Menomonie, WI 
Brickyard Share
Uploaded By: extreme18rotation Hole #3 (Taken 9/2010)
3 / 225ft.   3 / 323ft.   3 / 320ft.   4 / 433ft. Par / Distance:
Walkpath to Hole 3. Vines Next Year.



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great 9 hole

2-4    9/22/2012   9/24/2012
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 153  Reviewed: 114  Exp: 10.7 Years
This review was updated on 1/7/2014
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Two sets of concrete teepads at each hole. Two baskets at each hole as well. Disccatchers with yellow bands on top are for the shorter white tees, baskets with orange band on top are for the longer blue tees. The best signs i've ever seen on a course before. They provide hole number, an excellent map of the hole layout with pictures of both tees and both pin locations including alternates. They also show the direction to the next hole which is always nice to have. Excellent variety of shots here, with the land available being used very effectively. There are a few very challenging downhill or across a valley shots here that if not executed properly will cost you. Unlike most 9 holes this one can be played many times without getting repetative due to the multiple ways to play each hole. Trash cans available throughout the course. Three practice baskets and a short tunnel shot warm up hole at the beginning which was cool to see as well. Many of the tee areas have beautiful wood framed areas around the tees with multiple benches throughout the course. Not really many places to lose a disc here either. They have steps going up and down most of the steep hills with most having logs staked into the ground on the terraced hillsides. There is a an awesome set of Wood stairs going down the hillside after teeing off from hole 5 i believe it was.
Cons: Its only 9 holes but with the 2 sets of tees and pins its basically an 18 so this isn't even a con. The walk between hole 3 and 4 can be confusing the first time through. I could see this course getting very busy at times with UW-Stout not too far away and the fact this is the best course in menomonee. Humane society is on the same road so there is lots of barking. No restrooms or even a port o potty here, the only ones being at the park across the street. Not so bad for me but it is for any girls playing the course. I could see a few areas being swampy after a lot of rainfall, but not much they can do about that. Bugs weren't a factor when i went in late september but i could see them being an issue in spring or summer, again nothing the designers can do about this, Just have bug spray available. Not much else here
Other Thoughts: Definately the best 9 hole i've ever seen. I would like to see more courses adopt this format to offer twice the variety of shots on half the land. Has a huge fenced in dog park on the same property as the course and is a dog friendly course, just pick up after them. Very nice course with Wakanda, Menomonee Middle school, Axldog Acres, and Lambs Creek all within a half hour as well.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A 9 hole with a lot to offer

5+    7/17/2012   9/18/2012
Review By: Manimal
Played: 39  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiple pin placements, Short and Long Tees made of cement. Has a huge variety of shots from downhill/uphill, hallway shots, doglegs, and distance. This course may only be 9 holes, but when combined with the varying pins/tees, can be played as up to a 36 hole course.
Cons: When it's wet out their are swampy areas that pool water, this can be a real pain if you have a bad throw, easy to lose a disc in the muck.

The Humane Society is located right next to the course, so if you find the sound of constantly barking dogs a distraction, this might not work out for you.
Other Thoughts: A nice secluded course that challenges players of varying skill levels. The trees sculpt the fairways and are definitely a factor that varies with the season. The paths can get rough, and you can easily slip on the steeper slopes, so wear some good grippy shoes that protect your feet.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Very technical Course

5+    8/2/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: ecstokely
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very technical and fun course.

Its only nine holes, however the two tee and pin locations allow for very different feels. if you play multiple times through. Playing a mixed format Allows you to have a lot of variety.

Holes are mapped out well with signage at every tee.

Great place to practice a mid and approach game.

Pairs well with wakanda in town for a good day of disc golf.
Cons: There are only a few holes to stretch the arm out on long drives.

Blue tee on hole 8 could be concrete. Gets slippery.

Gets overgrown at times during the summer. Maintenance is kind of inconsistent. Has been cut frequently in recent weeks.

