Disc Golf Store
Ludington, MI 
Mason County Park - Goliath Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #D
3 / 266ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #D Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
I Ain't Yer David

2-4    6/16/2013   6/22/2013
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 186  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 4.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Goliath towers over the other two Ma Co courses (Beauty and Beast). Starting near Beauty #1, Goliath mixes short technical holes (Holes B and F are under 200'), long open bombers (#'s 8 and 18 are both over 700'), and just about everything in between. Goliath is tricky. Blind pin positions, patches of schule where it looks clear from the tee, and safety zones that look like the thickest of thick until you see them from a different angle help make Goliath sort of a "thinking man's" course. Scouting ahead is rewarded on most holes for those unfamiliar with the course.
- Good signage and score cards make navigating Goliath pretty easy, despite it playing Beast backwards (with the letter holes thrown in for good measure). Look for the lime green rocks for next tee directions. Check the map on the scorecard for OB listings, or for blind pin positions (although, again, scouting ahead to see the exact location helps immensly).
- No throwaway holes. Every single hole brings it. Even the short ones are challenging and interesting. It never feels as though a hole or design element is repeated, with the possible exception of #'s 8 and 18. Even in that case the greens are vastly different.
- Strategic use of OB. The park road (which sees little traffic) would probably have dissuaded lesser designers from even attempting to put Goliath in the ground. Instead, they take what is usually a con on most courses (crossing roadways) and make it a very cool aspect of this course. Several holes make you decide whether to lay up short of the road or go for it. Definitely the best use of road OB I've seen, and a fun element to contend with during the round.
- Natural beauty. Despite the name "Goliath," this course ain't ugly. Lots of great wooded spots, moderate elevation, grassy areas, and sandy patches due to the extreme proximity to Lake Michigan.
- Location. Beauty, Beast, Leviathan, Flip...just to name a few. Why the hell WOULDN'T you come play this area?
Cons: - The tees are not ideal. That said, they shouldn't detract too much from the round for most players. While concrete in most if not all locations, they run a bit on the short side.
- Navigation on busy days might cause some confusion as well as potentially hazardous play. Most players know what's going on (Beast and Goliath sharing baskets) and "right of way" is usually given without hassle. Send spotters on the blind holes to ensure you're not throwing on Beast discers throwing to the same basket.
Other Thoughts: - Goliath is amazing. If it weren't for the fact that it shares Beast's baskets, I'd give it a 5 disc rating. The deceptive nature of the holes give it a major replayability factor that can't be ignored. I feel like although I've spent a good chunk of time on Goliath, I'm still only beginning to scratch the surface. I'll be back.
- $1/day to play is just damn ridiculous for the amount of awesomesauce presented. Be sure to stuff your money in the box when you pick up a score card, or may your slingshot fail.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Boom THIS IS GALIATH

1    5/25/2012   6/12/2013
Review By: sgamerp
Played: 80  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 6.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Signs - Good signage like the rest of the courses here.

Teepads - Nice Concert pads.

Challenge - Of the courses that need a big arm, this is fun becasue it also requires you to be technical, so it has the change that makes a less arm able to compete with a big arm.

Navigation - The navigation wasn't hard when I went, however I was with someone who had played before. This may not be the same for others.

Baskets - good baskets that can catch the putts from far out.
Cons: Shared baskets with Beast, doesn't really seem to be an issue but that could be the biggest issues.

some of the rough is pretty rough.
Other Thoughts: This course I played doubles before playing a tourney here and wanted to see it, it's a very challenging course but is great round for doubles.

This is a heck of a work out walking up and down hills.

Playing this course seems like it's kind of a Safari round, which shows that some of the rough is very rough.

All in all if you are going to play all three courses, this is probably the best to start, as it's the most challenging of them all.

It's also a dollar to pay, but I think I threw in like 5 bucks, as this place is worth the extra cash to help keep up.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

a new favorite

1    3/13/2012   3/13/2012
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 243  Reviewed: 236  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/7/2012
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Teepads--all concrete, some are short but these are on shorter holes that don't require much of a run-up. nice and gnurled (textured) and grippy!

Nav/Signs--Because this course intertwines with Beast finding out which basket to throw to is challenging sometimes. Possible solution would be to mark the fairways with ribbons or to paint the trees? 16 is a good example of not knowing where the hell to throw, I believe 5 (?) is another...

Baskets--All in great condition, nice and grabby

Aesthetic--Beautiful locale (much like beauty and beast) constant views of Lake Michigan and the retention pond.

Challenge factor--there are some truly INSANE LINES out here... coming to mind are 16 which would require a MASSIVE turnover to get this onto the fairway.

Nav/signage--There is good and bad on this. Navigation is easy and paths are marked. However, the signage leaves some to be desired. some of the signs just give the hole name and distance others have a picture of where the pin is (helpful) and some have nothing because the wind or someone has ripped them off.

Workout--This course is a helluva workout. enough elevation change to keep your heart pumping the entire round.

