Terre Haute, IN 
Deming Park Share
Uploaded By: HighFlyer88 Hole #4 (Taken 8/2010)
4 / 310ft.   3 / 310ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee

Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 Next >
 All around course

1    5/25/2009   6/8/2009
Review By: RocCityDiscer
Played: 21  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 13.5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Situated in a beautiful park. Mature trees are the norm here. Leaving plenty of room for shots but enough obstacles to make things interesting. Three pin locations on every hole make things even more interesting if you play the course often.

Course is in great shape. Good signs and a concrete tee pad on every hole make this course easy to navigate if you are a first timer or out of towner as I was.
Cons: Maybe a little to simple and repetitive on the last few holes that follow the road back to the parking area.

Tough to find the course itself as the park it is in is huge.
Other Thoughts: I would call this a must play if you are in the area. Nothing to spectacular here but is definitely a very enjoyable course. Another plus is there are not many places to lose discs.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Simple but Effective

2-4    5/3/2009   5/6/2009
Review By: Texconsinite
Played: 136  Reviewed: 79  Exp: 7.8 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course showed signs of recent renovation when I was there, which I suspect to mean they put in new pin positions, which is great, because every hole on this course has multiple pin locations, marked with red flags, as are the baskets themselves. An impressive THREE pin locations per hole seems to be the norm on this course, though a few holes might've just had two. Every hole has a single flat concrete tee in great shape, and a tee sign with a decent hole map and distance. The listed par is such that it comes out to 72 for the course, which is great for rec players. I played them all as 3's, which I suspect the local die-hard's do as well.

The course is set on a strip of land that generally slopes downhill from the meandering park road to the wooded area through which lie the train tracks you must cross to enter the park. The course is on large hills with scattered mature trees, as well as the aforementioned strip of woods.

This park reminded me of Anna Page West, in Rockford IL, but with cooler terrain and more overhanging branches. It has fewer trees and very little shule, but this park makes every tree count. Many of them have branches close to the ground that seem to grow out sideways, giving many trees wide profiles, and/or creating windows and/or low ceilings on many fairways.

I freely admit that I am biased towards heavily wooded courses, and often not impressed with fields of scattered trees, but this course really does it well. The unique profiles of many of the trees create much more intriguing holes than even many thickly wooded courses, where you are merely dodging between tree trunks. This is a different game entirely.

The thick canopies on this course add a vertical element to it as well, combined with some really cool terrain. A few of the best courses I've played (Justin Trails) have terrain that singularly creates interesting holes without much in the way of trees or water, and this course sports a few holes like this as well.

A good example of the canopy is the surprisingly-hard-to-deuce 208 ft Hole 5. You shoot slightly uphill to a flatter spot where two trees form a small, low window, through which you see the basket up the much steeper hill beyond the twin guardians, framed between the archway of their branches. The trees are wide and tall enough that its hard to spike hyzer around them, and its hard to get a skip up the steeper area for an easy deuce. Not to mention the elevation makes it play significantly longer than the sign says. Looks simple, but its not.That's how this park is, in a nutshell. They keep the baskets well protected, and other than 16 and 17, are are few gimme's here.

The elevation here is some of the coolest I've played on, and the course design maximizes it for many unique and memorable holes, including several blind pins, long hilltop-driving holes, and a variety of curves.

Because there is not much shule, many holes lend themselves to several possible lines to play on any given holes. However, the size and girth of the trees here keep players honest, and do punish errant shots, as does the steep terrain.

This course will get you to think about your shots, and especially where you want them to land. It will also have several holes that will stretch most arms, WHILE forcing control, both in direction and height.

Though hole 12 is the "signature hole", my personal favorite is hole 7. The fairway plays up a steep hill, with the wooded area on the left. In the middle of the fairway is a gigantic thing that appears to be several trees growing out of the same stump. Its pretty wide, and only gets wider the further above the ground it gets. Past it is another tree or two, and behind that is the basket, either slightly left or right of center (depending on the pin placement). Either way, totally hidden from you off the tee. You are forced to choose which way to bend around this behemoth in your way. Its tough, because you need all the distance you can get to make it up the hill, but if you clip a branch, you are looking at a 4. Spike hyzers are dangerous due to rollaway on the slopes, and more branches up above, so you have to find the right height to maximize distance up the hill, which is a delightful challenge.

The first 12 holes here flow down the hill to the edge of the woods, and play back and forth, working their way along the area in a clockwise direction. The wooded areas in play, if any, are usually on the left side or back of the holes. The last six holes of this course play up closer to the road, and work their way back to the start.

