Holly Springs, NC 
Jones Park Share
Uploaded By: bmoney14 Hole #3 (Taken 12/2014)
3 / 234ft.   3 / 337ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers

2-4    4/30/2016   4/30/2016
Review By: KenanFlagler01
Played: 87  Reviewed: 81  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 5/27/2016
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Jones is a new gem in the Triangle disc golf scene. After playing the first 9 holes, I was ready to give this course a 4.5 rating. But the unfinished back 9, currently only 6 holes, is only 3.0 in my book (could be 4.0-4.5 when complete and of a few fixes are made).

1. First off, this is a simply beautiful course. There were times I had to stop, look around, and just admire the aesthetics of the course, the attention to detail--well defined fairways, walking paths, obstacles. This is one of the best looking, best designed courses I've played--not just in the Triangle, but anywhere.

2. Challenging! The description of this course says it's an "advanced course." That's obviously what the designers were going for here--and they succeeded. It's long. The wooded holes are tight and difficult. I'm an intermediate level player and enjoyed playing Jones immensely...but it kicked my butt.

3. Jones has everything: open holes, very tight wooded holes, elevation, water hazards. Very few courses have this much variety and difficulty to throw at you.

4. Front 9 navigation was terrific. The walking paths are perfect. There are numerous small bridges and boardwalks. I love how many of the trails criss-cross, yet ther signs point you in the right direction. I've never played a tournament here, but I bet it's a lot of fun to hang out with other players as you go from hole to hole in this part of the course. It would also be perfect for galleries, as you can quickly jump from hole to hole, watch a tee shot, walk a few yards and see a putt. Also, the signs pointing to the next tee are very visible and helpful. The tee box signs are accurate. You don't run into navigation problems until the back 9.

5. Good tees and baskets.

6. Best practice basket I've ever seen: complete 10-meter circle around the basket, artificial turf putting surface.

7. Nice playground, if you bring your kids.
Cons: I had a hard time coming up with *any* complaints on the front 9, but there are some back 9 problems:

1. There is no "next tee" sign after 9. Follow the bridge to the left of the #9 basket, cross the parking lot, and then you will see the #10 tee.

2. #10 hugs the back fence of the baseball field. I don't think they had a choice in where to lay-out the course here, but you can easily land your disc on the other side of the fence (much like #18 at Zebulon, but probably easier to have an errant shot here as it's a long par 4 instead of a short par 3, like Zebulon).

3. There are no signs after #11. You have to follow the path, keep right, and then you will come to #15. Holes 12-14 are not installed yet. That's also a negative, obviously.

4. The drainage on the last 3 holes is not good at all. Lots of mud and standing water. The walk up to #16 and the #16 fairway are particularly bad and unavoidable.
Other Thoughts: All in all, one of the best courses in the Triangle. Once the back 9 is finished, signs added, alternate tees finished, and drainage addressed, this will be a 4.5 course and rival Rock Ridge as the very best in the Triangle.

I don't know what the design restrictions are for holes 12-14, but if it were me, I would angle hole 10 towards the edge of the larger pond (i.e. Move the basket so the baseball field isn't in play). And whether you move 10 or not, I'd make hole 11 a water carry over the pond. That would be a fantastic, if not THE signature hole, of they could install it. (Note: hole 9 is probably the current signature hole, at least on the front 9, and it's the only water carry.) The current hole 11 could become hole 12. I don't know what can be done for hole 13 and 14. There doesn't seem to be any available land that isn't being developed into a new neighborhood going on behind the pond. Hopefully, something can be figured out. Holes 15 and 16 are fine. Hole 17 rivals #9 as the signature hole, teeing off from the walking path a good 30 feet above the fairway. 18 is good too. The potential is there for a great back 9. Great course!

UPDATE

I played a TCP league night here and figured out how the two extra holes fit into the course. Now after hole 1, cross the road for tee 1A, close to the baseball fence. It's a long, open, downhill hole. The road is OB. Then 1B plays back the other direction on the other side of the road. Play a hyzer out over the road (for RHBH), past the large tree. Then follow the little path behind the water tower to hole 2. 1A and 1B are nice additions and not the throw away holes you might expect on a course where the designers have had to improvise and add in filler holes. Jones is a fantastic 17 holes. And for tournaments and leagues, hole 10A is added prior to the standard hole 10. It plays from the walking path behind the baseball fence to a temp basket close to the pond, just to the right of the path. Hole 10 then plays from the alt tee. Hopefully they can find a way to add a permanent 18th hole and renumber everything, but it's still a fantastic course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Exceptional Course (minus 3 holes)

1    2/6/2016   2/6/2016
Review By: adambenson87
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 16.8 Years
This review was updated on 2/8/2016
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Really fun holes/designs. especially enjoyed the par 4's

- Nice variety of open and wooded, some with water hazards and some without. The variety demands a player to make many different shots.

