Disc Golf Store
Auburn, CA 
Auburn Regional Park Share
Uploaded By: JMONEY Hole #13 (Taken 3/2011)
3 / 340ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee Sign



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great course shoe-horned into a popular park

1    9/28/2014   9/30/2014
Review By: kevaunne
Played: 35  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good mix of open and tight holes and healthy distance variety. Mix of straight and right/left doglegs.
- Excellent signage (when intact) and teepads. A few holes have long tees. All holes have alternate basket positions.
Some standouts:
2: It's a downhill look from the tee where your options are to throw a tall hyzer over some trees or down through a tightly wooded area. Basket is nestled near the creekbed, protected by some bushes.
5: It's a longer hole (400ft+) where you throw slightly downhill across an open meadow which quickly transitions into a mature forest.
14: from the long tee, it's an intimidating shot with a lake to the left and a voluminous oak straight in front requiring a big right turning hook over the lake then downhill into the trees. I wussed out and threw it from the short tee.
Cons: - awkward layout at times. Weird, extended walks between some holes. Many teepads throw across populated sections of the park
- A lot of the signage has been vandalized to the point that they're un-readable. Baskets are not always labeled leading to difficult navigation for first-time players (myself included). It's disappointing because the intact signs were very good and informative.
- Holes towards the geographic center of the course felt a bit too similar (8-13 &18). You throw across a large open field where some patches trees come into play around the basket
- Grabby oak trees - I almost walked away from a disc trapped high up in the branches on 2
Other Thoughts: Very solid course with some obvious flaws. Worth playing if you're in the area. I played Condon before here and it was refreshing to have some room to air out some longer drives but still be challenged and engaged. I would definitely replay this course if I'm in the area

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great Mix of Holes!

5+    1/6/2011   1/24/2011
Review By: GVDiscr
Played: 82  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 10.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nice course throwing through big city park
The first 7 Holes are fairly wooded and require some stealth accuracy while the middle set of Holes opens up a bit more in the center of the grassy park.
Great Mach 3 Baskets
Cement Tee Pads & Tee Signs with Distances
Multiple Pin Placements for each Hole
Great locals! Local Club (Chainzombies) are a great group of folks - Auburn is always running weeklies and there's always someone around to guide you though the course.
Cons: Lots of people both playing and pedestrians walking
The walk between Hole 13 and Hole 14's Tee is pretty long, a Hole between the two would be cool !
Other Thoughts: Hole 14, which used to shoot over the pond; now shoots off the Tee up by the tree directly in front of the old tee.
The Course plays very hard when it's in all long...will give all great Pro's a run for their money!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Solid course in a nice park

1    1/23/2011   1/24/2011
Review By: timothyasteele
Played: 28  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 30.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice course setting in a large community park with lots going on all around. Tennis courts, basketball court, people fishing in the pond, etc.

Good variety of shots with uphill and downhill, ace runs and long narrow tunnel shots, water hazards, etc.

Teepads are level, grippy, and in good condition, baskets are in good condition (although a few had missing numbers on top), and tee signs were easy to read for the ones that were there.

I bumped into several groups of locals (small and large) and they all seemed friendly and there was a good vibe on the course with respect and courtesy where some holes overlap a bit.

Fun and mildly challenging, but not too difficult for anyone to play, and with a good mix of basket locations makes this course a good spot for anyone in the general northern California area to visit.



Cons: Some of the holes are a little tight to one another, resulting in having to really watch for flying discs and sometimes waiting to throw.

Most of the signs are in good shape, but a few are completely missing which makes it rather tough if you've never played there before.

I didn't see any large sign at the beginning with a map of the course. Thankfully, I went to the local DG club page and downloaded the course map. Without it, I would have been lost several times as there is no signage for where the next teepad is.

A few missing basket numbers on the baskets, which isn't a huge deal, but a few are close together and it would be nice to easily make sure you're throwing at the right one.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I think this is a really solid course with potential of being even better with some better signage and a few basket numbers.

The people were friendly, the park is family friendly with lots of activities all around, the course was clean and in good shape.

I'll be going back again pretty soon to play it again!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    9/13/2010   1/12/2011
Review By: June
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Easy park and entry
-Technical skinny and nice open fairways
-Good teepads, baskets and signs
-Great area to spend a day after discing
Cons: -Hard to navigate if you havn't played before
-Easy to lose a disc or two if unexpierienced

