Auburn, CA 
Auburn Regional Park Share
Uploaded By: Mavurick Hole #16 (Taken 2/2015)
3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee Sign



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
So much potential.....

5+    1/18/2015   1/20/2015
Review By: robodude
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
Pros: Holes range from challenging (#2 is a forest with nowhere to shoot but up) to benign (several of the holes around the tennis courts are just wide open driving contests). If someone would just keep up the signage so you know which position you're throwing to that day, it would REALLY improve the experience!
Cons: I expect groups of 8 or more to be plodding along at Shady/Orangevale. I don't expect them at Auburn but that's what I got on Sunday. One group of 8 and another of 12....yes, 12. I've never seen a group that large in my years and years of playing.
Now...I will say that both groups were cognizant of players behind them and both let us play through quickly but c'mon....what is the problem with splitting your group up into the NORMAL size (4) and keeping play moving along? I was advised by one of the group of 12 that this was their normal Sunday morning round that they've been playing for decades and that "...this isn't Orangevale". I think the old guy was trying to say that they play...... very....... slowly....and that one shouldn't be in a hurry playing their course. Still...12 people means 11 people standing around while 1 person gets ready... wipes off their disc.... gets their stance... gets loose... focuses... and then eventually throws... followed by 11 other people doing the same thing.
Other Thoughts: If the hole locator discs on the signs aren't going to be accurate, the least they can do is ensure each basket has a sign that says what hole it is. The baskets around the picnic tables include #3, #8, #10 and #18 and not all have the hole # on them.


1    12/27/2014   1/5/2015
Review By: getchofil
Played: 39  Reviewed: 9
Pros: The course makes good use of elevation, trees, water on 6 or so holes playing throughout a park but avoids most areas where other park patrons would be (tennis, soccer, playground, etc). There's also a good blend of short and long throws required, some technical and a few long open baskets.
Cons: The signage has taken a bit of a beating, making it a little difficult to find basket placements on every hole.
Other Thoughts: Despite signage issue, this course was a very fun challenge. I'd definitely play this course again if I was in the area.

Decent Course

1    12/26/2014   12/26/2014
Review By: Redline4j
Played: 59  Reviewed: 14
Pros: Baskets are moved regularly to keep things fresh. The basket crew was moving baskets at the time I started to play.

Despite the heavy amount of rain the area had received for the weeks prior to my playing, the ground was still walkable and not too muddy.
Cons: Course layout is not that well marked and it was helpful that I was playing with someone that had played the course before.

Great course shoe-horned into a popular park

1    9/28/2014   9/30/2014
Review By: kevaunne
Played: 38  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 7.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good mix of open and tight holes and healthy distance variety. Mix of straight and right/left doglegs.
- Excellent signage (when intact) and teepads. A few holes have long tees. All holes have alternate basket positions.
Some standouts:
2: It's a downhill look from the tee where your options are to throw a tall hyzer over some trees or down through a tightly wooded area. Basket is nestled near the creekbed, protected by some bushes.
5: It's a longer hole (400ft+) where you throw slightly downhill across an open meadow which quickly transitions into a mature forest.
14: from the long tee, it's an intimidating shot with a lake to the left and a voluminous oak straight in front requiring a big right turning hook over the lake then downhill into the trees. I wussed out and threw it from the short tee.
Cons: - awkward layout at times. Weird, extended walks between some holes. Many teepads throw across populated sections of the park
- A lot of the signage has been vandalized to the point that they're un-readable. Baskets are not always labeled leading to difficult navigation for first-time players (myself included). It's disappointing because the intact signs were very good and informative.
- Holes towards the geographic center of the course felt a bit too similar (8-13 &18). You throw across a large open field where some patches trees come into play around the basket
- Grabby oak trees - I almost walked away from a disc trapped high up in the branches on 2
Other Thoughts: Very solid course with some obvious flaws. Worth playing if you're in the area. I played Condon before here and it was refreshing to have some room to air out some longer drives but still be challenged and engaged. I would definitely replay this course if I'm in the area

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Hiking, enjoying the scenery

2-4    7/2/2014   7/3/2014
Review By: sumo21
Played: 24  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 1.4 Years
Pros: -Good mixture of long, medium and short holes

-Very technical and demanding course

-Good mixture of woodsy, slight woodsy, open, uphill and downhill shots

-All holes have a basket position indicators near the tee pad

-Bathrooms and a working water fountain

-Beverage vending machines

-Nice, woodsy practice putting area

-If you like mild hiking, then you'll love the first 7 holes and 14, 15, 16 and 17

-Trees provide a lot of shade, so you play a round comfortably, even on a scorcher of a day
Cons: -Not a beginner level course

-Holes 6, 12, 14, 15 and 17 don't have signs

-If you do not like mild hiking, then the first 7 holes may not be to your liking

-Foot traffic on walking path can cause delays on holes 1, 4, 8-12 and 14
Other Thoughts: A few holes require distance, but the remaining holes will challenge how well you manage the course and your mental approach to each hole. Beware of bird and droppings on the more open holes, 8-13.

