Auburn, CA 
Auburn Regional Park Share
Uploaded By: humchris85 Hole #3
3 / 165ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Bring every shot in the bag

5+    6/16/2011   6/17/2011
Review By: anhyzer24
Played: 80  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 15.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/3/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is excellent for a number of reasons:
-Beautiful, well maintained public park, with a maintenance crew that takes pride in keeping the course looking and playing well.
-Great variety of shots. Makes you throw every type of shot possible. Tight wooded fairways, elevation changes, tight downhill rollers, open grassy areas for long rollers, water hazard holes, a couple shot shaping mando's, spike hyzers, overhands.
-Awesome local club, the Chain Zombies. They run great weekly events, doubles on tuesdays, divisional singles on thursdays. Good payouts with ctp and ace pots. Great turnout every week, expect up to 60 people.
-Large teepads. Great for big runups on longer holes or for getting the right angle off the box.
-Garbage cans and benches on nearly every hole.
-Friendly locals, easy to find a helping hand to help navigate the course or find a lost disc.
-Multiple pin positions on every hole, some holes have as many as 6, ranging from relatively easy to insanely long for the pros. Rotated frequently for weekly play.
-Usually uncrowded. You'll run across the inevitable group of 6 playing a slow round from time to time, but for the most part the course is wide open.
-New tee signs have satellite photo maps showing terrain and pin positions.
Cons: -Walking paths do cause some delays, but most folks are aware of the course and will wait for you to throw before walking across.
-Fairways for 12 and 13 cross each other, but as the 2 longest holes on the course, it doesn't cause many problems.
Other Thoughts: Overall, one of the best courses in the area IMO. Great variety of shots and hole types, good for beginners and pros alike. Friendly locals in a family friendly setting, great place to spend the whole day and get a couple rounds in. Also close to Condon and Penn Valley if you're in the mood for a day loop. Definitely worth a play if you're in the area. My personal favorite holes are: 5 (long downhill through an early mando, either plays straight to a downhill ledge, or to the right, perfect for a roller), 12 (long double uphill hole, drive has to pass under a tall tree but over the first hill, makes for a tight window to get the distance you need. New pro pin position plays over 700 feet past the tennis courts), 14 (next to the pond, plays through a tight tree window into an elevated opening, good drives can skip into blackberries on the right and left), 16 (technical line off the tee pad, avoid a gnarled tree just in front of you to a wide fairway with a creek and blackberries on the right, deep pin position plays across the creek in a tight grove of trees), and 18 (straight, low tunnel shot towards the tennis courts, deep position plays to the side of the hill and is blind from the teepad).

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Another foothills gem

5+    4/3/2011   4/5/2011
Review By: cjskier
Played: 38  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great variety of shots from tight trees to open fairways. A couple down hill shots, a couple up hill shots, a tight downhill tunnel shot(4), a few wide open holes(11-13), water in play on holes 4,7,13 and 14. Tight tree tunnel holes on 15-17.
-Good mix of distances from short 200's to over 500' holes.
-Nice setting in a park.
-A couple holes play around a pond.
-New tee signs with distances added recently.
-New teepads have been poured on holes 4, 14, 15 and 17.
-Lots of clearing of bushes and blackberry on holes 14-17.
-Several holes you can start on if 1 is backed up.
-Lots of parking.
-Plays on mowed grass on several holes.
Cons: Walking paths wind threw the course on holes 4,5, 8-14 and can interupt play and be hazardous to other park patrons.
Long walk from hole 13 to 14.
Course can be swampy in places in the winter and spring.
Blackberry patch on the right side of hole 17 is VERY unforgiving!
Lots of geese around the pond, so there can be a lot of poop in the area.
No drinkable water/water fountains in the whole park!
Other Thoughts: Love this course for its mix of shots, hard to find this variety in most courses. Lots of work has been put into the course in the past year, new tee signs, new pads, new pin locations, clearing on holes 14-17. This course keeps getting better. A couple years ago I would have rated it a 3, now its a strong 4.

Just watch out not to hit other park go'ers when playing arround the walkways.

Play the Auburn am or pro tourney in April if you get the chance, great event. They add 4 alternate holes that make the course even better!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great Mix of Holes!

5+    1/6/2011   1/24/2011
Review By: GVDiscr
Played: 84  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 10.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nice course throwing through big city park
The first 7 Holes are fairly wooded and require some stealth accuracy while the middle set of Holes opens up a bit more in the center of the grassy park.
Great Mach 3 Baskets
Cement Tee Pads & Tee Signs with Distances
Multiple Pin Placements for each Hole
Great locals! Local Club (Chainzombies) are a great group of folks - Auburn is always running weeklies and there's always someone around to guide you though the course.
Cons: Lots of people both playing and pedestrians walking
The walk between Hole 13 and Hole 14's Tee is pretty long, a Hole between the two would be cool !
Other Thoughts: Hole 14, which used to shoot over the pond; now shoots off the Tee up by the tree directly in front of the old tee.
The Course plays very hard when it's in all long...will give all great Pro's a run for their money!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Solid course in a nice park

1    1/23/2011   1/24/2011
Review By: timothyasteele
Played: 28  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 30.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice course setting in a large community park with lots going on all around. Tennis courts, basketball court, people fishing in the pond, etc.

Good variety of shots with uphill and downhill, ace runs and long narrow tunnel shots, water hazards, etc.

Teepads are level, grippy, and in good condition, baskets are in good condition (although a few had missing numbers on top), and tee signs were easy to read for the ones that were there.

I bumped into several groups of locals (small and large) and they all seemed friendly and there was a good vibe on the course with respect and courtesy where some holes overlap a bit.