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Must Play

1    5/24/2010   5/24/2010
Review By: Joe_Maumy
Played: 35  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 4.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course in a city park. All kinds of different holes from woods to wide open fields. All well taken care of. Great locals who let me play through since I was running solo. Cool vibe. Parking right near hole 1 by the tennis courts. 18 also ends near here as well. If your in the area stop and play this course, I cant wait to go back
Cons: few tee signs missing due to vandals I am sure. Some of the tee pads had the hole number painted on them, this would be great on all pads. Also arrows or something indicating where the next tee is would also be helpful. I got off track and missed a hole but was lucky some locals pointed me in the right direction.
Other Thoughts: Good course, good parking (FREE) Shade, tables, benches, BBQ's and everything you would expect in a nice city park.
Cant wait to return.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/6/2010   5/7/2010
Review By: trevorchreid
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
This review was updated on 5/8/2010
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Has some of the best variety of holes I've ever played. I love how this course takes from playing in thick forest with dirt fairways to wide open holes over well manicured grass.
-Has holes that throw downhill and uphill
-Mix of technical and wide open holes
-Nice setting
-Fairly well maintained
-free to play
-dogs allowed
Cons: first couple holes were too technical with little to no fairway. Might as well just close your eyes, chuck your disc and hope for the best.
-Very long walk around the lake to a not so great hole on the back nine. I understand this this probably was unavoidable for the designers however
Other Thoughts: Overall a great coarse. Definitely woth checking out when in the area

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Lost and found

2-4    9/18/2009   1/16/2010
Review By: Gribb
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 23.5 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Clean, visually stimulating, above the smog line
Cons: duck poop, too close to playgrounds/trails/park activity
Other Thoughts: All in all: got lost around the middle of the course. Had to find a local to figure out a few holes. Had a good time.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great course!

2-4    4/29/2009   7/29/2009
Review By: springy101
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Lots of hole variation, mix of wide open fairways and forest tunnels, large course, concrete tees, Not usually as crowded.
Cons: Right in middle of a busy park, and a continuation school, lots of pregnant teens, hard to find holes when you have to walk halfway across the park to get there, easy to lose discs.
Other Thoughts: It's really annoying when all the high school kids get out and go to the course to smoke cigarettes and don't mind getting in your way, on 2 occasions you have to walk halfway across the park to find the next set of tees.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and challenging course

1    1/29/2009   1/29/2009
Review By: JHern
Played: 82  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 7.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Auburn Regional Park is situated at the north edge of "Historic Auburn" (as the road signs testify...I was there for the DGC). This course has a good reputation in the region, and there have been some big tournaments here. so I expected a lot. Anyways, I got a lot out of the experience, and I'll definitely be back again. The facilities are pretty nice, and there are relatively clean bathrooms available. The locals we ran into were friendly, and helpful when we said it was our first time to the course.

There are some really nice creeks with swiftly running water (fed in part by the dammed lake). Not so swift that you would have to say goodbye to a disc that went in, but good enough that it is aesthetically very pleasing (also nice background noise).

This course demands a balanced game. My flick was in the shop for much needed repairs and a rebuild and I wasn't in the mood to use it much, but sure as hell I ended up throwing forehand on about 30% of the drives.

Unlike the courses further west that I play regularly, there is a fair amount of topography on this course (it is more into the Sierra foothills). Uphill, downhill, across hill fairways, etc., make this a fun place to let rip. There is a good mix of long-ish and short holes, most of them with some degree of challenge even when it isn't far from tee to basket. Some slightly downhill holes, like #2, offer dense vegetation and maybe a route over the top of the trees if you can manage it...this requires a bit of a specialty shot, and practice at this course.

My favorite holes: 1,7,11,15,16,17 (don't miss these back holes!)

Cons: It is very difficult to navigate the course by yourself. Get a map before you play, or try to follow a group of locals on the course. We tried to keep up with a local group in this manner, but lost them after hole 4 (and after hitting every tree from 1 to 4), walked around the park awhile, and then heard some chains on the other side of the river...walking across the bridge and up the hill, we found the tee for hole 5, and thought we knew the basket, but that ended up being 7, which we discovered when we got to the basket and the group we had been trying to follow was trying to play to 7 themselves. They set us back on course. They warned us ahead of time about hole 14...you need to walk all around the lake to the duck "island" (actually, a fenced off little peninsula), and you'll is a tee pad there...the sidewalk is the fairway and the basket is below the dam (15-17 play below the dam). Anyways, the signage could be dramatically improved to make this course far easier to play. Some tees are missing markers and there are cement pads that are just hanging out here and there that actually don't belong to any hole (but how would you know?).

There is a high school across the street and at lunch time the entire student body comes into the park to hang out...maybe plan around this time if that will be a bother for you. There is not a lot of people traffic, but you'll see a lot of older ladies walking their poodles and such. Be careful not to knock them out, as the fairways play across the main walkways many times.

There are a lot of geese in the winter, with the attendant abundance in goose poo. Be resigned to the fact that you will be stepping in it if you're around during this part of the season.

Other Thoughts: There are all sorts of fun challenges on this course that you won't see how to conquer the first time through. Play it again, and try out some of the fun routes you dream up after the first pass.


8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.