holes with air space to really let some rip.
- Contained some smaller more technical holes.
- The park was very clean and tidy.
Cons: - Several tee pads are too short and have steep drop offs
- Wind can be tricky
- The main gate is only open between Memorial Day and Labor day
- Same with the bathrooms.
- Some of the brush is thick and seems to swallow discs, watch your disc finish to avoid losing one.
Other Thoughts: Beast is a great course, fitting it's name, most of the holes play much longer then the posted distances. Those who are new or don't throw very long may be frustrated by some of the longer holes. Though the fairways are defined there is enough aerial space to throw some long sweeping hyzers or anhyzers allowing for great variety. My group played through a light rain most of the round and the tee pads were not slick, and we still had a great time. #1, #3, D, and #18 are all highly memorable holes. Better tee pads, an open gate, and scorecards could push this course to a 5/5 for me. Coupled with Beauty, and Goliath (never played Goliath) the Mason County courses are definitely worth traveling to play.

*Update: My family visited the Mason County courses again the March and they had nice scorecards.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 One of those courses you never forget

5+    8/29/2009   12/24/2009
Review By: landon77
Played: 49  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 15 Years
This review was updated on 12/11/2010
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -
-Hole one is the most scenic hole I have ever played!
-Great scenery
-24 holes of Epic disc golf.
-Most tees have concrete pads.
-Baskets are sufficent.
-Highly challenging, favors power, distance and accuracy.
-High FUN factor!!
-Never busy, land is quite large and groups spread out quickly.
-Polite locals who are willing to help you out if you ask them.
-GREAT elevation changes. You'll shoot downhill and uphill in this mighty course.
Cons: -
-Needs more benches, I'd like to take in the scenary,
-Windy days can be a hazard for your discs (it could also be a huge advantage).
-Needs better signage (navigation is an issue if you've never played it) and markers.
-No water holes, one hole in which you hit concrete is considered out of bounds. It does not make up for lack of H2O.
-Alternate holes have poor signs and not all have paved concrete tee pads.
-The rough is truly rough, sometimes a spotter can be worth it. There is tall grass that will consume your time looking for it. There are cliffs you shoot off blind.
-Overall the course needs better improvements to be 5.0, but still worth playing
-Navigation can be an issue, take your time the alternate holes are worth playing.
Other Thoughts: -
-One of the highest fun factors I have ever played.
-GREAT course for BIG throwers
-Fun double tourney course or single tourney course.
-Lots of wildlife and in close proximity.
-A truly great course and a destination spot for the state of Michigan. This park has 3 excellent courses and about 3 miles away Levithan awaits!
-Very fun course to play
-I LOVE this course, the holes are truly epic and memorable. You will be challenged at any skill level playing this course.
-Each hole is different and unique which in my opinion is the best thing about this course.
-Some of the best scenery for Disc golf awaits you here!
-I would love to give this course a 5.0, but improvements in anemities are necessary in order for it to be perfect.
-If you are in the area or are planning a trip this is a course WORTH playing!
-Remember there are 3 golf courses at this park so plan a full day for the great experience!

Dog friendly area. My dog chased a fawn around in a circle for 10 minutes on hole 1. I finally got her to stop chasing and the fawn made it safely out of the Rotts game. After the round she slept soundly.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Definitely a Winner

1    8/23/2009   8/24/2009
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 168  Reviewed: 136  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/29/2010
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The view from 1st tee!! (it's also a great hole to play, regardless of the view). You have to play this hole - the photos seem lame by comparison.

-Well suited to experienced players. Some holes make you pay for errant throws. Challenging, but still fun to play.
-Nice use of terrain to get wonderful. and well balanced shot variety. Not just a course for big arms (but distance definitely a plus on some holes).
-Those with a good tomahawk or thumber will find it useful on a few holes.
-Concrete pads on most holes.
-Not much repetition, each hole stands on its own.
-Score cards provided.
-Pavilion w/restrooms and picnic tables next to paved parking lot.
Cons: Navigation: more difficult than Beauty. Had trouble finding next tee on several holes (gets a bit more confusing on holes shared with Goliath). Couldn't find hole C at all.
-Some holes with no tee pads (A-F if I recall correctly).
-One hole required throwing across a road.
- Moderate possibility of losing a disc.