Risk/reward--not a ton as there's no water, but enough to keep it exciting with decent rollaway potential.
Cons: only potential flaw is the intertwining with beast and having to watch out for other discers, but this isn't normally an issue.
Other Thoughts: I can't quit thinking about this course. I may be addicted but it's so far away!

This is BY FAR the best course at this complex, IMHO.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/29/2011   6/1/2011
Review By: mykeg44
Played: 63  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 5.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Goliath is an excellent course with huge distance and elevation that is a dream for big arms and advanced players.

As the course info and other reviewers have stated, this course plays through the same terrain as Beast, so the elevation and OB is similar. However Goliath offers a lot more distance and the added holes are a lot more difficult. There are a couple shorter holes at the beginning of the course, but they throw through very tight woods.

This course is a bombers dream. Players who like to crush it off the tee will have a ton of fun here. You throw up huge hills, down hills, across fields, into woods, and out of woods, all at big stance.

'Next tee' signs and green painted rocks were really helpful for navigation. Tee pads offer enough space for the big run ups you'll need on the longer holes.

Like the other two courses, the scenery here is gorgeous. This is mostly DG only land with rolling hills, trees, and breeze coming off the lake.
Cons: The obvious flaw here is the fact that this course shares baskets with Beast. It seems like Beast was the most played course here and Goliath is the least, so you will inevidably find yourself waiting for players on Beast to clear out before throwing. Moreover, it's probably wise to use a spotter to watch for players entering the fairway on some of the longer blind holes.

The lack of descriptive tee signs is a big con. We had to walk the fairway on a bunch of holes, which sucks when the holes are over hilly terrain.

Players without a 300+ drive will not enjoy this course.
Other Thoughts: I had never played a course that incorporates baskets from a completely different course, and aside from the occasional group finishing up their hole on Beast I didn't really notice, I played Beast then Goliath, and the two courses have comppletely different feels. Well done to the course designers.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A- = Amazing hole lengths & multi-throw holes

1    7/10/2010   2/28/2011
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.2 Years
13 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I am amazed by what a little better challenge, holes better suited to my arm, and a few multi-throw holes do to boost my enjoyment. On basically the same land as Beast, this course is a full letter grade (or disc rating) better in my book…..meaning I would play it much more often than the Beast if I lived nearby (which I would love!). This is my favorite course in this wonderful complex for the following reasons.

What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 18 (and more) hole courses (over 180 played):

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == B
(There are around 10 holes with some sort of trouble along the fairway that will cost you a stroke if you do not execute. While not of the extreme/harsh variety this makes the clench-factor higher and the reward of good execution high too. Like Beast, most of the holes are straight forward - you see what you need to do immediately. There are a couple of notable exceptions with split fairways or multiple flight paths to choose from.)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me (I rate only from the long tees). I'm a Blue level player (950ish skill) who throws 300' accurately, 360' max. == A
(There are 17 (almost a full course's worth) that are really good for my skill level. This makes for a ton of fun/satisfaction when playing well…..and they will let me know immediately if I am off my game (just look for the lack of deuces). Add to that the 3 par-4's (8, 14 & 18) that are all a good challenge and you have an additional 3 throws that must be executed well to enjoy birdie 3's).

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == B+
(As mentioned in point #1, there is trouble in the form of trees that must be navigated on almost half the holes. The use of available elevation, again, is nicely incorporated into the designed. As is the character of the other 2 courses, there are very few places where you need to unleash any wild creativity to execute well, but there is great variety in the types of throws needed.)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == B+
(The area that this course is in is strictly for disc golf and as such you do feel like you are getting away from the hustle-bustle. With many glimpses of Lake Michigan and beautiful trees and terrain, you are constantly reminded of the beauty of nature. The problem for me in really getting refreshed by my experience on this course is twofold: 1) the park road and parking lots (and a road outside of park property) are prominent on the vast majority of holes, and 2) there is a huge dam looming over the course - the backside of a reservoir. It casts this ominous feeling over the course like a giant hovering over your shoulder and surprising you every time you glance over your shoulder. Seclusion seemed a little better than Beast. I especially enjoyed the feeling of holes 3-5 - a nice mingling of white birches and fir trees.)

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == 4 bonus points for this
(I really like the design and challenge of hole 14. Although the road is an artificial boundary, the way it is used to make you choose how much you want to bite off is really cool. 8 (745') and 18 (707') are fun straight forward bomber holes where I need perfect max length drives to get my birdie 3. I wish they were just a tad shorter…..or that I could throw just a tad longer!)

13 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 A longer beast

1    10/11/2009   9/2/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 813  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course uses the same land and the same main 18 baskets as Beast, only played backward with entirely separate tees and fairways. The variety of foliage is very similar to Beast, with a few wooded holes, a few open holes, and lots of holes with grassy fairways and brushy rough that call for careful shot placement. This course has the most length of the three, and really lets you air it out on some holes (a couple long ones have distances marked out, a fun feature to measure your throws).

There is a great variety of hole shapes here, and it feels balanced for right or left handed players. There are some good long holes, but there is a variety of lengths including some ace possibilities, and that keeps it interesting throughout. Like Beast, there are some really nice views from some spots on this course, and the vibe of the course is really nice.