Hole 2 usually is a spike hyzer shot.

Hole 4 is a textbook definition of a hallway shot.

Hole 5 has a mando to the left of the tree with caution tape.

Longer basket positions on 13 may require the use of a roller

 Auburn is not what it use to be

5+    1/21/2013   4/21/2013
Review By: Don DiscHulk
Played: 137  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 25.8 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: easy to park.
Cons: Course redesign is bad. I started on this course in the 80's, in 94' this was one of the World's courses. Since then this course has been hacked to pieces. Hole 14 seem like a half mile walk around the lake to throw a 200' hole. Everything that made this course one of the best, the swamp area, large throws, technical shots, have been altered, shortened or completely removed.
Other Thoughts: The tennis courts that were added, get in the way of hole 1.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good views, Sub Par planning

2-4    4/7/2013   4/10/2013
Review By: ecv_onion
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 23.2 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Very clean course. Multiple pin spots. Challenging. Ammenities all over. Water, water, and more water. Large layout with longer holes than most other courses in the area. Good mix of technical holes.
Cons: The layout. Hole one has a tennis court blocking half of the area in front of the tee. Many non discers populate the area and often walk or jog right in front of the even if you are in mid throw.
Other Thoughts: Having played this course twice I can now say that i will more than likely not be back. The layout of this course seems hap hazard at best. Holes 8 to 10 are throwing directly at each other creating a huge bottleneck. Only to be followed by 11 whose fairway is shared by 12. While one is throwing to the north from the south the other is throwing west from the east. This causes great confusion if your discs look anything like someones that lands near yours. Other than the poor layout this course is great. There are some great holes that line the water with a nice size creek that flows, and a nice pond that is surrounded by ducks and geese. Just look out for the joggers, most could care less that you are getting ready to hurl some plastic and will just go right out in front of you.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Regional Park 18!

1    8/16/2012   8/29/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 719  Reviewed: 670  Exp: 37.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/1/2012
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Auburn Regional Park is a large sprawling park with all the usual attractions. The course parking is right next to the nicest Boce courts I've ever seen. I started the round playing by myself but following a couple of locals. The tee signs with their advertising were fairly hard for me to decipher. The course features nice big, grippy concrete pads but older baskets. The terrain is varied with a canopy of trees providing some much needed shade on this hot summer day. There are 4,5 and even 6 basket positions for each hole. The problem is, there is no way of telling which position the basket is on any particular day. This course could definitely use the A-B-C-D washer system that Penn Valley and other neighboring courses have in place. There are are benches and garbage cans at every tee area and the course was virtually litter free.
With the baskets all seemingly in the longest positions, this course was certainly a challenge today.
Cons: The lack of a system informing players of the basket location is a big one to me. With up to six locations on some holes, it's nice to know the distance and general area of the basket, especially when playing solo. The general navigation aids could have been more helpful. Luckily, I hooked up with the locals around hole 5 and they guided me through the remainder of the course.
Other Thoughts: In general, Auburn Regional is just a really solid, enjoyable course. It probably lacks the elevation and Wow factor to rate it any higher but I think the local club is doing an excellent job in maintaining this course and providing some great disc golf enjoyment for the players in this area. Most anyone would be happy to have this as their home course.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course

5+    5/1/2012   5/2/2012
Review By: DCali-BEAST
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Auburn is a large course spread out over a park. There are many obstacles to throw over under and through. In a round you throw over a few creeks, through some wild growing trees, and before they moved the tee for hole 14 you could throw over the main pond itself. Hours of fun can be had here because the course is updated regularly and the Pin positions are changed on an almost daily basis. All in all it is a fun course and in my opinion one of the top 5 in Northern California.
Cons: It is hard to find anything wrong with this course. The only thing I would change is bring back "The Pond Hole". "The Pond Hole" was a 300ft. par 3 that had a tee pad next to the water and a huge oak tree to throw around in front of you. You would have to have a mean right hook to even make it to the other shore side let alone the other 150ft to the hole. Hole 14, aka "The Pond Hole" was one of the reasons many people first came to this course and I think it would be in their benefit to try and bring that wonder back for us.
Other Thoughts: From beginer to pro Auburn is a great place to grow.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Everything you want!

5+    10/13/2011   3/21/2012
Review By: jakesme1222
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 20.1 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course has all that you need in a wonderful setting. There are multiple pin settings for most holes. You have bountiful tree coverage and an optional shot over the pond if your long shot is good.
Cons: This is a really popular park and during the spring and summer they hold tournaments here, so they close the park off to the public. also my best advice is to get there early cause it can get crowded.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course and it will always be one of my favorites.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.