Fun and mildly challenging, but not too difficult for anyone to play, and with a good mix of basket locations makes this course a good spot for anyone in the general northern California area to visit.



Cons: Some of the holes are a little tight to one another, resulting in having to really watch for flying discs and sometimes waiting to throw.

Most of the signs are in good shape, but a few are completely missing which makes it rather tough if you've never played there before.

I didn't see any large sign at the beginning with a map of the course. Thankfully, I went to the local DG club page and downloaded the course map. Without it, I would have been lost several times as there is no signage for where the next teepad is.

A few missing basket numbers on the baskets, which isn't a huge deal, but a few are close together and it would be nice to easily make sure you're throwing at the right one.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I think this is a really solid course with potential of being even better with some better signage and a few basket numbers.

The people were friendly, the park is family friendly with lots of activities all around, the course was clean and in good shape.

I'll be going back again pretty soon to play it again!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    9/13/2010   1/12/2011
Review By: June
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Easy park and entry
-Technical skinny and nice open fairways
-Good teepads, baskets and signs
-Great area to spend a day after discing
Cons: -Hard to navigate if you havn't played before
-Easy to lose a disc or two if unexpierienced

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Sick!

5+    12/31/2010   12/30/2010
Review By: ChainZombie
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Great course, great people, great DG club. The all around best DG course in Nor Cal. New tee pads, new tee signs.Great selection of difficult shots, tight wooded fairways to open grass. Did i mention grass?? Spotless clean.
Cons: Out of towners ! Really... no cons, other than the people who don't know what disc golf is that walk in the park with their dogs.
Other Thoughts: Keep up the good job on taking care of the course, and allways' looking forward to the Auburn Am. and Auburn Open every year. Lookin good Auburn!

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 What more can one ask for?

2-4    6/22/2010   7/15/2010
Review By: Apothecary
Played: 66  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 17.5 Years
17 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Beautiful setting for a disc golf course. Plenty of trees on most holes with a few wide open fairways peppered in. Uphill and downhill.
-One of the cleanest busy parks I have visited. No trash to be found. I don't know who is maintaining this park/course, but they're doing a hell of a good job.
-Nether lefty nor righty friendly. Everyone has to work at Auburn.
-Danger. A stream teases the basket on hole 4 and 7. 14 is a tricky lake shot (trickiness compounded by the fence erected to the right of the walking path). Bring your retriever.
-Grippy, clean concrete tees.
-Free parking, and plenty of it.
-Practice basket, for your putting pleasure.
-Most tee areas have a bench.
-Regularly rotated baskets, which are in great condition.
-FREE!:)
Cons: -Absent tee signs on a few holes.
-Navigation is a pain. Bring a map and/or a guide.
-Hole 14 uses the same space as a LOT of walkers. The good news is they're incredibly friendly and aware of the course. The bad news is there are a lot of them. Plan on a long wait to tee off. (Oh, to have the tee for 14 be on that little peninsula that jets off into the lake....)
Other Thoughts: Great course. Plenty of shade to keep golfers cool on those warm norcal days. Plenty of signature holes. I think hole 1 would have to be my fave. A controlled, long downhill shot past a few layers of trees to a basket nestled into a rock and dirt bowl. Auburn has an excellent balance of all design elements.
We did, however, have to wait upwards of 10 minutes to tee off on 14 on more than one occasion. That hole is pretty cool, but it is a safety/course congestion issue that is pretty glaring. I dinged Auburn a disc mainly for that, and because it lacked signage on a few holes. Auburn could also help us out-of- towners out with "next tee ----->" signs. I had a guide and am VERY glad I did.
If you're in the area, Auburn is a must-play course. Hell if you aren't it's a solid option as a destination course. Either way, get out there and enjoy one of the most serene, mellow courses California has to offer!

17 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 Must Play

1    5/24/2010   5/24/2010
Review By: Joe_Maumy
Played: 35  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 4.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course in a city park. All kinds of different holes from woods to wide open fields. All well taken care of. Great locals who let me play through since I was running solo. Cool vibe. Parking right near hole 1 by the tennis courts. 18 also ends near here as well. If your in the area stop and play this course, I cant wait to go back
Cons: few tee signs missing due to vandals I am sure. Some of the tee pads had the hole number painted on them, this would be great on all pads. Also arrows or something indicating where the next tee is would also be helpful. I got off track and missed a hole but was lucky some locals pointed me in the right direction.
Other Thoughts: Good course, good parking (FREE) Shade, tables, benches, BBQ's and everything you would expect in a nice city park.
Cant wait to return.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/6/2010   5/7/2010
Review By: trevorchreid
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
This review was updated on 5/8/2010
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Has some of the best variety of holes I've ever played. I love how this course takes from playing in thick forest with dirt fairways to wide open holes over well manicured grass.
-Has holes that throw downhill and uphill
-Mix of technical and wide open holes
-Nice setting
-Fairly well maintained
-free to play
-dogs allowed
Cons: first couple holes were too technical with little to no fairway. Might as well just close your eyes, chuck your disc and hope for the best.
-Very long walk around the lake to a not so great hole on the back nine. I understand this this probably was unavoidable for the designers however
Other Thoughts: Overall a great coarse. Definitely woth checking out when in the area

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Best course in the area!

5+    2/3/2010   2/3/2010
Review By: SuperSac916
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This is a must play disc golf course. It is in a huge regional park and has 18 distinctly different holes. Good for long throws and technical tosses alike. Also they move the basket placement weekly so the holes always play different.
Cons: 4 or 5 holes play with water on either side of fairways. Also lots of trees and branches mean if you throw to high you might be throwing rocks for a while.
Other Thoughts: I love playing this course. Playing here makes my game better everywhere else I play. I played my best round of all time, a plus three so maybe I am a little bias. Keep throwing.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.