This course opens up with two holes that are interesting, purely terrain holes. One tree total, on both fairways. Hole one is on the edge of a raised sloping ridge, and two is a blind downhill shot that forces you to curve around a lone tree on the crest of the next hill to a pin hidden in the low area just before the edge of the dangeous wooded dropoff. The first chunk is a good mix of short-medium length holes (mid-high 200's) with a 300+ ft-er thrown in periodically. Deuces are attainable but well-earned on this section. Starting at hole 12, the course delivers the knock-out blow with three long, fairly technical holes in a row, two over 400 ft, that can wreck your score. After that, there is a longish tunnel shot, and 16 and 17 provide back to back birdie opportunities, before finishing with the interesting hole 18 (which is either fairly clever or dastardly cunning depending on where the pin is)

This course is a fun time, and thanks to the terrain, has good drainage and variety. The gorgeous park itself will wow you more than the course, but this one is definitely worth playing if you are in the area.
Cons: The fairly standard signs only displayed one pin location and distance, though there are obviously several pins, which means on some holes, especially the longer ones, you arent sure whether its 360 or 440.

Rust. Several of the baskets are showing their age? and starting to rust, as is the sign for hole 18, which is half rusted off. It appears there are baskets of mixed types here, and some seem lighter duty than others. A few of the rusted ones, with fewer chains, are in need of replacement.

In a few cases, partly due to the somewhat open nature of this park, it was difficult to tell which pin you were aiming at. In particular, hole 4 is confusing. Your pin is a blind shot off to the left. The pin that's visible from the tee is NOT pin 4.

Though it offers diverse pin locations, which presumably are changed often (I didn't encounter any locals whose brains I could pick about this), this course has only one tee at each hole. This could be seen as a con, since the lack of dual tees of any kind could hurt the replay value of the park. However, looking at the way the course is set up, many of the holes are really too short for a shorter set of tees, and a longer set would be impossible without crossing fairways. On many courses with dual tees, the course is designed to be shot from one set (usually longs), and the location of the other set seems like an afterthought, or is just boring (good example- the short tees at Crystal Lake Park in Beaver Dam, WI)

I can't see a way to possibly install alt tees here, so the dearth of alt pin locations seems like a good (and inexpensive) alternative.

No doubt the locals have some crazy hard alt layouts known only to them, but for the rest of us, the course flows well and is fairly easy to navigate, even with rusted tee signs.

However, I felt that on some holes, the other alt pins all sucked, hole 3 in particular. The longest pin, next to a tree, was in when I played, but the other two are both shorter and out in the open, further from the woods edge, which makes it a much less interesting hole, still over 300ft but wide open. I hope the add another pin placement to the left of the long one, tucking it between the second tree and the woods. That would be another interesting location instead of the two bland alternatives currently in place.

This course is a fun experience. Overall, its fairly challengin, maybe a bit higher in difficulty that the short tees of most of the Midwest courses I've played with dual concrete tees. Since there's no long tees here for the option of a tougher round, and this lack of variety is one mark against this course that separates it from the elite courses. However, its very well designed to maximize the benefits of the land its on for a fun and challenging experience that doesn't get boring. Never have I played a park that used so few trees so well.

Despite the somewhat run-down and basic nature of the course baskets and signs, this course is still a Quite Good (3.25) course. Lots of fun, but not super hard. Rec and experienced players alike will enjoy this course, though its baskets aren't all in the best shape. Worth checking out, lots of fun, memorable even, but not Excellent. If I am back in the area, I will definitely play this course again, but it's not among my treasured favorites.

On a side note: Though this park has many indoor bathrooms spaced throughout it, they were locked when I tried to use them. It was 7am Sunday, so that could be the reason, but worst case scenario, there are gas stations nearby with unlocked facilities.
Other Thoughts: Deming Park itself is gorgeous. It contains an arboretum, gardens, playgrounds, a swimming pool, several lakes, and several picnic gazebos with concrete floors and four picnic tables in each. Also, there were signs pointing to nature trails that led off into the woods in other sections of the park. It's clear that this park is a busy place, a center for the Terre Haute community. The weekend I was there, the park was full of High Schoolers having their prom pictures taken. There must've been at least a hundred of them, yet they never even came close to interfering with the DG course. That chould give you an idea of the scope of this park.

This park is so enormous, they put 18 holes off to one side of the road, in one corner of the park. There is space here to put several more 18 hole courses in this park. However, with all the other activities that this park is used for, I can see why they don't. Better to keep disc golf out of the way, and worry about pedestrians.