The baskets are showing some age, but still catch ok. Some tees were a little iffy when I played, but apparently all are nice concrete now so I won't hold that against the course any more.
Cons: The signage on Goliath is not the best, there are some tricky navigational spots with two courses overlapping. The hand drawn signs are creative, but don't always give enough information to know where to throw on some blind holes. There are some shots near the road and an old parking lot that take away from the feeling of seclusion here. There is the potential of conflict with players on Beast, on a busy day it would be really tough to have people playing both layouts.
Other Thoughts: This is another really nice course here, that I would go out of my way to play even without the other great courses surrounding it. This is the least beginner friendly of the three, with lots of length, and some really punishing rough. Experienced players will be challenged here, and need to bring lots of different shots and some distance if they want to score well.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/21/2010   8/23/2010
Review By: Mark R
Played: 83  Reviewed: 65  Exp: 12.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/21/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Same piece of land used for the Beast course, with bathrooms on site. Scenic views and fairways with just-right tree density.

Has some holes that are longer than the longest Beast holes (14 is 580', and two others are over 700'!).

Also has some interesting holes tunnel holes that aren't found at either Beast or Beauty, such as 12, 2 and A.

Holes 8 and 18 have half-buried boulders with distances in feet painted on them for measuring distance.

As with Beast/Beauty, 24 holes means two full hours of disc golf.

Probably the most challenging of the three courses at this location.
Cons: Has its own tee pads, but shares baskets with the Beast. Since the Beast is the primary course of the two, a -.5 rating was given to this course on that basis. However, there are a couple of baskets that appear to be Goliath-only (2, C).

Some tough navigation, with low-budget signs (a step down from the Beast). I do like some the by-hand drawings on the tee signs, though.

Has more iffy tee pads than Beast, but less than Beauty. Some blind tee shots are disc-loss hazards, best to use a spotter.

Likely a serious challenge on windy days.
Other Thoughts: The perfect solution for those looking for a slightly more difficult variation on the Beast. Play Beast and Goliath in one day, play Flip the next, and take the next three off.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Goliath -- a pleasure to play

5+    9/6/2009   12/18/2009
Review By: jaydee
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 13.2 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful park on Lake Michigan. Good variety of short, long, open, tight shots. Lots of terrain (elevation) variation. Lots of practice playing in the wind. In the summer, you can drive 5 minutes and go swimming at a beautiful Lake Michigan beach. Great support for the courses from the local players.
Cons: Crappy tees.
Other Thoughts: This course is based on playing the older Beast course in the reverse direction. It is more difficult than Beast but there are still plenty of birdies. The main difference is that there are several long holes where a 3 is a very good score. At one time, most of the baskets were blind but now there has been some pruning done so you can see most of them from the tee. In some cases, the pruning has gone too far in my opinion, Hole A being 1 example.

If you have a good thumber/tomahawk, there are several holes where you will be happy to deploy it. Put in some nice tees and this course would be elite.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/15/2008   12/9/2008
Review By: DirtyMittenDG
Played: 108  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/28/2009
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
Hole Variety/Course Layout--
Alot of variety! Goliath is almost like a combination of beauty and beast (only with a thicker rough) Theres about half and half "tech" to "big arm" holes. It has some decent elevation aswell.

Course Atmosphere--
Just like Beauty and Beast it is very scenic and picturesque.

Course Maintenance--
Still nice and clean, but it could use a few upgrades. It has moslty concrete tee pads, but a few are just packed ground.
Cons:
Course Navigation--
No maps, and Goliath is harder than both Beauty and Beast to navigate, but you WILL be able to survive the navigation with no map.
Other Thoughts:
Hazards--
Only the thick rough is a hazard. Goliath is not as well developed has a thicker rough than both Beauty and Beast.

--Close to Flip City!!

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 When Designers are Addicts...

5+    8/12/2008   8/12/2008
Review By: tomjulio
Played: 60  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/12/2008
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging holes both long and short. Same gorgeous lake side country playing as Beast. Another quality course set on the shores of Lake Michigan. Some really beautiful unique holes. Liked the two in the pines a lot.
Cons: Mixed tees. Some Cement, some gravel. A few of the gravel ones are very lose and easy to loose footing. Confusing to follow as it crosses and mixes with the Beast Course. Hand written signs makes it look amateurish compared to other two courses.
Other Thoughts: Goliath is the third course in Mason Counties Disc Golf Course by the lake (Beauty and Beast being the other two). The other two are full courses on their own and are easy to follow, where you can tell Goliath is the disc golf addicted designers to fill in any usable landscape and to lengthen the experience for more experienced players. Goliath almost plays backwards and intersecting much of Beasts lines and baskets. Hard to follow every now and again but really fun and great layout to challenge every shot in bag. If this course had all cement tees, nice signs like Beast I would easily play Goliath all the time. In fact it would be close to 4.5

Worth playing after playing the other two. Beast is still by far the jewel here.

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.