Browns Summit, NC 
Haw River Nature Trail Share
Uploaded By: Tenacious EJ Hole #6 (Taken 9/2014)
3 / 251ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers

1    4/15/2016   4/18/2016
Review By: KenanFlagler01
Played: 87  Reviewed: 81  Exp: 7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a solid 9-hole course located at the Haw River State Park.

1. Good course design with a variety of uphill, downhill, hyzer, and anhyzer shots.

2. The setting of the course is the biggest pro for me. This is a small state park, but it feels very secluded and peaceful. If you play disc golf for the R&R, this is a great one.

3. No problems with navigation. Good signage.

4. I really liked the elevation on this course. There is a wicked steep uphill hole (the only one where I didn't use a putter or mid off the tee). There are also some fun downhill shots. Number nine was my favorite. It's the longest and most open hole.

5. The Haw River State Park itself isn't much of a tourist destination. I went there with my son's 4th Grade class on a field trip. We did all kinds of nature things, but I didn't notice anything that would lure me to vacation there. They have very nice facilities in terms of cabins and conference rooms. There's also an indoor gym. But otherwise, it's a small state park with a few trails, not much else. List that as a pro/con. It's way off the beaten path and very peaceful and pretty. Just not much to do and probably not worth a special trip just for the disc golf course.
Cons: By 9-hole course standards, Haw River holds up fine. Still, there are some cons:

1. The biggest con, far and away, for me is the baskets. The have no yellor or orange bands on them, no flags, and they're somewhat dated. They are impossible to spot from the tee against the wooded backdrop. I would say that on most holes, I had to walk halfway down (or up) the fairway to spot the basket. Flags would be really helpful on this course...better yet, new baskets.

2. I wasn't a huge fan of the mulch tee pads. You don't need a big run-up at this course, but still, my footing wasn't great off the tee.

3. There's a beautiful grassy hill and small lake off to the right on hole number 9. Maybe there were constraints on course location, but it seems like they missed a good opportunity to lengthen out the course some by incorporating this part of the property.

4. Along the same lines, even if the builders weren't able to use more territory, especially the lake, it would have been nice to have a little more length to the 9 holes. As i mentioned, I only threw a fairway driver once. It's a tight and technical course, which is fine -- challenging and enjoyable -- but a little more length would make it a stronger course for intermediate to advanced players.
Other Thoughts: This course is a must-play IF you go to Haw River State Park. (As I stated earlier, I'm not sure why you would make a special trip to this park if you're not a part of a field trip or conference.) If you do find yourself here with your kid while on a field trip, as I did, you will have a pleasant surprise when you find out there's a little 9-hole disc golf course waiting for you to bag!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    8/22/2015   8/25/2015
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 5.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well-designed niner that offers a different look on every hole. Some tight wooded passages, a few relatively open looks among sparse trees. Elevation changes on nearly every fairway. Most holes between 200 and 300 feet with the uphill shots occasionally shorter. The tees are natural but bordered by wood which makes the basket to tee navigation easy. The atmosphere is probably the highlight as the park is secluded and feels miles away from anything, which it pretty much is.
Cons: Not well maintained. The beginning holes offer nicely shaped throwing fairways, including quality uphill toss on 3 but walking fairways of just a narrow path. That eases up later as the terrain becomes more open and space is abundant.
Tee signs, while nice, are vague. Several hole shapes do not look like what is drawn on the tee. Combine that with all-grey, hard-to-see baskets and there are several holes where I just threw in the general direction and found the basket later. (Except 9. On 9 I didn't find the basket till I gave up and started walking back.
Other Thoughts: Worth playing but not going out of the way for.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Off the beaten path

1    8/21/2015   8/24/2015
Review By: hoppedup
Played: 71  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is on a nice piece of land with plenty of elevation change.

The course does not interfere with any other park amenities, other than throwing close to the amphitheater.

The holes are short, which is good for beginners. No need to take a bag, just a putter and a mid. Maybe a fairway driver to let it fly on #9.

The mulch tee pads are actually not that bad and you don't really need a run up anyway.

The tee signs give hole information and nature facts and pro tips about disc golf throws.

There is a decent mix of required shots. The course generally opens up a bit after #3 and #9 is wide open.

I assume this course will never be crowded.
Cons: At least three baskets are damaged by fallen trees. They are still very playable. A tree had fallen over the #3 teepad, but is a stand and deliver hole anyway.

The park is only open 8-5 M-F. This will limit what little traffic might show up anyway. The first three holes in particular could use some traffic.

Even though the holes are short, the Chainstar baskets are almost impossible to see. Look for the orange tape strip. I guess they were wanting to keep a more natural look. Not a problem if you decide to play through again, which the scorecard is designed for.

This park is kind of in the middle of nowhere and definitely not a destination park. I'm from Greensboro and had just played Lake's Edge in Reidsville so it was sorta on the way home.

I did spider web kung fu multiple times on each hole.


Other Thoughts: This was actually a pretty fun course after the first three holes. After #1, don't go the tee pad you see straight ahead. That is #3. Turn left and go up the hill for #2 tee pad. #2 is a pretty neat downhill shot. Keep it in the fairway (such as it is) on these first three holes.

Again, not a destination course, but if you are ticking off courses, you have probably played much worse.

There is a sign warning about copperheads at the trailhead. We didn't see any at Haw River State Park this day. My old boy scout camp was about two miles away from this property and I saw more copperheads during my time at boy scout camp than anywhere else in my life.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Tight and technical

2-4    9/22/2014   9/22/2014
Review By: Tenacious EJ
Played: 47  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 23.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -some challenging holes
-more technical than most local courses
-definitely not crowded
- beautiful scenery, plenty of wildlife
Cons: -not much variation
-usually just one path to the basket
-the baskets are nearly impossible to see against the background
-extremely tight
-in the middle of nowhere
Other Thoughts: Haw River Nature Trail is a short little course that really requires you to follow the intended line, and often that line is extremely tight. There's no place aside from holes 5 & 9 where you can let it loose, and even then it's probably not the best idea. It's definitely a great course to practice your control, but there are more enjoyable courses to do that.

The tees are wood chips, but as there's really no need to let loose anywhere it isn't an issue. The tee signs are quite nice, the course map adequate, and the scorecards are beautiful. They wisely set up the card so you can play and score two rounds in a row. The real letdown is the baskets, a set of old Chainstars, which might as well be invisible. Good luck finding them in the pics I took. They weren't any easier finding in person, and the never-ending foliage makes it difficult to judge distances as well.

The designer, who wasn't listed, took care to make each hole different, which was appreciated, but all the holes are very short. Holes 5-9 are the most interesting. 5 finally opens up a bit, and 6 provides some well-needed length. 7 welcomes a steep drop off behind and to the right of the basket leading to a creek bed which was a surprise I didn't see from the tee. 8 consists of a steep uphill grade that is longer than it looks, and 9 is your really only opportunity to air it out, though "it" for most players is only a midrange driver. It also ends just feet away from the first tee, which leads to another issue- several of the baskets are extremely close to the next pad. However, as I don't expect much traffic on the course, it's probably not that big of an issue. As a filler course it's just fine, but it's too isolated and too short for anyone but the golfer who is a completist. Perhaps if they thinned it out a bit and installed some baskets that you could see I'd enjoy it more, but there was too narrow a line, too little to keep me interested, and waaaayyyy too many spider webs for me to spend much time here.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.