Though I think adding a second permanent course here wouldn't work, a temp one for special occasions would be fantastic. If they wanted to throw a big tournament here, they could plop down some rubber pads and temp baskets across the road from the current one. Theres probably enough space over there to make 36 temp holes, or definitely 18 long ones. The rest of the park is a little more open or less hilly at points, but the prospect of bringing some of the lakes into play is pretty exciting, and with SO much area to choose from, given free reign you could for sure find at least 18 amazing holes throughout the rest of this grand expanse of green space.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


5+    3/9/2009   3/9/2009
Review By: chriseay76
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good use of moderate elevation changes as well as fluidity, you seem to flow through the course as you play. Lack of long holes made up for with challenging precision drives especially during summer with full foliage Good DG community, both courteous and friendly. Also as you round out through 15-18 along the road you get some occasional eye candy.Clean, maintained almost compulsively A five star course to learn on.
Cons: Not many, but i can toss about 330" 350 on a good day so i can drive the pin on most holes however a real crusher might not be as challenged. A few (3) tees could use some maintenance but are far from unusable. I like that there's no water but others won't. Alot of amateurs in the summer, but most are courteous and let you play through.
Other Thoughts: My hometown course and the one i learned on. If you get a chance to come to Terre Haute stop by and play.......Lord knows there's nothing else here to do..

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


1    10/2/2008   10/29/2008
Review By: tom8658
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/1/2008
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Beautiful park, rolling hills with large mature trees providing shade. Most holes make use of elevation, while the big trees make good obstacles without being overly wooded. Not many places to loose discs.
Cons: Course is in a city park, so the occasional person will wander onto the fairway.
Other Thoughts: Home to giant red squirrels that are seemingly fearless.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Short but Fun

7/15/2008   7/22/2008
Review By: ferretdance03
Played: 75  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 10.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well maintained park atmosphere with a fair amount of variety in your shots.
- I saw no less than 7 park employees taking care of the grounds during my round.
- The tee pads were more than ample
- Nice use of limited elevation available
- Fair amount of variety in shot choices
Other Thoughts: -With only 6 holes over 300ft this is not a course for players that like to air it out. The back to back 400+ holes are the only real places to crush a drive
- While the tee signs are fairly accurate, they only showed one pin placement, as mentioned below
- It was a bit confusing to find the course with all the park roads being one way, and I found no place to park close by hole 1. Perhaps locals know of a better place to park.

Overall, a fun course with a few challenging holes. A great place to work on your straight drives and finesse upshots.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty Nice Course

1    6/18/2008   6/18/2008
Review By: edge3281
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/8/2009
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: All holes have a sign stating the hole number, distance and shows a general idea of where large objects are and location of next tee. Very well maintained. Good mix of distance and technical shots. Scorecards provided at the start of the course. Bathrooms are available in the park.
Cons: They have trimmed some of the trees recently that I think makes some of the more difficult shots easier. This takes away some of the challenge the course provides. Mosquitoes can be an issue since the course mostly runs along the edge of the woods.
Other Thoughts: I have played this course several times and I really enjoy it. The elevation changes and pin locations are a challenge even for advanced players.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.


4/25/2008   4/26/2008
Review By: JogginJohn
Played: 47  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.7 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very well marked and maintained, varied hole difficulty, good for both beginners and more experienced players.
Cons: There are only some minor problems. The tee signs only display one hole location and distance, but there are a couple hole locations. Also, you will get non-disc golfers walking through the course every once in awhile, not realizing they are in the way.
Other Thoughts: One of the best things for beginners is there is no real place to lose discs. There are no water hazards and the course is mostly grass with some light underbrush along the edge. Nothing deters new players like having to search for badly thrown discs. Experienced players will also find the course interesting because it requires a wide range of shot types to get around trees.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


3/8/2008   4/17/2008
Review By: nickles
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Multiple pin locations , well maintained, varied lengths, doglegs and elevations. Courteous golfers for the most part. Beautiful scenery leads to tough summer conditions
Cons: starting to get overcrowded could use new signage and a couple pads need repaired no real water hazard but small pond fotms after good rain
Other Thoughts: my hometown course

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course!

2/29/2008   2/29/2008
Review By: tenWatts
Played: 50  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 13.5 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautiful course! The park is well maintained and the people are great. A couple holes have a few differant pin placements. There is a great mixture of left to right and right to left shots. There NOT a LOT of elevation on this course but they did put the elevation that's avalible to great use when designing it. There are a couple CRUSHER holes on the back.
Cons: I can't think of any cons. Great course.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.