Cocoa, FL 
F. Burton Smith Park Share
Uploaded By: stsren Hole #3 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / 270ft.   -- / --   3 / 270ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee: Dogleg left with thick bushes long and palms protecting basket



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Do Florida courses have any signs?

1    3/6/2014   3/8/2014
Review By: dan_b
Played: 16  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Has the makings of an OK course. Some people did a nice job on the trails and weaving some intersting stick walls.
Cons: No signs, or the signs were mislabeled. No Next Tee signs. The course map at the parking lot makes no sense if you don't tell me where I am on the map. We played the holes we could find, but couldn't make heads or tails of what we were actually playing. Numbers over numbers, conflicting pads, just what's going on here?
Other Thoughts: I get that every local knows the course, but guys - not everyone is a local. If you want people to play and return some folks need to spend some time out here fixing the signage.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Morning Round

1    10/16/2013   10/16/2013
Review By: Snailpowered
Played: 22  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very Well Groomed, I though because the course was so far outside of Orlando, Melborn and Daytona that it was going to be just a course that had been "thrown in to a park" course, but it wasnt. The front 12 holes are more open with quite difficult line shaping, I loved it! the back "10" holes, really 13 holes if you count some of the added short holes, are narrow and well thought out.
Cons: The holes dont necessarily flow very well if you have not played the course and tend to stumble around the course a bit. The baskets are old Mach 1 I think and are quite out of date
Other Thoughts: What a great course! This will definitely not be the final time that I play it! I can see that after a few day of rain this course could be a nightmare tho, so if it has rained in the past few days you might want to skip this course, but for the winter months it will be great

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Surprising Variety

1    9/21/2013   9/24/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 176  Reviewed: 175  Exp: 3.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course at Burton Smith features as much variety as you could imagine, as long as your imagination does not extend past flat, Florida swampland.

There really is a decent variety here. There are some open holes. There are some tight fairways surrounded by thick brush. There are a couple of nice water carries that provide just the right amount of challenge(when the water level is normal). You will have to throw long, you will have to throw straight, and more than once you will have to throw up and over.

The best feature from what I can see, is how well it dries out. I was told by a local that recently, two tees were under water. While I could see the line that the water had risen to, the previously inundated land was very dry and the tees were in good condition.

It's a fun course, that should be playable by folks of all skill levels.
Cons: So what's wrong, besides the baskets which have seen better days?

Well, there are some navigation issues, including two holes that are missing, or mislabeled holes. We looked everywhere for 3 but ended up going to what was labeled 5 since it was the obvious way to go after 2. 7 is also in a crazy location as 6 leads to 8. I'm not sure what else we missed but by the end of a 22-hole course, we had played eighteen holes. Maybe the other holes should be dropped from the numbering system. The extra holes could be lettered holes for people that know their way around. And those that want to play eighteen can play a logical eighteen holes with a nice flow and not be constantly confused.

Beyond that, there is a lack of signature holes. Everything is good here, but nothing is great. It's not a course you will remember, but only one that you will enjoy.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 tough course

1    12/16/2012   12/27/2012
Review By: stud pimpdaddy
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: first couple of holes were good, it was free. if you can throw thru a bunch of tight spots and have a guy youre playing with that cant. then this a great course for you to win some money.
Cons: we missed a couple of holes because it was not marked very good, about midway thru the holes get really tight. there were a bunch of holes where i just used the putter.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    12/4/2012   12/4/2012
Review By: xrayskid
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Most holes have very cool designs. Good use of the land. A few big open holes early, some water holes and then a great deal of tight shots.
Cons: Too too tight, too often. Course would be much more enjoyable with REASONABLY open fairways.
Tees too short. Almost broke my ankle a couple of times.
Very poorly marked. Difficulty to find your way around..

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Welcome to the jungle!