- good signs including "Next Tee" signs (except for hole 11 - no next tee sign because there is no hole 12)

- good course for all ability levels

- the course is tidily kept (and has a really nice green turf putting area)
Cons: - holes 12-14 do not exist (yet?)

- no next tee sign after hole 11 (just continue down the path on the right to hole 15)

- Drainage issues. A few soggy/muddy holes.

- there are two extra holes (starting on the other side of the road from hole 1) that don't have signs, are not numbered within the regular 18, and don't feel as interesting as the rest of the course is.
Other Thoughts: There is a recently developed area over by hole 11, which makes me think the designers intended for holes 12 - 14 to go there originally, but I'm not sure. Even without 12 through 14, this course is a gem.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


2-4    9/16/2015   9/18/2015
Review By: Cripes
Played: 22  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I played a few rounds at this course the other day and was really impressed. I'm looking forward to coming back when all 18 are finished and it should be a solid 4 stars when complete.

The amenities here are really nice. The turf practice area looks very professional and I think it gives the course a positive image for the other park users. The signage was good and I had no trouble navigating on my first time out. Some of the tees are huge and a lot of work went into nice platforms for the tees where necessary.

There is a nice variety of holes here and for the most part they are fair but challenging.

Hole 1 - Nice open hole to start. Trees and pond on the right prevent the easy hyzer.

Hole 2- 600+ foot par 4. It is open and slightly downhill so it plays shorter. It is nice to be able to air your drive out, but it could use some tighter O.B. It is an easy 3.

Hole 3- Uphill and finishes to the right. A tight tree on the left in front of the teepad adds difficulty to the anny backhand.

Hole 4- Big downhill for the first 250 feet then slightly back up for the last 100. The fairway starts out wide for a wooded hole but gets tighter at the end. Good chance for a 2 but you will be in trouble if you miss the generous fairway.

Hole 5- Slightly downhill with a little pinch about 40 feet out from the tee pad. Trees in front and right of the basket force you to come in from dead straight or work a nice s curve.

Hole 6- Nice smooth curve 330 feet left to right. A pretty generous fairway that tapers as you get closer to the basket. Trees tight on the tee provide the extra mental challenge.

Hole 7- A bit of a throwaway hole just being a 250 foot hyzer. The big pine branches do hang well out into the fairway for a little difficulty and the "green" area is fairly tight and rewards the park job.

Hole 8 - Short but really tight uphill tunnel shot. You are really scrambling if you miss the tunnel. There is some interesting undulating terrain around the green.

Hole 9 - Great hole. You throw over a small pond with trees lining both sides. It's a little less than 300 feet to clear the pond with a finish to the right back out into the field. Right now the fairway is plenty wide to make it fair, but if it grows in tighter it could get nasty.

Hole 10 - Nice par 4 curving left to right around the baseball field. The O.B. field on the right and water on the left forces you to find the fairway. I didn't notice a mando so I guess you can hyzer over the field to cut the corner.

Hole 11- Very cool tunnel shot with water on the left and dense woods on the right. Thick brush lining the pond will keep most disc out of the water though. A mound in the front right of the basket stops low shots from getting too close.

Hole 12,13,14 - unfinished

Hole 15- Pretty tight, slightly downhill with a straight or hyzer option.

Hole 16- Pretty long uphill par 3. I think it plays around 400. The fairway is pretty generous but a large tree on the left about a 1/3 of the way provides a big obstacle.

Hole 17- You throw from the dam of the pond with the fairway a good 25-30 feet below. Mostly straight but fairly tight with a slightly right hand finish.

Hole 18- A challenging finishing hole. Slightly uphill and plays around 350 feet. Like a lot of the holes there are trees tight on the tee but then it opens up a bit. You need to work a nice s curve to get it close.
Cons: Right now the biggest con is that there are 3 holes still to be put in, but it seems like they will be finished soon.

I really don't have anything negative to say about the quality of the holes, they are great. The only real con would be the traffic from other park users.

There is a walking path that meanders through some of the wooded holes and it does cross directly in front of hole 5s tee. It also comes into play on 15 and probably will affect some of the holes still to come.

