Cocoa, FL 
F. Burton Smith Park Share
Uploaded By: stsren Hole #16 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / 275ft.   3 / 275ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Nice course

1    4/1/2016   4/4/2016
Review By: tdoninhouse
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: New baskets really nice. Navigating the course was no problem at all for me it seemed to flow very well. The few times I thought I was lost I found a small white marker near the ground pointing the path to the next hole.
Cons: DON'T SET YOUR BAG DOWN IN FIRE ANTS!! Fire ants are all around in the sandy hills. I still have ant bites all over my back.
Other Thoughts: Drive to the back of the park. Find the plexi-glass park sign, take a pic of the overhead course map. Hole 1 is to the left of the sign. I only had to pull up the pic of the course a couple of times and i did skip 7 & 8 because I couldn't easily find the pad for 7. I was in a hurry so I just played 9 it is right after hole 6. I also saw a few 4ft black snakes one was sunning on the pad so look out for snakes. And there are thousands of small floridian lizards/chameleons. Nice flat course. Some tight fun lies and walks through what seems like african jungle to this ohio native.
Some of the holes you can't see the basket but every hole I believe had a hole layout or map sign visual. A few of them seem to point in the wrong direction but they all give the footage markers so getting close was easy.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not for sissies!

1    2/3/2016   2/3/2016
Review By: janjojerem
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice variation of types of holes. Rewards distance and finesse. Some good RHBH holes, and some better for sidearm or LHBH. Nice use of terrain and existing foliage to enforce some creativity in most tee shots. However, there was plenty of room for correcting tee shot errors to save par. I have played several rounds on courses in other parts of the country where dense woods and/or terrain/elevation changes are the biggest challenge to the course; this course is just as challenging by utilizing the natural Florida terrain of palmettos, water hazards palm trees and live oaks.

The greatest compliment I can give the course is that on most holes that I walked up to my initial reaction was "wow, what a cool hole- where's the basket and how in the hell can I get to it?"
Cons: This course would have been rated at least a 4 except for the following:

The biggest drawback is that this is w WET course. It has been 4 days since any measurable rain, and there was still standing water on at least half of the holes. It did not impact our play, just be prepared for wet feet!

The next biggest problem with the course is that the signage is inconsistent at best. There were 4 or 5 holes where we did not know where to go next.
It would be most helpful, and easy to do, if a regular would simply tape the baskets indicating direction of next tee.

They have done a great job with concrete tee pads on every hole, but the signs need updated with correct tee numbers and pin placement.

Better signage is also needed to the first tee!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Swamp Thing

5+    12/14/2015   12/14/2015
Review By: projectpat
Played: 44  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -22 Holes. Two 11 hole loops that wind back to the parking lot.
-Good Variety. The front half is mostly open park style golf. It includes several longer holes and water carries. The back half is the total opposite. Shorter wooded holes with tight but fair lines.
-New Baskets. This course has needed new baskets for years. These are very nice. A few holes still sport the old ones though.
-Concrete pads. Not the nicest or longest but adequate.
-Amenities. Trash cans and benches on most holes. Restrooms and playground near parking lot for those traveling with family.
Cons: -Signage. New signs are needed in the near future. Current ones reflect old layout and numbers. New next tee signs have aided navigation but first time visitors may still find it difficult to find some holes.
-Flooding. The park is in/next to the swamp and holds a lot of water. Mud can be an issue on the back half due to massive amount of rooting by boars.
-Bugs. There are lots of fire ant mounds. Watch your step. The mosquitoes can get very bad at times. Bring some bug spray.
-Trash. The amount of trash off the fairways is sad. Especially since there are plenty of cans. Will be bringing a bag next time.
Other Thoughts: Burton is a very fun and challenging course. Its worth playing as long as recent rain hasn't been too bad. Longer throwers will probably enjoy the front more than the more technical back. Use spotters on the back when playing in groups. There are lots of disc eating palm trees. Also if you have thoughts of getting in the water remember gators live in the swamp.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Interesting Park Course

1    3/30/2015   3/30/2015
Review By: markmcc
Played: 144  Reviewed: 136  Exp: 4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a park course with plenty of mowed grass, lots of trees, and a couple of large ponds that come into play on a hole or two.