Some of the dirt trails could use steps and maybe a few markers. If you've never played it before it could be difficult to find a few tees. And climbing or descending some of the hills can be a bit scary if youre carrying a heavy bag
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite courses, but with a bit more trimming and a new tee pad on 8 this could be GREAT!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Brickyard

1    7/12/2012   7/14/2012
Review By: PTJohnston
Played: 21  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Dual Tees, and Dual baskets, presents a huge array of ways to play this course. Great use of the land to make for a very challenging technical course, in a small space. Mostly set in a small valley going up and down the sides, it has a feel of roughness, as if there is a battle between course maintenance and nature. It made for a great feeling, and wonderful views.
Cons: Its too far away from the Twin Cities for me to play with any regularity, which bums me out.
Other Thoughts: My girlfriend and I drove down from the twin cities to do a little camping and disc golfing. Menomonie is a great destination for any disc golfer, and Brickyard is a big part of that.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Best 9 hole?

2-4    6/22/2012   6/28/2012
Review By: Goosefraba
Played: 89  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *Wide open holes as well as challenging holes through multiple trees.
*Multiple pin placements. Most holes have orange and yellow baskets, with some having 2 possible pin placements for one or both of a color.
*Elevation changes.
*Hole 1 mostly open with a few trees
*Hole 2 mostly open with a few trees going from higher elevation to lower elevation
*Hole 3 open
*Hole 4 many trees, higher elevation to lower
*Hole 5 mostly open with a few trees going from higher elevation to lower elevation
*Hole 6 several trees going from lower elevation to higher elevation
*Hole 7 (one of the best holes around) many trees across a small valley
*Hole 8 wide open going from higher elevation to lower elevation
*Hole 9 lower elevation to a higher elevation with many trees
Cons: *Only has 9 holes
*The second time I played this, the dogs were going nuts, so the barking got old.
*Rubber mat on #8 always seems wet/slick, so would be better to remove it.
Other Thoughts: Great course but does get busy at times. A touch overgrown at times, but not a real issue.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Brickyard Booya

1    3/9/2012   3/15/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 740  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Amenities abound here . . . Bike-rack, nice patio area with a pergola to block the summer sun, kiosk with plenty of room for information, mailbox for something (maybe scorecards?)3 practice baskets and a warmup hole . . . are you kidding me, they have a hole for you to practice on without interfering with play (that is awesome), garbage cans available around the hangout area (which I can only imagine is packed with college coeds all day everyday in season). What more can you ask for?

2) Dual tees and permanently installed dual baskets (each with two positions (two long and two short)). This course has so many variations it isn't even funny. I would like to know if anyone has aced any combination of layout on any given hole. Pick your tee for the day and pick your basket. I for one couldn't resist throwing one to the long and one to the short the whole way through because they were two totally different holes.

3) Dual tees as mentioned with nice wood structures indicating the white tee and the blue tee. It makes navigation so much easier when you can see the next tee. You can even see from a little distance if the routered hole and tee color are painted in the appropriate color. The beauty of this is that even if you are illiterate if you have some shred of intelligence you can figure out if you are playing the blue tee or the white tee.

4) Nice concrete tees on both of the dual tees.

5) Very nice tee signs (as I mentioned above in the wood structures) but the maps of the holes are cool. They are well done, appropriately scaled (it seems) and they indicate all of the basket positions and all of the basket distances for each tee. Even for just a laminated map they are decent and definitely help you get around the course and know where you are throwing.

6) Excellent Discatcher basket choice on this all wooded course. The only problem I can see if that the yellow banded Innovas and especially the orange banded baskets will get lost in the foliage at times during the year. Other than that issue they are all labeled with the hole # and pin letter to help you know if you are looking at the right basket. I played both baskets at once from the same tee so it was easy to figure out because I had to find both baskets before teeing off anyays.

7) This property is simply amazing and I can only imagine it was thought to be almost unusable for anything else. There is so much variety here from tightly wooded, to moderately wooded, to even somewhat open. Throw in the dual tees, the 4 basket placements (2 permanently installed per hole), the elevation, and the cool basket locations and that makes for just an incredible course.

8) Plenty of garbage cans and benches on the property so you will never have to carry your garbage too far. You also will have plenty of opportunities to just have a seat and enjoy watching other people throw into the trees.

9) Yet another property with power
lines and sewer easements running through it. I gotta find a property with this type of stuff so I can buy it and build an awesome disc golf course.

10) Excellent variety of shot shaping and disc selection needed on this course. There is enough distance variation to keep you on your toes and the discs you need to throw range from putters to mids to drivers (and that is just on the drives). Upshots requires the same decisions all over again.

