Burlington, IA 
Dankwardt Park Share
Uploaded By: Caveman1829 Hole #11 (Taken 6/2013)
-- / --   4 / 299ft.   4 / 299ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee Sign



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
excellent course

2-4    8/23/2013   8/23/2014
Review By: sndmn762
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: very good course, cut my teeth on this course when i first started playing, great basket placements,nice tpads, i think better signs would be great on where the holes are and the next tpad is
Cons: only con i can think of is the signs could be better

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


5+    9/3/2013   9/5/2013
Review By: RussMB
Played: 107  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 10 Years
This review was updated on 7/2/2014
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful Multi-Use Park with rolling hills with a jaunt through the woods
Concrete Tees; Tee Signs with maps, distance, and par
Varying terrain, mostly open field with trees to work around, two shots are through the woods, and a few other fairways incorporate the tree line.
#5 is a beautiful tunnel shot that has a wooden bridge for a backdrop. (personal note: This is one of my favorite scenic fairways)
Beginner friendly,yet still challenging enough for the seasoned player.
Multiple places to start from, in case traffic has filled up around hole #1, you can start on few other holes.
Bathrooms after #3; Garbage cans and picnic tables located throughout the park
Has a mix of lengths, Some 400+, and some are less than 200. 12 are between 200ft and 375ft
Dankwardt has a good fun factor
Cons: There are a lot of sidewalks that come into play. A few play near a road
Felt like there were a lot of back to back short shots.
Park can be busy, causing a lot of pedestrian traffic in the fairways.
Navigation could use a map, or some next tee signs. You'll cross the road a few times. (First time issue)
Other Thoughts: I really enjoy playing Dankwardt! It's about a medium challenge, but it does have some longer holes that really make you choose your line correctly. The park itself is a nice experience, and will have you climbing up and down hills. The course has a really a great fun factor. It has an old school feel to it, but it still brings a challenge to the player.

Dankwardt is well worth a trip to play. Add in Ft Madison and even Keokuk, and a person could have a great road trip. It may not be as challenging as some, but it is definitely fun to play. It's open, giving the thrower multiple lines to throw down the fairway. The majority of the baskets are pretty straight forward, and don't favor either left or right handed. It does get busy, so plan your road trips accordingly. But overall, if you are going to be in or around Burlington, make sure you bring your discs and enjoy a round here.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyable Course

5+    6/5/2013   6/5/2013
Review By: Caveman1829
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good length at 18 holes and all have varying pars so good mix of long & short holes. Uses the hills & woods for some challenging holes. The course is well kept: nicely marked with par signs, concrete pads, frequently mowed.
Cons: It does cross a few walking paths on the back 9--never an issue for us, but has the potential to be. Hole #6 & #8 don't have signs telling about Par. Some of pars seem "off" in my opinion.
Other Thoughts: Overall, it's a great course for beginners & casual players. It's a park setting so just scattered trees, only two holes in dense woods so not overly challenging for expert players.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Home course

5+    7/22/2012   7/22/2012
Review By: iblanchard
Played: 193  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 11.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice signs and tee pads
Well maintained.
Restroom by hole 4 and drinking fountain by hole 16
Trees on most holes that will provide some type of obstacle.
Stone wall makes for an interesting putt on hole 8 if you miss right.
3 holes are pretty challeging to score a 3.
Steps were added to help with a couple of steep slopes.
Plenty of parking on the street
Cons: Some holes are way too short. 7 should be moved back now that they changed 6.
Some signs show 2 pins, there is only one on each hole.
Can be crowded on nice days.
No new sign for hole 6.
Baskets are getting rusty, but still work fine.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course and I usually play it once a week.
Most people new to the course go the wrong way to tee 4. Tee 9 is to the right, 4 to the left.
To get to holes 5, 9 and 12 you need to cross the road.
Hole 6 was recently changed. It is completely different, it goes more into the woods, less of an incline and longer.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  

1    5/5/2012   5/6/2012
Review By: coopdawg
Played: 27  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 19.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: good course a few challenging holes and hole locations in some good spots.
Cons: not very many long holes. longer players might find it very easy.
Other Thoughts: A great course to practice your small game and to break in new discs.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Disc Course!