Most of the holes are in the 200' - 350' range, so no bomber holes. But they all require you to shape a drive around or through trees, with many holes rewarding a right-finishing drive. If you have a good overhand you can avoid many of the trees by going over the top.

Good, but smallish concrete tee pads. Some holes have multiple pin placements and a few have two different tee pads. In particular the two water carries (Holes 6 and 8) have alternate tees that allow you to avoid throwing over the water entirely.

Hole 6a calls for about a 300' carry over the pond, though you can bail out at any distance along the right side as it doesn't take you that far off line. Hole 8a has a shorter carry but also allows you to bail right.

Hole 9 has water along the right side of the fairway, so a RHBH player will start their drive out over the water and rely on the fade to carry it back to dry land.

Large parking area.

Cons: Navigation on this course is somewhat confusing, especially on the back 9 (or 11 or 12??). It appears that there has been some renumbering of holes, so right off the bat on Hole 10 you are throwing to a basket marked "11". I asked one of the locals what was up and he indicated that numbers were "off". So for the remainder of the back 9 you are faced with tee signs that have an original printed number and then a second hole number marked over that. Some basket numbers match, some don't. Some baskets don't have numbers at all. Many areas have a clear path from the basket to the next hole, but I honestly don't know if I found all of the holes or not. The map in the files section is outdated and doesn't help much.

Some of the tee signs are pretty beat up and weathered. Some of the baskets are really old with added chains, rust, etc., but they caught ok.

Completely flat terrain. No big bomber holes if that is your thing.

Plenty of poison ivy coming out, so watch out for that.
Other Thoughts: With updating of signs and basket numbers and a new map, the navigation issues would go away entirely. As a traveling DG'er I appreciate clean navigation, but recognize that locals don't really need the help.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Do Florida courses have any signs?

1    3/6/2014   3/8/2014
Review By: dan_b
Played: 16  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Has the makings of an OK course. Some people did a nice job on the trails and weaving some intersting stick walls.
Cons: No signs, or the signs were mislabeled. No Next Tee signs. The course map at the parking lot makes no sense if you don't tell me where I am on the map. We played the holes we could find, but couldn't make heads or tails of what we were actually playing. Numbers over numbers, conflicting pads, just what's going on here?
Other Thoughts: I get that every local knows the course, but guys - not everyone is a local. If you want people to play and return some folks need to spend some time out here fixing the signage.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Morning Round

1    10/16/2013   10/16/2013
Review By: Snailpowered
Played: 23  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very Well Groomed, I though because the course was so far outside of Orlando, Melborn and Daytona that it was going to be just a course that had been "thrown in to a park" course, but it wasnt. The front 12 holes are more open with quite difficult line shaping, I loved it! the back "10" holes, really 13 holes if you count some of the added short holes, are narrow and well thought out.
Cons: The holes dont necessarily flow very well if you have not played the course and tend to stumble around the course a bit. The baskets are old Mach 1 I think and are quite out of date
Other Thoughts: What a great course! This will definitely not be the final time that I play it! I can see that after a few day of rain this course could be a nightmare tho, so if it has rained in the past few days you might want to skip this course, but for the winter months it will be great

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Surprising Variety

1    9/21/2013   9/24/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 273  Reviewed: 272  Exp: 4.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course at Burton Smith features as much variety as you could imagine, as long as your imagination does not extend past flat, Florida swampland.

There really is a decent variety here. There are some open holes. There are some tight fairways surrounded by thick brush. There are a couple of nice water carries that provide just the right amount of challenge(when the water level is normal). You will have to throw long, you will have to throw straight, and more than once you will have to throw up and over.

The best feature from what I can see, is how well it dries out. I was told by a local that recently, two tees were under water. While I could see the line that the water had risen to, the previously inundated land was very dry and the tees were in good condition.

It's a fun course, that should be playable by folks of all skill levels.
Cons: So what's wrong, besides the baskets which have seen better days?