1    2/11/2012   2/25/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 715  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Kiosk near the cul-de-sac which is close to the first tee . . .you have to walk past #11 to get to #1 but the kiosk makes it fairly evident you are close to the start of the course.

2) Nice grippy concrete tees are always appreciated.

3) Benches and garbage cans are available in a few places throughout this course.

4) Decent signs with Hole #, distance, par and a general hole layout. All the information needed on a course.

5) Baskets seem to catch just fine . . . I couldn't tell if they were homemade or modified old Mach baskets.

6) There is a decent distance variety on this course ranging from the 100's all the way up into the 400's and a lot of in between holes. You need to bring all sorts of different discs to be able to play this course well.

7) Decent shot variety here as you have some hyzers, some anhyzers, a few straight shots, and even some over the top holes where you could throw big spikes, thumbers or tamahwaks, or even the straight stall shot. Be careful or you will lose discs in the trees if you go high (I only lost 3 discs in palm trees).

8) Water incorporated into this course on a few holes. There are bailout areas if you want to play safe and conserve your plastic.

9) Nice unique basket locations on a few holes . . .#11a (13) is set up on a little mound of soil which makes a simple hole a little more interesting.
Cons: 1) Lost discs all over the place. I tried shots perhaps I shouldn't have but it's hard to get discs down when you cannot even see them in the palm fronds.

2) Routing is confusing because there must have been a hole added (4 seems to be the most likely addition, making Hole #5 the old #4, #6 the old #5, #7 the old #6, #8 the old #7 etc. Then two more holes were added after hole #12 (not 11) and they simply continued the numbering where 11A became 13 and 11b became 14. Then the directional near the end of the course points towards 17 and 18 when they are actually 20 and 21. Talk about confusion, I am just happy I finished the course without getting lost.

3) Not all of the baskets are numbered and they seem to be older than dirt . . .I don't think I had any spitouts I would blame on their condition but I like new baskets.

4) This is not a "pretty course" by any stretch of the imagination. It is mostly open early and in a wide open flat area that looks to be a flood plain. Then when you get into the tighter holes you are basically going through jungle . . . sure there are fairways but it just is not what I would call a scenic course.

5) Relatively flat park overall . . . they used some old elevated areas to create the feel of a rolling fairway in a couple spots, but otherwise there is negligible elevation change.
Other Thoughts: There are plenty of positives on this course in terms of disc golf . . . but some of the issues I have raised really take away from my desire to go back here. It is not scenic, it is swampy, the routing is confusing (although I wouldn't probably have a problem the second time through).The wildness of the course is a little off-putting for someone who does not know the local flora and fauna. If I could compare it to a local course I would say it is a lot like Dineen in Milwaukee. I do not go there because it just feels goofy, despite there being a decent amount of challenge on the course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Great mix-up course!

5+    6/24/2011   8/23/2011
Review By: Jeangary Diablo
Played: 103  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 17.6 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is a great course to play when you want to mix it up. Open holes to start off with then a couple of water holes which leads into some tight wood holes. I know the guys who are expanding this course and they are doing a great job.
Cons: If your not carefull, it will eat your discs. Can't let this course play you because more than likely you will lose.
Other Thoughts: Try not to play this course right after it rains because it floods easily and the bugs are fairly thick so bring the bug spray!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 21 holes of DG in a classic Florida setting.