11) Seclusion is awesome out here until you get near the dog kennels on #9 and the dogs will remind you that they could totally

12) I aced one of the coolest holes on the course . . .. #5b from the blue tees. It skipped nicely off the snowpack and intot he chins. I celebrated alone . . . again!
Cons: 1) Compaction and erosion are definitely a problem on this course.

2) The stairways and some of the landscape work was not the best quality. I appreciate the hard work .. . trust me I do . . . but it just was not the quality I expect as a professional landscaper. Not only were there some spots that were unattractive, but they were downright dangerous. The stairways with the logs and some metal spikes holding them in place . . . were just deadly . . . especially in winter when the "treads" of the stairs were all frozen up in ice. I literally had to crawl down the hills at time and feared having one of those metal retaining spikes or stakes rip me a new one. Do I appreciate the stairs . . . yes, I just wish that things could be done right on our sport and not "the best of our ability". I say this not to rip on the work the people did, but to simply show how our sport is years behind on construction, installation, and maintenance. I just with it would be one right, safely, and not need to be redone all the time.

3) The walk from #1 to #2 was goofy . . . so much so that it would impede players from throwing on #1 until you are already on #2 tee because you walk right back up the fairway of #1. The long walk from #3 to #4 was also a little confusing, but that may be because there was still a lot of snow. It might be more evident where #4 Blue Tee is (up the hill from the white tee which is at the base of the ridge.

4) While the short tees and short baskets may be easier than the rest of the course, I would still consider them to be difficult holes and thus deeming the course the Scarlet letters "BU" as in Beginner Unfriendly. It isn't so much from the distance, it is more from the difficulty of some of the shots, the feasibility to lose discs fairly easily on some holes, and simply put . . . just the walk and flow. Prepare your beginner friends for what they have in store for them.
Other Thoughts: All in all this is by far my favorite 9 hole course of all time. I did have Bethel University high up my list but this one takes the cake, in fact I think it might just have to shove bethel down a few ratings points. It may only be 9 holes but it feels like it plays like 18 . . . when in actuality it plays more like 50-60 holes with all of the basket and tee combinations. Seriously what more can you ask for? While the negatives are a big deal to me (a professional landscaper), they also have put in as much if not more work on this course than just about any other course I have seen before, so I can't really fault them in the rating because of what I view as dangerous. Eventually I assume everything will be in great shape and appropriately constructed, but it takes time.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/25/2011   7/26/2011
Review By: whitechocolate
Played: 397  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 6.7 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Dual Cement Tee Pads
-Dual Baskets with alternative pin locations
-Practice Baskets
-Practice Hole
-Lots of seating
-Elevation Changes
-Mixed of Challenges (NOV to ADV)
-Land on used for disc golf
-Major improvements started and coming

This course is amazing for a nine hole course. The money and time Stout Disc Golf Club is definitely showing. When you pull into the lot you are great by a large course board with the standard information you expect to find at a decent course. Behind the board, there are two practice baskets for putting as well as putting games you can play. There is a gazebo, a picnic table, and a bunch of lounge chairs right there at the beginning and the end of the course (there were some set up to watching White Tee Hole 9. As you walk from the practice baskets, there is a practice hole. Seriously, an entire hole. It's a short putter or midrange (depending on ability) that starts open and going down a tight corridor. It was nice to throw my putters and mids before starting the round just to strength out my arm.

Each hole had both dual tees and dual baskets. Most of tee pads were concrete. I remember Blue 8 being a fly pad (but I could be wrong). Tee signs were recently put up on the holes, showing where the holes and tee pads are located. On top of there being two Innova discatcher baskets (yellow shorter, orange longer), there were multiple pin placements for each basket. The courses was empty when I got there (got super lucky) and got two play two rounds simultaneously. I played a round from the white tees to both baskets and then played another round from the blue tees to each baskets. I knocked out four rounds (technically) in just over an hour.

