Auburn, CA 
Auburn Regional Park Share
Uploaded By: humchris85 Hole #13
3 / 340ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Lost and found

2-4    9/18/2009   1/16/2010
Review By: Gribb
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 23.2 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Clean, visually stimulating, above the smog line
Cons: duck poop, too close to playgrounds/trails/park activity
Other Thoughts: All in all: got lost around the middle of the course. Had to find a local to figure out a few holes. Had a good time.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great, Fun Course

1    11/23/2009   1/3/2010
Review By: Peanut
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.2 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Easy to park and play.
Great mix of trees and open play.
Felt like you were not in a community park for many of the holes and the water was a nice touch!
Cons: Still in a community park so you have to be careful about the people around you. Some of the holes are next to or cross pathways that are frequently used.
Other Thoughts: I liked this course very much and will be back to play.
I took my dog and played with him on a leash and had a great time!

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fall Auburn Trip

1    10/31/2009   11/1/2009
Review By: gmoney
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice mix of open shots and obstructed; slight elevation changes; and water hazards. Traffic was minimal on a gorgeous Saturday. Not nearly as busy as other local courses in Grass Valley and Penn Valley. Clean park; easy parking near first tee. I'll be back!
Cons: Tough to navigate; especially the final few holes. Following a local group is highly recommended for your initial round. Forget about rollers in the grass, it's thick!
Other Thoughts: Teenagers being teenagers on the course, playing hackysack; hanging out; and leaving a pungent aroma in their wake! Mormons could be shocked, but disc golfers won't!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Must Play!

5+    10/15/2009   10/19/2009
Review By: unitypunk
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.6 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Plenty of tunnels through the trees, wonderful creeks, well maintained. full 18 holes, lots of shade, benches at 10 of the 18 teepads. uptodate signs at most pins now, construction is done. visualy pleasing the whole way through.
Cons: Trickey to navigate the first time, some blackberrys that can eat your disc on 7,15-17 fairways cross main pedestrian traffic
Other Thoughts: Find a map, or bring a friend that has played it... or dont forget that AFTER hole 4, go left and cross the bridge up to the hill, after 7 double back acrost the bridge. to a teepad on the left of the path. last tricky one is hole 14, which is acrost the pond, walk around the lake counter clockwise, youll come to a tee on the left near the soccer field/basketball court.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great course!

2-4    4/29/2009   7/29/2009
Review By: springy101
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Lots of hole variation, mix of wide open fairways and forest tunnels, large course, concrete tees, Not usually as crowded.
Cons: Right in middle of a busy park, and a continuation school, lots of pregnant teens, hard to find holes when you have to walk halfway across the park to get there, easy to lose discs.
Other Thoughts: It's really annoying when all the high school kids get out and go to the course to smoke cigarettes and don't mind getting in your way, on 2 occasions you have to walk halfway across the park to find the next set of tees.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 2 over the water

2-4    7/26/2009   7/26/2009
Review By: russ
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 18.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: nice park - well maintained - nicely wooded - technical course for most holes. cool atmosphere, lots of different animals around the park. looks like some holes have been moved around, hole 18 is now 13.
Cons: a couple tees only have squares on the pavement - hard to navigate first couple times - not all holes have a sign telling you which hole they are or where the pins are. maybe walk the course first or bring someone who has played this course before.
Other Thoughts: i really enjoy playing this course. i would almost rather make the drive a few more miles to play auburn over other local courses. watch out for out of bounds left on hole 14!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Home course offers wonderful times!

5+    5/12/2009   5/13/2009
Review By: ianjamess
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is biking distance from my house and i have been playing for not a super long time. myself and my friend jake are out here nearly everyday. it is wooded which is the main challenge. sometimes the trees are in better moods than others haha. it is well spread out. estimated two mile walk around. you do have some company but it is not usually to busy. the locals are quite-*ahem* high on life......... but people are helpful and quite friendly. you really should never have any issues with us. haha. people are not pushy either which is a good thing i think as i just come for the fun and golf...not the extracurricular "activities" this is my home course, the only one i have ever played and it is a fantastic way to have a great time with friends and get excercise in a beautiful spread out green challenging, differentiating, course,
Cons: holes can be somewhat difficult to find and move around some which can be a positive. some of the activities around the area extend "beyond the legal realm..."
Other Thoughts: my home course, only one i have ever played on, tournaments twice a week, a great time highly reccomended and will probably see you guys out there!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Auburn