LOCALS: Course navigation could be greatly enhanced by painting the spoke on each basket that points the way to the next tee pad. Maybe one color for Beast, and another for Goliath.
Other Thoughts: Some will find the wind off the lake challenging, others frustrating. It definitely added some strokes to my score, but listing it as a "con" simply doesn't seem right. However, the ability to handle wind well would be a big plus on this course. Same with blind shots, and there are a few - not necessarily a con (although they increase chance of disc loss, which is always a negative).

An usual, but incredibly symbiotic relationship exists here: this is a county park, but the property is owned by the local utility company. Yet all 3 courses in the park were designed by and are COMPLETEY maintained by local enthusiasts entirely on their own, with no funding or assistance from the county or power company. EVERYTHING about this course is literally a grass-roots effort: from mowing and weed-whacking fairways (and you think you got it rough doing your yardwork?) to tee pads, signs, score cards, gas for the mowers, trimmer line, etc. All of it was and is done by them, paid for by player donations ($1/day), or out of their pockets. What a GREAT example of peaceful co-existence. Kudos to the locals for making this happen - a major win-win!!
P.S. If you're hungry after playing, well worth the 7 mile drive north into downtown Ludington to soak up some local hospitality and grab a great burger at the local micro-brewery.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Beauty's bigger brother.

2-4    5/2/2009   5/20/2009
Review By: volklgirl
Played: 76  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/28/2011
16 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Beast sits in a scenic multi-use park with plenty of discing opportunities for everyone of all ability levels (3 different 24-hole courses).

Beast definitely rewards power throwers with plenty of longer, open field holes and lots of uphill or downhill flight time. Beast's end of the park is closer to Lake Michigan making those wide open and elevated holes subject to some serious wind gusts. The long, free-flying drive from #1 is one of the highlights of this course, and is representative of its overall quality. The wooded and more closed-in holes on Beast offer more risk than those on Beauty, punishing errant throws pretty effectively with some seriously ugly lies. Beast also offers the challenge of a few blind holes for added fun. The course and surrounding park is very well maintained and there were very few places with ugly shule in the rough. Wooded holes are nicely thinned with definite fairways on most.

This course is a nice balance of open, partially wooded, and thickly wooded holes with plenty of elevation changes for added fun. The course layout makes excellent use of all the myriad of terrain and vegetation changes available on its end of the park and incorporates a great mix of straight, fade, turn, "S", dogleg, and even overhand shots. Paths between holes were well worn and obvious, for the most part.

The various entry points to the course were well marked and had rules signage, multi-course scorecards, and obvious pay-to-play boxes with a sufficient stash of envelopes.
Cons: Holy cow, that climb up to the #1 tee is a doozy!! Stairs of some sort would be really nice, but the view and drive from there is amazing!

More consistency in hole and "next tee" signage or a map would be a benefit for first timers and cement tee pads for all the holes would earn this course a significant jump up in ratings. The alternate holes have a very definite "after thought" feel with minimalistic (often hand written) hole signage, few directional signs, non worn-in paths, and rubber tee mats. We walked right by some holes a couple of times! The lack of good signage is particularly frustrating on Beast given the fact that Goliath plays in the same area. Arrrgh.

The main road into the park and a parking lot comes into play on a couple of holes, so watch for cars! Hikers and dog walkers also frequent areas in and around the disc golf courses.
Other Thoughts: We went early in the season, before the park was officially open so not all the scorecard boxes actually had cards in them and the restrooms were not open yet, but the supplied port-a-johns were clean and stink free. Even this early in the season, Beast was pretty busy and the parking lot across the street was full by 3:00.

This scenic, well-kept park with great views of Lake Michigan is a fabulous place bring a picnic and hang out for the day! If you plan to stay all day you may want to pack a light jacket/sweater/hoody as the cold wind off the lake tends to pick up later in the day making sweaty, sunburned bodies chilly. When taken as a whole, the combination of courses at this park would rate at least a 4 or 4.5, and a minimal amount of course work and attention to detail would elevate this to a 5. However, as a first timer there, the frustration of trying to find our way around really took some of the joy out of being here.