1    5/14/2011   5/22/2011
Review By: tmenold
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course to catch a lot of the obstacles of the game (i.e. downhill, uphill, multiple levels, lots of trees, etc.). Nice tee box cement slabs. Lot's of shade for the sunny hot days.
Cons: Built in a city park so you need to watch out for people, cars on streets, etc.
Other Thoughts: Played on a rainy day and still thought is was a great course. Would love to play again!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 nice fun little course

1    11/8/2009   11/13/2009
Review By: hognosesucker
Played: 364  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 15.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -concrete pads
-bathrooms open during season portajohns offseason
-nice variety of elevation some uphill some downhill most of them are flat
-nice use of OB on a lot of holes (mostly roads balanced left to right and some long of pin)
-decent amount of obstacles near the pins
-some shot variety mostly straight shots, but some left to rights and some right to lefts.
Cons: -course is a bit on the short side, lots of holes between 200 and 250, but there are a couple longer holes (400+)
-a couple of holes were nearly identical (7 and 18) which are both <250', the pin placed with evergreens directly behind it.
-Course is fairly multiuse, a lot of walkers, kids playing etc. so be patient
-no parking lot, you have to park on the street.
Other Thoughts: Overall this was a fun course, and despite the overall lack of distance, the longer holes are actually fairly challenging and require some shot placement. The day I played I rolled up right before league started, so I got to play with some locals. They seemed very nice.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good times

5+    9/13/2009   9/21/2009
Review By: lazy42
Played: 40  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/7/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great use of elevation where available, hole 5 drops down, then 6 is straight back up, 8 is interesting if you throw wrong, you'll end up in a hole throwing back up a retaining wall. Clean park, well maintained. A few of blind pins. Just enough trees to make it a challenge. Most holes force you to use a mid-range disc instead of just airing it out. Lots of full grown, mature trees for shade during play.
Cons: Need to update signing as dual pins are still noted. Some picnickers like to get close to a few of the fairways. Navigating from hole to hole you have to walk through a few areas of play. A couple of holes near city streets, not a big issue, but I usually wait till all traffic passes. Can be busy on a good day.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite courses played to date. A descent challenge with only a few "hard" holes, unless you're picking the wrong disc. Good mix of new players and kids, intermediate, and upper level players. Always look forward to next opportunity to play this course. Always lots going on, leagues, doubles, tourneys.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 a good park course

2-4    7/8/2008   7/8/2009
Review By: CwAlbino
Played: 67  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 14.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a nice relaxing course to go play at. The park setting is well maintained and the course is well laid out. There is some good use of elevation on this course, for what elevation was available. A fun course, and I would go back and play it again.
Cons: The cons I would give this is the lack of obstacles. It is a very open course with sporadic trees. Being in a park setting disc golfers also must cross paths with people just enjoying the park. There are a few times that the fairways go across or near a walking path.
Other Thoughts: Despite being what I call a "Park course", which is an open course with not many obstacles and lots of non-disc golfers, it is a fun course and it is worth the stop. This course is also pretty beginner friendly, so feel free to grab a nooby friend and take them along.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not Too Shabby!

2-4    6/22/2009   6/30/2009
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was a pleasant little gem to come across. This course used the trees and elevation in great ways. The tee signs were well done and navigation wasn't too bad. All the pins are now permanently in the long position; I was told this by some locals. There were decent cement tee pads on all the holes. This was a fun 18-hole course for the area. There were plenty of trashcans along the way.
Cons: In my opinion, the par 4's should be 3's and the 5's should at the most be 4's. This is not an actual negative for the course, but it should be mentioned. There is a walking path that crosses through parts of the course. Many people seem to use it, but it did not seem to bother the golfers too much.
Other Thoughts: The fun factor for me really went up on my second round at this course. I found myself looking forward to the next hole. It was also a great place to take someone for the first round. It was lots of fun for them

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.