5+    2/2/2009   3/2/2009
Review By: 916er
Played: 23  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 14.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads, signs with pin placements, and bathrooms. A lot of different shots needed to have a good round. Very friendly locals.
Cons: It can be a little tricky to find your way around, if you don't have a map.
Other Thoughts: I really like playing this course. Definitely worth checking out on your way to Tahoe, or if you live in the area. Not as technical as Shady or Condon, but pretty tough none the less.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and challenging course

1    1/29/2009   1/29/2009
Review By: JHern
Played: 82  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 7.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Auburn Regional Park is situated at the north edge of "Historic Auburn" (as the road signs testify...I was there for the DGC). This course has a good reputation in the region, and there have been some big tournaments here. so I expected a lot. Anyways, I got a lot out of the experience, and I'll definitely be back again. The facilities are pretty nice, and there are relatively clean bathrooms available. The locals we ran into were friendly, and helpful when we said it was our first time to the course.

There are some really nice creeks with swiftly running water (fed in part by the dammed lake). Not so swift that you would have to say goodbye to a disc that went in, but good enough that it is aesthetically very pleasing (also nice background noise).

This course demands a balanced game. My flick was in the shop for much needed repairs and a rebuild and I wasn't in the mood to use it much, but sure as hell I ended up throwing forehand on about 30% of the drives.

Unlike the courses further west that I play regularly, there is a fair amount of topography on this course (it is more into the Sierra foothills). Uphill, downhill, across hill fairways, etc., make this a fun place to let rip. There is a good mix of long-ish and short holes, most of them with some degree of challenge even when it isn't far from tee to basket. Some slightly downhill holes, like #2, offer dense vegetation and maybe a route over the top of the trees if you can manage it...this requires a bit of a specialty shot, and practice at this course.

My favorite holes: 1,7,11,15,16,17 (don't miss these back holes!)

Cons: It is very difficult to navigate the course by yourself. Get a map before you play, or try to follow a group of locals on the course. We tried to keep up with a local group in this manner, but lost them after hole 4 (and after hitting every tree from 1 to 4), walked around the park awhile, and then heard some chains on the other side of the river...walking across the bridge and up the hill, we found the tee for hole 5, and thought we knew the basket, but that ended up being 7, which we discovered when we got to the basket and the group we had been trying to follow was trying to play to 7 themselves. They set us back on course. They warned us ahead of time about hole 14...you need to walk all around the lake to the duck "island" (actually, a fenced off little peninsula), and you'll is a tee pad there...the sidewalk is the fairway and the basket is below the dam (15-17 play below the dam). Anyways, the signage could be dramatically improved to make this course far easier to play. Some tees are missing markers and there are cement pads that are just hanging out here and there that actually don't belong to any hole (but how would you know?).

There is a high school across the street and at lunch time the entire student body comes into the park to hang out...maybe plan around this time if that will be a bother for you. There is not a lot of people traffic, but you'll see a lot of older ladies walking their poodles and such. Be careful not to knock them out, as the fairways play across the main walkways many times.

There are a lot of geese in the winter, with the attendant abundance in goose poo. Be resigned to the fact that you will be stepping in it if you're around during this part of the season.

Other Thoughts: There are all sorts of fun challenges on this course that you won't see how to conquer the first time through. Play it again, and try out some of the fun routes you dream up after the first pass.


8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 trying to find my way around...

7/13/2008   7/21/2008
Review By: humchris85
Played: 113  Reviewed: 76  Exp: 9.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Wooded holes with multiple routes to the pin
-Water comes into play on a few holes
-Concrete tee pads
-Nice baskets
Cons: -Confusing to find your way around the first time
-Some holes are over the bridge in almost a diffrent part of the park
-Couldn't find hole 14
-Some tees are just spray painted squares on the sidewalk
-Some holes are just throwing through an open field
Other Thoughts: I spent a good 10 minutes serching for the tee for hole 14 with no avail. There were some fun holes with an ok variety.
Dispite all the people around no one was willing to show me around.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.