We also made the mistake of playing Beast after Beauty, late in the day. Not a bad idea in and of itself, but as the day got later, the wind picked up significantly making the holes on the lake end of the course quite a challenge.

*** Update 7/23/11 ***
All tee pads have been updated to concrete and a few "Next Tee" signs have been added. While this raises enjoyment of the course somewhat, I still feel missing tee signs and getting lost on a pay-to-play course of this caliber, in a county park, is inexcusable and beyond frustrating. That said, I have elevated my rating by 1/2 disc to reflect the changes.

16 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 The Beast

5+    6/11/2008   1/21/2009
Review By: adidas1986
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.4 Years
4 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This course is not as technical as what the beauty is, but more of a course to see what kind of big shots you can send out. Which can be a good thing to see how far you can really throw, just don't get careless lots of trees so it's not hard to lose a disk. Also this course has probably the hardest 140ft par 3 you will ever see, which I think is a great challenge. It's a great way to play and learn more inventive ways of playing in my opinion. The first hole of this course gives you a great view of lake michigan and just overall is a great looking course. Not really designed for beginners, but hey you have to get out and learn right. Come and throw this course you will have fun and get a great challenge.
Cons: Lots of trees and bushes, easy to lose a disc and poison ivy. Since you are next to lake michigan it can get very windy.

4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/15/2008   12/9/2008
Review By: DirtyMittenDG
Played: 108  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/9/2009
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Hole Variety/Course Layout--
Mostly a "big arm" course. Good amount of open holes with GOOD elevation, also alot of holes are open with random trees or bushes, still some good tech holes though!

Course Atmosphere--
THE BEST!! A very picturesque course with views of lake michigan and woods from hill tops. Very upnorth feel, youll probably feel like you want to camp on the course and play again the next day!!

Course Maintenance--
Good, the property is huge and theres no vandalism, very clean too. There are mostly concrete tee pads on every hole, but a few are rubber.
Cons:
Course Navigation--
The only con to this great park. There are no maps but it shouldnt take you too much extra time to locate the next hole in a few "iffy spots" (next time I go I will note and identify the "iffy" spots on this review).

--The only thing holding this course back from a 5 rating, is 6 more concrete tees and better signs.
Other Thoughts:
Hazards--
The rough can be thick in spots along the far edges but besides that theres no water or any other bad hazards.

--"Mason County Park" is amazing!! No one could go to this course and be upset (no matter how far you have to travel). This park as a whole (including Beauty, Beast, and Goliath) caters to all playing styles! If this courses rating was all in one and not 3 seperate im sure the overall rating would be a 5.

Amount to play--
$1 (paid in wooden box at holes #1).

--Its Close to Flip City!!

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.


5+    5/4/2013   10/21/2008
Review By: Mark R
Played: 84  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/5/2013
8 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Makes a case for 'best course on Lake Michigan shoreline', and the all-around best of the three courses at this site.

Hole 1 is all-around world class. Has a beautiful view of Lake Michigan with an elevated tee over a grassy valley to an elevated basket, with heavy woods clearly delineated on the left. Empty the bag on this one.

Hole #3 is another highlight, with an elevated tee through a window to a straight 350' fairway with short grass and short tree hazards (some shelter from the wind here, I've seen groups of deer on this hole).

Hole 9 is a short, straight downhill with deep rough on either side. An easy bogey, but also an easy birdie.

Holes 11-13 are fairly flat, white sand holes with skinny, windblown white birch trees and shrubs that offer just the right amount of challenge.

Holes 14 and 15 have enclosed tee pads and difficult pine tree hazards that look like big Xmas trees, and are hard to shoot out of if you caught in one.

Holes 16 and 17 have shorter narrow fairways in woods that are fair and fun, with birdie or bogey possibilities.

Has a narrow cement path that doesn't detract from the holes in play (5 and 11).

Decent Chainstar baskets, few players, unique and unrivalled Lake Michigan scenery.

Brand new cement tees on all six alternates (Sept. 2010).
Cons: Not well marked and difficult to navigate in many spots. A major problem with players new to the course. Find a local or someone familiar with the course for your first time out. Winds over 20 mph make this course almost unplayable.