There was a kids baseball game going on when I was there so I had to play really safe on #10. On #1 there are some trees providing cover but a bad shot could fade into a parking area. #2's fairway also seems like it is used by people in the adjoining neighborhood to access the rest of the park.
Other Thoughts: Bottom line is that even unfinished it is a fun course that is worth the drive from Raleigh. I'm excited to see it fully finished.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    8/9/2015   8/16/2015
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 5.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Expected a niner and found fifteen very playable holes with a ton of variety and incredible care shown to course design and construction. At a ton of new courses, I often find myself saying, "I hope they do x," but not so here. The layout incorporates classic wooded holes with cleanly carved fairways of perfect width and length typically around 300 feet. They are connected by a network of swept and bordered trails with signs at every intersection. The difficulty of most holes is consistent across the board for intermediate to advanced players. When the holes are open, and there a handful of non-wooded holes which allow a player to flex out a driver, the distance is increased to an adequate range, and stand amongst the longest holes in the area. 9 is the toughest hole out there, a three-hundred foot carry that requires a right fade at the very end to get close to the basket. A left fade leaves a tough approach and a straight finish will leave you in marsh. Try to bailout early and overhanging branches will knock you into the water. (There is an alt tee here)
Unfinished, it is arguably the best course in the Raleigh area. It's really got everything. Challenge, variety, water, elevation. When complete, it should be at least a 4-star course, imagining the care that went into the first 9 is replicated while finishing the back half.
Cons: Not suitable for beginners but there are enough area courses that are. A set of short tees could make all of these holes fun and playable for new players, though.
Only a temporary issue, but transitioning from 9 to 10 is not obvious. (Cross the parking lot from where you started) The transition from 11 to 15 is more so. (Don't know, I walked backwards from 17.)
There really isn't much in the way of flaws here, or they aren't obvious because it isn't totally finished and the difference between a permanent flaw and a problem that hasn't been gotten to yet isn't obvious. I don't think there is a signature hole here, and if there is anything lacking, it is that lack of wow that would bump it up. It's a solid course I could play a ton if I was local but it's not so much a destination course I will remember always.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    6/2/2015   8/2/2015
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 113  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 8.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very nice 9 holer. The practice green is really nice turf, it had me practice longer than usual. Most of the course is long and wooded so only 9 holes isn't really a quick round. Hole 9 is a very intimidating. You will need to be able to throw 300+ feet from a deck straight over a pond with trees lining both sides and then fade to the right at the end. (Or just use the alternate tee.)

Other Pros:

- excellent signage
- easy navigation
- variety and challenge
- really bright basket color
- elevation used
Cons: The tees are large and look nice but rubber makes me nervous. My knees give out easily so any wetness really keeps me timid. The course does have some soggy areas so I was extra caution from the tees.

My GPS could not find School Days Lane but that might be because it's old and outdated. I just searched out the elementary school next door.
Other Thoughts: The course is fun and it is a 9 holer worth playing. I see there is talk of expanding to 18. I don't know where they will fit it. If they do expand I hope they don't just cram it in just to have 18. They've done a great job on the 9 so I assume they will do a great job on additions.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice start

1    1/22/2015   1/22/2015
Review By: pfpro
Played: 53  Reviewed: 40
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - this course is long. One of the few 600' holes in the Triangle. Only two homes under 300'. It's challenging - 6 of the 9 holes are wooded, technical holes.
- this is not a beginner course. It's tight and long.
- very nice signage. Easy to navigate (even though there are some cross-overs and transitions)
- this course (as played) was "ready for open". Tee boxes with landscape timber, transition paths defined by downed tree trunks.
- turf practice basket - how cool is that?
Cons: - only 9 holes. For me the question is play here, or drive a different direction and play an 18 that may not be quite as challenging, but get 18 holes. Don't know if they can squeeze another 9 out of the property.
- the landscaping is a little "rough" (meaning muddy, looking like a construction site). Since this has not been open a growing season, it's not a fair criticism. Hopefully, after things start growing, it will fill in a little. Am concerned how the rough will grow on hole 2.
- not easy to get to - stuck in the middle of suburbia!
Other Thoughts: I checked out this course, since it's probably the second closest to where I live. It's a nice little course. If there were no other options, it would be great. My time is limited, and I don't know if I see myself here a lot. I think the "signature" hole on this course is the putting green. Actually, 9 is pretty intimidating hole - (harder then Buckhorn 17 IMO) don't know if the pond is high right now, but it's a tunnel shot water carry of ~250'. I played the alt tee - didn't feel like swimming (am guessing that pond will be pretty nasty when it's 90 out....). If there were 18 holes, I'd give it a solid 3. Maybe as the course gets worn in a little, and if the city keeps mulching and maintaining I could go as high as a 3.5. There are definitely worse courses in the Triangle. If you're into playing new courses hit this one up and judge for yourself!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Best 9'er in Carolin-er?

1    1/3/2015   1/3/2015
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 131  Reviewed: 128  Exp: 9.7 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Wow, a Blue level 9 holer very well executed. It's like a good 9-hole section of a Charlotte course was dropped randomly here. It's very satisfying to see the designers filled the park space they had with the 9 best holes they could have instead of trying to cram an 18 in here like so many others would have attempted. Well done, gang.