5+    5/12/2011   7/12/2011
Review By: chainedwraith
Played: 68  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 8 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Perfect quiet scenic park for a DG course! 21 holes total with plenty more un-utilized land onsite. Plenty of wildlife (including alligators in the ponds and occassional wild hog sightings). Nice mix of open/wooded fairways. A variety of shots required. Great course for intermediate - advanced players wanting to work on their all around game. Signature Hole 6 across a lake makes for a good risk/reward water hole. Overall a very fun course once you figure out your way around it.
Cons: Signage needs some work, specifically "next tee" signs. Only one set of tee pads and only a few holes with multiple basket placements. Baskets look prehistoric and worn out. Most of the new alternate holes are hidden and can be easily missed if you don't know where to go.
Other Thoughts: I've been playing this course occassionally for the past 4 years and more recently it appears to receive more maintenance as well as the additional holes that have been added. Grass is mowed regularly on most fairways. This park is rather secluded, particularly the back 9 which goes back into the woods away from other park amnenities. It's Florida and the park land is rather "wild" so expect lots of bugs, snakes, etc.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/19/2011   4/2/2011
Review By: cefire
Played: 637  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 15.2 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The disc golf course at Burton Smith Park appears to be a rather typical Florida course which has a little bit of oldschool flavor to the design. Although the course page indicates it was designed in 2005, while playing the course you get the feel that the course was designed for an era well before the Valkyrie. Many of the tighter holes involve a little flick around a corner or an easy up-and-over the top shot. The more open holes in the fields can play a bit long but offer little in terms of danger (with a few out-of-bounds streets and the potential for water possible but unlikely).

Variety: Burton Smith has a lot of it, from open to fairly tight, right/left fading shots, water in play (for amateur players), and low/high ceiling shots. Where it lacks mainly is in elevation changes (there aren't really any) and hole distances (all very much in the traditional par three range).

Wildlife: If you aren't from Florida (we weren't), you might see quite a few interesting little critters. We played near dusk and I saw my first armadillo in addition to bats, largemouth bass, snapping turtle, a small snake, and many different types of birds. Not bad for one round!

Skill level: This course clearly fits those who have some experience but are still developing skills. I'd say anywhere from 850-950 will probably find this course an excellent choice - too low on this range and players will likely be intimidated by a few holes with intense shule and the water holes and too high on this range and the course sets up as a pitch'n'putt.
Cons: The description says that the pins are 'Mach I's' but this is not the case, most holes actually are an old Mach II design with the shallow dish, similar to those found at Lakeview and Watertower in Sarasota. So in a way, it is a positive that the course has baskets that are better than the super oldschool I's but at the same time, you've got to have a soft touch (and a bit of luck) to avoid bounce-outs on these shallow basket targets.

Challenge: There are a few holes which experienced players are going to puzzle over a little bit, but most of the holes, are too straightforward to be of too much challenge. The open holes have very few obstacles and little in the way of penalty (other than water which is mostly out of play) and the wooded holes are often too short or too simple to be anything other than a birdie/not-birdie. It is the holes in-between that I thought worked best for this course, those that played in moderate to light tree cover and had multiple routes to attack the pin by (hole seven was a good example of this). The major water hole illustrates the problem for pros very nicely - at only 350' (which is overestimated), it is relatively easy clearance for a pro level player AND directly behind the hole, a wall of trees and brush make for a blocker wall. Experienced players will likely 'game' this hole by throwing too hard purposely, thus avoiding the water hazard, to hit the trees behind the pin and drop down for a 15-30' putt.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I'd recommend this course for a once-over by most players in a moderate to high skill range. Newer players will probably be frustrated by the shorter holes that have extensive rough and the water shots which may prove too difficult. Very experienced players are probably going to see these features in a very different light, in both cases probably wanting a little bit more distance to the wooded holes and to have the water more in play (or longer distance to clear the water).

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the drive from Kissimmee

1    3/5/2011   3/8/2011
Review By: jrcamp001
Played: 198  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 18.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good mix of holes with lots of trees, water and rough. Fairly good signage.
Cons: Signage needs to be updated for new holes, and a few more "next tee" signs would be good for "tourist golfers" like me.
Other Thoughts: I had a great time playing this course while in Kissimmee for Spring Training. Seems to have a good mix of holes with plenty of obstacles. My son, Jason, scored his first ace on hole #14 - a great shot straight thru the palms into the chain. I also heard that some of the baskets came from the old Rockledge course. That's great! For those who didn't get to play Rockledge, you missed a truly unique DG experience.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.