Auburn, CA 
Auburn Regional Park Share
Uploaded By: Mavurick Hole #18 (Taken 2/2015)
3 / 280ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee Sign



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Must Play

1    5/24/2010   5/24/2010
Review By: Joe_Maumy
Played: 36  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course in a city park. All kinds of different holes from woods to wide open fields. All well taken care of. Great locals who let me play through since I was running solo. Cool vibe. Parking right near hole 1 by the tennis courts. 18 also ends near here as well. If your in the area stop and play this course, I cant wait to go back
Cons: few tee signs missing due to vandals I am sure. Some of the tee pads had the hole number painted on them, this would be great on all pads. Also arrows or something indicating where the next tee is would also be helpful. I got off track and missed a hole but was lucky some locals pointed me in the right direction.
Other Thoughts: Good course, good parking (FREE) Shade, tables, benches, BBQ's and everything you would expect in a nice city park.
Cant wait to return.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/6/2010   5/7/2010
Review By: trevorchreid
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
This review was updated on 5/8/2010
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Has some of the best variety of holes I've ever played. I love how this course takes from playing in thick forest with dirt fairways to wide open holes over well manicured grass.
-Has holes that throw downhill and uphill
-Mix of technical and wide open holes
-Nice setting
-Fairly well maintained
-free to play
-dogs allowed
Cons: first couple holes were too technical with little to no fairway. Might as well just close your eyes, chuck your disc and hope for the best.
-Very long walk around the lake to a not so great hole on the back nine. I understand this this probably was unavoidable for the designers however
Other Thoughts: Overall a great coarse. Definitely woth checking out when in the area

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Best course in the area!

5+    2/3/2010   2/3/2010
Review By: SuperSac916
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.5 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This is a must play disc golf course. It is in a huge regional park and has 18 distinctly different holes. Good for long throws and technical tosses alike. Also they move the basket placement weekly so the holes always play different.
Cons: 4 or 5 holes play with water on either side of fairways. Also lots of trees and branches mean if you throw to high you might be throwing rocks for a while.
Other Thoughts: I love playing this course. Playing here makes my game better everywhere else I play. I played my best round of all time, a plus three so maybe I am a little bias. Keep throwing.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Hidden Treasure

2-4    1/13/2010   1/18/2010
Review By: JMONEY
Played: 225  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5.8 Years
This review was updated on 6/23/2010
14 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Parking is in front of practice basket.
-Practice basket near tennis courts.
-Large concrete pads at all holes.
-Very friendly locals are helpful.
-Not crowded!
-Beautiful scenery.
-Clean throughout the course
Cons: -Course flow could be better.
-Could use better signage.
Other Thoughts: If you can follow a local group great if not here is the scoop.
-Hole#1 starts against the tennis courts and heads down the hill towards the rocks.
-Hole#2 tee pad is directcly to the left of #1 basket and you throw down the hill or over the trees.
-Hole#3 is starts atthe bottom of the hill and the basket is a short toss towards the picnic area.
-Hole#4 the basket is down hill towards the rock and wooded bridge area.
-Hole#5 is across. the wood bridge and up the path.
-Hole #6 is thrown back towards the wood bridge.
-Hole#7-teepad is located just across the wood bridge left of the path.
-Hole#8-13 are zig zagged.
-Hole#14 is around the pond and teepad is just past the courts you drive towards the corner of the pond just over the path.
-Hole #15-18 are tucked to the right of the pond.
Overall this course is far better than lets say the other courses that are 13.6 and 18.9 miles away.
he dog walkers are privy to the game and courteous to DGr's.

14 of 16 people found this review helpful.

  Lost and found

2-4    9/18/2009   1/16/2010
Review By: Gribb
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 23.8 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Clean, visually stimulating, above the smog line
Cons: duck poop, too close to playgrounds/trails/park activity
Other Thoughts: All in all: got lost around the middle of the course. Had to find a local to figure out a few holes. Had a good time.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great, Fun Course

1    11/23/2009   1/3/2010
Review By: Peanut
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.8 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Easy to park and play.
Great mix of trees and open play.
Felt like you were not in a community park for many of the holes and the water was a nice touch!
Cons: Still in a community park so you have to be careful about the people around you. Some of the holes are next to or cross pathways that are frequently used.
Other Thoughts: I liked this course very much and will be back to play.
I took my dog and played with him on a leash and had a great time!

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fall Auburn Trip

1    10/31/2009   11/1/2009
Review By: gmoney
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice mix of open shots and obstructed; slight elevation changes; and water hazards. Traffic was minimal on a gorgeous Saturday. Not nearly as busy as other local courses in Grass Valley and Penn Valley. Clean park; easy parking near first tee. I'll be back!
Cons: Tough to navigate; especially the final few holes. Following a local group is highly recommended for your initial round. Forget about rollers in the grass, it's thick!
Other Thoughts: Teenagers being teenagers on the course, playing hackysack; hanging out; and leaving a pungent aroma in their wake! Mormons could be shocked, but disc golfers won't!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Must Play!

5+    10/15/2009   10/19/2009
Review By: unitypunk
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.2 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Plenty of tunnels through the trees, wonderful creeks, well maintained. full 18 holes, lots of shade, benches at 10 of the 18 teepads. uptodate signs at most pins now, construction is done. visualy pleasing the whole way through.
Cons: Trickey to navigate the first time, some blackberrys that can eat your disc on 7,15-17 fairways cross main pedestrian traffic
Other Thoughts: Find a map, or bring a friend that has played it... or dont forget that AFTER hole 4, go left and cross the bridge up to the hill, after 7 double back acrost the bridge. to a teepad on the left of the path. last tricky one is hole 14, which is acrost the pond, walk around the lake counter clockwise, youll come to a tee on the left near the soccer field/basketball court.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great course!

2-4    4/29/2009   7/29/2009
Review By: springy101
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Lots of hole variation, mix of wide open fairways and forest tunnels, large course, concrete tees, Not usually as crowded.
Cons: Right in middle of a busy park, and a continuation school, lots of pregnant teens, hard to find holes when you have to walk halfway across the park to get there, easy to lose discs.
Other Thoughts: It's really annoying when all the high school kids get out and go to the course to smoke cigarettes and don't mind getting in your way, on 2 occasions you have to walk halfway across the park to find the next set of tees.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 2 over the water

2-4    7/26/2009   7/26/2009
Review By: russ
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 18.8 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: nice park - well maintained - nicely wooded - technical course for most holes. cool atmosphere, lots of different animals around the park. looks like some holes have been moved around, hole 18 is now 13.
Cons: a couple tees only have squares on the pavement - hard to navigate first couple times - not all holes have a sign telling you which hole they are or where the pins are. maybe walk the course first or bring someone who has played this course before.
Other Thoughts: i really enjoy playing this course. i would almost rather make the drive a few more miles to play auburn over other local courses. watch out for out of bounds left on hole 14!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.