Well, there are some navigation issues, including two holes that are missing, or mislabeled holes. We looked everywhere for 3 but ended up going to what was labeled 5 since it was the obvious way to go after 2. 7 is also in a crazy location as 6 leads to 8. I'm not sure what else we missed but by the end of a 22-hole course, we had played eighteen holes. Maybe the other holes should be dropped from the numbering system. The extra holes could be lettered holes for people that know their way around. And those that want to play eighteen can play a logical eighteen holes with a nice flow and not be constantly confused.

Beyond that, there is a lack of signature holes. Everything is good here, but nothing is great. It's not a course you will remember, but only one that you will enjoy.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  tough course

1    12/16/2012   12/27/2012
Review By: stud pimpdaddy
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: first couple of holes were good, it was free. if you can throw thru a bunch of tight spots and have a guy youre playing with that cant. then this a great course for you to win some money.
Cons: we missed a couple of holes because it was not marked very good, about midway thru the holes get really tight. there were a bunch of holes where i just used the putter.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/4/2012   12/4/2012
Review By: xrayskid
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Most holes have very cool designs. Good use of the land. A few big open holes early, some water holes and then a great deal of tight shots.
Cons: Too too tight, too often. Course would be much more enjoyable with REASONABLY open fairways.
Tees too short. Almost broke my ankle a couple of times.
Very poorly marked. Difficulty to find your way around..

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Welcome to the jungle!

1    2/11/2012   2/25/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 894  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 7.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Kiosk near the cul-de-sac which is close to the first tee . . .you have to walk past #11 to get to #1 but the kiosk makes it fairly evident you are close to the start of the course.

2) Nice grippy concrete tees are always appreciated.

3) Benches and garbage cans are available in a few places throughout this course.

4) Decent signs with Hole #, distance, par and a general hole layout. All the information needed on a course.

5) Baskets seem to catch just fine . . . I couldn't tell if they were homemade or modified old Mach baskets.

6) There is a decent distance variety on this course ranging from the 100's all the way up into the 400's and a lot of in between holes. You need to bring all sorts of different discs to be able to play this course well.

7) Decent shot variety here as you have some hyzers, some anhyzers, a few straight shots, and even some over the top holes where you could throw big spikes, thumbers or tamahwaks, or even the straight stall shot. Be careful or you will lose discs in the trees if you go high (I only lost 3 discs in palm trees).

8) Water incorporated into this course on a few holes. There are bailout areas if you want to play safe and conserve your plastic.

9) Nice unique basket locations on a few holes . . .#11a (13) is set up on a little mound of soil which makes a simple hole a little more interesting.
Cons: 1) Lost discs all over the place. I tried shots perhaps I shouldn't have but it's hard to get discs down when you cannot even see them in the palm fronds.

2) Routing is confusing because there must have been a hole added (4 seems to be the most likely addition, making Hole #5 the old #4, #6 the old #5, #7 the old #6, #8 the old #7 etc. Then two more holes were added after hole #12 (not 11) and they simply continued the numbering where 11A became 13 and 11b became 14. Then the directional near the end of the course points towards 17 and 18 when they are actually 20 and 21. Talk about confusion, I am just happy I finished the course without getting lost.

3) Not all of the baskets are numbered and they seem to be older than dirt . . .I don't think I had any spitouts I would blame on their condition but I like new baskets.

4) This is not a "pretty course" by any stretch of the imagination. It is mostly open early and in a wide open flat area that looks to be a flood plain. Then when you get into the tighter holes you are basically going through jungle . . . sure there are fairways but it just is not what I would call a scenic course.

5) Relatively flat park overall . . . they used some old elevated areas to create the feel of a rolling fairway in a couple spots, but otherwise there is negligible elevation change.
Other Thoughts: There are plenty of positives on this course in terms of disc golf . . . but some of the issues I have raised really take away from my desire to go back here. It is not scenic, it is swampy, the routing is confusing (although I wouldn't probably have a problem the second time through).The wildness of the course is a little off-putting for someone who does not know the local flora and fauna. If I could compare it to a local course I would say it is a lot like Dineen in Milwaukee. I do not go there because it just feels goofy, despite there being a decent amount of challenge on the course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.