Cocoa, FL 
F. Burton Smith Park Share
Uploaded By: stsren   (Taken 6/2010)
Hole #17 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Morning Round

1    10/16/2013   10/16/2013
Review By: Snailpowered
Played: 23  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very Well Groomed, I though because the course was so far outside of Orlando, Melborn and Daytona that it was going to be just a course that had been "thrown in to a park" course, but it wasnt. The front 12 holes are more open with quite difficult line shaping, I loved it! the back "10" holes, really 13 holes if you count some of the added short holes, are narrow and well thought out.
Cons: The holes dont necessarily flow very well if you have not played the course and tend to stumble around the course a bit. The baskets are old Mach 1 I think and are quite out of date
Other Thoughts: What a great course! This will definitely not be the final time that I play it! I can see that after a few day of rain this course could be a nightmare tho, so if it has rained in the past few days you might want to skip this course, but for the winter months it will be great

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Great mix-up course!

5+    6/24/2011   8/23/2011
Review By: Jeangary Diablo
Played: 103  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 18 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is a great course to play when you want to mix it up. Open holes to start off with then a couple of water holes which leads into some tight wood holes. I know the guys who are expanding this course and they are doing a great job.
Cons: If your not carefull, it will eat your discs. Can't let this course play you because more than likely you will lose.
Other Thoughts: Try not to play this course right after it rains because it floods easily and the bugs are fairly thick so bring the bug spray!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 21 holes of DG in a classic Florida setting.

5+    5/12/2011   7/12/2011
Review By: chainedwraith
Played: 70  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 8.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Perfect quiet scenic park for a DG course! 21 holes total with plenty more un-utilized land onsite. Plenty of wildlife (including alligators in the ponds and occassional wild hog sightings). Nice mix of open/wooded fairways. A variety of shots required. Great course for intermediate - advanced players wanting to work on their all around game. Signature Hole 6 across a lake makes for a good risk/reward water hole. Overall a very fun course once you figure out your way around it.
Cons: Signage needs some work, specifically "next tee" signs. Only one set of tee pads and only a few holes with multiple basket placements. Baskets look prehistoric and worn out. Most of the new alternate holes are hidden and can be easily missed if you don't know where to go.
Other Thoughts: I've been playing this course occassionally for the past 4 years and more recently it appears to receive more maintenance as well as the additional holes that have been added. Grass is mowed regularly on most fairways. This park is rather secluded, particularly the back 9 which goes back into the woods away from other park amnenities. It's Florida and the park land is rather "wild" so expect lots of bugs, snakes, etc.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 rain biased

1    3/31/2010   3/31/2010
Review By: stimpsonhoek
Played: 15  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of holes, use of environment is great. On the holes in the thick i felt like i was on the set of the early 'Treasure Island' movie from long long ago. Good hole signs for the first timer and easy to figure out the layout with a little looking around at times, but a quick glance at the course map near hole one will do wonders. Decent tees when not under water. Overall very nice course worth throwing around. Great use of the space provided.
Cons: Lost a disc on hole 9 (pond, star TL if anyone finds it, enjoy it. was my best disc), with the natural curve and wind in my favor, the damn disc still finished right, so not the courses fault, but an awful act of some angry god. Played on a rain day, so it was quite swampy, like all the florida courses would be i imagine, and again, no fault to the course for that. a bit more help with 'next tee' is all it really needs.
Other Thoughts: Hole 6 was a bit difficult with the wind, pond, and highway all in one. Hole 7's tee was taken over by construction so we played 8a to hole 7 (dog leg right and over the road in), 8b to hole 8. The trials of the front nine water lead into a very scenic, tight back nine that we enjoyed very much. A fun course for all.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 F. Burton Smith-first timer.

1    4/28/2009   4/29/2009
Review By: Ken Long
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Open and tight and technical holes. I liked both. Something for most everyone. The two discers I played with (Steve & Steve) were very helpful in guiding me around the course. So...friendly players @ F. Burton Smith.
I would play F. Burton Smith again and again as long as it was dry.
Cons: No cons here as long as I have a guide.
Other Thoughts: Being from S. Michigan, I felt as if I were on Safari in old Florida. Very pictueresque. Course was dry for me. I would not play this course alone until I knew it perfectly. But I would play it often as long as it was dry. I did not see any gators, boars or snakes during my round. Nor did I lose a disc.
Thanks should go to the course manager "Steve" and volunteers who have done alot of clearing in making F. Burton Smith somewhat user friendly.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/30/2008   12/2/2008
Review By: Ishulebest
Played: 25  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 14 Years
This review was updated on 11/7/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tight shots hone your finesse game.Multilple pin placements showing up on more and more holes.Nice mix of anhyzer and hyzer holes. Two over the water holes.
Cons: Back 10 holes share sections with a park nature trail,so you may encounter some folks out for a stroll, who are oblivious to the course.Hole 7 tee pad is difficult to find,(walk staight across the park rd from basket 6, and look to your right when you get to the woods.) You have to back track toward # 6 basket to get to # 8 tee pad. Will have standing water throughout during the Fla rainy season.
Other Thoughts: I enjoy playing the course due to the variety of shots I encounter during the round.Yes it does have standing water, but only during the rainy season in FL. I played it almost all Thanksgiving weekend and it was bone dry.Please be watchful of water moccassins. As Nivek9 pointed out, alligators have been seen. Mostly small ones, but the ocassional 10 footer may be lurking so use caution when fishing that disc out of the water. From what I have been told,when this course first went in, the Park was not at all interested in listening to the designers. "this is where your putting the hole" was the parks attitude. So that's why some of the quirks on the course exist.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.