Course Extinct
Chico, CA 
Bidwell Park - Short Share



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Play it while you can

5+    5/13/2010   6/17/2010
Review By: jimbosprint
Played: 68  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 13.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course to learn to throw a disc. This is where I learned, and many of my friends too. Even though it is very short, the course still requires a good variety of shots. Also fun to play before or after the Long Course. If you don't have much time, the Short Course can be played in under an hour.
Cons: After playing many other courses, I am really a fan of baskets and these tone poles are really beat up (and only about 4" in diameter). There are no maps or tee markers, and most of the dirt tees are in bad shape. I suggest finding a local to show you around. Really not a challenge for experienced players.
Other Thoughts: The bad news is that this course is scheduled to be removed at any time. If you want to add this to your list of played courses, do it soon or you may never get the chance again. The good news: The Chico Outsiders have made a deal with the city to improve the Long Course and make it permanent.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Novice course

2-4    5/22/2010   5/23/2010
Review By: Jgunter
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well laid out obstacles
Good use of fallen trees near pins
Rocky terrain makes and interesting twist
Cons: Teepads are rocky at best
No signage whatsoever
Other Thoughts: Lack of signs makes it hard to know what order holes are supposed to be played in.
If you like to have shots that move close to the ground (roller, skipshots, scoobies, or just low approaches) rocks will force you to be either very precise or very frustrated

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Short Course

5+    2/18/2009   3/2/2009
Review By: 916er
Played: 23  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 14.7 Years
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great course for novice to intermediate players. I think I may be impartial to it though, because it was the place I got my first ace at. Every hole on the short course is about 200-250 feet with the exception of #'s 16 and 18 which are a little longer. Great for shorter throwers, kids, and newbs.
Cons: No trash cans, few benches, no baskets (poles), very rocky (tears up discs), no tee pads, no signage. Still a cool little course that is pretty easy to navigate around.
Other Thoughts: I love playing this course and will play it until they shut it down (it's going to be shut down this year). I would definitely recommend playing this course before the inevitable. It's my understanding that the long course will remain open for years to come. The advanced course at Bidwell is not that difficult either, but the holes are much longer.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Chico

1    6/10/2004   2/27/2008
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 192  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/8/2010
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros:
The course provides great opportunities for putting and midrange practice with the occasional fairway drive. Drivers on this course for the most part are not needed and power drivers would be a waste considering the course for the most part is a pitch and putt compared to its big brother. Some holes on this course will go past 200+ feet but even then, with an accurate drive those holes are birdiable.

Although the course is mainly a dry desert atmosphere with bushes and trees scattered periodically throughout the course, it is quite beautiful during the early spring. Besides visiting the Sierra Nevada Brewery in Chico, this course (especially the long) is worth a game if in the area. If pressed for time I recommend playing the long course only.
Cons:
At the time there were only targets which we all know is never as good as the real thing. The tee pads were dirt like the course but were falling apart. However, I have been told that they have fixed them and were trying to eventually put in baskets which would make the course rate higher.
Other Thoughts:
The short course could still use a lot of work (as stated in the review above), but last I heard it was going to be removed which truly is a shame. The course was really a nice addition to the longer course and great for a quick round before the blistering heat takes over. If looking for some epic holes you better stay to the long course where you will come across the infamous cliff shots of holes 2 and 3

The locals are friendly and are always helpful in showing you around. Course can be difficult to naviagate at times so make sure you get a map or find a local when playing.

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.