Immaculate practice basket green, it really is eye-catching. Almost too classy for disc golf really, ha ha. These baskets are a slick chartreuse color (look it up) that really pop out; you could probably night golf unless it's pitch black out.

First reviewer did a good job of describing the holes so I'll skip ahead to what I like best. The fairways are well-defined and the greens are nice and unfettered, very polished looking course already. The fairways are a great width and have a good risk vs reward ratio, the course should reward better skilled players more often than not.

The signage and navigation is excellent, you couldn't ask for better.
Cons: Pretty swampy. Lots of mulch thrown down already so kudos for trying but outside of serious French drains or something put in you might want to play elsewhere after a monsoon if you don't want to get your dainty feet wet.

Rubber hexagon tees. They're huge and in great shape currently, I just prefer concrete b/c I am a snob. Hopefully these tees don't get washed out too bad with all the rain lately, that can be an issue with these types.

Hole 7 felt a bit like a filler hole. I'm nitpicking here. It's not a bad hole, just sticks out compared to the other 8.

Other Thoughts: For a 9 holer, this course has it all. Long open field hole, water carry, some elevation change, I mean there lots of 18s that wish they had some of these features. I enjoyed holes 4 and 8 the most, 4 being a fun valley type hole and 8 having some nifty terrain offering a high road and a low road of a ridge to play along.

Hole 9 having an alternate tee to avoid water was a nice touch. I think creating alternate tees for the rest of the holes like hole 9 to give it more of an 18 hole feel is preferable to adding 9 new holes unless there is a good chunk of land I'm not aware of.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Worth going out of your way

5+    12/18/2014   12/18/2014
Review By: bmoney14
Played: 72  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/17/2015
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: ***EDIT: This course now has 15 holes in, and 12, 13, and 14 will be in soon to make a full 18. Changed from a 3.5 to 4.0 Great course!***
-**Disclaimer: this course only has 9 holes so far
-I saw a run-through video of this course on reddit disc golf, and decided to check it out because it's brand new and was just only recently added to DiscGolfReview
-There is no better way to start off than with how awesome the putting green before hole one is. FANTASTIC. Maybe I am na´ve and have never experienced one, but this perfect Astroturf circle putting green had me throwing putters for almost an hour.
-The first two holes are WIDE open, with the second basket at over 600 feet from the tee. Also, the tee pad is almost 20 feet long, which gives anyone plenty of room for a bomb of a drive. All of the tees here are rubber, which I personally love. Some are longer than necessary, but I never felt any of them were even close to being too short. *Hole 2 is apparently a par 4, but I think it should be a par 3 with a new tee farther back and to the right for a par 4. It is just so wide open that a par 4 seems unnecessary.
-The majority of the rest of the holes are wooded, but with clean fairways, and every hole is aceable. No hole is an easy ace, but there is never a fairway so heavily wooded that an ace is impossible. The fairways are clean, but should you venture into the OBs, there will be trouble with underbrush.
-Overall, the course is not favored to lefties, righties, forehand or backhand. There is a great variety for just 9 holes. This course truly is a great course for beginners and advanced players all the same.
-The designers of this course truly care about its success. I met them on my third round of the day, and they are great guys. They are still hoping to get in the full 18, but are unsure with the space that they have in the park. The course has a great deal of mulch on it to cover leaves and to give more support. It would be difficult to lose a disc here.
-The signage is impeccable and the baskets are brand spankin new. They are neon yellow Innova baskets, which I have never seen. The signs are all there for the 9 holes and very accurate.
-The over the pond shot, the final hole, is quite tricky and intense. About 80% of the pond is surrounded by trees, and only an accurate drive will clear the pond. If you throw straight over or to the left, you will hit trees and your disc will surely bounce back into the pong. Honestly, this hole is difficult to par because either your disc will be next to the basket or it will be in the water.
-I played this course three times back to back in about 2 hours and loved it more every time.
Cons: -Obviously this course would benefit from having the full 18 holes, especially of the caliber that the front 9 are.
-Several fairways do not drain well
-Aside from the second hole, there are no holes over 400 feet. I understand that this is because of the size of the park, but having longer holes would encourage me to raise my rating. If only a few more holes were over 400 feet, this course would be truly excellent.
-This is not really a con for the course, but the park is within an area that many, many families visit. There were quite a few children running around, and they were occasionally running around on the fairways unsupervised
Other Thoughts: Honestly I might come out here again just for the warmup putting green. It's so great. AWESOME.
The guys who made this course really care about keeping it clean, and seem like great guys. I certainly will return, and if they manage to get 18 holes in, I will probably consider this to be one of my favorites.
I would give this a 4.5 if 18 holes, but I don't think they can get it to a five with the space they have.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.