Terre Haute, IN 
Deming Park Share
Uploaded By: RocCityDiscer Hole #12 (Taken 5/2009)
5 / 435ft.   3 / 435ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Troll's Review

1    8/30/2012   10/5/2013
Review By: Eric troll Biscuits
Played: 31  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 26.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes in a 'user" friendly fashion
Nice park setting, and has a "stroller friendly' strip
Well maintained too, no "disc fearing" spots.
Newer Baskets
Some elevations, and mature trees, good use of the landscape.
Cons: None, that I can think of...:) I guess just like any course, expansion, and a make over with the sports progression could happen...
Other Thoughts: For people who don't like my reviews. play this course. Its a great example for its location. Excellent = course does not have to be over technically designed to frustrate players...

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Demming

5+    5/19/2013   5/20/2013
Review By: gskinner
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1
Pros: New baskets! Well marked. The layout is great, natural play no searching required for play. Open holes and tree paths offer challenges for beginners and the experienced. One of the nicest parks I've played in. Up and down shots through rolling hills. Mature trees offering great shade, most of the course is shaded.
Cons: Distance is a little off and some holes do not have signs or the signs are old and hard to read. The park is great and some ppl are usually in the way at some place or another. Lots of ppl play but usually let you play through.

 Great park course

2-4    5/19/2010   5/20/2010
Review By: bilemshious
Played: 26  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 7.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful park with nice rolling hills and mature trees. It's very well maintained even after a few days of rain. Even though this park has a good amount of other activities, the disc golf course stays in it's own area. This is not a rinky-dink park course though.

This is a fairly difficult course. The distances are somewhat deceiving. Most of the holes are in the 200-300ft range, but what makes this course difficult are the obstacles and low canopy on many of the holes. This course certainly requires a your entire bag of shots - hyzers, anhyzers, mid-range, long bombs. The mature trees in the fairways and the tree line on the outskirts really shape the holes. The trees aren't your only obstacles - the rolling hills provide some fun problems.

As far as logistics - the tee pads are nice, level cement; the baskets are nice and new; there are a couple places go use the restroom and drink from a water fountain. No benches but there are plenty of trash receptacles. Tee signs show course par, distance to the basket and a rough diagram as to where the basket is located. The course was busy but they were friendly people. Being a stones throw from Rose Holman and Indiana State, I'm not surprised.

While I've only played one set of basket placements, I saw many of the alternates. They all looked to drastically alter the play of the hole.
Cons: Some of the holes seem crammed into one spot. Holes 5, 6, and 7 are all very close. I think the designer (while I do like the layout) could have used the land a little wiser than this. After all, there is plenty of space in this park.

The first time out, it was difficult to grasp the layout of the blind holes. The only reason this is a con is because of the vague tee-signs. They don't change the tee signs based on the alternate tees either.

Being a park course means that the scenery is fairly limited. Sure the mature trees and elevation changes provide some variety, but there was a point where it seemed repetitive - throw from the tee towards some large trees.

Watch out for those mosquitoes in the woods during the summer months. Also, those squirrels aren't scared of anything - including you.
Other Thoughts: This would be a pretty good course to take a beginner. They are able to learn while more experienced players can still enjoy the challenge of this course.

I think my review conflicts in some ways with some of the other reviews. Obviously I can only write from my own perspective.

It was difficult to think of drastic oversights that would really drag this course's score down. It's a nice, clean, well-thought out course. I drove an hour from Bloomington and was a little jealous of the people who live much closer as a result of this course. I will definitely be back to play this course. Like LeVar Burton, don't take my word for it.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Homefield

5+    3/9/2009   3/9/2009
Review By: chriseay76
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good use of moderate elevation changes as well as fluidity, you seem to flow through the course as you play. Lack of long holes made up for with challenging precision drives especially during summer with full foliage Good DG community, both courteous and friendly. Also as you round out through 15-18 along the road you get some occasional eye candy.Clean, maintained almost compulsively A five star course to learn on.
Cons: Not many, but i can toss about 330" 350 on a good day so i can drive the pin on most holes however a real crusher might not be as challenged. A few (3) tees could use some maintenance but are far from unusable. I like that there's no water but others won't. Alot of amateurs in the summer, but most are courteous and let you play through.
Other Thoughts: My hometown course and the one i learned on. If you get a chance to come to Terre Haute stop by and play.......Lord knows there's nothing else here to do..

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/2/2008   10/29/2008
Review By: tom8658
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/1/2008
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Beautiful park, rolling hills with large mature trees providing shade. Most holes make use of elevation, while the big trees make good obstacles without being overly wooded. Not many places to loose discs.
Cons: Course is in a city park, so the occasional person will wander onto the fairway.
Other Thoughts: Home to giant red squirrels that are seemingly fearless.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty Nice Course

1    6/18/2008   6/18/2008
Review By: edge3281
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/8/2009
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: All holes have a sign stating the hole number, distance and shows a general idea of where large objects are and location of next tee. Very well maintained. Good mix of distance and technical shots. Scorecards provided at the start of the course. Bathrooms are available in the park.
Cons: They have trimmed some of the trees recently that I think makes some of the more difficult shots easier. This takes away some of the challenge the course provides. Mosquitoes can be an issue since the course mostly runs along the edge of the woods.
Other Thoughts: I have played this course several times and I really enjoy it. The elevation changes and pin locations are a challenge even for advanced players.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  

3/8/2008   4/17/2008
Review By: nickles
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Multiple pin locations , well maintained, varied lengths, doglegs and elevations. Courteous golfers for the most part. Beautiful scenery leads to tough summer conditions
Cons: starting to get overcrowded could use new signage and a couple pads need repaired no real water hazard but small pond fotms after good rain
Other Thoughts: my hometown course

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course!

2/29/2008   2/29/2008
Review By: tenWatts
Played: 50  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 12.5 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautiful course! The park is well maintained and the people are great. A couple holes have a few differant pin placements. There is a great mixture of left to right and right to left shots. There NOT a LOT of elevation on this course but they did put the elevation that's avalible to great use when designing it. There are a couple CRUSHER holes on the back.
Cons: I can't think of any cons. Great course.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center