Auburn, CA 
Auburn Regional Park Share
Uploaded By: humchris85 Hole #2
3 / 235ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
So much potential.....

5+    1/18/2015   1/20/2015
Review By: robodude
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
Pros: Holes range from challenging (#2 is a forest with nowhere to shoot but up) to benign (several of the holes around the tennis courts are just wide open driving contests). If someone would just keep up the signage so you know which position you're throwing to that day, it would REALLY improve the experience!
Cons: I expect groups of 8 or more to be plodding along at Shady/Orangevale. I don't expect them at Auburn but that's what I got on Sunday. One group of 8 and another of 12....yes, 12. I've never seen a group that large in my years and years of playing.
Now...I will say that both groups were cognizant of players behind them and both let us play through quickly but c'mon....what is the problem with splitting your group up into the NORMAL size (4) and keeping play moving along? I was advised by one of the group of 12 that this was their normal Sunday morning round that they've been playing for decades and that "...this isn't Orangevale". I think the old guy was trying to say that they play...... very....... slowly....and that one shouldn't be in a hurry playing their course. Still...12 people means 11 people standing around while 1 person gets ready... wipes off their disc.... gets their stance... gets loose... focuses... and then eventually throws... followed by 11 other people doing the same thing.
Other Thoughts: If the hole locator discs on the signs aren't going to be accurate, the least they can do is ensure each basket has a sign that says what hole it is. The baskets around the picnic tables include #3, #8, #10 and #18 and not all have the hole # on them.


1    12/27/2014   1/5/2015
Review By: getchofil
Played: 39  Reviewed: 9
Pros: The course makes good use of elevation, trees, water on 6 or so holes playing throughout a park but avoids most areas where other park patrons would be (tennis, soccer, playground, etc). There's also a good blend of short and long throws required, some technical and a few long open baskets.
Cons: The signage has taken a bit of a beating, making it a little difficult to find basket placements on every hole.
Other Thoughts: Despite signage issue, this course was a very fun challenge. I'd definitely play this course again if I was in the area.

Decent Course

1    12/26/2014   12/26/2014
Review By: Redline4j
Played: 62  Reviewed: 17
Pros: Baskets are moved regularly to keep things fresh. The basket crew was moving baskets at the time I started to play.

Despite the heavy amount of rain the area had received for the weeks prior to my playing, the ground was still walkable and not too muddy.
Cons: Course layout is not that well marked and it was helpful that I was playing with someone that had played the course before.

Great course shoe-horned into a popular park

1    9/28/2014   9/30/2014
Review By: kevaunne
Played: 38  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 7.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good mix of open and tight holes and healthy distance variety. Mix of straight and right/left doglegs.
- Excellent signage (when intact) and teepads. A few holes have long tees. All holes have alternate basket positions.
Some standouts:
2: It's a downhill look from the tee where your options are to throw a tall hyzer over some trees or down through a tightly wooded area. Basket is nestled near the creekbed, protected by some bushes.
5: It's a longer hole (400ft+) where you throw slightly downhill across an open meadow which quickly transitions into a mature forest.
14: from the long tee, it's an intimidating shot with a lake to the left and a voluminous oak straight in front requiring a big right turning hook over the lake then downhill into the trees. I wussed out and threw it from the short tee.
Cons: - awkward layout at times. Weird, extended walks between some holes. Many teepads throw across populated sections of the park
- A lot of the signage has been vandalized to the point that they're un-readable. Baskets are not always labeled leading to difficult navigation for first-time players (myself included). It's disappointing because the intact signs were very good and informative.
- Holes towards the geographic center of the course felt a bit too similar (8-13 &18). You throw across a large open field where some patches trees come into play around the basket
- Grabby oak trees - I almost walked away from a disc trapped high up in the branches on 2
Other Thoughts: Very solid course with some obvious flaws. Worth playing if you're in the area. I played Condon before here and it was refreshing to have some room to air out some longer drives but still be challenged and engaged. I would definitely replay this course if I'm in the area

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great Mix of Holes!