The challenges on the holes vary from "deuce or die" to potentially legitimate par 4s from the blue tees. The mix of elevation is solid and the tree cover forces to throw certain and sometimes out of the box lines. An average Rec/Nov player could struggle with finding lines on certain holes, however generally speaking, you will need a variety of shot to birdie majority of these holes. The course itself is exclusively for disc golf. The course is next to the Dunn County Humane Society and they have another area for dog play and well as a dog walking path when you turned into the driveway. It is beautifully secluded. The area benches and gazebos on the course to wait for other golfers to finish. The landscaping and building they have done is solid so far, with still having some work left to be done.
Cons: -nagivation
-erosion
-amentities

The course flow was a slight issue. I could see how a new player without a lot of course experience could struggle with finding there way around quickly. With multiple pins and pin locations obviously could make things a little more challenging. There are some arrows pointing to the next tee near the beginning of the course, and I am willing to bet by the time they are finished with the improvements, it probably will not be an issue anymore.

Erosion is an existing issues and is being taking care of with other paths being made and well as step and walking path. With a course with this kind of elevation erosion will always be an issue and only get worse with increase traffic. They are doing a decent job of maintaining it. It could definitely use a washroom. Not really a con being manly, but you have the stuff by University of Wisconsin - Stout down the street for bathroom, food, and drink.

Other Thoughts: This course is one of the biggest stand out nine holes courses I have played. Just having the multiple tees and baskets with different pin locations makes it great. All the extra flair, the practice baskets, lounge areas, practice holes, landscaping makes it awesome. When they are finished with everything, it will be phenomenal. The challenge is there for everyone, you just need to find the difficulty you are looking for. If you are playing on stopping in Menomonie on a road trip to play a course, chose this one. It is noticeable better than the other options. Wakanda, Menomonie Middle School, and Lamb's Creek @ Pioneer Grill are all decent plays, however, this one is the most memorable and offers the most challenges. Lamb's Creek probably edges out Wakanda based on its uniqueness being at a bar and grill.

This is the first nine hole I have ever played that I would say is worth the stop. With having the potential to play four completely different nine holes on any giving day, it has more to offer than your average 18 hole course. If I lived in the area, this is where my wife would be able to find me if I was in trouble. It's gets a 4.0 for now with is excellent. When all the adjustment are made, I'd probably bump it to a 4.5 which is crazy for a nine hole course, but will probably deserve it.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great 9 Hole Course

2-4    7/16/2011   7/16/2011
Review By: CoolEggman
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 20.8 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Love the property this is on, perfect for disc golf.
Well documented and marked hole locations.
Great seating areas and warm up games.
Great 9 holes with 2 tees and 2 pins to create a nice 36 hole course.
Cons: Course flow is a little wonky. (Backtracking to get to hole 2 and ending away from parking lot)
Some shots are near impossible to get.
Need more stairs.
Other Thoughts: Played this morning after some heavy rains that caused the heavy travel areas to be slippery.

I only wish this course was around when I was still attending STOUT.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Brickyard

