Cocoa, FL 
F. Burton Smith Park Share
Uploaded By: stsren Hole #6 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / 340ft.   -- / --   3 / 340ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Basket to Tee (Original and Alt Tee Boxes marked)



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Decent course for East Orlando or Cocoa

1    6/19/2010   6/19/2010
Review By: stsren
Played: 38  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 14.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
1. Distance variety (~165' to 450' depending on basket placement)
2. Shot variety (possible to throw hyzers, anhyzers, S-Curves, hammer/thumber, etc)
3. Technical aspects provide challenges for all skill levels (beginner to pro, though pros may want more distance)
4. Concrete tee pads (could be a bit wider, but they're adequate)
5. Tee signs are in decent shape at most holes
6. Garbage cans and benches are plentiful (nearly every hole has a trash receptacle!)
Cons:
1. Difficult to navigate for first timers (Where's hole #1? Where are the extra holes? No "Next Tee" signs.)
2. Muiltiple basket positions not marked (or not marked properly) and do not show accurate distances.
3. Some tee signs are quite faded
4. Poor course flow (As you finish #6, you can see the tee box for 8a, but not #7, which is across the entrance roadway.)
5. Almost no elevation change (small rise on #11 where short basket location is on a ridge)
6. No pets allowed in park (according to sign at entrance, though nobody seemed to adhere to that rule)
Other Thoughts: Overall, I found Burton Smith DGC to be entertaining and challenging. The "narrow" fairways are generally well defined and don't make you feel chlaustrophobic, while the wide open spaces allow for some grip and rip action. I didn't have a local to show me around the course, so I did have some trouble finding my way (Next Tee signs would be great!). I didn't even know there were A and B bonus holes until I got the chance to study my photo of the small map on the Disc Golf sign.
The overall upkeep of the course was decent (lawn recently mowed, a guy was walking around trimming trees, etc...).
The baskets were a bit rusty and looked to have seen better days, but I guess they catch okay if you hit the chains.

In general, Burton Smith DGC is a fun, slightly challenging course that will allow you to throw a variety of shots with few chances to lose a disc [3 water holes (#6, #8, #9)]. If you live in East Orlando or Cocoa, this is probably the closest and best place to play.

FYI - Hole #1 is located a ways behind the sign at the cul-de-sac. Link to picture of sign below:
http://www.dgcoursereview.com.../2e8d33bc.jpg

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/24/2010   4/24/2010
Review By: mwalter
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 12/20/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hole 4 was nice except for the OB long to the right. Hole 6 was an interesting looking shot over the water. There were only 6 other people we saw out playing the course in the 4 hours we were out there and it was Saturday so I imagine you'll never run into crowds.
Cons: This course really needs to be trimmed back. A lot of the fairways are narrow to begin with and palm fronds were drooping down narrowing them further. A few of the holes are just too short and rely on heavy foliage to create a challenge, but they aren't really fun as a result. Many holes are designed to strongly favor either lefties or righties and provide little option for the other. There are literally about a dozen doglegs between 230-270' which get monotonous after awhile.
Other Thoughts: As many other reviewers have said, it was very swampy. It rained 3 days before we played, but everywhere else had already dried up. I imagine that it will be swampy no matter what so waterproof shoes are recommended.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 rain biased

1    3/31/2010   3/31/2010
Review By: stimpsonhoek
Played: 15  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of holes, use of environment is great. On the holes in the thick i felt like i was on the set of the early 'Treasure Island' movie from long long ago. Good hole signs for the first timer and easy to figure out the layout with a little looking around at times, but a quick glance at the course map near hole one will do wonders. Decent tees when not under water. Overall very nice course worth throwing around. Great use of the space provided.
Cons: Lost a disc on hole 9 (pond, star TL if anyone finds it, enjoy it. was my best disc), with the natural curve and wind in my favor, the damn disc still finished right, so not the courses fault, but an awful act of some angry god. Played on a rain day, so it was quite swampy, like all the florida courses would be i imagine, and again, no fault to the course for that. a bit more help with 'next tee' is all it really needs.
Other Thoughts: Hole 6 was a bit difficult with the wind, pond, and highway all in one. Hole 7's tee was taken over by construction so we played 8a to hole 7 (dog leg right and over the road in), 8b to hole 8. The trials of the front nine water lead into a very scenic, tight back nine that we enjoyed very much. A fun course for all.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Burton Smith Disc Golf

5+    11/27/2009   11/30/2009
Review By: scauzilloc
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 24.7 Years
This review was updated on 12/11/2009
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging and fun course with a lot of tight holes and alternate basket placements. Recently this course started to be maintained on a weekly basis so the grass is always mowed and some of the shrubs were cut down, which is good, it was becoming overgrown! I play on a weekly basis and enjoy the challenging holes. The back nine has a lot of opportunities for an easy birdie. More than the front nine, but does have a lot of tighter holes where you need a bit more accuracy and cannot throw for power. The front nine is a bit more open, but has the most challenging holes of the course, hole # 6 and hole # 8, the 2 water holes. Hole # 6 is probably the most difficult of the two because the lake is a good size lake and loves to gobble up discs. If a lot of your discs heizer, then watch out. I really enjoy the 2 extra holes that make this a 20 hole course. All the baskets are from the old Rockledge course so some are worn, but they are slowly changing out the chains and tightening the baskets. All holes are marked and the signage allows for alternate placement too, which is always marked as well. Fun course for all!
Cons: A lot of trees and palm brush. Some holes you have to be so precise or your disc will definitely find a nice big palm tree to hit. Tends to flood a lot when we have a lot of rain.
Other Thoughts: Can get crowded on the weekends. I usually play at 8 or 9 in the morning on Sundays and there are always about 10 to 15 guys already out there. make sure you bring a golf ball retrieval pole. It is a a great tool to have with you when your discs get stuck in the high palms!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 F. Burton Smith-first timer.