5+    1/6/2011   1/24/2011
Review By: GVDiscr
Played: 85  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 11.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nice course throwing through big city park
The first 7 Holes are fairly wooded and require some stealth accuracy while the middle set of Holes opens up a bit more in the center of the grassy park.
Great Mach 3 Baskets
Cement Tee Pads & Tee Signs with Distances
Multiple Pin Placements for each Hole
Great locals! Local Club (Chainzombies) are a great group of folks - Auburn is always running weeklies and there's always someone around to guide you though the course.
Cons: Lots of people both playing and pedestrians walking
The walk between Hole 13 and Hole 14's Tee is pretty long, a Hole between the two would be cool !
Other Thoughts: Hole 14, which used to shoot over the pond; now shoots off the Tee up by the tree directly in front of the old tee.
The Course plays very hard when it's in all long...will give all great Pro's a run for their money!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Solid course in a nice park

1    1/23/2011   1/24/2011
Review By: timothyasteele
Played: 28  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 31.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice course setting in a large community park with lots going on all around. Tennis courts, basketball court, people fishing in the pond, etc.

Good variety of shots with uphill and downhill, ace runs and long narrow tunnel shots, water hazards, etc.

Teepads are level, grippy, and in good condition, baskets are in good condition (although a few had missing numbers on top), and tee signs were easy to read for the ones that were there.

I bumped into several groups of locals (small and large) and they all seemed friendly and there was a good vibe on the course with respect and courtesy where some holes overlap a bit.

Fun and mildly challenging, but not too difficult for anyone to play, and with a good mix of basket locations makes this course a good spot for anyone in the general northern California area to visit.



Cons: Some of the holes are a little tight to one another, resulting in having to really watch for flying discs and sometimes waiting to throw.

Most of the signs are in good shape, but a few are completely missing which makes it rather tough if you've never played there before.

I didn't see any large sign at the beginning with a map of the course. Thankfully, I went to the local DG club page and downloaded the course map. Without it, I would have been lost several times as there is no signage for where the next teepad is.

A few missing basket numbers on the baskets, which isn't a huge deal, but a few are close together and it would be nice to easily make sure you're throwing at the right one.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I think this is a really solid course with potential of being even better with some better signage and a few basket numbers.

The people were friendly, the park is family friendly with lots of activities all around, the course was clean and in good shape.

I'll be going back again pretty soon to play it again!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    9/13/2010   1/12/2011
Review By: June
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Easy park and entry
-Technical skinny and nice open fairways
-Good teepads, baskets and signs
-Great area to spend a day after discing
Cons: -Hard to navigate if you havn't played before
-Easy to lose a disc or two if unexpierienced

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Must Play

1    5/24/2010   5/24/2010
Review By: Joe_Maumy
Played: 36  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 5.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course in a city park. All kinds of different holes from woods to wide open fields. All well taken care of. Great locals who let me play through since I was running solo. Cool vibe. Parking right near hole 1 by the tennis courts. 18 also ends near here as well. If your in the area stop and play this course, I cant wait to go back
Cons: few tee signs missing due to vandals I am sure. Some of the tee pads had the hole number painted on them, this would be great on all pads. Also arrows or something indicating where the next tee is would also be helpful. I got off track and missed a hole but was lucky some locals pointed me in the right direction.
Other Thoughts: Good course, good parking (FREE) Shade, tables, benches, BBQ's and everything you would expect in a nice city park.
Cant wait to return.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/6/2010   5/7/2010
Review By: trevorchreid
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
This review was updated on 5/8/2010
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Has some of the best variety of holes I've ever played. I love how this course takes from playing in thick forest with dirt fairways to wide open holes over well manicured grass.
-Has holes that throw downhill and uphill
-Mix of technical and wide open holes
-Nice setting
-Fairly well maintained
-free to play
-dogs allowed
Cons: first couple holes were too technical with little to no fairway. Might as well just close your eyes, chuck your disc and hope for the best.
-Very long walk around the lake to a not so great hole on the back nine. I understand this this probably was unavoidable for the designers however
Other Thoughts: Overall a great coarse. Definitely woth checking out when in the area

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Lost and found

2-4    9/18/2009   1/16/2010
Review By: Gribb
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 24.3 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Clean, visually stimulating, above the smog line
Cons: duck poop, too close to playgrounds/trails/park activity
Other Thoughts: All in all: got lost around the middle of the course. Had to find a local to figure out a few holes. Had a good time.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.