No maps on the scorecards. In particular, it is hard to find your way from Hole 6 to Hole C to Hole 7. It is also easy as mentioned to shoot at the basket for C from the tee for Hole 8.

Some blind tee shots are disc-loss hazards, best to use a spotter. The winds are often prohibitively strong off of Lake Michigan, negating some of the shoreline appeal.

Existing cement tees are a bit short and narrow, but are grooved and drain water well.

Hole 18 has some odd design features, and could use a redesign.

Shares land and baskets with Goliath, which could be confusing. A slightly-older course that is beginning to show its age.
Other Thoughts: Take your time, don't get lost and have a great day on this one. Though the navigation is tough, you'll be rewarded with a terrific disc golf experience. Versus Leviathan, it is less challenging and diverse, but has an equally high fun factor on the very best holes. It's amazing how two completely different courses could be so close to each other.

Be sure to play the alternate holes, despite the so-so navigation (Holes A and B after Hole 4, Hole C after Hole 6, and D/E/F after Hole 14).

Hole D is one of the best tech holes, a short throw downhill through a small hole in the trees (almost exactly like Hole 5 at Yucaipa Park in CA). E is a tunnel hole that is short but definitely worth the time.

Course is more fun starting on Hole 6 (by off season parking lot), leaving the epic Holes 1 and 3 for the end.

A minority of 'cheap' holes (A, B, C, 8) and difficult navigation are the worst flaws with this course. Compares favorably with other top notch courses I have played. Don't miss this course if you're in the area

With four great courses and Flip City about 30 miles away, Ludington may be one of the best disc golf destinations in the world.

8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 it may

5+    8/9/2008   8/9/2008
Review By: tomjulio
Played: 60  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/30/2009
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautifully maintained. Solid tees, markers,baskets. Variety and just plain beautiful outdoor sandy location right next to lake Michigan. Perfectly balanced in my opinion.

Tee#1 overlooking Lake Michigan is one of my all time favorite holes to drive from. Elevated shot to an elevated basket. Have seen monster drives here.

18 main tees with and A-E holes thrown in for a little more playing action.
Cons: Some "next" hole locations not clearly marked. With Goliath intersecting Beast it's easy to get confused every now and again.

Holes A-E have no cement tees and feel kind of thrown in.

Hole #8 is really messed up in my opinion. Since there are no maps I had always played it as a nice 190ft hyzer shot to the left. Found out I was playing the wrong basket. The real basket makes for a 150ft over tall pines shot that feels completely out of place for the entire course. Suggest changing "official" basket to left, but this would make Beast C obsolete(a bad hole anyway).

Same con as previous reviewer. Some of the rough is TRULY the rough. Two days playing, two of my fave discs lost. Low lying grape like vines and leaves make it damn near impossible to find wayward discs in some locations....BUT they do add to the beauty of the course.

When it's windy here, it's windy!
Other Thoughts: Of all the courses I have played, this is my favorite all around course (besides Flip City in Shelby, but that goes without saying). Long drives here and there, doglegs both ways, technical, etc etc. Some holes feel like a par 4/5 others a two, most a three. In reality all are par 3. so basically what the Beast gives you, it taketh away.

Play late in the day and hole number one will give you just the most amazing view of a Lake Michigan sunset. Love this course.

Almost a five for consistency and great great upkeep. The rough is slowly being cleaned up as I type this, only getting better!


11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Impressive Course

2-4    8/25/2006   4/15/2008
Review By: FoleyT
Played: 86  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/25/2008
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: nice tees, challenging course, many elevation changes, trees, and good variety of holes. Beautifully maintained and designed.
Cons: some of the 'rough' is a bit unforgiving. use a 'spotter' on several of the blind holes or you'll be spending a lot of time searching for discs in the brush.
Other Thoughts: we played 'beauty' and the 'beast' all in the same day during a tour of Northern Michigan disc golf courses in '06. This was our favorite of the trip. There is one more course here, named 'Goliath' which utilizes the same baskets as 'beast' but with different tee placements, but we didn't get a chance to try that one.

Update: Revisited this course recently in '08, and it is every bit as good as I remembered, especially, since I've seen a lot of courses to compare it to in the meantime. This is still one of my favorite courses in the state (aside from Flip City).

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.