1    4/17/2011   4/23/2011
Review By: superberry
Played: 170  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 16.7 Years
This review was updated on 4/27/2011
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The terrain, hands down, is AWESOME for disc golf. Sharp elevation changes throughout a series of ravines, mounds, washouts, gulleys, and along an electric transmission line. If you love some disc golf on amazingly unique pieces of property, with sharp and drastic elevation changes, PLAY HERE! I'm taking 40-50' sharp drops that you throw up and over, down from, or peak to peak. Variety is also quite great. Hole 1 starts off with a semi-open ripper with sporadic trees to frame your routes (400'+'). Hole 2 begins a great downhil ripper and to make it more fun, a ton of water was in play because of the wet spring. Hole 3 offers a great long anny for a RHBH, and strategically placed OB ponds on the left where a righty would fade out. Hole 4 is somewhat of a crapshoot through the trees, but we saw many possible (but tight) routes, and my doubles partner managed to park the hole. Orange pin was to the right, but an alternate location on the left is framed up beautifully by a curved tree. Hole 5 is a great downhill finesse shot through some tight trees and over a small pond. Hole 6 is from the basin uphill to a blind pin, which is also perched right on the edge of a HUGE dropoff (love me some risky pin locations!). Hole 7 is a peak to peak throw over a washout ravine through very tight trees. Hole 8 is a downhill bomber along a power line (AIR IT OUT, the hole is long!). Hole 9 is an excellent uphill hyzer that requires power or placement because at the top of the turn you must cross a steep washout.
There are 2 sets of pads, and 2 permanent pins in play. We played long tees to orange (long) pins. It was an amazingly fun and challenging round. We could have just as easily made the turn after #9 and played the long tees to the yellow pins for another excellent 9. THEN, we really could have played short tees to either pin for another 2 sets of 9 holes with decent challenge and some more likely ace runs. I could really see myself out here playing the 4 different 9 hole possibilities on many days! And that's not to mention that they have two locations on most holes for the orange and yellow pins (4 possible pin locations from any of the two tees)!!!!!!! Variety galore!
Risky greens, specifically #6, but many others are near rollaway dropoffs or ravines.
Bunches of practice baskets (3) and even a practice hole, a tight 200' tunnel shot, that we actually played for our round. We also noticed a few oddly placed 'tournament only' pads that may bring more holes or longer tees into play.
Benches, staircases, and terraced tees and pins that make for some beautiful elements of the hole. The tee pad on #3 is amazing, the stairs on #5 are amazing. I'd love to see more of these on all the other holes out there. I realize the cost for items like this is STEEP - someone with some money must love the game out there and it shows!
Tees signs were great when they were in their slots. Unfortunately some were missing. Scanning the QR codes with links to hole information is an awesome, amazing, and forward thinking touch to the game of disc golf. I'd love to link to videos of how the hole plays or looks, along with commentary, especially on some of the blind holes. I could make a very leisurely day of flingng discs out here and viewing info about the course.
The area is dedicated to disc - no shared use with bikers, mushroom pickers, or clueless park patrons.
Great big meaasge board, and also some potties.
Cons: Popular with the locals. This is only a con when there are lotsof people out enjoying this great course, and you have to stand in line. Most everyone was accomdating and allowed smaller groups to play through without issue. Popularity can be a con for a course if too many people lead to texcess littering and whatnot. The course was very clean when we played it though and I suspect that is because the dedicated disc golf group in the area is creating a sense of ownership and pride in the course, and they're working to keep things clean and beautiful.
We played in spring, and with the amazingly difficult tree lined 'airways' and high potential for bad drives to kick off fairway, the underbrush and summer time growth could get pretty awful - it's just speculation though. We played it during a cold and wet spring and I actually thought all the standing water was an excellent aspect to the game we played.
There is no real OB, not real ponds during normal season, so this element of risk vs reward is missing.
Not truly any par 4/5 holes, but long pads to long pins stretched over 450' more than a few times on the 9 holes.
Tees signs were great when they were in their slots. This goes along with my first con.
Other Thoughts: We got here after finishing up a 2-day, 3-round tourny during the weekend. The focal point of the journey, axledog acres, turned out to be a disappointment if you ask me. I LOVED the Brickyard and every time I'm back in the Menomonie or Eau Claire area, I will be flinging discs here on one of their 4 possible layouts (and more with alternate pins!!!).
I LOVED THE TERRAIN!
This is a fundmentally sound design with gobs of unique terrain and options. Amazing variety for a '9er'! I truly believe with all the unique combinations of play, and the gorgeous terrain, this is a 4.5 rated niner! I will be back and I'm sure I'll love it again. Considering Wakanda is kinda bland city park type course, axledog has junk tees (only one), one pin, lots of open holes, and is $5, and Lambscreek is on steroids but not really fundamentally designed for a fair challenge (and has 2 of 9 throwaway holes), Brickyard is tops in Menom by far!!!
I typically rate a lot of courses as a travelling player in which time is often rushed. I'd make time to play here again and be glad I did.
Oh man - I've just started imagining having 18 holes out here with the same design components, 2 baskets, 2 tees, some true par 4/5 holes, maybe a manmade pond or something, a few open holes bordering some tricky OB, and utilizing even more of the amazing terrain. This type of configuration would blow off the 5-disc rating scale!

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  Brickyard review 2011

5+    1/11/2011   1/11/2011
Review By: DrewRetherford
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 4 options for each hole. 2 cement tee boxes as well as 2 permanent baskets. 36 options in a nine hole course is quite impressive. Recent updates and year round course maintenance have really cleaned up the area to portray a well groomed 9 holes within walking distance of the town of Menomonie. The elevation changes on each hole make for some difficult shots. Long tee to long basket holes are the true test of shot agility and distance. Recent construction of staircases are a nice replacement from the old dirt paths down a slippery hill. All skill levels can enjoy this course.
Cons: none come to mind
Other Thoughts: let's go throw !

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.