1    4/28/2009   4/29/2009
Review By: Ken Long
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Open and tight and technical holes. I liked both. Something for most everyone. The two discers I played with (Steve & Steve) were very helpful in guiding me around the course. So...friendly players @ F. Burton Smith.
I would play F. Burton Smith again and again as long as it was dry.
Cons: No cons here as long as I have a guide.
Other Thoughts: Being from S. Michigan, I felt as if I were on Safari in old Florida. Very pictueresque. Course was dry for me. I would not play this course alone until I knew it perfectly. But I would play it often as long as it was dry. I did not see any gators, boars or snakes during my round. Nor did I lose a disc.
Thanks should go to the course manager "Steve" and volunteers who have done alot of clearing in making F. Burton Smith somewhat user friendly.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/7/2009   3/23/2009
Review By: DarrenFL
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: challenging. not crowded. friendly players.
Cons: water hole is kind of a far shot and really easy to lose disc. took a little bit to find hole 1. A lot of blind shots and signs are a little miss leading
Other Thoughts: saw some boar while searching for for one of my disc and saw a couple of gators

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Worth a visit if it's dry, bring a spotter

2-4    3/12/2009   3/12/2009
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/6/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pretty, natural-setting Florida park. Covered pavilions with grills and a small playground for the kids. Close to the beach, for travelers. Course provides a good challenge for white/blue level players. It requires players to be able to shape shots in a variety of ways. It also provides some decision-making opportunities, particularly when deciding between tighter lower routes and throwing over the top, but putting the disc up into gusting/swirling winds. Allows players a few opportunities to air it out.
Cons: First, and probably most importantly: this course is a bit of a jeckle and hyde, depending upon how much it has rained recently.

Much of the course can become very soggy/swampy following recent rains. Some of the holes on the front nine become nearly impassible with lots of standing water. It is a much more pleasurable experienced to play F. Burton when the ground is dry.

The routing of the holes is flawed in a number of instances. Right out of the box: Tee #2 is visible from the parking lot, but tee #1 is not. After searching around and playing hole #1, players must walk directly in front of tee #10 to get to tee #2. (head scratcher)

It is very easy to skip hole #7 as hole #6's basket is very close to hole #8's tee, while hole #7 is across the park road without any directional signs.

Hole #17 is played in the opposite direction of hole #18 and must be fully backtracked to play the last hole.

There are several instances where the signage is inadequate. There a few shots where the park road and parking lot come into play and pose safety hazards. (#7, #9, #10) Also, the forced water carry on hole #6 is inappropriately long and many, many discs find the water.

The final 1/3 of the course has too many back-to-back-to-back dinker shots. There could have been more variety in length of holes in that section of the course.

The back nine has many blind shots, with heavy schule surrounding the fairways. I'm not arguing that the holes are unfair or necessarily overly difficult, except for the fact that spotters are virtually mandatory on about 1/3 of the course. There is a strong likelihood of losing plastic on the back nine and this detracts from the overall experience.
Other Thoughts: Overall:
Not the worst course. I enjoy playing it and will make the 40 minute drive there on occasion AS LONG AS IT'S DRY.

Remember: Don't be a dirty disc golfer. If you pack it in, pack it out!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad overall

1    3/7/2009   3/7/2009
Review By: rjgarment
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun holes, pretty scenery.
Cons: The worst signage I've ever seen. Some signs are plain wrong about the location of the hole. Hard to navigate, couldn't even find hole 7.
Other Thoughts: The course needs next tee signs or a map. The course does not "flow" well.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 swampy, couple nice water shots

1    11/14/2007   12/14/2008
Review By: SimonCarr
Played: 60  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 10.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course had plenty of birdie opportunities, as most holes are 300 feet or less. The layout was fairly easy to follow, and all of the baskets were in good shape.

A couple nice basket locations that were on the edge of thick brush, and two baskets placed dangerously close to the water.
Cons: This course had a lot of standing water. More than half of the course had puddles or flood pools.

Would be nice if it was longer and dryer!
Other Thoughts: I played this course when visiting a friend in Orlando. The course had several feet of standing water in places, and I found myself ankle deep in mud and sand on more than one occasion.

Not a bad course, but I would look for other options if you are visiting the area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/30/2008   12/2/2008
Review By: Ishulebest
Played: 25  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/7/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tight shots hone your finesse game.Multilple pin placements showing up on more and more holes.Nice mix of anhyzer and hyzer holes. Two over the water holes.
Cons: Back 10 holes share sections with a park nature trail,so you may encounter some folks out for a stroll, who are oblivious to the course.Hole 7 tee pad is difficult to find,(walk staight across the park rd from basket 6, and look to your right when you get to the woods.) You have to back track toward # 6 basket to get to # 8 tee pad. Will have standing water throughout during the Fla rainy season.
Other Thoughts: I enjoy playing the course due to the variety of shots I encounter during the round.Yes it does have standing water, but only during the rainy season in FL. I played it almost all Thanksgiving weekend and it was bone dry.Please be watchful of water moccassins. As Nivek9 pointed out, alligators have been seen. Mostly small ones, but the ocassional 10 footer may be lurking so use caution when fishing that disc out of the water. From what I have been told,when this course first went in, the Park was not at all interested in listening to the designers. "this is where your putting the hole" was the parks attitude. So that's why some of the quirks on the course exist.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.